Hong Kong - Hotel & ShoppingRecommendation

moomoo1

Can anyone recommend me a hotel in HK? Near to shopping districts and MRT. Also need recommendations on places to visit and shop. Thanks.

shelyn

halo everyone,
need to ask about hotels... i m booking a package and they offer Dorsett Seaview/ Dorsett Olylimpic/ Mayfair Garden Hotel. Which one is better???? I m totally lost about HK hotels cos last went there like more than 10yrs ago....
Need greatly appreciate any comments about the hotels above...

hi moomoo,

agree with zenn. prudential location is good. u can jalan all the way to mongkok & tst....

what is your budget? if you have good budget, go stay in langham place at mongkok. really heaven! hahahhaah!

else if you are looking for mid ranges one, kimberly is a very good and popular choice among singaporeans

moomoo1

zenn/minssy
Thanks a lot for replying.
I am looking for ard 4* hotel, preferbly with bigger room. Will also be great if its family friendly coz we are bringing our son along. Is kimberly near MRT too? What are the good places to shop.

hi moomoo,,

oh prudential is the choice cos its literally above the mtr.. its like, super convenient...the room size is ok for us when i was there...

kimberly is not as near if you compare with prudential..

kurera

MOO, Kimberley is not near but it's walking distance to the shopping place. MTR is about 5 MINS walk or less.

Kimberley Hotel room is quite small for the lowest catergory rooms.

Depends on where you prefer to stay. For me I prefer Tsim Sha Tsui area. If Mongkok area is your preference than prudential quite alright la..

Both place surrounding have shopping areas-you just have to walk around and venture...

Hong Kong have to walk alot cos there is too many place to shop...I usaully have heavy breakfast and shop all the way till evening dinner. Than continue again..the smaller shops closed at almost 11.30 am!

Tsim Sha Tsui has got good food and shopping area as well (along kimberly road and nathan road where G2000 and major shops are located).

Near Hanhow Road (check map) walking distance (next street from nathan road) go try the macau cafe...food is superb...

Also try wanton noodles in hong kong..

Be sure to get a hong kong map-for usual maps they will highlight the shopping places in "yellow", that will make it easier for you.

*wink*

Your question of a 4 star property that would be Miramar, they have inter-connecting rooms which is very useful for family. room- spacious near Tsim Sha Tsui MRT. Shops are located around or opposite that hotel. I would say this one good.

taurus

Anyone travel to Hong Kong before during the month of jun? any idea has their summer sale started in the month of jun? I have been to hong kong 3 times but everytime i travel there around end July whereby they start to have further reduction for their summer sale.

Unfortunately, this year I am unable to take leave around end july. I can only take in end jun. Therefore, wondering if I go during end june, has they started their summer sale. anything to buy during that period? Can any kind soul out there give me some advice? Thanks very much.

kurera

summer sale usually starts end jul fourth week and all the way to August.

However you can still buy some stuff but not as much as during summer time.

Some pple will say nothing to buy cos they expect when they fly there..they want to buy lots of stuff..but ended up disappointed..so dun expect too much.

moomoo1

Minnsy/cat

Thanks for the info. Check with the travel agent, they only hv the choice majestic or kimberly if i want in Mongkok and near to MTR. Which one is a better choice?

moomoo1

CAT
I hv no preference on where to stay,just want a good location near to good shopping area and MTR. The last time I went there was like 15 yrs ago, stayed @ stanford hotel near the ladies mkt, tt's all I can remember. Can tell me why u prefer tsim sha tsui to Mongkok area? What's the diff between the 2, are they pretty near to each other?

hi moomoo,

a..... given this choice, take kimberly.. cos it was recently renovated so its relatively newer.. majestic is slightly older.. also, its near some disco and comments was that you could hear a little sound if you are light sleeper...

kurera

moooooooooo

Why ar? erm...cos I am a gluton easy access to find my favourite eating place..haa and of cos MY USUAL shopping place..is around there..I only go for cheap accom cos i am not in hotel whole day..so give me good sea view also no use lah. ;p

If no preference Kimberley a better choice my hong kong friends says prudential not as good as kinberley so I tried Kimberley on 1 of my trip to HKK. Small room but location okay la...

Starcom
Not honeymoon lah..hkk BRING THE GUYS FOR WHAT?
;P My purpose is to fly there to find some designer wear (cut labels) for my tea dress or maybe can buy and keep some..
ha..sounds cheapo man!

I intend to go last week of July but it depends on how much the cos for the tix/accom..me not willing to pay that much..ha..my choice would be kinberley since i dun wan spend on the more costly hotels eg. kowloon, shammock or miramar.

I read in the past treads before that if stay in HK island hotels they'll not be much to walk in the evening, unless you hit the pubbing area in LKF everyday... Coz HK island is more on CBD/biz area, not much to walk abt lor...

hi skywolf,

in a way, yes cos mongkok & tsim tsa tsui is more happening.... ladies street lah, temple street lah, nathan road itself also have shops for u to jalan....

moomoo1

CAT/Minssy
Thanks, have booked with SA during their fair. Chose kimberly in the end, now awaiting their cfm.

moomoo1

CAT
Its $738 for 4D3N package, staying @ kimberly and flying via cathay. It's inclusive of 2N stay @ kimberly and 1N @ disneyland hotel. We extended another 4N @ $250 per nite.

June
When are u going? We are going on 18 mar.

june_goh

Moomoo,

I'm going on the 27th April, 3D2N package with extension of one night @ $170 per room. $717 altogether, staying at mayfair or dorsett seaview (availability still not confirmed hmm), plus disneyland tickets.

tamarind

Has anyone been to Hong Kong Disneyland recently ? How is the condition ? Is it still very crowded ?

Also, has anyone stayed at Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel ? Any comments ?

rm09

Hi seasons

Stayed at Kowloon Hotel some yrs back it's not bad, the location is gd of cos. Remember the travel agency told me it's the hotel where all the SIA cabin crew are put up in HK. I go HK every yr for shopping. Stay at diff hotel every time tho

24seasons

Hi RM. Thanks for the comments.

Hi melody. I stayed in YMCA 2 yrs back. Price very reasonable. Normal expectations for 3 star hotel.

24seasons

Hi melody. I jus came back fr hk. Stayed in Kowloon hotel. The room is indeed small but heard that Eaton hotel room is even smaller.

skyla

hi.. i plan to go hk tis june...
but was stop by my cousin say tt hk very crowd, disneyland messy, all tt stuff...
n my mom was convince by my cousin to go bangkok... haiz so nw i findin reason to go hk...
do anyone knw the condition of disneyland nw?
n do anyone knw when the sch holiday of hk n china?
thankz!

sassy_bride

hi skyla,

it's true that hk is very crowded but so is bkk, rite?

disneyland is not messy anymore n 3 new rides r going to be opened at june end.

july n aug is the summer holiday in hk, china, UK, canada n the states, so all students studying overseas will be back to hk. might not be a very good time to visit cuz it's hot n crowded. though it's when u can grab cheap n nice stuff becuz of the summer sale.

skyla

thankz... ya bkk also very crowded... shld say everywhere is crowded ...
i am goin to book on june so it wun crash with their holiday... haha...
hopefully everyting run smoothly... cross finger tt it will nt be spoil by my cousin... haiz

miso_888

Hello Sharlene

Holiday Inn Golden Mile room is fairly large and clean. There are 2 queen size bed or you are opt for 1 king size bed. Location is good, near the "MTR" and shopping. Easy to access.
Location can not be beaten - walk out the door and you are in the middle of Nathan Road. The harbour is only 10-15 minutes walk away and so are the Temple St night markets.

I am thinking of booking this hotel again for my trip in Jun. Have you check the rate per night? BTW, when are you going ?

adelene

I'm going hong kong in Mid Jul! Got an offer from NTUC 3D2N HK from $345 (accommodation, flight and 0.5D city tour). Do you think I should take it or go for F&E? Cos I think accommodation is expensive in HK if you book separately.

hi blue ginger,

not necessarily.. it really depends on the hotel & the season & of cos the website that you book the hotel from.... u must do comparisons then u will know...

adelene

Minssy,
Any hotel/motel to recommend, just need some place to sleep? We wanna target on shopping and food for our 3D2N short weekend escape. Will fly on budget airlines.

hi blue ginger,

jetstar is quite good for budget airlines..

as for hotels, the all time favourite will be BP Int & kimberly. but they are always very fully booked.

kurera

Miramar is spacious and convenient..got higher budget can stay there la..*wink*

My cheaper acom is kimberley lor..

hello

Hi Blue Giger,

I juz came back from HK last mth. I stayed in Marca Polo Gateway hotel. We booked from Jetabout Holiday at $198/nite and we bought 4 nites and got 1 nite free. My wife and me love the location veri much cos it was veri near to the harbour (cos we took the ferry to HK island) as well as the harbour to Macau(we went to Macau).

In fact we booked our air tickets and hotels separately during the NATAS fair. We took United Airlines which flew at 6.45am (Singapore) and back at 8.00pm(Hong Kong) (Went early in the morning and came back late), made full use of the time.

The air ticket we got was ard $350 inclusive of airport tax, as compare to Jetstar Asia ard $310 inclusive of Airport tax, so of cos we dun mind paying a little more to fly with UA.

The reason for us to book separately was becos my wife, my MIL, my baby and I all suqeezed into 1 room with 2 double beds but during check in, juz told them 2 adults and 1 baby only. So if we booked thru agency a tour package, we have to pay 4 persons fare and after calculating, we found tat to book separately would save more. (the $ tat we save can spend on shopping)

In addition, during our stay, one of the date was my MIL birthday. Tat nite when we went back to the hotel room, to our surprise, we found a birthday cake in the room. It was compliment from the hotel. From here u cab see how well was their service. They also provided a free baby cot for my baby :p

Another good abt the location is tat, if it rains, u can still shop ard the harbour city which is a really huge shopping centre (some people say tat it is HK biggest shopping centre, but some say Mongkok tat one).

On top of tat, it is near to the Espirit outlet which sells Espirit products at a veri low price. So after buying stuffs from Espirit, I could straight bring them back to hotel room, put them down and go for other shopping.

Moreover, directly opposite the Marca Polo Gateway hotel, there is a Chinese restaurant selling veri cheap and nice 'Dian Sum'. We went there continously 2 days after we found out from the hotel staff.

The location juz ard 5 to 10 mins walking distance to MTR, so if next time we are going to HK again, most probably will stay at the same hotel. It is a 4 Star hotel, juz only tat the furniture looks a bit old, but who cares. Our main purpose is to get a big room (abt 32 square metre) to sleep, to accomadate 4 of us and tat its.

Remember to brg extra luggage bag and juz 1 or 2 T-shirt with u will do. The rest of the T-shirt can buy from there.

We bought a lot of stuffs until our luggage bag cannot close, so have to put inside my hand carry bag.

So do enjoy urself (^_^)