Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

loveangel

dearris: I actually viewed Forest production before i picked Jacky. Found the videos by Forest quite standard and it's like following a certain template. Somemore, they were late for our appointment and that didn't leave a very good impression.

dearris

Hi Pris

But comparing the video by Jacky.. the editing protion is a bit more to "chinese" and simple side, While Forest have more story line ??

I will try email the photo tomorrow at home ...now in office.

dearris

Hi Jo

send..

Hi Apple

I would suggest u go down and see when there is a wedding hold ..

If the other half of the ballroom is also high ceiling it will be great .. but now .. a bit discounted .. overall for the price .. HIPV shld be value for money ..

btw.. Any Bride here is having her dinner in 12 Oct 07 or 27 Oct 07 ???

loveangel

dearris: Same here...i'm also aware that the right side of the ballroom has a lower ceiling than the other side but i don't mind. For a 9-course dinner in a hotel in town, it's a small "sacrifice" to make.

I'm going for my food tasting nx Wed! Can't wait!

jesdreamz

hey pris, must update on the dishes when u finish ur food-tasting.. :)
By the way, roughly how long before our AD shld we start to contact HIPV? My AD is in mid-nov 07...

loveangel

Jesdreamz: I contacted HIPV at the beginning of April to find out the rough schedule. The 1st thing they'll ask you to do is to confirm your rough number of tables so that you can proceed with your card/insert printing.

Who is your coordinator? Mine is Vasanthi.

Superbear: Welcome!

jesdreamz

Pris, i dunno whose's my co-ordinator leh... I signed up with Pauline but she left ages ago.. And vasanthi emailed me some schedule plus informing me of Pauline's resignation some time ago.. THen during Xmas, another co-ordinator sent me a greeting card.. So i also not sure who is actually my co-ordinator...

loveangel

Woah, nobody sent me a Xmas card! Hmm, think you can call up to check...because when i signed up last year, the coordinator was someone else too.

loveangel

Princess MoMo: I bought Jacob's Creek Merlot (2005 vintage)...think it was $18+ per bottle. I bought 3 cartons.
They had promo for Penfolds last weekend, Penfolds is also quite good. Another brand i had seen many couples taking is Red Deer Station.

My food tasting is tomorrow!!!

loveangel

hiya, my food tasting is finally over. 1 more task can strike off. Haha...

Ok, here's my feedback on the food --
1. Cold dish combination -- typical.
2. Shark's fin soup with crabmeat & conpoy -- the proportion of fins & crabmeat was very good. a bit salty.
3. Smoked duck with camphor wood & tea leaves -- yummy! The skin of the duck was crispy & the meat is very tender.
4. Deep-fried garoupa with superior soya sauce -- not bad. The garoupa is crispy and very fragrant. Can have more sauce though.
5. Braised sliced abalone & mushroom with lettuce -- good choice of combining this with lettuce instead of the usual green leafy veg.
6. mixed mushroon wrapped in beancurd skin in bamboo pith -- very nice though it didn't look very appetising. A good mix of ingredients inside -- fish maw & gingko nuts.
7. sir-fried prawns in apple mayo -- my fave! This dish is really very delicious, the green apples help to cleanse your palate after eating all the "heavy" dishes before & the prawns are very fresh.
8. braised ee-fu noodles with crabmeat & chives -- good. Not too salty or bland. The crabmeat used is fresh & thickly sliced.
9. yam paste with gingko nuts -- good. I didn't try this but hubby said it's nice. We requested for the coconut milk to be served separately.

Overall, the food quality & standard is better than we had expected. The food was also served in very unique-looking & "atas" looking plates. We also asked to switch the order of Dish 4 & 5 otherwise, our guests will have to eat 2 mushroom dishes consecutively. Gave our feedback to the head chef...a friendly chap.

After the dinner, we also brought our families to tour the Crystal Ballroom. Hopefully, the kitchen & chefs will maintain the standard & portions of food on our AD!

dearris

Hi gals..

My AD is on 20/10 currently looking for PG

Initially, i have finally decide on the AD photographer.. But when i can him to confirm... he is booked..so now i have to find again..

Below is a few AD photographer i shortlisted..

Any comment ? Anyone looking for AD photographer let me know ..

www.colinsphotograffi.com

www.perqjon.com

www.perqjon.com/chunming_jenlin_night

www.1950photography.com

http://tcy917.multiply.com/photos/album/2

http://www.wedding-moments.com/

Which one better ? If any gals interested in the above PG .. Pls let me know, maybe we can sign up together to enjoy discount.

garfield_glad

Hi Pris
Looks like you had a great food tasting!
Hopefully the standard can be maintained...will feedback to u gals after my wedding...counting down..22 days..*stressed*.

Hi dearris,
Hee afraid I can't comment coz also dont have friends who used these few PGs. My own PG is a freelancer. Hope you find your ideal PG soon! =) Better to get all these out of the way, coz nearer the wedding, have all the nitty gritty stuff to do!

loveangel

Glad: 22 more days....jia you!!! How is all your prep? Don't get stressed ok... must be a radiant bride!

Dearris: I also can't comment. None of my friends used these PG. My PG is Derrick Ong.

dearris

All the PG package price range really vary.. from 700 to 1000++++ for AD photograpy + 300pcs of 4R prints...

really do not know want to follow heart of head to choose the PG ...

How much are you gals spending for PG ?

Hi Glad,

And i would suggest that you check and co-ordinate their sound system earlier.. cos that time my sister wedding their sound system abit screw up.. but later luckily it is resolve..

Anyway, for now.. relax and be pretty !

garfield_glad

Hi Pris and dearris

Thanks :D Anyway alot of things not done yet. No of tables hvnt confirmed..will be doing it by this wkend. Also the other stuff like angbao box, my wedding shoes, my AD schedule, march in songs ahhh!
Dearris, yes, we are intending to test the sound out 1 wk earlier. But Krystal informed me when we last meet, that HIPV changed their sound system recently so hopefully it's better now. *cross fingers*

dearris

Hi Glad,

Glad to hear that !! Hmm.. they have change their plate .. now their sound system... btw their sound system is change when ? cos my sister wedding is march .. the person whom control the system is also important ..

btw for the shoe, i just heard fm a bridal here that City Plaza got nice and cheap wedding shoe..
I am also looking for one pair now..

princess_momo

Hi Glad,

Can feel the excitement going on around here.... be your best and enjoy! if possible, share share your pics also
Just in case, if you need angbao box, HIPV can provide, but I had nvr see before...

By the way, for 1st dish anyone think it's not necessary to have the "special walkin" for the waiters?

Hi Dearris,

I'm planning to spend around 800 only without 4R prints. I saw from www.perqjon.com is offering around 599? I think I prefer his work compare with the rest of the websites on your earlier post..... just my thoughts.

By the way, during your sis match in, did the hotel uses "lights" to shine on the couple?

Hi Pris,

I'm also considering Derrick Ong, find him a nice chap when speaking to him thru phone. His rates quite steep for me....so have to give up.

dearris

Hi Princess Momo

Perqjon 599 is without any photo prints..photo print is $1 per piece.. but one thing to note ..
those photo return in CD will not be edited if you do not print it out by him ..

if u really interested.. maybe we can bargain together ?

my msn [email protected]

Agree that Derrick photo is nice.. but the rate also out for me ..

As for the lighting .. i cannot remember .. i think we have to ask them if we want ..

loveangel

dearris & princess momo: I signed up with Derrick last year and my colleague recommended him to me. I think he has increased his rates since the start of this year. He's a very nice & friendly chap...looking forward to working with him on my AD.

Princess Momo: I also do not feel like having the special "performance" by the waiters. Find it quite unnecessary so i will discuss with my hubby & see whether he agrees with me.

Glad: Good to know that they have changed their sound system! I intend to test the audio & projector a few days before my AD. Btw, will HIPV allocate a person to man the sound system for the whole of the banquet?

Hmm, will you be making your AP box? If you really do not have time, can just buy online or ask HIPV for a huge bowl for guests to drop inside. As for wedding shoes, i bought mine from URS & Lucieno (a brand at Taka shoe dept) last year. A bit kiasu, during Xmas when all the glittery & glam designs were available, i snapped up 2 pairs. Haha...

dearris

The march in is bubbles effect .... as for the dry ice effect .. i cannot remember have or not ..
I think if u want dry ice effect .. u can ask ..

As for the special performance.. is the Indian Captain will dress up as a chief and dance in right after the other waiters walking for the first dishes presentation lor.

Well.. it is all depend on your lah .. some of the guest find it funny.. but some of the guest find that it will snatch the attention off the couples ...

I also considering whether i want it or not cos my sister wedding is just on march while mine is inb oct .. just 7months apart .. and at least 6 tables of guest saw it before liao ..

hmmm.....

jesdreamz

hi pris, nice to hear positive feedback for ur food-tasting.. Hopefully they will continue to maintain the same standard during AD & hopefully the sound system issue is resolve... hehe..

Dearris : Maybe u can try my ROM PG, Jayce Goh.. His works are quite good as well.. U can check out his website @ www.jaycephotography.com

garfield_glad

That time Kry said that there will be a technician to help us test the system beforehand. But I think I will get a friend to play the CDs for the night.
Thanks all for the recommendations on the shoes...hee I will just get a simple pair since I think nobody will notice too keke.

Gee..special performance, I guess I won't want it. I think the guests' jaws will drop haa.

Will try to get materials for AB box tml coz I am on leave. Hopefully I am able to make something presentable

dearris

491770.jpg

Glad, i just get this pair from city plaza today .. at $35
But the crystal is not those swaroski one lah .. but is relatively cheap :p

loveangel

dearris: Your heels are nice! Aiya, no need for swarovski, no one will be able to see your feet most of the time anyway.

I like bubbles for the march in instead of dry ice. Is using bubbles the default for HIPV or must i request for it? I don't want dry ice because the mist will "cover" my gown! Haha... vain hor?

Glad: I don't feel like having the 1st dish special presentation too. Do they have different options or is it only the Indian guy dancing?

Whose banquet is up next?