Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

zljoan

hi CH, was your friend's wedding on Sun?
Oh dear...this is the first time I hear that the food isn't nice! Now I'm even more troubled as to whether I should do food tasting...

more reviews anyone?

sept_09_bride

MUST go for food tasting... im v disappointed with the food there.. the ballroom is so lovely.. bt the food and service sucks lor.. really cannot make it.. cannot even compare with those restaurant style.. less mention fitting into a 4*~5* hotel..

for those who signed up with HIPV.. really MUST go for food tasting..

sdluvct

Imo, I think food tasting cant ascertain the quality!!!

Alot of my friends had their food tasting and was commenting how nice it was, telling us which dish to eat etc. During their AD, it turns out differently! Meat was tough, Fish got smell etc.
I guess it all depends on the cook as well as our luck.

Anyway hope HIPV will improved and bring their food & services to the next level... Cheers!!

Sigh i wish i can get Crystal ballroom instead...
with the new crystal ballroom, the orchid room is such a letdown and disappointment!

Low ceiling, and 4 pillars so basement...toilets are so farr...can the management do sumthing for couples who booked orchid room?
and the name of the ballroom sound so biang too!!
ARGH~~!! so the unhappy....but wedding is juz 3 mths away!!!!

Anyway who signed up for Orchid Ballroom and disappointed and regretted?

I am!
My wedding end of the year...and the Crystal ballroom is taken for the same day...and I wish i can change to Hotel Intercon with grander ballroom and for a promo rate but its too late...scare i cant sell in time!!
ADVISE PLS!

SAD BRIDE TO BE!

amanda1982

morning everyone.

i had been to the new crystal ballroom yesterday to have a look... very nice, bright & roomy i can say... and the air con is cold, very cold. overall i am very happy with the new ballroom. they have upgraded all the AV system. instead of projector at the side, they had replaced with 52' LCD TV. basically you will not miss any action that is going on the stage even there is pillar blocking the view. I heard from my co-ordinator that they doing a rebranding, will be launchin a new name for this hotel in Nov.

CH> as i had managed to meet up with my co-ordinator yesterday. I had roughly told her abt your encounter the other day when you are there for a dinner. She had taken all the points down. I also told her of my request, such as changing of plates after each dish, refilling of drinks. Need to inform her as I will have VIP for my wedding. So no things can go wrong.

jingx

The new name for the hotel.....its not a major change, all I can say, so don't worry that your guests are not able to find the place.

Amanda: REBRANDING??? I printed my cards with this name already and my wedding is end Dec...

How come not much Orchid Ballroom couples here? No one has the same sentiments as me?

amanda1982

Gin> relax... think u very stress up. tat is wat i heard from my co-ordinator. she say will announce in nov. mayb the name will take effect from next year. dun worry. otherwise can check with your co-ordinator. like wat jaynee say, the guests will have no problem finding the place as the invitation cards will be printed with map.

thanks amanda...
just feel so sianz y the Orchid Ballroom and Crystal Ballroom is SKY and EARTH difference...

jingx

Gin> yes, dont worry as the new name will not differ too much from the existing one. I heard the name will take effect end of this month though.

zljoan

is there a rename? I was told it's just the rebranding, i.e. logo. In fact, when I went down a couple of weeks ago, the new logo's up (at lobby entrance).

Gin, I've not seen Orchid before so can't comment. However, I remember there was a btb some months back who used Orchid. Despite low ceiling and all, she came up with a concept of decorating the room further. Hee...I also suggested having 'vines' along the pillars or something (if you have a theme). It may be a risk if you wanna change hotels since it's 3-mths..unless you don't mind possibility of your deposit being forfeited. What one of my friends did was to firm with the alternative hotel first and forego her deposit (wasn't with HIPV but another hotel).
All the best...

amanda1982

sobe> heard from my co-ordinator that the name will be change. not sure abt the logo.

Gin> i had been to the orchid ballroom for my ROM dinner. i agreed with sobe. some decoration will be nice.

Thanks Jaynee...

Hi Sobe,
Ya lor...i was thinking abt this idea the whole night...i even dropped an email to the coordinator to 'complaint'...bad me...but if i am on budget, there is nothing much i can do also...my HTB very nice, he assured me everything will be fine...sigh sigh...me feel so bad now...

Hi Amanda, Thanks..do you think you can share the pics with me?

zljoan

Gin -> understandably, we all have our panicky moments. though my wedding is next yr, I think I've freaked out quite a few times already! haha...just need to get it out of system then logical side kicks into place again. of course, a nice HTB always helps! :p how many tables do you have?

Amanda -> hmmmm....ok...i'll look forward to the new name then! The new logo is now a simple "H".

Hi Sobe,
So nice to see that you are here to listen to me...so heartwarming..thanks for ur concern..

Initially i want it to be small like 15 - 18 tables but initially my relatives cant make it cos they are going for a pre-planned trip to genting...but last min most of them can make it so i got to increase the number of tables..so now i got to work with the maximum of 20...with like 3 tables being blocked by the pillars behind lor...and the screen position so unfavourable...shiftable but no space to put... :X

amanda1982

Gin> sorry. i m not able to share any pics with you cos we only simply go there for a buffet dinner. cos the window by the park is under renovation so got shift down to orchid ballroom. tat is how i got to see tat ballroom. but we didnt take any pics in there.

sobe> oh... so the logo will be only a simple "H". nice and simple. i heard that the name will be change to Holiday Inn Orchard Central is not wrong.

zljoan

gin> no prob la...there have been times when I also freak out in the other thread :p
ah...20 tables...I'm having 23 -- it was neither here nor there so upgraded my package to have the ballroom.

Amanda> Orchard Central :s somehow park view sounds nicer, though, having "Ochard" in the name makes the hotel easier to locate!

nicokin

I have recently went to print my invitation card. the name has changed for my sample. It is called Holiday Inn Singapore Orchid City Centre. But i never ask when is the effective date though. my date is next year so maybe the new name is for next year bah.

zljoan

guess in that me just a bit bit kan cheong...booked earlier this yr for next yr...haha..though someone booked earlier than me for dinner banquet...i took lunch (and that was my original plan

amanda1982

huh... the new name is so long... wait got ppl sure think is not in the orchard.. they should not put in the word "centre"... Holiday Inn Singapore Orchid City sound nicer..

sobe> i also book my hotel in Feb for next yr May. My co-ordinator say they are fully booked for the rest of the Yr and till May next Yr.

nicokin

ya lor..when i go print, they comment that it will change name. so say since mine next yr can wait awhile till name finalised. but think is ok la. the map all this will explain where the location.

zljoan

amanda> sure or not...suddenly so packed?! I sure hope the food quality maintains despite the increasing popularity.

"City Centre" is so european wannabe...nicokin, so the name is yet to be finalized?

nicokin

when i go down,they nv say the actual name, just told me there might be change of name. but the draft is with this name lei. I think should be more or less final liao bah. I ask when i wanna confirm the orders and keep you all posted.

zljoan

morning!
oh well...guess we'll all just have to wait..

oh yes, wanna ask for advice - generally how long does it take from the time you select your invites to the final finished product? Will we be told when to go down or we can just go down to T. Dragon?

jingx

I think your coordinator will contact you at least 3 months before your AD to give you the instructions on the printing of the invites. T Dragon is quite prompt in their response, after you have gone down to select the card design. You should buffer about 10 days after your selection.

zljoan

jaynee> thanks! so... if the invites are needed 4mths or so in advance, I should contact my coordinator? Need to send them abroad...

jingx

yes, better to let your coordinator know in advance. You will have to bring your letter of agreement (issued by hotel) to T dragon.

Hi Sobe,
My wedding is 31 Dec 09 and i already got my cards ready mid Sept...lol...chose a black invite card for friends and red for relatives. Dunoe is it i suay cos i printed earlier and my version is still HIPV...and if they changed the name already, i seriously wonder how will my guests noe my hotel 2.5 mths down...sigh sigh...

Anyway for T-Dragon,
1) Printing of special graphic between names = extra cost (SG$10 onwards for the whole stack, mine is 160 pcs)
2) If you chinese character is those super cheem, hard to find wan = extra cost ($5 per character)
3) Customized cards = extra cost too...

sept2010

Do u gers realised HIPV only have 2 themes? Dun u gers think that its rather limited? i saw the new ballroom and really like it... but the limitations of only having 2 themes is q a disappointment?

dustystar

Although they have 2 themes, at least the Crystal theme is nice... So no complaint.

The renovated ballroom, bridal suite and lifts are really nice.

Totally revamped!

mrs_tan_to_be

i just completed my wedding banquet last sunday-4th oct 09. recvd alot of feedback on the crystal ballroom.. nice, pretty, beautiful etc... those taking crystal ballroom can rest assured... the suites are nice too.. lift . i dun think there is any reno.. sama the same as the one i saw months ago..

amanda1982

hi hui ling, do let us know abt the food feedback for AD?

heard from my co-ordinator that most or all the reno works had been completed.

nicokin

ya.the suite is quite small. went to view it few weeks ago. I feel is quite similar to the last time when i visit the old room.

mrs_tan_to_be

hi sobe,
I didnt went for the food tasting.. opt for free 1 table.. but the food was Ok.. didnt recvd bad complains from my guests...

amanda- all reno completed liao.. no worries...

jaynee- yeah the room is smaller than the previous old room but overall is ok.. anyway just 1 nite stay and we wun be in the room till late at nite after banquet so i dun think there is much issue on this..

zljoan

hui ling, think i'm going to opt for the complimentary table too...

anyone else has had their banquet? i'm unsure if i shoud go for the smoked duck or rasted chicken! :s

jsim15

Yo HUiling..i'm back! Everyone says d ballrm was nice

Hi Sobe..so no complain abt d food..ichose d duck..quite nice woa..but when i eat aredi cold cold lo..muz chose d yam paste..somemore got ppl wana pack back..haha..oh ya..so far 1 complain is d serving n toppin up of drinks were abit slow lo..but overrall postive feedback..we've had no regrets on choosing tis hotel

We were surprised tat at d end of d banquet..there's a video recording of our 2nd march-in complimentary fm HIPV ..so cool!

zljoan

hey janice! great to hear positive feedback.
was yours a weekend or weekday banquet ah? if you took the pipa duck, i've heard that it's pretty good...however, for my banquet, the option is smoked duck with camphor and tea leaves..or something like that..just wondering how the presentation is like :p