Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

stars

Heehee Sancai
So sorry I kept forgetting. Too many things to remember or cam I getting old :p
Wow only three more weeks away. How are you feeling now? You have finished most of the things?

Hi Orhid
How is your wedding? Do share with us ok.

Hi Carol

You and your hub really so en ai. So good.

Hi Pooh

Be happy. I think everything is ok.

stars

carol

Hi Pooh,
Since everything is ok, you shouldn'tbe worrying too much!

Hi Stars,
How's everything so far... Do take care while busy preparing...

Cheers:
Carol

stars

Hi Carol

Thank you for your concern. I am okay. Busy with work and also wedding and house reno. It seems that every weekend, we will have something to do. We don't get to meet so often during weekdays as we stay quite far.
I am just worried that I have missed out anything. I have printed the inserts, still have not sent out the cards. I think I am not going for food tasting. I guess the food okay right.
Can I check with you what color you take for the ice carving?

stars

carol

Hi Stars,
Haha.... You are welcome!
Sure all your hard work will be paid off.

Oh, we've choosen the yellow ice-craving... It blend well with our wedding theme colour.

Cheers:
Carol

orchid

I'M BACK AND MARRIED!!!!!!!

We had a blast!! i was like totally myself the whole day, very happy, no worries. all my worries evaporated the day before cos i told myself, whatever that can be planned has been planned. so just enjoy myself and left it to my friends to run the whole show. Friends are very important people.

One tip: i strongly encourage you to spend some time yourself the day b4 the wedding (wh is what i did). i had my facial, then went for a steam bath & body scrub at the swimming club (if u don't have steam bath, do a slow body scrub & shower at home). it really releases the tension.

But i tell u, it was really tiring by half day. when we arrived at the hotel at 4pm (after church wedding), we just plopped onto the sofa and ate the food that our friends packed for us - starving and tired. best thing was that my friend bought us starbucks latte!!! life saver. hehe...

The dinner went very very well. Kelvin & Kenny were there to make sure that everything was going well. Our guests were very responsive to our speeches - i think they were abit on the crazy side. All my guests said that the food was one of the best they had at wedding dinners. They all ate the dessert cos the chinese pancake was great! we had to wait for them to finish dessert.

Happened that the girl serving the VIP table was my dinner coordinator's classmate. so we got great service. aaaahahah.. really small world. We only got to be alone at abt 2am. Our friends weren't done with us after the dinner. Had more sabos in the room!

Best things abt the hotel...
1. Our guests were given free parking even though some of them forgot to bring the coupons.
2. They served the dishes that we missed for supper to the room.
3. Late checkout at 3pm the next day (u MUST request for this. call the reception after your wedding).
4. Breakfast served in the room (u MUST request for this as well. i called room service after the wedding to let them know that we'd like breakfast served. then called them the next day when we got up only at noon so it was pass the breakfast time already. they served full American breakfast within 20 min of the call.)

Absolutely no regrets for choosing HIPV. I will gladly recommend it to anyone.

stars

Hi Orchid
You are back! So happy to hear from you. Did you go for honeymoon?
Wow thank you for sharing with us your experience.Can I ask you a few questions?
1) You went facial the day before your wedding?
2) You mean on the spot some of the guests were given free parking? So good.
3) How many tables you have?

I hope you will still come back here to give us advice.

stars

angel

wow the thread is so active...guess i have been missing out a lot. I am feeling very excited...cos I'll be going for my trial make up this friday

Orchid, glad u have such a wonderful experience.

SP, we started our reno last week...the progress is good. Electrical work, air con pipe and ceiling done. Just have to complete the painting then the built-in furniture will come in.

Sancai, u must be feeling excited. 4 Oct 02 not too far away. Do share with us if u find any cheap spa. I am oso interested

Stars, so u are with CC...I have a friend who oso use them. She seems quite happy with them. I have seen her pics...not bad

Pooh, don't worry. Those comments are very subjective. What is no good to others may be good to u. It will be fine.

orchid

Hi stars,

1. Yes, went for facial the day before the wedding.
2. We actually called the ops manager and asked him if our guests can park complimentary if they didn't bring the coupon. he said, no problem if they say they're here for our wedding.
3. We had 26 tbls. We told them 27 tbls then abt 1 wk before, i confirmed 26 tbls. i had abt 3 tbls with 11 ppl, and 10 baby chairs!! told them which the tbl numbers 3 days before the wedding and they setup accordingly the day of the wedding.

orchid

Clarifications.. the 10 baby chairs are not all on 1 tbl.... hahahah.... sounded like that when i re-read the thread.

sp

Hi Orchid

Another happy bride, so far so good, no worries, now that we are in safe hands from the wedding consultant to operations managers to the service staff.... so happy.... So excited for you that everyhting went on smoothly. Thanks for the tips, I'll highlight my request to Eugenia too. hehehe. Just collected my wedding cards and have decided on taking the chopsticks and yellow ice carving swan, next we'll be working on the menu.
My package comes with food tasting with a confirmation of 30 tables, so i guess i have to make time to plan a get together dinner...
take care girls
SP

carol

Hi Orchid,
Welcome back!!!

So happy to hear any happy HIPV brides sharing her experience.
I can feel your happy mood too!

So, are you having your honeymoon now? Will be waiting for you share your wedding pics with us!

Cheers:
Carol

sancai

Hi Stars,
Almost finished ... juz hope I did not miss out anything ...
Meeting up with Jasmine on Mon 2 c the deco of ballrm ...

Hi Orchid,
Welcome back ... **Phew** so relieve to find you & Carol were satisfied with HIPV. Tks 4 yr tips! Will take note!

Hi angel,
a bit panic liao ... me keep thinking clumsy hubby will step on my gown & I fell down during march in ... ***Silly me*** rite???

Gals anybody earlier than me??? 2 wks left to be exact!!!

sp

Hi, sancai
yah lor, everything will be just fine, i guess all brides to be will go thru the same fear of tripping on their gowns lor, me too have the same fear..... just part and parcel of wedding prep.
I will be going to take a look at the setup too either this saturday or next, depending on my hubby's work schedule.

SP

carol

Hi Sancai.
Don't worry, everything will be just fine....
All your friends & relatives will be all giving you their blessing, & not forgetting us too.

Cheers:
Carol

stars

Hi sancai
I am sure everything will be fine. Just relax and be a beautiful bride. I know is easier said than done but at least we must try rite

Hi Orchid

Can I check with you whether you mingle with the guests at the reception? How many times did you change your gowns? What time did you start?

regards
stars

sweetie

I have booked my banquet for next year. Got a letter telling me that Ceceilia is leaving HIPV. My wedding will be taken over by Priscilla Phua. Anyone sees her before? She is the new Wedding Consultant for HIPV.

stars

Hi sweetie

Sorry I have not heard of Priscilla. Not seen her before, so can't comment.

U all busy? No news from you all leh. How are things?

stars

sp

Hi sweetie

have not heard of Priscilla also, so cannot comment, but i guess all wedding consultants at HIPV are great, so don't worry lah. Just give her a call to meet up to find out for yourself lor.

Hi stars
I have sent my cards for printing already at T-dragon. I took all the red cards, no time to design, & the red cards are nice too, not the very traditional looking ones.
I agree that this thread is getting a bit quiet, but i can't log on while i'm out station lor.

take care
SP

orchid

We just came back from a most relaxing honeymoon at Koh Samui. We stayed at Papillon Resort - booked the hotel thru the internet, bought only air ticket from s'pore. I really recommend the resort to anyone going to Koh Samui. They have excellent service, very warm hospitality and is really good value for money. We paid 1600 Baht = S$64/nite for a beach front bungalow, comes with all day breakfast (7 sets to choose from), and free airport transfers. We stayed there for 5 nites. Our total cost for airfare & accommodation ws only $540 per person - would have only been able to stay 2 nites if we took a package.

Do check them out at: www.papillonsamui.com

Hi stars,

Our wedding invitation card stated that dinner will start at 7pm (didn't put cocktail time). So most guests arrived by 7:30pm. my husband, parents & in-laws were down there from 7pm. I went down at abt 7:30pm and mingled with whoever was there. We opened the doors from 7:30pm cos there was quite a crowd already. we walked in at 7:50pm & cut cake then dinner started abt 8pm.

Hi sweetie,

Never met Priscilla. Cecilia was my coordinator. She mentioned that she was leaving to go to Furama Hotel, doing the same thing - new opportunities & higher pay. Seems that Furama is coming up with a brand new ballroom (600 seater) and they were hiring a team of banquet sales execs to push the ballroom.

sancai

Sancai here! Sweetie, me too neber met Priscilla mine was Jasmine the manager took over when Celest left! Not too worry as they are great ppl.
Met with Kevin when I went down and was told he will be there 4 my wedding next fri.

Orchid, seems like yr wedding went on smoothly.
Hope mine too ....

SP - like their red cards very much, very elegant & classic.

Stars - me now buz with all the last minute shopping ....

stars

Hi Sweetie

Don't worry lah. You are not guinea pig. I am sure everything will be fine just like what they have said the people there are nice.

Hi Sancai

You are busy with what last min shopping? I took their red card also.

Hee same like you SP. I guess quite a number of us took. Cos like what Sancai say classic and nice. Ya no time to design the white ones.

Hi Orchid

Thank yu for sharing. So you wore your wedding gown and evening gown only?

San cai

How about you? You changing how many times?

Wow very excited now for you.

stars

sancai

Hi stars,

Either 2 or 3 ... if time permits will change into 3, teadress for sending guests off ...
When is yr wedding? Nov rite but I dunno which day?

Sweetie - don't think yrself as Guinea pig as the ppl they hired must be professional rite?
Give Priscilla a chance, who knows she's gd! Suggest u request 4 change if you find she's not up to yr expectation. Can look for Jasmine as she the manager there if I'm not wrong. I can give u her contact if u want.
Dun worry too much as all HIPV brides here will definitely help to solve yr problems.

carol

Hi Sweetie,
Sorry, I'not seen Priscilla, my wedding consultant was Eugenia, I'm sure she' will be as good as the others since they have a good management behind.

Anyway, Welcome to the HIPV thread...
Just a brief into. of myself: I'm a happy Ex HIPV brides, just had our wedding on 21st July 02...
I can gladly say that our wedding was a great success.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Hi SP,</FONT>
I do agree that the red cards look very nice too, but I was a little greedy, I took both the cream &amp; red cards!

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Hi Orchid,</FONT>
Welcome back!!!
So you must had a great time there.... Really feel like going there during the Dec Holiday.

<FONT COLOR="ffff00">Hi Stars,</FONT>
So how's yr preparations going on....

<FONT COLOR="119911">Hi Sancai,</FONT>
just a few more days to go.... Guess you must be very very excited.
Do take care &amp; enjoy yourself on your big day!

Cheers:
Carol

jewelz

hi everyone..

This is my 1st time posting a thread in SB, though I've been reading alot of them for these past few months.

I went down to take a peep on HIPV's crystal ballroom yesterday.. I must say I'm really impressed with their decor &amp; total ambience.. Look much better as compare to the pics which Eugenie emailed to me. Btw, I've only tentative booked with HIPV only .. meanwhile hope to lookout for good locations that can fit my selected dates..

I've tentatively booked with HIPV with a normal date.. which is next year November. However, sighs.. i'm NOT sure whether that date is OK for marriage or not - 'cos I guess the chinese calender is NOT out yet, rite?? I'm quite in a dilemma now.. Shd I go ahead with this normal date, or forgo this HIPV?? (i really like the ambience there.. &amp; the price fits within my budget)

My mum will sure nag at me if this date happen to be a non-auspicious date. Me &amp; my bf arent "bang dang" to look for fortune tellers, &amp; both our parents got no idea how to look at "tong shu". I actually got my auspicious dates online too. But too bad HIPV dun have those open dates anymore.

Any idea where can I noe the Chinese calender online or buy from ??

Million thanks...

twink|eTs

stars

Hi twinklets

I am not too sure to get the calendar. Last year when I booked the dates I have the same problem as you leh. When I book is around this time too, many of the good dates gone. Sorry I am not sure where to get the chinese cal, maybe you can surf the net.
You know when I choose my date is a big headache cos I look at too many calendars and ask too many people in the end all give me conflicting ideas. heehee anyway I have chosen and my wedding date is this nov.

Are you the one in CC thead? I just saw your name. So coincident!
Hope to see you more often around.

Dear Sancai
My weddding is on 17.

Dear Carol

I am still busy with renovation sstuff and my guest list not settle. You think is time to give out the cards. I have not given out yet.

Regards to Orchid and SP and all

stars

pooh

Hi jewelz,
i bought the tong shu for next yr. I actually select my wedding date before the tong shu is out but still buy to reconfirm. Although the date i choose does not indicate is a very good date to get married but it also didnt say is a bad date. Overall it a average day to get married lor.

If ur parents are particular u better confirm the date first. May i know when is the date u choose?

carol

Hi jewelz,
The tong Shu for next year is out already, you ma wana get a cop to check if the date you have selected is auspicious for wedding.

If you have no idea on how to read the Tong Shu, you can ask this "fortune teller" lady.
her shop is at opposite that Guan Ying Temple (at waterloo street), 2nd floor. From staircase, turn left, i think 2nd or 3rd shop. i can't remember her shop name, but it's called something like "XXXXXxx Fang ....."

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">stars,</FONT>
Woh, looks like you are really down with many things on hand, but the guest list could be important, so may wana ask our parents or in-laws to help out...

Hummmm.... I give out m invitation cards one month before the wedding date, to give them sufficient them to R.S.V.P &amp; chase on those whom have not reply yet.

Cheers:
Carol

sp

Hi sweetie

I understand your worry too, for me i got Eugenia from the start and am happy with her. Just like sancai, her wedding consultant was someone else too and another took over, and it went on well. Why not just give Priscilla a try first, if you are not too comfy, then request for a change to one of your choice.
I did speak to Eugenia whether she'll be taking over any couples since her colleague is leaving or has left already. She did mention that only one couple has requested for her and the rest are handled by her other colleagues who are just as good lor, so don't worry.....

Hi stars
It seems like the red cards are more popular, hehehe.... my MIL is so happy that I took all red cards, auspicious colour,hehehe, must try to please MIL also, so life will be easier in the future....

Hi carol
Very happy that you are with us all this while to keep this thread alive. You also give very good advise that can calm any 'panic' brides to be. hehehe.

Hi jewelz
need to pick a good date, play safe, go to a geomancer, don't just look at the tong shu.
If you need my geomancer, I can recommend him to you, he goes by email, phone or fax or you can meet up with him personally to get the date.
If really want to please your parents or in laws, go with them to their recommended geomancer to get a date lor. Better hurry and settle this and get the banquet venue, at least it'll be a load off your chest.

Hi orchid
Koh samui, very nice place to relax and it's very romantic, not too commercialised yet. I went there for a short trip 2 years ago, I enjoyed it very much. Beautiful place. Very good choice.

Take care girls
SP

carol

HI SP,
Great to see you here...

Hahaha.... Just hope that I could be in this thread to give my "advice" and experince to all the brides here.

I agree that the red cards are very nice, so my parents frame it up together with the family photo that we took on the wedding day!
So glad that it's a good choice!

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Cheers:</FONT>
Carol

stars

Hi SP

Ya so nice to see you here. You still busy? Still going out station?

Ya is so good to have Carol here to share with us her experience.

Check with you all again. Anyone bring in your own projector?
I am thinking of making my own powerpoint. heehee just trying out for fun. Not sure workable or not

regards to all of you.

stars

orchid

Hi stars,

yes, i only had wedding gown &amp; evening gown. there wasn't really time to change after that.

we didn't have the powerpoint cos we didn't want to spend $350 on projector rental. also don't have anyone to borrow projector from. besides, we also didn't have the ppt, so will need extra time to do it up (wh we don't have)

my friend's brother-in-law took pictures of the day using digital camera. during the dinner they plugged in the digi cam to the projector and ran the slides thruout the dinner. thot it was a cool idea.

sp

Hi stars

You going to have a ppt presentation done up by yourself ?! cool ! Me too busy to do anything, so not having any of these stuff, trying to keep it simple and easy lah.
How many tables are you having ? got space for projection or not ?

Hi carol,
i must say you are very creative, frame up the wedding card with family photo ! Thot of keeping a scrap book but it's a little messy now with bits and pieces, need some time to sort it out. I guess it's very memorable to have one as years go by, you can still recall how much time &amp; effort you put in to prepare the wedding, hehehe.

Hi jewelz &amp; angel &amp; sweetie, how are things on your side ?

SP (the busy one)

sweetie

I have not talked to Eugenia yet as my wedding is still quite far away. Will meet up with Priscilla is she called and decide then... wonder where she came from...anyone knows?

orchid

u can take a look at my wedding day &amp; studio pix.
posted the URL at the thread "Orchid's Studio Pic &amp; Actual Day photos" under the Wedding photos thread. there's 1 with the dinner setup that's quite nice.

jewelz

hi ladies !

Sorry, i've been very busy lately, tat's why my reply is real late....

Stars,
Yes I have posted in CC too.. haven't go there to take a look yet.. have been pretty demoralized cos of the negative comments there..
I told my bf abt it but he told me not to be paranoid abt it, 'cos all pple got different expectations &amp; stds .. juz hope to see more positive comments soon ...

oh ya stars .. toking abt projector, does HIPV has a big white screen there? 'cos my bf can borrow his company projector .. &amp; we are now wondering whether there's a big screen ... we are thinking of putting our "growing up" pics &amp; the footage of the whole events preparation..

Pooh, Carol &amp; SP,
Thanks for ur advises.

We dun have a particular date, infact i choose most of the dates from online. HIPV only left 9 Nov 2003 (Sun). I've bought a chinese calender last week, the uncle told me it is ok to marry on that date. At least I'm kinda relieved now. Both our parents are not ban dang &amp; leave most decisions to us. I only dun want to choose a 'bad' date ..'cos scully my mum nags on me last minute.
Heee. i'm also lazy to go temples or ask the "feng shui" uncle .. i dun wan to have too muz hassles.. try to be as simple as possible lor..

btw gals,
we are looking into 35 - 38 tables, will it be very cramp in the ballroom? Any of u having this kinda number.. ?
We are now considering between HIPV &amp; Hotel New Otani ..

sighs ..

twink|ets (aka jeweLz)

enid

For those who hv held ur dinner at HPIV, did u choose ur own 1st dish song or let the hotel to decide ?

carol

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Hi SP</FONT>
It was indeed a good idea of having a scrap book, We had a wedding journal.
It's ok... as your wedding date gets nearer, you'll have more things to include in your scrap book, especially after the wedding.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Hi Orchid</FONT>
Thanks for sharing your wedding pics. I must say you really look very nice and blissed...
Your happiness all shown.
You look very pretty!

<FONT SIZE="+1">Congrats!!!</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Hi Enid</FONT>
We choose our own songs through-out the banquet.

Cheers:
Carol

el

I've more or less decided on Holiday Inn. Can somebody advise me on what are the things to bargain for before signing on the dotted line? Thanks.

kikomo

hi carol, can I know u had your dinner on weekends or weekday?cause I am afraid of attendence.

sancai

Me back from Wedding and honeymoon!!!

2 thumbs up!! 2 thumbs up for all HIPV staffs
especially Jasmine, Kelvin &amp; Kenny - excellent service from them.
No regrets choosing HIPV and strongly recommend to anyone.

Enid - we choose our own 1st dish presentation song. If I'm not wrong HIPV only have Victory by Bond for 1st dish presentation.

EL - are you signing based on promtional package? If yes, is good enough. Perhaps you can let us know what is in yr package?

enid

Hi Sancai,

How many tables do u hv ? Did u take back the guest sign book to do any decoration first ? How's the food ?

Any things to look out ? Mine's on end of the mth.

sancai

Hi enid,

Total 32 tables. I had my own signature scroll from bridal shop thus need not use their guest book. Actually me did not eat at all but comments on the food was good but we do received some comments abt the 3 pillars but guess we had no choice!

Not to worry as the operation mgr will hv a briefing with couples to run through the programme for tt nite.
HIPV will serve pre-dinner snacks ard 5pm - my advice is do eat some even you are not hungry cos once dinner start you won't hv the time 2 eat!

The rest will be like what Orchid quote in her earlier threads :

1. Our guests were given free parking even though some of them forgot to bring the coupons.
2. They served the dishes that we missed for supper to the room.
3. Late checkout at 3pm the next day (u MUST request for this. call the reception after your wedding).
4. Breakfast served in the room (u MUST request for this as well. i called room service after the wedding to let them know that we'd like breakfast served. then called them the next day when we got up only at noon so it was pass the breakfast time already. they served full American breakfast within 20 min of the call.)

Cheers for HIPV - another happy bride, Sancai

sp

Dear Sancai
Feel so happy that your wedding went on smoothly and especially for the food and service provided by the professionals. HIPV really live up to their name and hope they keep it up for the rest of the weddings too. I guess it's the personal service and thoughtfulness of the staff, especially the wedding consultant who have worked with us made it easier to plan for the wedding.
Thumbs up for HIPV ! Hurray
SP

sancai

Hi SP the busy one,

Yup ... ***Heng*** No tripping ...

So how's your preparations, everything okie?
BTW when is yr wedding date?

Their service style is very personal ... my families; frens &amp; relatives were impressed by their service.

Cheers HIPV!!!

orchid

Hi Sancai,

congrats!! glad u had a great time.

where did u go for honeymoon?

p/s after everyone left us, 1st thing we did was to soak in the bath. it was most relaxing!! the hotel provided bath salts too. make use of the facility

sancai

Hi Orchid,

Thanks but miss my wedding!(daydreaming how I wish is today! Hee hee) Me went to BKK for short trip cos hving exams in 2 wks time ... can't go long.

after everybody gone, we juz hv a bath &amp; took our supper(boy! we wobbled down the food like hungry ghost!)

stars

Hi Sancai

So happy to see you back! Feel so happy for you that everything went on smoothly. ?ya by the way, you mean your gueests commented that the pillars block them?
Can check with when did the operations manager have a briefing with the couples? Is it on the actual day?

stars