Hong Kong Disneyland

mashybrainz

Anyone going HK Disneyland?

I'm going HK during that time to coincide with the opening. But now I'm not so sure coz' there's reports that there's very few rides in the disneyland during its opening.

zenn

Hi mashy & Jasmin,

If I am not wrong, it will be open in sep but I heard that the tix is fully booked?

mashybrainz

12 Sep.

Dunno leh, tix not for sale yet. I'm expecting there'll be a big bash on the opening day with invited guests. So may be closed to public.

mashybrainz

Received Disney's reply that 12 Sep is closed to public coz' of the big bash. (Rooms included) Can only visit on 13 Sep.

jasminetea

Oh, then I wouldn't be able to go to Disneyland since I'm going in Jun-Jul period.

Next time maybe.

Me going in the last week of Sep 05...If going disneyland, do I buy the tics nw or I can do so when I am in HK?

Will it ever get fully booked wan?...really dun understand

Any gd place over there I can visit?

bikergal2004

u better buy when reached there.i mean tickets..cos one of my agent bought from travelling agency,when reach hk very "ma fan"..need to transfer here and there for the tickets as delay a lot of time.so end up they return n told us better buy the tickets at hk..i be going there too in end of sept..

if u stay disneyland hotel is very ex ,1 night is SGD$290.standard room only.so best idea is get a hotel which is nearby..cheaper and nice

hi w800i,

u sure sounds like my mobile... kekeke...

so u gg end of this mth? Cool, do go & give us any updated info ya!! as i am gg too soon..
Thx!

kerenelu

Hi w800i,

Which hotel is near disneyland and cheap as well? Need your suggestion

Actually I intend to stay at disneyland hotel for two nites and choose the one with sea view and balcony. But that would cost around S$600 per nite.

Where can we get tickets at HK? At the disneyland itself? I read from the website that pre-booking is encouraged due to availability. Wonder how true it is.

Oh by the way, i intend to go early Dec

jewelmelody

Hi I just accompany my mother to book a tour to 8 Days Hong Kong + Shenzhen,Macau and Guangzhou during the Christmas week organised by Fivestars Tour and official publicity station is FM95.8...

Disneyland HK is the highlight of the tour and dinner with Xue Jia Yan aka Hao Yi...and an opportunity to watch Hong Kong artiste award ceremony...

fatcat

I will suggest you all don't go to Disneyland until Dec, coz it will be all packed by China people during the first 3 months. And not all rides are ready, better wait until it runs smoothly.

bikergal2004

hi skylar

yes i going..i will update u..anyway anyone know in hk any recommended spa??i mean clean massage n reasonable price below SGD$80?

bikergal2004

hi kk,better dun go on Dec cos very packed de.for me i stayed at Mongkok there..cos near disneyland ard 2 MRT station only..nearby got lah..but i forget the place..i need to see the map.cos u stay in disneyland inside also no use.u go in and out that place is very inconvenience.as for us we stay 4 star hotel.once we went out the hotel is a shopping mall paradise and nearby theres a woman's street which sell lots of cheap stuff.

u told me $600 per night is too ex..but how many people staying in a room?cos what i know is SGD$290 per night in disneyland.but my relative stay in hk ,they said no use to stay inside disneyland.cos is not as big as it status.i not so sure.when i come back then tell u lah..

fatcat

W800i: Don't think you can get such service at such price in HK.

Just watch TVBJ news yesterday about Disney open for the charity to trial of their park, it's a chaos, they have to wait 2 hrs for lunch and most rides need to q more than 1 hours.Good luck!!

pyk

The best mth is Nov (ticket mostly at lowest) if anyone who wants to go early. (Oct is long holiday for Chinese mainlander)

For me, I wld rather wait til next yr cos thing shld run smoother & not that packed.

Better get ticket via www.hongkongdisneyland.com or any tour agent here. If u only get ticket when reached HK maybe disappointed (daily visitor limit 30K).

Hi fatcat, are u from HK?

Hi w800i,
wat kinda massage are u looking for?? clean hahaha... i get that! btw, something spa like izzit? can buzz out my frds there to recommend a few ya!
let u know soon!

w800i
i don't understand why u wanna go massage in HK!! It's so expensive and not really a catch for holidaymakers! For a 45min foot massage, u pay HKD288 which is considered promotional price. Why not hop over to Shenzhen on KCR and get a 2 hour foot massage for only RMB30-50??? If you are thinking of those HAACH, Balinese, Thai type of posh massage, HK is not quite the cheap place to gtet these!

kerenelu

Hi w800i,

Thanks for your inputs

Well, i am in teaching. So the only months i can go travelling are June and Dec. If i have a choice, i wouldn't go travelling in these two months because of all the peak charges! Haha! Well, no choice

My previous trip to HK was 4 yrs back. That time me and my hubby stayed in Eaton Hotel. The room was terribly small despite 4 star and the location wsa not so good as it is quite a distance from MTR station.

My hubby just went to HK for a friend's wedding in March. He and his buddies all stayed in Miramar Hotel. 4 star but the room was much bigger and the location was so much better.

So i roughly want to know which are the 4 star hotels worth staying. Recently i looked at websites and thinking of Royal Pacific, Sheraton or Hyatt Regency. Any comments?

I noticed Disneyland Hotel is so much more expensive than Hollywood Hotel. Most likely i would go for Hollywood Hotel instead.

In fact i am also interested to know how much time do we actually need to spend at disneyland. My hubby's friend who got married in HK went there recently on one of disneyland's preview days and he shouted boring

I was still considering whether i should do any booking at NATAS fair which is this weekend.

eve74sg

I've been to Disneyland in Japan and LA. In fact most Disneyland's rides has to queue for very long. The popular rides u have to wait for 2 hrs, not so popular ones maybe half an hr.

I believe the HK Disneyland will be worse at the beginning. I am planning to be my daughter there, but I don't like the mainland Chinese, so maybe have to wait for next yr.

eve74sg

Langam Place is a new shopping mall, very nice, thk abt 7 storey of shopping with many restuarants and cinema.

I went there to shop last yr Dec, but dunno they have ahotel as well. Think should be nice since its new.

pyk

Hi Eve,

Langham Mongkok is classified as 6* hotel, it shld be very expensive. Unless they hv any offer come with F&E or you think it's worth to spend this money.

pyk

Hi Eve,

Langham Mongkok is classified as 6* hotel, it shld be very expensive. Unless they hv any offer come with F&E or you think it's worth to spend this money.

pegsfur

tamarind,

I stayed in Langham Place Hotel when i went HK in April. It's really a nice place! I've posted some pics in the HK old thread but I'll post it here again for your viewing

310425.jpg

View of room from the bathroom.

310426.jpg

Room with see-thru bathroom

310427.jpg

The various toilettries

310428.jpg

Bathrobe & slippers for you!

310429.jpg

Not to forget the 42" plasma tv in every room

tamarind

Hi pegsfur,
Wow those photos are awesome. Thanks ! It looks really comfortable. How's the service ?
What are the room rates you got ? I saw in August they were offering around HK$1000, but in Sep/Oct it is higher.

pegsfur

tamarind,

Service was good! Every staff was very courteous, from the executives to the bell boy
That time when i booked, it was abt S$161+. I think the rates are so much higher now.

hi pegsfur,

we PM before :p

i tried to book langlam in the webbies and you know what? the lowest i can find is from directrooms & asiahotels and its already at $217. faint! thats for nov and considered as not so peak in nov.

pegsfur

hi minssy,

Oh, so it's u

Wow, the price really rocketed to so high huh .... I must have been lucky to get that price cos if i'm not wrong, the hotel was just newly opened. So are u still taking Langham Place?

hi pegsfur,

yah lor.. when i was doing my research, i heard prices are about $161 or so.. so i guess.. BP is $100+ and langham is $161. why not lor? then now, its $217! faint! stay 1 nite in langham can stay 2 nites in BP

think i will only stay 2 nites there.. unless i can convince FH to spend more money. haahaah

anfield_kid

Need some advice from all the experts here. I intend to go hongkong Disney in Nov,do u all tink its better to go during nov?

pyk

Hi ryan,

Nov is considered a low season, so as Disney I think (no school holiday & less visitor).
Go to Disney on weekday. Although ticket shld be widely available on weekday but I still highly suggest you to get the ticket in adv whatever from disney HK website or any local tour agency.

happytea

hi ryan, i just bk from HK tonight, there are tons of mainlands tourists and i believed during this opening season, disney will be packed w china guided tours. this disneyland is mainly eyeing the china mkt.

i also agree w KPY that u should go on weekdays, tickets is SGD10 cheaper and you can at least avoid the wkend crowds. and nov is consider to be cooler hor? better than now, too hot!

blue2003

Hi, I went to Shen Zhen by bus. I took the book from the bus station near to Long Bao Hotel. U can ask the pple from the hotel. Per trip costs HK$30 and it took only 30 mins to reach Shen Zhen. Went there for shopping and makan...

hi blueblue,

actually izzit safe to go shen zhen anot? like w800i, the 2 of us dunnoe how to go and scared get lost. hahah!

metta

just poking my head in here. i've been watching Taiwan variety shows on SCV and it was mentioned that they had bad filming experience at HK Disneyland & hope they will improve. Guess the service still needs polishing. Not to mention the crowds!!

w800i: you so cute lah...massage in HK? That's sky-high expensive!!! I thot massage holidays are restricted to only phuket, bali, etc.?

dun be scared to go to Shenzhen lah...Shenzhen is my territory ok! Just don't wear loud clothes and Rolex...

What you do is just take MTR to Kowloon Tong MTR station (or any other stations which meets with the KCR line), then change to KCR rail line to go to Luohu station. Then clear both HK and China customs. You don't need China visa because it's waived if less than 15 days.

When you cross the infamous (refugee) Luohu River via a footbridge, you see the Luohu Shopping Centre right away and just spend your whole day shopping there. You can eat cheap dimsum, have cheap foot massage, manicure, hairwash inside the complex lor! This place sells lots of TOP-QUALITY "A" branded imitation stuffs...oops, i wonder if this will be censored

By evening, just walk back the connecting bridge back to the Luohu Immigration Building and clear the customs and take the KCR back to HK. The whole process is like going to JB.

For more info, please visit:

www.kcrc.com

I think HK disneyland is really a teaser to mainland tourists. In 6 years' time, they will build another one in Shanghai and that will cannibalise HK's disneyland. Can you imagine, the sleeping beauty castle is one size smaller than the actual one in Orlando and Anaheim? Also, they only have Adventureland, Tomorrowland and Fantasyland with a total of only 21 rides. That's too small, compared to Disneys in Tokyo (80+ rides), Paris (90+ rides) and USA (100+ rides) where I've already visited some years ago. One could never finish the whole theme park by 10pm in USA.

I was told the crowd limit on 12 Sep was only 16,000. That's a very small crowd.

I always believe in the Total Software Experience. In other Disneys, you queue with polite angmohs or Japanese...In HK Disney, you must compete with aggressive mainland tourists who don't know the meaning of queuing. I went to Ocean Park last year and was pushed around by over-excited Chinese tourists in every queue, cut queue by those behind the queue who wanna hop onto the same cable car as their comrades, used the messed up toilets left behind by the hordes of Chinese tourists who must step on toilet seats. It was an annoying experience to sit in the Dragon roller-coaster with crude Chinamen in front and behind. Then they love to squat and smoke by the pavements.

Anyway, I'm not sure if Disney HK will become that bad. It's tough to believe Taiwanese and Singapore media too...they will surely try to downplay Disney's attractiveness because of stiff tourist competition mah...

w800i,

ok ok... i reply u here ya.. u got ask me meh? kekeke... my frds said that HK Studio Health Spa not bad lor... its at
43 Industry Lane
Waterbury, CT 06704
Tel: 203-757-1999

Directions:
-84 to Exit 23. Follow Rt. 69 North to 3rd traffic light. Turn left onto (Manor Avenue). Next traffic light turn right onto (Wolcott Street). 6 traffic lights turn left (Lakewood Avenue). 2nd traffic light turn right (Industry Lane) HONG KONG STUDIO on the left

bikergal2004

wow confused sia...

can email me [email protected] for more details.thanks.a.cos a bit kan cheong going hongkong as i went there is 1996 with parents..hehe..

i need to do survey first before i go there.if not just wasting time when i reach there and ask people where to shop n etc..hope u all understand..

dear w800i,
Aiyo, I'm now in HK lah! Can I pm you when I'm back mid-week? When are you going? How many days?Are your folks going too? Are you going sightseeing like Disney/The Peak or simply shopping only?

I'm amazed by your scope of interest, w800i...Are you Teochew? Alas! I don't specially eat sharksfin or birdnest in HK unless people buy me dinners. I only eat sharksfin in Bangkok cos it's MUCH MUCH cheaper!!! OK, I remember eating a bowl of yummy sharksfin at the popular Hai Gang Cheng (can't recall the English name) Teochew restaurant in Wanchai. I observe that the Chiuchow restaurants in HK serve the best sharksfin and birdsnest. They are imported from Thailand.

Maybe you can try:
Sharks Fin City Restaurant
1102, Food Forum
Times Square
Causeway Bay
Tel 3102 9838

Sharks Fin City Restaurant
U G/F, 8 Olympian City One
West Kowloon
Tel 2271 4328

Meanwhile, if you're going next month, why not try Hairy Crabs (Da Cha Xie)???? They are in season! Please visit those Shanghainese restaurants.

www.eatdrinkhongkong.com

Gotta run for lunch!!! Catch up when I'm back!!

I m goin to HK next Wed.. still considering if i shld go to Shen Zhen or nt cos scare lor.. scare kena kidnap or robbed by china people :p

Yule, can i ask hor is it v crowded ah at the immigrations to cross over to ShenZhen? isit better to go by MTR or take bus as suggested by BlueBLue?

Appreciate if you all can give ur advice..

pyk

Hi n/c,

No matter how to go to Shenzhen, it's always crowded esp. on weekends/ p.holidays, 8-10am & 5-7pm on weekday wld be very crowded too.

Not discourage ppl going Shenzhen, but u do really hv to be cautious.

Hi KPY

Okie thanks.. hehe..

Actually my colleague went thr late last yr with her hubby, & then they encountered a snatch thief.. when my colleague screamed, suddenly a group of people crowd around her with accusing eyes & it seems like they r a syndicate lor..

so she advise me to be careful if really wan to go.. esp at the exit point of the immigration be extra careful..

also, at the shoppin mall in Shenzhen, she said they w try to give change in counterfeit notes 1 ley

Sure, the station and customs look crowded but luckily, you are holding a Singaporean passport! I just went to Shenzhen last weekend and was surprised that there were only average 3-4 pax in the Foreign Passport queue at both HK and China customs during peak hours--despite that it was a long weekend, Mid Autumn festival holiday in HK

<update> The Shenzhen Luohu rail station has recently been renovated and integrated with the HK KCR and Shenzhen Subway network. So it's become very big and foreigners like yourself might get lost in the huge complex if you hv poor sense of direction. You and your companions must be very streetwise and must appear so too! If you're going with a bunch of inexperienced travellers, I advise you 'Don't Go!'unless your purpose is to buy imitation stuffs at Luohu Shopping Centre.

I dun wanna downplay the dangers of Shenzhen, nor will I exaggerate the risks. Yes, there are syndicates operating around rail stations, ranging from swindlers, pimps, child beggars, touts, pickpockets, snatch thieves, and what hv u...Yet, the no. of angmohs, Filipino maids, tourists and suit-clad HK businessmen crossing the border daily from HK to Shenzhen remain high.

In the papers you read how unlucky ones have gotten stabbed, have their hands chopped off in lieu of their handbags, dragged by motorbikes along the road, or be surrounded by robbers, etc. It's a dangerous world out there. Yes, counterfeits are everywhere but I always throw them back at those idiots or spend them!

If you just want to buy imitation goods, I suggest you don't venture beyond the Luohu Shopping Mall and spend a half-day there will do. Many S'porean businessmen I know have visited Shenzhen City Centre several times and "survived". I guess the more uptight and 'foreign' you behave, the more obvious a target you'll be to the thieves. After all, it's not just China that's dangerous. I've been robbed in Amsterdam, NY, Prague and Moscow as a tourist before, so to me, the problem is not with the city but with me.