Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

assirac

ic ic ... have to patiently wait for her to call me then ... kekeke

Starlet ... see you on sunday!

dearris

i have call up to register late too. they mention that the call up if or free entry for the wedding shown but they will not reject walk in customer.

Have anyone try their food before ???

their package is indeed attractive...

my plan date is oct 07

i have beed doing enquiry with pauline but think she is real busy, Just went down to see the crystal ball room today... look abit clamp for34 tables but my shlb below 30 so.. it shld me ok.

I am asking pauline whether package can nego abit or not .. she say the promo package of $6+++ for weekend is very attractive liao ...

tonite is the crystal theme.. err.... ok lor ...so so ... but the foyer for the recpt is abit not so nice compare to orchard parade one which i saw ...

i heard from my sister tat the zen theme is very plain ... hmmm...

the ball room look ok .. but think this hotel is really like abit indian hotel when you are in the lobby ....

orchard parade or HIPV ???? hei .... FH prefer HIPV cos package more attractive.. (man are more practical)... me cannot decide....

assirac

Jo, I may not be able to go liaoz ... just took up a tuition assignment for sunday
... you take photos can ? kekekek

Iris, I've been to OPH, find the ballroom decor not so ideal leh... a bit on the plain side....

kimberlynn

Iris, I too face the same dilemma as you. Orchard Parade or HIPV. Orchard Parade has short walk-in, but HIPV has long walk in. Orchard Parade has nice big foyer but HIPV has a smaller space of foyer because it has BIG stairs in the middle. SIGH... My FH also prefer HIPV b'cos of the price.

bubblepearl

Hi dearris,

Ok, i did go down to orchard parade hotel before i make my decision. True the foyer that Ochard Parade have is nicer and bigger than HIPV but did u notice that all 3 ballrooms are in the same floor? What happen if there is an wedding holding on the same day? Well, that is my concern, and my bf and me did have some problems getting to the hotel itself..keke..we were kinda of lost.

As for location-wise, orchard parade is at the end of orchard road, which i believe most of guests are from north or east side of the island will have to squeeze in the weekend evening jam in order to get to my dinner
, as for HIPV there are two MRT station nearby...

dearris and Val, initally i was considering Novotel Clark Quay, but my bf also prefer HIPV cos of the price..

Assirac...oh..so now u are in "education" line? Haha...okok..i will take more pixs for u to see see..so when are u getting to see the result of your MTM WG?

assirac

Jo ... dun suan me hor ... *abish* ... my first fitting for the gown will be end of june ... may need to push back ... kekeke I'm buying my own crystals to be fitted on the gown ....cheaper that way

bubblepearl

dearris,...i am so sorry, i tot it was Orchard Hotel...

Anyway, my best frd's wedding is at Orchard Parade Hotel..club chinos..

Well, food was excellent *drooling* now..and the bridal suite is much more spacious than HIPV, but the ballroom not really grand compare to HIPV..again..it is in the end of the shopping belt area. The OPH ballroom is kinda of cramp if you have abt 27 tables..but food is nice..

dearris

and i have another problem with HIPV...

My sister is having her AD at Mar 07 in HIPV.

My AD will be in Oct 07.

But HIPV promotion package is really abit cannot resist.

Heard from Pauline the the promotion might end by end of this month or June ?? and back to the $7++ package.

For those really wish to book for HIPV.. better do it fast.

Novtel Clark Quay's bigger ballroom is real nice, with own big foyer... but they need min 30 tables....

So that is out for me, i was initially considering that...

From the name of both of the hotel, which one do you gals think is better ???

I have to decide by tomorrow cos booking at the wedding show will enjoy extra perk....

So is the overall service is ok with HIPV ???

Which one is bettr for food taste wise ?? HIPV or Orchard parade ????

kimberlynn

Hi Iris.. one idea is that the money saved.. you can spend on other things like balloons or have better cocktail receiption and stuffs to make the place look different than your sis.

I think I will go for HIPV.. reason being both of our family are big and have many friends to invite.

For novtel clark quay perhaps you can ask them to negotiate if 25 tables can? Sometimes they will able to do so.

dearris

i do not know for the other two theme, but the crystal theme is different from what i saw yesterday nite.what i saw yesterday, shld be nicer. i do not have pix for that... sorry

I have check with Notvel Clark Quay regarding the nos of table.. the mini. they can take for now is 27 tables. Unless later when nearer to the date there is not booking they willconsider the mini. for 25 tables. which i think by then, the date will be taken up cos the date i choosing a polpular date.

I will try post comment later after i went for the wedding show.

So pauline service is overall ok ?? Just that she is too busy ???? I was attend by her too. But i can see she is real busy. I decide to go down to view the place yesterday. So i give her a call in the afternoon and she said that she already hv appointment but i go and view myself. I ask around and happen to see her for short while and just have a few words with her cos she is very busy. Overall impression is just ok... not very very good but not rude too. Just have a feeling she is real busy

assirac

Hi, just take note that the "ericfoosk" photos are showing the old theme.... the new crystal and classic them looks quite different

jesdreamz

yup, the bridal show is today... I went and have signed for the banquet cause the price is too attractive.. hehe.. Those who signed up today have an extra perk of $1000 off the total banquet cost... Di Gio featured some of their gowns too...

garfield_glad

I have finally signed up with HIPV coz of the attractive prize
Looking forward to discussing with all the HIPV brides in the thread! My AD is 29 June 2007. The rest??

twinklestarzz

I have finally decided my banquet to be held in HIPV..like what jesdreamz said...the perks given today is too good...regardless of much concern of the pillar in the ball room...

My AD is 29 Dec 2007

dearris

haha..

me too ! MY FH cannot resist the perk too thru i went to view furama river before i went for the show. Their Venus Ballroom is great ! but need a min 29 tables so i have to give up the idea. For those have not book and have 29 tables and above shld view Furama Riverfront.

My AD is 20 Oct 2007.

But i find today wedding show abit miss leading lor... their foyer will not have sooo much flowers or decoration as today. I went view the ballroom with a wedding on last friday, the froyer have just two miserable pots of flowers and they are dying like tat lor...

And there are no ice crafting at the entrance as today too. And i have ask about the lighting that we can saw today also dun have one cos today they engage entertainment co to do the extra.

By the way, gals, do you gals ask for extra perks beside the $1000 ???

I have ask for full wavier for the wines but they just allow 12 bottles only.

How many nites do you have for the room ??

And who is your sales ?? And i saw the "kelvin Tay".. i have chit chat and Kpo abit with a co-ordinator and found out that all the sales are manager level and Kelvin is more the co-operate side, while Pauline & Lilian is more the the wedding banquet side. And heard that Lilian might is leaving soon.

dearris

base on what we eat this afternoon at the high tea buffet at the wedding show, beside the duck which is abit tough.. the rest is ok.

Today they serve shark fin, cold dishes, Yam paste, ee fu mee, mushroom n vege, roast duck.

I am keeping my fingers crossed for the food and the service is good on the AD.

But so far from this forum, the feedback is ok.

But i heard from my sister that she said her friend have a banquet there before feedback about the food is being serve cold.

So i think we need to remind them abit.

garfield_glad

Hi dearris,

Yeah today they really do up the place very nicely!! Hopefully nearing our AD, we can request for more decor.

Besides the $1000, I ask for 2nd night stay, and I also got the 12 bottles waived, and 30% for carpark. I talked to Cherrine I think, but she said that ultimately it would be Pauline who would be attending to us, as she is just helping out today.

I thought their service was quite attentive but dunno whether this is once off coz havent attended any dinner at HIPV before :p

babystarlet

i find the duck quite nice,but e jellyfish really cannot make it,too tough and rough.
may i noe if e 12 bottles waived is from the hotel's in-hse wine dealer or outside?

assirac

wah... seems like everyone got a good deal at the wedding show .... *@#$%^$!!!! ... shouldn't have signed up so soon with HIPV ... kekekeke

jesdreamz

I haven't bargain on the extra perks yet!! :-(
I wanted to & asked Pauline about it and she say we can discuss again the next time we meet up to get the contract as she seems very busy yesterday and lotsa couples are waiting nearby... I have already paid the deposit.. How?? Do u all think still can negotiate the perks since i paid? I also want to ask for extra nite stay, some waiver of the wine corkage charge...

hots

Arghhh, i didnt bargain for some waiver of the wine corkage charge as well... Only bargained for one more nite stay...

Dun think so can bargain liao cos contract had signed.

Assirac,
When's yr AD? If next year then its really "ke xi" that u signed up so early but if it falls this yr. Then we r in the same boat liao. If dun signed earlier, won't get the date we want wor...
Never mind la, we r still as happy too. isn't it?

Happy BTB, Yeah!

assirac

Hi Kalis, my AD is next year Feb lar ... kekek also need to sign up earlier one ... yup yup ... won't be too bothered by this ... still a happy BTB

garfield_glad

Hi Babyscarlet,
The 12 bottles waived is those brought from outside. I also like the yam paste and pipa duck yesterday :p

Jesdreamz...don't worry too much. I think can still try to negotiate with Pauline when you meet her? That was what I was told too to confirm all the stuff when we sign the contract.

Hmm did anyone feel that the carpet of the Crystal ballroom looks old? And yest saw that HIPV is doing some renovation outside..hopefully it would make the exterior abit newer looking

Now that AD is still about a year away, like nothing much to do at the moment, till next year.

jesdreamz

huh.. i pray and hope still can bargain leh!!! I wanted to bargain yesterday but she seems so busy and told me we can discuss further on our next meetup!!! If cannot bargain, i'll feel v cheated... I havent signed the contract yet, just paid the deposit but its just as good as signing the contract... Sigh...

babystarlet

hi glad,haha,nothing much to do???maybe can start preparing to find BS or come out with guest lists earlier??tht's wat my mama ask me to do,jus a general list,so by then,i wun be so rush

hushbear

jesdreamz, u're not alone. me too! i signed yesterday, wanted to sit down to fine-tune everything but she told us to pay deposit first. my hubby wasn't very happy when she attend to us for only 5mins, but talk to some other couples for more than 20 mins... but anyhow, i believe we can still bargain coz we haven't sign. (like what kalis said!)

hushbear

apart for the rush to pay deposit, i'm still happy to be a HIPV bride
the package is great and the more me & my hubby see the ballroom & hotel, the more we like it!

seems like good dates are running out fast, so whoever is interested, better act now!

jon_erica

I tot Glad got a very good package. I can only convert the day room to extra nite stay, but not both.

Anyone besides Glad had the extra nite stay without having to give up the day room ?

I feel it might be very hard to bargain already, as we had paid the deposit. They have the upper hand. I was rather surprised that we had to pay $2500 yesterday coz when I attended other wedding shows, they only asked for a small sum like $200, and the balance to be paid only after signing the contract.

They had a new chef from traders hotel. Hopefully they can still keep the standard coz I am rather satisfied with their food previously.

garfield_glad

Guess I was lucky coz read this thread before the wedding show to see what are the things HIPV brides have tried to negotiate for before...:p I think 12 bottles corkage waived definitely shld be able to get it coz even the coordinator who was attending to me yesterday said that amt is the max she can give me..so seems like the hotel standard lor..Hope the rest of you can get them too! Gd luck!

Hi Babyscarlet,
Oh I got my bridal shop liao that's why I feel nothing much to do at the moment. But I guess can start thinkg of the guest list...

dearris

ya.. yesterday she is trying to rush me too. I show pauline my interest of signing up and insist that she write down what she can given to us then i will pay up immediately. So we dun baragain very long.. she give me what she can... but i think i am abit "chang qi" so i might be the one who talk to her for 20minutes hahaha....

I think for those who have not baragain, you could ask for it for the two night and the 12 bottles lor.

By the way, if i did not heard wrongly if the new chef name is really Ah Hoi from trader's hotel.. i think he is quite famous.. though i hv not tried the food there before.

I hope that all of us beside baragain for the better package and better service for the dinner, we could hightlight to them to ask them to have the foyer area to be decorated more nicely with more and nicer flowers. Cos the other nite that i went to view the ballroom, the foyer decoration really sucks... just one big vask of dry glass or branches and a slight smaller vask of flowers which is dying soon type. Tell them is there hotel image !! hahaha

Hope that after some nagging... they will improve abit on the foyer.

For those whom first time visit HIPV during the wedding show, Pls dun except the place outside is as nice as on Sunday !!

By the way, i really like the ice craving at the entrance of the ballroom.. it like make the room look more grand. But Pauline said that that one need to be charges at a few hundreds of dollars .. dunnoe worth or not .. hmmm...

twinstarz

hey ladies, im new to this thread. could anybody pls fwd me the latest HIPV price list? [email protected] thanx in advance.. =)

oh i noticed some of you mentioning a bridal fair this sat? may i know who can i contact thr if im interested to attend?

babystarlet

hi dearris,i personally think is not really that worth to get the ice craving,somemore only deco,i would rather spend e money on somewhere else.my point of view la.

hi glad,ur day room use issit using e same room as the bridal suite?i mean e space outside e bridal suite.

but hoh i dun understand something,i think if we get the wine from e hotel in-house wine dealer,e cockage is free right???so is it impt to get the 12 bottles free wine cockage???any advises

garfield_glad

Hi dearris,

Agree on the foyer too - will highlight to Pauline when she call me to sign the contract. If more pple say, then maybe the hotel can do something abt it.

Twinklestar,
LCD - meaning projector rite? I was told that that can only confirm 2 weeks before the dinner whether the hotel can loan to us FOC...so that one depend on our luck then??

Babyscarlet,
Think the day room is a separate room? Not the suite.
Yah, but if you look at the hotel wine price list, it starts from $22 onwards rite? That's quite exp..I read fr elsewhere in the forum can get cheaper wines ($16-18) from outside, so that's why impt to waive corkage for outside wine mah, or like Assirac said, you want a particular wine that is not offered by the hotel. :p

hots

Hi Erica,

I have two nite stay of bridal suite as well as the helpers' room...

Happy to hear everyone here got the good deal wor!

babystarlet

think maybe we can all send a mass email to them regarding the foyer issue?heee.

Thanks all for enlightening me,but previously i heard from their in-hse dealer,they ever says that is by per case charges 1.but dunno how much