Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

judy_lsk

Hi Peggy and Karen,

I am okay with the time. Meet at lobby. I will be coming with FH to take pics. Rough description of me : Petite, long haired. Age 24

judy_lsk

Peggy,

I may not be able to make it today. Do not wait for me if you didn't see me after 6.15pm. Sorry about it. Something crop up today.

patali

Hi rusty
didn't turn up too...FH took me to see some mesh jacket for our road trip in Dec after ROM...

Hi Karen
hope you are feeling better...drink lots of water...with honey better...take vitamins and sleep sleep sleep...take care

bubblesoul

Peggy : I am feeling better already after a jab. Thanks you so much for the concern.

So means no one actually view the theme yesterday. Got to call Pauline to check again for this theme. This thread seems so quiet liao hor... like only a few of us been talking here. Haizzzz.....

patali

HI karen
great that you are up and about... but my FH is also down today with fever...

we'll probably see more HIPV brides to be in Dec if there's a wedding show

yming

hi Brides 2006

if you are keen to view all the themes - it is good to sign up for the wedding show on 4 Dec 05

hope this help

sianzz

hi ppl,
anybody knows whats the time range whereby I can do my food tasting?Is it usually in the day or evening time?

patali

HI roundy
i intend to food taste about a month before AD....when's your AD?

Hi laluna
I think it's time to update our HIPV's table...I see quite a few new brides to be here

khim23

Can anyone share with me if the Crystal ballroom is big enough for 38 tables? The max they allow is 40 but I'm afraid would be too squeezy. Btw, is there any pillar in the ballroom? From the pics I see, seems that the sides are opened up probably for more tables, does it mean that those tables at the sides would not be able to see the central stage? Appreciate any feedback. Thanks!

nata_de_coco

Done my food tasting yesterday...
Juz wuld like to share some info with new brides here..

Food tasting dishes as follows: -

1. Cold & Hot Platter

• Jelly fish (Hmmm, texture rather coarse, and not much taste)
• Salted Egg Roll (Nice and good presentation)
• Drunken Chicken (Not much taste)
• Prawn Salad (Nice)
• Pacific Clams (Special, serve hot)

2. Shark's Fin Soup with Fish Lips and Conpoy (Nice and big portion)

3. Crispy Pi-Pa Duck (Very nice, tender meat and crispy skin)

4. Mixed Mushrooms Wrapped with Beancurd Skin in Bamboo Pith (Presentation don't look nice, but taste wise, quite nice and special)

5. Drunken "Live" Prawns with Chinese Wine and Herbs (Nice, prawns are fresh)

6. Garoupa in Steamed Teochew Style (Fish are fresh and big)

Overall their food are generally aboved average, hope they are able to maintain the same standard during AD...

yuki_ko

Hi Coco

I totally agreed wif u on yr food tasting... For my cold dish... I didn't like the jelly fish too... I choose the duck and octopus... the octopus is wonderful... if u r looking for something to replace... can try that...

The Fish is nice too... for us, we find that Teochew style abit plain... so in the end, we took the one in soya sauce...

nata_de_coco

Hi yuki..

I was thinking of replacing the jelly fish with roasted pig.. Their pipa duck is very nice, hence think their roasting skills will be good too...
kao_drool.gif

The fish wise, agreed that its abit plain, but cos nata is teochew, so most relatives will appreciate teochew method of cooking..

assirac

Karen: Does that mean I can just walk-in on the day of the wedding show itself? No need o register one ar?

I saw the ballroom pics that fellow members posted. Tot the ballroom looks really grand.. :p

I'm debating between four hotels:

1. Carlton
2. Rasa Sentosa
3. M Hotel
4. Holiday Inn

But I must say HIPV is my favourite, have yet to speak to any of the hotel coordinators, guess that may well be the deciding factor.

Oh yah, does anyone know if 17 Dec 2006 has been taken? hee~

bubblesoul

All Ladies,Good Morning

Assirac : Mostly for wedding show,should need you to register. Cant walk-in on the day itself lor. What i heard from Pauline is 4th Dec lor... but dun know issnt confirm anot cos she didnt reveal much to me. You have to keep a lookout okie...

HIPV is the only Hotel i went to. I just love their grand ballroom,wedding favours,wedding theme and etc.. Not long ago my bro just attend a wedding there,his rating for the food there is quite good...

Maybe you can check with Pauline if 17 Dec is taken up anot... if is issnt taken up, you can ask her to tentively booked it for you lor...

assirac

Hi Karen,

Thanks for all the information!

Will keep a look out for the wedding show. Hopefully, I can join in the HIPV brides gang. hehehehe.

suetan

I have been to HIPV for a wedding, the food is nt bad n the ballroom is nice. But I heard someone complaining abt the coordinators. Who shld we look for? Shortlisting HIPV

bubblesoul

Hi Assirac : You are most welcome..
. Hope to see you here soon...

Hi Suelynn : My coordinator is Pauline,we did not encounter any problems with her. But as the rest of the coordinators,i am not sure,neither do i know their names too..

Peggy or Judy,maybe you can help suelynn on this ya...

patali

gonna to select my invitation cards today

Hi suelynn
Initially I had some problem with Pauline for the arrangement of first meeting with her so I kinda posted some bad remarks about her in another thread........she's very busy cos most weddings in HIPV are handled by her...heard from this thread there's a new lady helping her now...but after meeting her I must say her services are better than the coordiantor in another hotel which was my 1st choice...I'm very particular about service...and I signed up HIPV mainly cos of Pauline's service

lynda_low78

Hello all

I am interested to hold my my wedding at HIPV as well as my colleague whom has hers there a few years back was all praise on the hotel...

I got in contact with pauline but she seems really busy and is not working on weekend, it seems... Is this true?? Is the coordinators all off over the weekend...

Anyway I heard there is a wedding this weekend and I could go down to see see... Hope my date is not taken up yet...

bubblesoul

Hi Lynda

Is true that Pauline is very busy cos most weddings in HIPV are all handled by her... Think she is not working on weekends cos that time i wanted to meet her on weekends to pass her the deposit,she told me weekends she is not working lor.

Wedding this weekend,really? You know whats the theme?

patali

juz meet Pauline today...she actualli got me and Fh mixed up with another couple!
...anyway she said that this sat is crystal theme at orchid room

bubblesoul

Hi Peggy

Dun be upsad ya... maybe she is too busy liao lor...

Haizz... not enchanted theme. Guess i got to call and check with her when will be the next enchanted theme lor...

patali

Hi karen
ya console myself she juz too busy...anyway quite happy with the cards...Fh wants the cream one and I want the red...so it's 50/50...we'll get half of each

lynda_low78

Hello all

I have called Pauline up today and found out tat she is on leave today. Realised tat the dates tat I wanted are more or less booked already.

She referred me to Stephanie but Stephanie does not seem helpful and told me to go to Pauline since she is handling my account....

patali

Hi lynda
when's the dates you want?...from what I know from meeting with Pauline on thurs...she's really very busy now until the wedding show in dec...maybe you can consider more dates and ask stephanie to check it out for you

lynda_low78

Hello Peggy

Told Pualine tat I am looking at I am lookin at 26-Nov-2005 but was infromed tat this date is taken up. The next date is 17-Dec-2005 and this date is still available but I understand tat there is someone else looking at this date as well....
I have informed Stephanie to reserve this date for me tentatively first...

purplepiggy

Hi Lynda,

I thought the wedding show is on 4Dec? (According to previous post.)
By the way, do you know what would be the perks offering during the wedding show?

Do you know if we could enjoy the perks if we sign the contract before wedding show?

lynda_low78

Dear Purplepiggy

I thought it is 4th Dec as well but upon clarifying with Stephanie, she told me it is on the 10th... Seems like most hotels are booked for the 2 dates I am looking at now... Not much choices...

I am wondering abt the same thing on the perks if it will stll be available should we sign up earlier... Worse is tat Pualine is not working on weekend and I am unable to take leave to meet up with her next week... Sigh... Seems like nothing goes right now....

patali

HI lynda
guess if you really want that date the you should pay a deposit...cos dec is always a hot month for wedding banquets in all hotels...quickly decide on the date with your FH....from most wedding shows which I attended...the perks usually when compared with pkgs signed earlier are trade offs from something else so we won't be be of much loss

purplepiggy

Hi Lynda,
Maybe you can try to arrange and meet up with Pauline after work.
And as long as you make a tenatively booking already then i think your date should be quite secure. But the hotel might ask you to confirm earlier if the other interested party want to pay deposit to them for the date you wanted.

Hi Peggy,
According to the thread which i have read previously, the perks offer by HIPV during August(Lunar 7th mth) is $30nett off per table.
I was wondering what will they be offering this time round? Free flow of beer? Discount for per tables?

My friends told me that it would be better to book during the wedding show as hotel would normally offering more perks than the normal pks. Not sure if this apply to HIPV.

Anyone got any info from Pauline/Stephanie?

lynda_low78

Hello all

thanks for the inputs... I hope to meet up with Pauline soon as well to settle this once and for all cos really a headache when I think of the banquet and I have not even started preparing for this...

BTW, I read in other threads some bad comments on Pauline. Not sure if you all saw tat...

nata_de_coco

Hi Peggy,

I think Pauline is really busy with the wedding show. She had mixed the theme, according to your previous thread, you are told that tonight at orchid room it is crystal theme right...

My FH and me went to see as we are interested in the crystal theme and is also taking up the orchid room. When we got there, we found out that tonight is actually enchanted garden theme leh..

Hmmm, those who interested in the enchanted garden theme, better go down to see the set up yourself. Cos my FH and me feel that the fake flowers look old and dusty leh.. from photo taken by others is difficult to see.

Just my 2cents worth advice..

judy_lsk

To purplepiggy and all,

Dunno if i should say this, as you mentioned the perks offer by HIPV during August(Lunar 7th mth) is $30nett off per table as u got the info from earlier threads. The truth is, the $30 off is also applicable on Sept/Oct. This is wat i know. If i did not guess wrongly, $30 off promo end before the Wedding Show start.

purplepiggy

Hi Rusty,
I met up with Pauline this month but she did not mention about the $30nett off...

Is there BTB who sign up during Sept/Oct period and get the $30nett off?

patali

hi nata
hmmm she got it mixed up?....haiz first was she got me mixed up with another couple now is the theme.....old and dusty fake flowers!!!...were there any real flowers?...I was thinking of thinking enchanted leh....now must consider again....so have you decided your theme...you are holding the banquet in orchid rm too rite?

bubblesoul

The wedding show is on 10Dec? How come Pauline told me is 4th Dec... Aiyo... very blur lei...

Huh... is enchanted theme instead of cystal theme... wah kao... she got it mixed up again... oh my god... she very blur lei... Peggy,same as you i am thinking of thinking enchanted too... think we really must consider again man...

Hi Purplepiggy : I sign up with Pauline during Oct... and i got the the $30nett off...