Hong Kong - Hotel & ShoppingRecommendation

cheesecake0608

Anyone heard of the following hotel? any comments?

1. dorsett olympic hotel
2. The Anne Black - YWCA

Will be going end of jul.. do u tik the hotel allows 4adults in a room?

cacky

A lot of talk hre on hotels ... any good recommendations for shopping? I am not gonna go for branded stuff. Just wanna go for wholesale factory outlets type of places.

Also looking for small shops that sell unique stuff. Any good recommendations???

september

hi there, i heard there are some new shopping malls or area in HK....may i noe where is it located and wat is the name? Will also like to noe the wholesale centre name and location too...

also, may i noe if the vegetarian food in da yu shan is open to public daily?

thks....

poox

i'm thinking of staying in Ashley too. Does the std room comes with attached bathrooms and shower?

fat

Hi All....

Im going HK again this July for their Summer Sales! Will be staying at the usual Prudential Hotel @ Jordan

hi cloudia,

go to raffles place - arcade. there are alot of money changers at the whole building. i asked almost all and am most pleased with this particular one: if you stand in front of the arcade entrance with the escalator facing you, you will see 2 money changers at the entrance. go to the one on the left.. that one is nicer in terms of service and rates.

cloudz7

Hi Cheesecake, 1st time at HK stayed at Dorsett Olympic, it's a relatively hotel, but the room is a bit on the small side..preferred Majestic Hotel, the 2nd time i stayed.

HK I photos link:http://www.imagestation.com/8388402/3960350503

HK II photos link:
http://www.imagestation.com/8388402/3966206931

Click all albums, then find HK I and II to click again.

Cityhall Maxim Restaurant is famous for its dimsum, but took a bit of time searching for it.
2nd HK trip included Star Pisces cruise together with lodging at Majestic. Pretty worth it.

cloudz7

sorry relatively NEW hotel (Dorsett Olympic)

Peak is a must go. 2nd time went to Jade Market near Majestic hotel, Repulse bay which is near Stanley Mkt (boring, not very cheap deals) compared to Mongkok (Ladies mkt). Lan Kwai Fong is a bit like Holland V kind, drinking place with ang mohs...

rachel_

Hey Rachel_Goh

I am back frm Hong Kong. Stayed at Ashley Aprt.. We are satisfied with their newly & nicely renovated aprt, very nice and comfortable.. somemore the rate i got is very reasonable.. definitely will go back again for my next trip...

Thks for your recommendation.

hi cloudia,

anything above 5 is cool

tattyteddy

ya, the rate has gone up to 5.1028! that's not bad, compared to 4.8 - 4.9 last couple of months..

me going to HK in end Aug, dunno should change now a not.. :p

btw, is weather in end-Aug still super hot? still having sales then?

sarah24

Hi rachel and rachel goh, I m interested in booking ashley apt for my july trip too. But a lil confused here, i m going with my family of 4 adults, thinking of taking a 2 bedroom apt. Where do I find the rates and do the booking? Cos the asia travel website does not seem to have any for 2 bedroom apt. THanks

fat

Yap...anything above 5 is consider good.

Tatty - thou its abit early to change now but wat you can do is change half 1st lor. kekekeke.....
I only know their summer sales starts late June to Aug...but not sure which part of Aug. Im going in July...so prob will update you when im back then.

kristal_yun

Thanks minssy. i just checked the rates..it has decrease due to a fall in US dollars.Shld haf change earlier. dunno if it will recover b4 next week.

tattyteddy

probably might be staying in Ashley Apartment if i go in end aug, but when i go into their website, there is none which i can make reservation or enquiry to.
does anyone knows how i can go about doing it?
i oso have abt 5-6 adults going & intending to stay in a 2-bedroom apt too.
tks!

apple0401

Hi Rachel (rachel_),

What type of room did you stay and how many people? Did you stay in the room with extra bed? We have 3 adults and a child (3 yr). Not sure whether it would be squeezy for 3 adults in a room...
appreciate your reply.. thanks.

hi cloudia,

i see.. such things hard to tell also.. but if you change a small amount, it doesnt matter that much. so, just change lah

lingling2

rachel,
The Ashely Apartment hor, how many bedrooms does it comes with? cos tinking of going with about 7 adults so tinking of staying together will be good lor =).

Tattybear,
Me tinking of going in Sept too..now still sourcing for airticket and hotels...

htng

Anyone can advise me where to make a booking for Ashley apartment? Can provide the website? Is there an apartment with 2 bedroom? Is this a hotel or a normal apartment?

rachel_

Sorry for late reply. I booked thru AsiaTravel(reasonable rate among most of the website), we take the Standard rm (2 adults)and superior rm(with extra bed- 2 adults and 1 child). Asiatravel's rate is better than booked direct with ashleyaprt. U may check it out.
They do have aprt with 2 bedroom, not sure Asiatravel got this offer or not, maybe u can check thru.

For direct quote from ashely aprtment, u may contact - [email protected]

For Asiatravel- www.asiatravel.com

bb_queen

Can someone recommend me a hotel to stay just for a night? I need it to be near to MTR station because I will be taking the Airport Express. Preferably less than SGD 150 per night. Thanks

cloudz7

i can't remember how much per night exactly. Majestic hotel tho 3 or 4 star was very spacious compared to Dorsett Olympic or fellow 3 star hotels for its price and near to Jordan MTR if i recall. Quite worth it. Near Jade mkt and temple street.

ladies, morning,
may i know where to get good exchange rates? i am going hong kong next week..kind of excited..hehehe

I read somewhere in the forum tt above 5 is a gd deal... checked @ my side @ tampines area, one is @ 5.07, and the one in cent sq is 5.02. What a difference in 5 mins walk. =)

just sharing on the difference in exchange rate.. if you are not changing like thousands of dollars, the small exchange rate difference is really quite insignificant..

i am using skywolf's rates as an example. lets just say you are changing SGD $500.

SGD 1 = HKD 5.02
SGD 500 = = HKD 2510

SGD 1 = HKD 5.07
SGD 500 = HKD 2535

Difference - HKD $25

HKD $25 is probably a meal u will spend in hong kong McDonald's :p

Yeap. Heh heh.

Shucks manz, i made a classic error. Booked my tickets 1 day b4 my payday. Means i gotta use this mth's pay to change currency. Aiks!!

Erm, any of you gals had gone for a massage in HK? Nth was mentioned abt massage in HK lehz, unlike Bkk.

Yah i know. Juz wondering aloud. =) Shop till legs aching then pop into a massage ctr lor. Same as in Bkk. hahaa...

bb_queen

Minssy, thanks. Is Prudential or Majestic better? Or even Ashley apartments? Is the Jordan MTR linked to the MTR station at the airport? Sorry, I can't remember how HK train systems works. Just afraid that have to change like from our NEL to MRT kind of stuff.

tattyteddy

Can anyone advise whether Majestic or Kimberly, which one is better, in terms of room space & walking distance to the MTR & shopping districts?

hi bb queen,

prudential is more ex.. majestic is cheaper but slightly further walking distance... both are linked. if you are taking the airport express, you will eventually take the tsuen wan line to go to jordon...theie train system is quite easy one

i am not sure of ashley but reviews from here seems pretty cool.. its great if you r planning to hang around at TST more often..

hi tatty bear,

all are within.. kimberly is more popular..

hi ger2,

yes, as what cheerios mentioned

shamrock is 3 star... very very basic room.. its opposite prudential...very convenient too..

yc_mw

Anyone can advise if Novotel Century Harbourview is accessible? Their rooms seem good, but the only thing I'm worried about is the distance to MTR.. Any comments on that?

Also would like to check if anyone has stayed un Nathan Htl before? It's in TST, thus we're considering between Nathan & Novotel Century HV

lingling2

hi cheerios,
Tks for the informations =).

Hows their rooms?cos i worried that it migh tbe like Dorsett Seaview, bery small rooms...

minssy,
Tks...Shammock bery basic room? small?

Is it convenient? cos i wam considering btw Ashely apartments, Kimberly and shammock as I am going with my family, total 7 adults so preferred to stay in a bigger room hotel...