Hong Kong Disneyland

happytea

Yule, what abt the Dong meng shopping street? how is it compared to luohu shopping center?

i went to SZ on a monday, was quited scared when i was abt to exit the custom, but maybe becos its a monday, there is lesser crowds and we had a safe day w no bad encounter nor witness any misfortune on others.

HappyTea: I go to Dongmen too, but they have mainly China brands, Parkson Dept Store and China's first MacDonald's. If you are adventurous, there are some wholesale shops like White Horse that sell export apparels. There are also those Shibuya-like shops that sell young fashion.

Did u go to Huaqiang Rd and Renmin Rd? Also many shops there. There's a new mall to visit called Mix-C Mall which just opened late 04.

Hi so any1 stayed in Disneyland Hollywood & any of u went to Disney liao? Any feedback?

I goin on Wed morning liao.. i hope the queues for the rides r bearable...

babypink

Hi n/c,
u going this wed? so gd! must be very excited!!
where did u book the tickets? how much? which hotel u stay? free n easy?

happytea

Yule, i did not stay overnite at SZ and had only went to window of the world and the luohu shopping. no time to go even dongmeng...

Hi every1

i just got back fr HK last nite..

thank God when i reached thr last thurs, i went disneyland for two days.. not much china people, the queue for all rides r v short only..

but then on sat, 1 oct,I check out of disneyland hollywood hotel, tats china's national day, the whole hk & disneyland included is packed with China people.. cos they have 7 days public holidays...

Hi titi

i book with SA Tours.. $598 + $94(taxes)..

includes 2 nites stay disneyland hollywood hotel & 1 nite stay in HK, 1 day pass to disneyland...

cute_koala_123

Hi, our company trip is going to HK for 3D 2N on 23 ~ 25 Dec. It's free & easy. Time is short & mostly it's packed with ppl, I think.

Could anyone give me some advise where I should go during these 3 days so that I really cover HK? Is it worth to go to see the Buddha at Lantau Island? Is half day tour sufficient?

tayes

I just returned from HK disneyland last week! I enjoyed it since its my first disneyland trip.
Here are some things to take note:
-No food is allowed into the park. They will check your bags when entering the park. But thank goodness you can bring you own drinks in.
- A bottle of mineral water there costs about HK$10. As for meals there, we spent $HK40 for a bowl of noodles or chicken rice that comes with a cup of tea.
-There is a parade with all the floats coming by at about 3-4 in the afternoon along the main street.
-Stay for the fireworks! It was about seven when it started, and lasted about 7-10 min. Find a good spot facing the castle.
-Some of the rides are in Mandarin, Cantonese and English. Sometimes the ones in English are less crowded.
-There is the MTR, a bus terminal and taxis serving the area.
Hope this helps, have fun!

babypink

Hi n/c,
Thanks for replying me! so yours is wif tour or free n easy? isit very nice in the disneyland hotel?? 4 days 3nites ah then roughly how much u spent there? i m thinking of going there in jan. do u noe how's the weather there in jan?

Hi tayes,
can u let me noe more abt yr package n tour? Wanted to go there in Jan leh also my 1st time.. or can say my 1st trip so far away from spore.. me bit nervous.. scare ma.

when must book liao if i wanna go in jan? now??

beautiful

Hi cute koala, half day tour is sufficient to cover Lantau Island. I booked the tour through Greyline in Hong Kong, which covers a vegetarian lunch.

I just came back from Hong Kong and was quite disappointed with the Disneyland cos it's so small as compared to Paris or Tokyo

cute_koala_123

Hi beautiful, how much do you pay for Lantau tour? Can I have Greyline contact?

Is it very crowded in Disneyland? Since my trip is so short, tot of skipping Disneyland....

beautiful

i am not in singapore at the moment so don't have the exact price and greyline's contact info. think i paid about HK400 or something per person. you should be able to get greyline's brochure from your hotel conceirge.

i went to disneyland on a weekday, so it was not very crowded. you can give this a miss

babypink

Hi all,,,

i really nid help.. cos 1st time go tour.. duno how should i do.. lately anyone went disney? cos wanted to noe which agency now is the cheapest.. i worry free and easy..duno wil i get lost a not.. one day pass isit means the ticket??

tayes

Hi titi,
-If you want to go in Jan maybe its good you try to book really soon. Just in case everyone also making use of the long holiday.
-As for which agency cheapest ah, that one I not sure, but I went with Chan Brothers earlier this month. It was with my parents and grandma, so we felt tour will be more convenient. We paid about 750 per pax for 5D4N.
-Dont worry too much about getting lost. Look at maps of the place before you go there to plan your trip? Try websites or travel guide books. Take a name card from your hotel so you know exactly where is your hotel and can tell the cab driver if you get lost.
-Importantly, have fun on the trip!

redsky

hi tayes,
is it easy to get disney tixs in HK?
or do we have to pre-book in Spore?
planning to go in end dec, free n easy. thanks!

tayes

Hi redsky,
I dont know about how to get the tickets though, cause mine was a all-inclusive tour (except for some meals). I recall reading that you can book the tickets before hand, so I think it would be best. This is cause there is a limit to the number of pple each day, and tickets at the entrance are subjected to availability. Heard that weekend ticket costs more than weekday though. The HK Disneyland site has the details, check it out!

babypink

Hi tayes,
really appreciate your reply thanks.. !!

u mean yr package 750 is including disney hotel stay and ticket? my hubby just book the tickets.. 700+ including tax but only 4D3N with a stay in disney hotel and ticket. isit exp??
oh u mean we can get the name card at our hotel. i heard we can just get the map from the HK airport isit? so we no nid to buy our travel guide la?? isit very far to go to disney??

tayes

Hi titi,
You're welcome! Just sharing what I know.

My package didnt include stay at Disney hotel though, but inclusive of ticket to Disneyland. We just stayed at hotel at Kowloon thru out the 4 nights. I think 700plus is about there, the variation in prices always depends on where you stay and which airline you flying.
As for the map, yes, can find at the airport. As for the travel guide, its up to you. If free and easy trip then having a guide will help you plan. But then again, just check online for information and save that money. Or borrow library book. Disneyland is at Lantau Island, so from the airport its not far. From Kowloon slightly further, like 30-45min journey.

babypink

Hi ty,
when did u go hk? how's the weather there? how many degree? cos the agency told us is abt 17degree! but someone told me cant be cos is abt below 10degree!
so u mean from airpot is very near disneyland. do u noe how to get there from airpot?
isit u hv to wear very thick.. 3 layered?

babypink

anyone just went to Hk only..?? can let me noe the weather how isit realy very very cold.. below 10 degree????

NO, it's abt 20degrees right now only...still one mth to go...so why dun u wait for the Boxing Day sale in Singapore and grab those winter wear you like?

Hi titi: Below 10 degrees had happened before in HK and only lasted for no more than a week or so. I'm trying to tell you it might happen again if u r unlucky! I've lived in this part of the world long enough to know when the temps dip, it can be as wide a drop as 15degrees! Moreover, you're going to Disneyland on Lantau Island which will all the more be exposed to all the wintry winds.

Pls also note that it will only occur late at night and it won't an issue if you don't stay out till after midnight. It's very hard for anyone of us to predict the weather in one mth's time, dear! We can only rely on past year's meteorological records to get a mean temperature for that month.

The following are the normal daily temperature ranges for Hong Kong:
January 56-64oF (13-18oC) February 56-62oF (13-17oC) March 60-67oF (16-19oC)
April 67-75oF(19-25oC) May 74-82oF (23-28oC) June 78-85oF (26-29oC)
July 78-87oF (26-31oC) August 78-87oF(26-31oC) September 77-85oF (25-29oC)
October 73-81oF (23-27oC) November 65-74oF (18-23oC) December 59-68oF (15-20oC

contentedbride

I have gone for the disneyland in hk sometime in 3rd week sep.. U can give it a miss, unless your intention is to bring ur kids there.. And if u have gone to Disneyland in other countries, please dun go to this one, else it will just diminish your dream disneyland.. I regretted going there...

pple

hi contentedbride,
other than this disneyland, which 1 have u been to? cos i am thinking of going to Japan's...

ms_pink

How long is the journey if I am taking MTR from mongkok to disneyland? can I book the disneyland tickets online? Because I read that we have to collect the tickets the next day after booking.

jacqueline97

Is HK disneyland still so crowded and that bad?I plan to bring my two kids there during dec....free ticket for four won in the contest....Thanks...Any advice?

shirgal

My friends and i were there on 11 Aug, the place was very crowded, no way we can take the rides coz the queue was long and never-ending. We jus bought some souvenirs and walk around the park..

jacqueline97

Hi Shir-shir (shirgal)

Thanks for responding. Did you stay far from the disneyland?How did you get there...

I thought now its a off peak season....the crowd are mainly tourist or from mainland?Did you get the ticket thr net?Thanks again

shirgal

Hi Stary(jacqueline97)

I was staying at Kimberley Hotel at TST. Travelled by MTR to Disneyland.(bought MTR card at Airport for $220) Most of the tourists there are from Mainland. We bought the tickets at the entrance. I think they are having summer vacation till end aug.. we went in at about 10.30am n stayed till about 4pm.(stay for the parade at 3.15pm)

divinec

do stay for the fireworks at 8pm if u can cos i think that's one of the must-do at disneyland, if possible, go on a weekday and get those fast pass that allows u to watch certain shows or go for certain rides at a designated time without queuing

mao_mao

Halo,

Anyone went HOng Kong Disney land recently?

Which travel agent provides itinerry to Disneyland and ocean park?

gcherny

hi. i went there in May this yr. F&E. do get the free visitor guide (the one with discount coupons) at the airport tourist info counter. there's a souvenir for you when you present the coupon with ur passport at the disneyland info counter. i got a disney character lanyard. worth it! the MTR to disneyland is very beautiful. window with the shape of mickey mouse head and many disney characters display within the MTR. the seats are curve. a unique MTR ride. the tourist guide also got discount coupons for G2000, shopping, F&B, etc.

mao_mao

HI gcherny,
Tks for the infor...so nice hor... I intend to sign up with SA tour on the F&E package to HOngkong liao...includes 2 day free visit pass to disneyland =).

Is the disneyland bery big? can we finish going round it in one day?

gcherny

not as big as tokyo one. that time i went was non school holiday. finished all the rides within 1/2 a day and went for 2nd and 3rd round of rides. u can try their western lunch there. price similar to our Jack's Place set lunch. go shopping for souvenirs and taking pic with the disney characters. secure a good photo spot early for the fireworks at night.

mao_mao

gcherny,
ic..seems like so nice lor =D. BUt hor, its my 1st time then so i dunno if i can find a good spot for fireworks lor..hmm..

Which are the shopping centers which we can go during our stay at HK? will be staying at Kowloon lor...

gcherny

hi. a good spot should be somewhere you can stand without being blocked by the people ahead of you. there is a some kinda of round about with seat around the flower garden. you can try that. if anyone blocked you, you can stand on the seat (cement type).

kowloon area got lots of shops. for shopping mall, u can go to harbourside shopping centre. hard rock cafe is nearby too.

mao_mao

Hi gcherny,

Tks for the infor...=)..

By e way, is there any baggage limit to carry on the MTR cos i ever read from one of the thread that there is lor...so wan to make sure..

Wonder how is the wether there now...

I will be staying the the Hollywood hotel in Disney for one nite lor.... saw from the pics that it looks quite nice leh...hee

gcherny

baggage limit on MTR? yet to hear of any? i took the airport MTR line with my hardcase luggage. didnt hear of any baggage/luggage limit.

weather is cool now. a cardigan will be fine.

enjoy ur stay in Hollywood Hotel.

hi maomao,

its fine one.. but you are encouraged to take the lift instead of escalator if you have luggages...

mao_mao

Hi gcherny,
Heehee...ic..cos i read in one of the thread here lor...hmm.... tink should be okie lor...tks..

Are things and food at Disney ex?

Minssy,
Tks for the infor =D.

mao_mao

Minssy,

Do you know how do go to Lautau Island by taking the MTR huh? Cos my hotel is at Yam Ma Tei and my auntie is bery keen to go Lautau island...

hi maomao,

sorry i did not go lantau island before leh... u try doing a search on lantau island.. there are forumers who had posted infomation a few good months ago..

hi maomao,

you may use the search function in this forum directly.. use key words like, lantau, hong kong and you may limit the search in the travel threads

mao_mao

HI minssy,
tks....

by e way, are there alot of cabs in Hong kong? cos in case we couldn't find any place, at least can take a cab. Do they go by meter?