Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

yming

Jenny i think u can get it from any florist - i checked with one of the florist near my place - they said must placed order in advance for the rose petals

Yuki right?

yuki_ko

Hi Jenny

Think Ming is rite.... most florist will have them actually... my friend got it from her supplier coz she's working in a hotel and she has her contact mah... will be abit diff lor...

One other thing is I have used mixed colour rose petals instead of juz pure red or pure white... and I thought the effect was lovely.

yming

Morn Gals

so u have a mixture of rose petals (that is lovely!!) btw, Yuki, which printer did u send your invites for printing? or you didnt take the cards from the hotel?

patali

hi yuki
finally met Pauline earlier today...a nice lady...given my FH and I a very good presentation...juz a little disappointed the bridal suite wasn't available for viewing..do you have any pics of the suite?

Hi Soann....read in your earlier post that you have pics of the orchid room with the classic theme? WOuld love to see them if you don't mind?

patali

hi soann
thanx for the pics...now my mind is at ease that orchid room can look great with the theme...the stage on the pic is it right or left from the entrance? It's "L" shape for the red carpet?...DO you have any pic of the bridal suite?

soann

hi Peggy

yup it's 'L' shape for red carpet..

if couple march-in orchid rm, turn right to stage.

hmm but if u r facing infront seeing e stage,
then stage on e left & entrance on e right.

Hee.. hope u catch =P

u taking orchid rm? confirm pkg wif them oredi?

sori dun haf any pic for bridal suite.. hmm wat i know it's actually their Deluxe Suite.

Cheers~

yuki_ko

Hi Peggy

I didn't take pics of the suite... but some pics were taken in the suite during the tea ceremony... is that wat u want?

laluna

Hi Soann,

I'm planning to have about 10 tables and I read that HIPV can take a min of 10 in the Orchid Rm. Can you send me the pic of the room too?
Many many thanks!

patali

Hi soann
most prob gonna sign up with HIPV by this or next week
juz wanna see the bridal suite before signning. Btw when's your AD?

hi yuki
if possible yeah would love to see your tea ceremony pics taken in the suite...thanx

soann

hi Peggy

little tips~ u may trade-in things u dun need under pkg, try request for more invite cards, carpark coupons, jie mei day rm if u need, free full course food taste..
dun tell HIPV i teach u one.. later they 'hump dum' me.. opps
jus kidding..
HIPV friendly pple, dun worry, may request & c if they can try accommodate loh..

jus little to share.. hope they help in ur preparation..

as for bridal suite.. may ask ur co-ord to arrange show u.. i saw their suite durin weddin fair.. well it's not very big but to me i find it's alright cos dun think spend alot of time there other then Zzz. Their ballrm nice nice, comments for food & service satisfactory mah which r impt. Hee my AD in Nov. wat abt yours?

Cheers~

soann

hi Yuki

Thx for showing us e pics..

u look Gorgeous~ ur gowns looks great!

saw ur ang bao box.. u made urself? it's nice~

yuki_ko

Hi Soann

Yes, I made the AB Box myself... it's easy to make... if u need my help in making one, do let me know...

Hi Peggy

I have sent u liao... but not too sure if that's sufficient to give u an idea how the suite looks like...

As for mi, I requested for more carpark coupon, LCD projector....

I gave alot of comments during the food tasting and also talk to Pauline with regards to the food quality... not to sure if that's the reason... but seems like my food is very good.. everybody love it... some of my friends commented that it's even better than many of the 5-stars hotel AD that they attended....

Thinking abt the food... yummy...

soann

hi Yuki

Tat's great..can learn fm u liao

where u buy box & nice nice deco material..
can teach roughly how to make..

u got closer pic of ur AB box.. seem like got feather deco, is it huh?

Thks~

yuki_ko

Hi Soann

no problem... hehehe...

First, find a A4 box... but i find it looks too big... so I cut it into half so it only has half the height now... then not so obvious that it's A4 box mah... hehehe...

Then u can choose either nice paper or cloth... depending on what kinda colour u want and wrap it up lor... personally, coz my theme is white... so I used white cloth and white feathers... and blue flowers...

i got the feathers and flowers from bangkok... but I'm quite sure spot light has it too....

I cut 2 pic of longer cloth to make it like a criss cross @ the top left corner of the box and use flowers to tie at the intersection... if u see the pic.. u shld understand... this is to prevent it from looking too plain... u can also use pearl or crystal... depending on what kinda theme u have lor..

silversky

Hearing so much abt the food and service. What abt the bridal suite? Anyone been there before? Is the room deco and furniture old?

patali

Hi Soann and Yuki
thanx for all the tips and pics.
Wanted to go see the suite earlier today but Pauline said the rooms weren't available
....now gotta wait til after 20 Aug as fiance is away on business trip....

Hi Destineey
yeah having same worries...as a friend of mine had stayed in their deluxe room before and had expressed that it is quite old.....crossing my fingers and hope that the bridal suite is nice

patali

Hi Soann and Yuki
thanx for all the tips and pics.
Wanted to go see the suite earlier today but Pauline said the rooms weren't available
....now gotta wait til after 20 Aug as fiance is away on business trip....

Hi Destineey
yeah having same worries...as a friend of mine had stayed in their deluxe room before and had expressed that it is quite old.....crossing my fingers and hope that the bridal suite is nice

malibu

Hi Yuki

Can you pls share with me wat are the dishes that u have chosen? and which dish u like best?
Can we ask for 2 projector screen instead of 1?

silversky

Hi Peggy,

Ya...cross fingers..actually the suite pic in their brochure not very attractive to me. The design looks so traditional unless other hotels suite..others are more classic even on the photos...

Anyone who been there to stay or view the suite like to comment?

yuki_ko

Hi Peggy & Destineey

Frankly, the room is nothing to roar abt... they juz did a renovation to the room... so it's pretty new... but the room is kinda small to me...

Hi Malibu

I have chosen cold dish (nankin duck, jap octopus, drunken chicken, salad prawn, suckling pig), Sharkfins wif crabmeat, abalone with cabbage, fish wif light soya sauce, pipa duck, brocoli, hong kong noodle, yam paste.

All very nice.... of course, I like the yam paste most lah... hehehe... but the rest of the food all have very good comments from my guests too, especially the pipa duck...

I dun think u can ask for 2 projector screen... but u can always try...

malibu

Hi Yuki

Thanks for your comment!! i have went for the food tasting.. find it so-so only...for seafood, u have chosen chilean abalone with taiwan cabbage rite? wat is chilean abalone? isit d whole abalone? i have opt for drunken live prawn during the food tasting...though taste nice but d presentation not very good...might wanna change.

yming

Hi Yuki

what time did you ask your videographer to be present @ the banquet? same for the photographer (or they suppose to know what time they should be there)

yming

thanks Yuki (at least i know what to do) coz my VG asked me what time from morn n what time from banquet (i also dont know) heeee

so its same time for both

by the way did you choose the printers from their recommended list?

yuki_ko

Hi Ming

no problem... I didn't use their printers... I used King's advertising.

Hi Malibu

It's sliced abalone... not bad, we like it... eeerrr... wat dish did u choose... coz even during the food tasting my guests were fighting for the food already...

As for the drunken prawn, I had it during one of my friends' wedding before and u r right... think it taste okie but the presentation not very nice...

malibu

Hi Yuki

Thanks for sharing...would like to check again..
Chilean abalone is also sliced abalone? so it's actually the same as "braised sliced abalone"? u know wats the diff?

yuki_ko

Hi Malibu.... eeeerrr... I only has gotten one choice for abalone leh.... didn't know got two.. if that's the case, better check wif pauline... coz mine is slice abalone with cabbage... but dunno whether if it's chilean or juz braised...

yuki_ko

Hi Destineey

Have sent to u liao... but only the outside area and not the bedroom... coz nvr take any pics in the bedroom... hehehhe... very messy mah... all my gowns, shoes & assessories... all over the place... heheheh...

soann

halo yuki..
how's songs arrangement like @ HIPV?
u choose ur own songs for banquet.. or use HIPV's..
btw will they provide us a list/cd to choose?
pai seh, so many ?s to ask u. ops

hi destineey..
sent

soann

hi yuki..
curious lay wat abt music for when guest dine..
u prepared them or HIPV cater.. =)

haf not seen drunken prawns dish yet..
oredi deshell when served or got to DIY?

ee fu mee can be quite common.. tink of getting others..
how u find hong kong noodles, taste gd?

Feedback needed !
any1 tried lotus leaf rice & crispy egg noodles b4? how u find?
wat u think which is better, to serve rice or mee?

Thks !

yuki_ko

Hi Soann

I'm more particular... so I gave them my own music to be played throughout the evening too...

Darling... drunken prawns have to be alive to drink the alcohol, to be drunken mah... so not deshell yet lah... so, gotta DIY...

The HK Noodles... very very good... my guests said that they prefer it to the ee fu noodles... think they are all sick of it liao... Frankly, I nvr eat the ee fu noodle whenever I attend wedding too... coz it's too greasy... HK noodle... not as bad...

I haven't try the lotus leaf rice there before... but I attended other hotel's wedding dinner serving that... looks like not very popular coz that's usually the last 2nd dish... most guests are very full and rice normally "looks" more heavy then noodle...

soann

Hi Yuki

shelled prawn hoh most of e time at dinner i 'siam' cos can be bit messy & ma fan to eat loh.. hee lazy ops.. but can c some really love such a dish..
ah ya mostly tried 'pirated' type de - prawn sprinkle wif alochol to steam.. & so call drunken prawns.. ho ho ..

ee fu mee reali too common at banquet liao..
so gd we can choose other than this at HIPV..
HK noodles sounds so yummy, food taste may try tis too..

Thks Thks
kao_kiss.gif

silversky

Hi Soann and Yuki,

Thanks...I will go check..hee...
Most likely will sign with HIPV...hopefully all will turn well in hands of Pauline

silversky

Oh ya..one thing to ask... when the partition is open, will it look funny cos of the high low ceiling? .... will the guest complain?

patali

Hi Destineey
I'll be meeting Pauline later today to see the bridal suite
will update you again
...how many tables will you be having?

patali

HI Destineey,
there's a separate living room from the bedroom..overall looks quite alrite...cos my final decision is based on the bridal suite comparison between HIPV and Regent and it's similar....Pauline brought me to another suite without the istana park view which is for the wedding package cos it was occupied.
I've got only about 10-12tables so will be taking the Orchid Room.....have you signed up for the package?....I'll probably sign by next week
...when's your AD and how much is your package?

silversky

Hi Peggy,

I have made tentative booking...I'll suppose to call Pauline to make the initial deposit but FH on reservist so think i will contact Pauline when he comes back...
My AD on 18th June...I think package price is standard as per what is on the proposal lor..the only thing can get is the perks ie addition stay etc...=)
Btw, what other places have u view?

yuki_ko

Hi Destineey & Peggy

Glad u all have come to a decision... dun worry... it's a good hotel, u won't be disappointed...