Hong Kong Disneyland

hi maomao,

dun take cab cos its very ex.. but if you have to then no choice.. yes its by meter..

the train is very accessible and hong kong pple generally walk ALOT

Lautau island - just take MTR to Tung Chung station which is on the island itself.

Yes as far as I know, cab goes by meter. In city area, not that difficult to get a cab. But I thought their cab fares is around the same as SG rates? Not that expensive if you compare to Europe.

mao_mao

Minssy,

Tks ger, no wonder the forumers seldom mention cab...hee

tsukushi,
tks for the infor. Wats nice on Lautau island huh?

I took the cab before and it was quite cheap, I find. Better than walk all the way to MTR station which was a bit far (was at Harbour city side).. But of cos, you cannot compare taxi fares with MTR fares. They are close to SG rates.

Lantau island
- Big buddha
- Po Lin monastery
- Tai O
- Disneyland
- Airport

Hmm.. can't remember what else.

cainu

Hi is it adviceable to book Disney tix online or juz book at the entrance?

Any1 stayed at Nathan Hotel & any comments?

mao_mao

hi tsukushi,

tks tks for the infor...Oh so Disneyland is at Lantau itself?hehe..cos i will be havign one nite stay at Disneyland Hollywood lor..

Yes Disneyland is on Lantau island. While you're there, may also consider going to Tian Tan aka big buddha. The skyrail is just 2 stops away from Disney...

mao_mao

Hi tsukushi,

Tks for the infor...i am bk from hong kon gliao...Enjoyed ourselves at Disneyland =).We stayed at Hollywood hotel lor...

Hi Shawa,

During my stay at a 3 star hotel b4 going to Disneyland, there is a counter in the hotel which sells ticket....Maybe its more advisable to book online...

cainu

Hi Mao Mao thks!!!

Glad u enjoyed ur stay, would appreciate if u can share a bit of experience there if it's not asking u too much?! :p

mao_mao

Shawna,
Tks tks....oh cos no prob....wat are the things you wan to ask huh? Cos if I were to tell you, cfm its the nice things abt Disneyland, got so excited when i got a chnace to take photo with Disney characters like MIckey, Minnie, Cinderalla,Alice, Goofy, Donald etc...hee

Will you be staying at Disneyland? If yes, try to stay at Hollywood Hotel. THUMBS up for this hotel. There are 2 hotels at Disneyland, Hollywood Hotel & Diseny hotel. Hollywood hotel is slightly cheaper than the other one, it looks more cosy and more ple stay there too... =)..

Feel free to ask me any qn if you have... =).

cainu

Hi Mao Mao

We'll be visiting during the 1st week of Dec on a weekday, do u think it'll be crowded? We plan to spend a full day there, is it enough to cover everything? Should we go for the shows 1st or the rides 1st? What about makan, anything nice & cheap? How's the weather?

We're not staying at the Disney hotels but will be at the Nathan Hotel, any comments on this 1??

Many thanks in advance!!

gcherny

hi maomao. my apology for the late reply as i was in Jiangnan & Shanghai last week.

food inside Disneyland is not that ex. for a western set lunch, you pay abt SGD15. big portion and yummy. must try. or you can try the chinese restaurant for dim sum - yummy too.

mao_mao

Hi shawna,

Hmm..i tink it shuld be crowded leh..cos i weent during a wkday, not sch holidays, already alot of china ple and hongkies there lor....

If you are like me, who q to take photo with all teh disney characters, take the rides etc, i dun tink 1 day is enough...I went 1.5days....If only I have more time, then i will stay for the 7pm fireworks...IT IS BERY NICE...really....if you have a videocam, must bring along...try to get a good seat at 6pm to view the fireworks, you won't regret...I used my HP to record it down, but somehow it was over-ride the next day, i was so sad....Almost wanted to stay one more nite to take the fireworks =)...hee

Well, food is not ex lor, dun worry...there are 4 resturants there...and ALOT of gift shops there...I spent almsot SGD300 there buying keychains and others...so nice...

linglun

Anyone has any lobang to recommend for air tickets / hotels to HK during 23/12 - 28/12 ??

i'm suppose to go there for my HK jiu xi, but cant seem to find a suitable hotel/airline with reasonable rates! =( Sobsob..

cainu

Hi Mao Mao

Thanks for the info!! How long do u have to q for most the rides & foto-taking? R the rides mostly for kids? How many shows r there? Unfortunately we only have time for 1 full day there but we'll make the most of it for sure!!

mao_mao

Hi linglun,
cos its the super peak xmas period leh...all tickets are ex one...have u tried the budget air?

Shawna,
You are most welcome =).
Foto taking q takes abt 5-8mins lor...photo session bery fast one...U can bring your own camera there and get the staff to take for you.All the disney characters like mickey, pooh, minnie etc is accompanied by one photographer and one staff...The photographer will snap pictures of you and then pass you some tickets and tell you that your photos will be ready for viewing in 2hrs time....

We did purchase some if the photos from them as they all comes with the characters' signatures...Very nice to keep as remembrance though abit ex... =)...

Rides huh? Its suitable for adults also lor..I loved their merry-go-round with those wodden horses one...Its looks so magical lor and nice with all the lights on at nite....really...

I tink there are many rides and shows, you can take a map from them when you reach the entrance...I took most of the rides lor, one of it is bery scary, we screamed like duno wat..keke..its the rollar coaster in teh dark...called SPACE duno wat lor... scary...

u must go to the Pooh bear session, bery nice ride to see wat tehy have deisgn, look so 3D and nice..

There are alot of soruveiner shops around...I bought many keychains, pens,ec bk lor =)...

cainu

hi mao mao

can i check how long is the fireworks display? so does the park close right after that & every1 has to leave, won't the mtr be very packed??

jacqueline97

I will be going hk with two kids on the 11Dec,staying at lingham place hotel.Planning to take a train to disneyland from there, anyone can advice?I do not intend to start the trip to disneyland early as I have a 16mths old baby who needs to nap before he can stay awake till the firework display....

Any advice what is the latest timing I should head to disneyland during the days...I guess my gal will basiclly take the ride and picture taking and that it is. In LA disneyland, she spent about half a day...cos she cannot take the ride when she was only 2.5 years old then.

dreamer17

hi sunshine..

taking a train is very troublesome and very far...anyway i personally feel its not worth it to pay tat price for HK disneyland...my colleague daugther went and after 1hr wan to go back hotel...

entrance price is abt 60+ to 70 sing dollars...

jacqueline97

Hi Dreamer

Thanks for reply...

Hubby already booked the ticket to disneyland via internet...its still cheaper than the price paid for in LA. My daughter is excited about disneyland and also we promised her to bring her if she did well in her exams.

If we do not take train, what is other mode that can help to get to disneyland...we do not mind paying as the air tickets and lingham place are all paid for.thanks again.

jacqueline97

Hi all again

Anyone can advice taking a taxi from lingham palace hotel is it faster than taking the train to disneyland?Asking that as in singapore, sometime taking a train is faster than driving...like from my place to airport...MRT is faster.thanks again.

Thanks for advice as I am bringing a 16 mths old baby there and I am trying to min any upcoming crankiness he might be....let's hope not.

dreamer17

u trip(air tx and hotel) are sponsor for? u just buy disney tix only?

btw u can try the cable 360...its also near disney area..u can have a beautiful view above the mountains in a cable car...

u can take taxi to disneyland but will cost u a bomb as its located somewhere near the HK airport..mayb u can ask Lamgham if they have transfer then will save u alot...

is this ur 1st time to HK?

jacqueline97

Hi Dreamer

No, not first time to hk, many times, but with one kid and only stay one day as next day I usually fly to LA for my holidays.

Yap, this time round, everything paid for except taxes as this is the lucky draw prize that I won....Oh yes, I paid for the disney land tickets.

Cost me a bomb?Like how much per trip as in singapore dollars?

rackev

hey sunshine

wow! u are so lucky ya!!! ^^

think u shd take e mrt to disney. u can take photos in e disney train & station.

it shd cost ard S$40 to S$50 to take a cab.

hi thomson bride,

yes its ex if you are buying 1 ticket....

price is between $65 - $77.. (weekday or weekend price).

thomsonbride

Sorry...

Think I did not explain myself clearly.

S$120 includes to & fro from hotel / disneyland, entrance fee & unlimited rides.

Still ex?

thomsonbride

hi rachel,

tot we got to pay for all rides?

is it troublesome to go on our own?

have u been there before?

Thanks alot for your help!

rackev

thomson bride,

no problem lah...^^

been there abt a yr ago...and i think is great.. especially e fireworks... really nice... but maybe becos i've not been to other disneys b4...hee

all rides are free but jus gotta q lor... u can try to get e fast passes...

not troublesome lah... hk is as small as sg so it is not difficult to move ard... e mtr is easy & convenient...

u look at e link tat i sent u earlier... there's a route map... u take e mtr to central interchange & change to e tung chung line... aftertat, u drop at sunny bay & trsf to disney resort line... probably takes abt half an hr fr town to disney...the disney mtr & station are nice too...to take photos...

which area are u staying? when will u be goin?

thomsonbride

Hi Rachel,

Really thanks alot for the info!

I'll be staying in Shamrock Hotel. Departing on 20/12/06 & coming back on 28/12/06.

seems like it's better to buy tix there rite?

rackev

hey thomson bride,

don mention lah... no big deal lah.. me jus sharing watever i know... hehe ^^

u can book ur tix online as well...is better to visit disney during winter... summer is too too hot... my frds got sunburnt & nearly fainted... no mood aftertat for e rides & fireworks... hmm me feel like going again ya...

hey, i've stayed in shamrock b4 hehe...

hehe me will be goin too... fr 22/12 to 3/1...

i really luv hk!!! ^^

thomsonbride

Hi Rachel,

I'm really worried that it'll be very crowded.

This is my first time staying in Shamrock. What's your comments on the hotel?

So which hotel will u be staying this time round? how much you pay? I paid $1220 for 9D8N, travelling by cathay.

rackev

hey sunshine,

guess it shd be crowded as it's e festive season... think is better for u to book tix online...jus in case

personally, i've quite negative comments on shamrock...

$1220 for 9d8n is quite reasonable... me hv booked cathay airtix online, $480...

hv yet to book any accomodation... most of e hotels, even hostels, are either fully booked or double, triple their rates, which are really out of our budget... now cracking my head... sigh

jacqueline97

Hi Rachel

I just got back from hk.Langham place location is excellent.Weather is a bit unpredictable. Not cold...lucky no rain when I went to disneyland on tuesday...wednesday was raining cats and dogs...Many caught unprepared as in the weather is not cold yet has to put on thick sweater even in disneyland itself...wonder some, wanna look good and not scared of heat.....

Of course, during rainy days, just a light cardigan is good enough..their weather is just like singapore rainy days....

Disneyland is small as compared to LA.Not happening but my girl enjoyed it...

rackev

hey welcome back sunhine ^^

great to hear tat u've enjoyed ur trip..^^

i enjoyed hk disney too...maybe becos i've not been to others...hee

yup outlook & image are very important to hongkongers... when i was there in late oct, most hv already started to wear winter clothing... i was e only one in spag and looked so odd... so i tried to dress like them but i sweat like mad haha

e weather is getting colder now...dropping to abt 12 or 13 this wkend...

sabrinalai

i will be goin HK in Jan, thinking of goin for shopping, but now is winter, do u think that it is wasted goin to HK in winter time?becoz cant get our clothing.Thans..Really need advice, bcoz Hubby and me thinking go for relax, shopping, eat. (But me mostly for shopping) :)))

gcherny

yes. better spend 1 full day there. it opens at 10am and closes at 9pm. firework starts at 8pm - abt 20mins show. just came back from HK. so packed with PRC. this weekend onwards is their summer school holiday till end Aug. think the queue for the rides will be worst.

lawhouse

Hi, I'm planning to stay 2N in Disney Hotel. Can anyone tell me which is better - Disney Hollywood or Disneyland Hotel? Thanks!

lingling2

KG,
I stayed at Disney Hollywood hotel, felt in love with it , thats y I am going again next mth..hee

To me, I feel that Hollywood hotel is mor lively, more ple staying there rather than Disneyland Hotel...