Hong Kong Bride and Singaporean Bridegroom

iamhey

i am getting married with my bf next yr (aug 09). i am from hong kong and he is singaporean. we plan to have our ROM on singapore flyer and have a dinner with ard 50 persons in a nice restaurant afterwards. does anyone have any suggestion of a nicely decorated restaurant with nice atmosphere and nice food? also, did anyone marry to a foreigner in Singapore before?

mrs_n

Oh you'll find all of us married to foreigners on this thread.

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/36737/105257.html?1217856523

You're most welcome to join in.

iamhey

hiya jacqueline!

i am still in hk at the moment. i graduated last yr and started working in hk to gain some experience first. i am planning to get a work pass to sg in mar 09 and get married in aug 09.

so do u work in sg after marrying? i am not sure if it is easy for hk ppl to find a job in sg. will it be a lot easier after u become PR?

so where did u get married? singapore or hk? it's so difficult to arrange a wedding when i am in hk. and i dun have a lot of information too. do u know if there is any street or shopping mall where wedding shops concentrate like they do in hk?

jac_chan

Cardith,

Me came to Sing 17 yrs ago. My parents was migrated to Sing. I can consider as "grown up" in Sing since sec. sch. I am currently working in sing and i was already used to the working and living environment in sing as i was here for so long.... But i think HK ppl are quite easy to find a job here as most of the employers think that HK ppl are smarter and fast... so u dun need to worry so much

I had my wedding in Sing (both ROM & customary), then we had another simple dinner in HK for all my relatives. So where do u intend to hold your wedding in sing? Mine was at Chijmes, it is a very nice place to hold a wedding dinner there...

As for those bridal shops, u can try IMM at Jurong or Tanjong Pagar.

uk_fung

hihi me from HK too.. like Jacqueline, family migrated to singapore 18yrs... hee hee so grow up here

Does your current company have a branch in SG? if yes can try ask for relocation. (that's what some HK bride did) .... and as long as you have work experience, able to speak english and chinese... not that hard to find job.... Of coz with a PR status will be advantage...

I have ROM last year... going to have my AD soon in Oct
HK side will not have wedding dinner but rather just a gathering for the relative who can't travel over this Oct. Just 1-2table kind of thing. [phew save money save trouble]

What kind of things are you looking for at the moment? Maybe I can provide you website/ email contact so that you can contact the shop directly in a easy way

iamhey

hiya mrs chiew!!

thanks a lot for your help!! my company dun have a branch in sg><wt>< anyway, i hope i can find a job and make some hk fds in sg!! will definitely miss speaking cantonese!

i have little information on wedding gown rental and wedding make-up at the moment. heard that sg brides often tailor make their gowns, instead of renting. but is there any place to rent a WG and EG? for make-up service, i am not sure where to find too.. do u know some places for gown rental and make-up?

so where are u going to have ur AD? i may also do the same, just have a casual dinner in hk =)

uk_fung

For job u can go www.jobstreet.com.sg, www.jobsdb.com.sg to serach serach
mass send your resume out lor.. sure there will be agent replying you...

SG bride usually will sign package with the bridal shop. Package include

Based on 2007 rate----
For a 3K-3.5K package:
1 WG (MTM/OTR)
1 EG (MTM/OTR)
1 T-Dress (MTM/OTR) *usually out of the 3 gowns only 1 will be MTM.. and it might not be for you to keep...
1 ROM Dress
1 KUA
1 MTM Pants to keep for groom
1 Jacket for AD
1 Jacket for ROM
2 father Jackets
4 sister gown/brother jackect
1 ROM MUA with hairdo (Ask for FOC Ampoule and eye lashes)
2 AD MUA with hairdo (Ask for FOC Ampoule and eye lashes) --- morning and night.. maybe can ask for 1 more hairdo to match EG.
2 Bouquet (1 ROM/1 AD) with corsages Car deco Car rental Guest book

With either
1) Photo shoot (PS) ---- usually 300 pic will be taken for you to choose..... 5 gowns for both groom n bride (hee hee try ask them if can choose gowns aside from AD so u wear more different gowns) Indoor &amp; outdoor --- select 20 to 25 pose (which is very little actually.... ask for more 35??)
1 coffee table album big one
1 desktop pic (try ask for 2)
1 big canvas pic.. WITH frame (do note that usually different frame will cost different.. unless standard one will be included)
1 DVD with selected pic
Try asking for FOC montage/FOC Ampoule, eye lashes for PS, extra pic discount.... Do try to ask for signing scroll make with your wedding pic... else normal guest book.

2) AD photo (Journalist style or normal style)
1 Unlimited pic in DVD 1 slow in pic with 300pc printed or
1 coffect table with 20 to 30pages (there is hot press/ normal print)

uk_fung

Sorry about my long message ya

anyway when you talk about SG bride like to tailor make... the call it MTM (Make to measure) it only means the BS (Bridal shop) do a new gown with your design and measurement.... it might not for you to keep unless you top up... In HK tailor make will be for you to keep right?

Actually are you doing photo shoot in Sg? or what's the plan??

I do have some link to gown renting and make up services.. but is at home.. maybe you add me to your msn I can send you: [email protected]

Anyway for me I buy my gown in HK, took my PS in macau, get Photographer in SG, Get MUA in SG ...
I did not sign up any package....

Will be having my AD at swissotel stamford.

jac_chan

Hi Mrs Chiew.... so glad to see another HKers here.... which part of sing u stay? Is your HTB also singaporean?

jac_chan

oic... yah i come across quite alot of HKers in SK and Punggol... u just move in? Me already stay here for 3 yrs already. So where r u intend to have your AD?

jac_chan

wow....there's v long....

Swissotel is a nice place to have banquet there... i heard from my colleague said that the food there are nice.... Mine was at chijmes and i stayed at swissotel for my wedding nite

keke33

Hi everyone, I'm from HK 2, nice to meet you all!!

Cardith: I'm same case as u, living in HK now &amp; getting married with my bf this Dec (ROM &amp; banquet in SG then another small banquet in HK). I found it kinda hard to plan my wedding in the 1st place too, (n now still got a few things yet to be settled, hehe) so do let me know if you got any questions then c if I can help ya =)

jac_chan

wow another HKers here
Welcome keke

So u going to stay in sing after your wedding? Me last time also same as u, had rom and banquet in sing, then few mths later hold a small causal dinner in hk... actually wedding not really hard to plan lah but is the matter of time and $$ only heehee...

keke33

yes, will move to sing after the wedding, then found a job lor

I guess its not hard to plan a wedding, just the habit in HK &amp; sing are not the same n when u are not presonally there, abit hard to coordinate everything... Just like in sing ppl usually will sign up a bridal package, but in HK is mostly ala carte... so need to learn all these by doing abit more research

keke33

is it necessary to have entertainer during the banquet? e.g. live band... what's the usual itinerary for banquet in sing?... abit confused

uk_fung

ChEryL: You are from HK too??

keke:
It is not a must to have entertainer during banquet.. it is a personal choice.

If you are having ROM on the same day, it can be:
- ROM at lunch time at venue of your choice
- ROM just before dinner start at the same venue for dinner (usually hotel will be providing you a function room to do that)
- ROM during dinner, will be do it on the stage with all the guest at the dinner table.

(stated in the invitation)
7pm cocktail reception
730pm Dinner start

For banquet:
7pm - 8pm guest start to come
8pm onwards should be more or less guest come and get seated...then you can start the dinner when those impt guest arrived + at least 85-90% of ppl reach.. (worst come to worst 830-845pm should start else will be end too late for other guest who already come)

1st part---- dinner start-> close door-> show childhoon montage (growing up) -> 1st march in-> cut dummy cake -> couple get sitted -> presentation of 1st dish with songs and effects by the venue

2nd part---- after 2nd /3rd dish -> change to EG ->show morning highlights clip -> 2nd march in -> toasting -> speech -> table to table photo taking (if you have enuff time after photo taking you can mingle with guest, or eat sth)-> Farewell at door (you can change another gown if u want to / have time)

keke33

Thanks, Mrs Chiew!!

We don't have 2nd March in here in HK... so sounds like its not necessay to have live band ya. I think play some music should be enough...

Btw, just in case for couples get live band, when the live band usually get involve?

uk_fung

KeKe: Actually how you want to run the show is really up to you.. I am also thinking not to have the 2nd march in.... here they have coz they change only 1 EG gown and sort of like show abit lor if not like "wasted"... HK is different coz some ppl even have more than 1 EG... if they got to march in everytime they change.. really not enuff time

Ya you can either prepare your own music for the background.. if not you can just ask the venue to play some soft music as background.

If you are getting live band, depends how many set you getting.. each set of music is usually 45min.... Some ppl will use the 45min just for reception, Some will have the live band to play their march in music (meaning from dinner start), Some will have it in during "breaks" like After the march in when MC done with the speech... when no video clip is playing... (just like the backgroud music but now is live music that's all)

hammiebao

hi all, I'm like Jacqueline and Mrs Chiew, family migrated to singapore about 13yrs... hee hee so grow up here, FH is singaporean too.. nice to meet u all !

xlan

haha.. so happy.. i wanna join in the "SGbride-HKgroom Club too! yeay yeay!

migrated here 17yrs ago.. sort of grew up here too.. i hv bunch of frens n colleagues here but i hv no frens in hk! haha.. cos most of my childhood frens migrated somewhere else too.. i speak n write singlish too.. i tink i'm more like a singaporean than a HKer.. haahaa!!

our big day gonna b next yr 12 july.. novotel cq.. n will b gg back HK for (mayb) 3 tables with my close relatives n parent's close friends..

cheers to all HKbrides-SGgrooms! ^.^

uk_fung

csl: happy planning la

I guess the migrate era ppl the kid (which is us) now all grown up .. the time to get married that's why hahaha :p

jac_chan

wow another HKers..... welcome and congrats... csl

Seems like i am the only one who are already married in this forum leh....u all are getting married soon.

xlan

heee... thank u!! i'm flipping thru hk magz for dinner place in hk.. we only need 3 tables.. n wanted somewhere near hotel or if possible book the 3 tables in the hotel.. not sure if there's any minimum req table to book with hotel.. hubby's family n our frens v interested to go with us.. so i gotta make sure the dinner place is convenient to their accom.. headache..

uk_fung

csl: hee hee advise is request quotation from hotel that u like under normal family gathering instead of the wedding package....private function kind of arrangement will be better. You can get more info from esdlife.com go to the wedding page.. tons of info ya.

jac_chan

Mrs Chiew,

hahaha very fast hor, how is your prep now? getting excited right?

csl,

I invite my relatives in HK for a casual dinner at this restaurant called "Garden Restaurant" near yau ma they, the food not bad and the location is convenient too.

xlan

wow.. 唔該嗮呀, Mrs Chiew &amp; Jacqueline!!!!

i'll check them out! hehe..

ms_mango

Hi Hi!!

I came to Singapore when I was 9 yrs old. Considered to be half a Singaporean. My HTB is a Singaporean.

We are holding our wedding in Sin on 18 Oct 09 in M Hotel. But I need to go back to Hong kong for another one (8 tables).

Any suggestion where to hold?? I am having a hugeeeee headache on the HK venue

xlan

ms_mango

Thanks Csl!!! I will be back in HK in nov for 2 weeks. I am intending to ask for quotations and shortlist as many venues so that I can go and check it out.

What kind of venues are u looking at?

xlan

haha.. i told my bro help me to look for restaurant that hold small wedding of 3 tables, near hotel, convenient for us to go from our home(in kowloon), budget ard HKD5000/table.. which is something similar to his wedding held last year.. so shldn't b a prob to him.. hee..

as for the magz.. i'm still looking ard sg too.. saw previous posts it can be found at kinukuniya (not sure on exact spelling) in taka.. but i hv yet to go there.. may b u can try..?

ms_mango

Thanks!! I will go check it out!
Do you mind what are the restaurants you are looking at?
I am thinking of somewhere around TST,kowloon,prince edward etc..my budget is not more than HKD7k all in (of coz lower better :p)

two_piece

Yoz! Glad to found this thread!

Me also migrated from HK abt 15 years ago, had my sec sch education here. All my frens n colleagues are in sgp n none in HK liaoz :p I just got married this year and my HB is a singaporean too... hee... so happy to see so many 'tong baos' here :p Nice to meet you all

xlan

sandy, i'm not sure what r the restaurants my bro will b sourcing too.. may b i update here again when my bro reverts to me.. actually we dun hv much budgets too.. but as the common rate i read in those HK magz.. lowest per table costs 4399.. more common rate would b 4688 or 5388.. how many table u'd need?