Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

morning all~

eugenia> nope.. no other additional perks given.. wad they had given was quite comprehensive.. n they aren't v keen to give me additional perks leh..

lost> so good of ya coordinator.. i think b4 i go down n signed the contract i will ask for the changing of coordinator room too.. i was totally super down when she told me she cant gimme addl 2nd nite.. they've got 12 bridal suites so there shdnt b a prob of not enuff suite even if there weddings everyday for all ballroom..

eugenia

To Lost: Sorry got to bother you with some questions.... Notice in 1 of the threads that you state your menu had Stir Fried Fresh Scallop with Asparagus in XO Sauce and Drunken Live Prawns with Chinese Wine & Herbs. Was these 2 options included in the 2008 menu? Or did you top up some money to change these 2 dishes? Cos
I think the 2009 menu don't have these 2 dishes.

Are there servers at each table to portion the dishes? As in 1 server to 1 table?

Does the deluxe suite they referred to in their package means the bridal suite? Has it been renovated yet?

To Cloud: Regarding the changing of coordinator room, so does that mean you took option 1 from the package. Free food tasting and 1 day usage of room for coordinator? But now you intend to change the coordinator's room to 1 free night stay in standard room?

Personally, I thought of taking option 2, 1 free complimentary table. Hehee... seems like more worth it.

Thank you for answering my questions, Cloud and Lost!

dustystar

Like Cloud, I have just signed up with HIPV at BOWS2009 too. Initially, we didn't reli shortlist HIPV.. n plan to book with HI atrium.. but ended up we made the decision to sign up with HIPV as their perks are really attractive.. Anyone held at Orchid Ballroom? One con abt this is that we their ceiling is really very low. Sigh... Those we held their wedding at this ballroom can share pics and ur comments?

Cloud : Tried negotiating for a 2nd nite too but was rejected. Reason given was that the perks given at BOWS 2009 is already too much. Hence they cant give more if not they cannot acct to their financing side.

hi eugenia yar i took option 1.. duno if they are agreeable but i think i would try to change the coordinator room to another additional stay ba.. my bf was saying if reli cannot then at most we top up ba..
also i checked with my coord... she say it should be 1 server to 2 tables or 2 servers to 3 tables.. deluxe suite means their bridal suites.. n from wad my coord say.. they shd also b renovating their bridal suite.. hee

Jessie> i took the crystal ballroom..
our worries was the pillars in the ballroom.. but krystal assured that once their ballroom renovated they would have about 4 projectors available so all guests would b able to see.. not sure about orchid ballroom thou..

dustystar

I am comtemplating bw crystal and orchid. Crystal ballroom is really nice. According to my coordinator, they are indeed renovating crystal ballroom this year and the feel will be more comtemporary.

Also, there will be more projectors and your guests will be able to see you march in and yumseng on all these projectors. Think you can call this Live Fit.. Dunno correct term or not.. =) For Orchid, they will not be doing any renovation.

Looking forward to see the renovated Crystal ballroom.

lost_in_space

To Lost: Sorry got to bother you with some questions.... Notice in 1 of the threads that you state your menu had Stir Fried Fresh Scallop with Asparagus in XO Sauce and Drunken Live Prawns with Chinese Wine & Herbs. Was these 2 options included in the 2008 menu? Or did you top up some money to change these 2 dishes? Cos
I think the 2009 menu don't have these 2 dishes. - these 2 was included in 2008 menu.. i didn't top up for the food..

Are there servers at each table to portion the dishes? As in 1 server to 1 table? only VIP has 1 server to 1 table.. the rest is 1 server to 2-3 tables, i think.. during my wedding dinner, service is ok only.. but just very happy that everything went very smoothly and on time.. plus my coodinator gave us full waiver of corkage charges for the 60 bottles of red wines we brought in.. :D saved 300+

Does the deluxe suite they referred to in their package means the bridal suite? Has it been renovated yet? hmm the deluxe suite is the bridal suite.. not renovated during my time.. but ok lah.. i like the shampoo.. all from Espirit one..

Actually, i feel.. option 1 is better.. cos food tasting is the time when both parents sit together and discuss abt the guo da li stuffs.. plus.. u will not have the timing to eat everything on ur AD.. so food tasting u can try all the foods urself.. plus the day use room, u can try to change it to a normal night stay.. don't bother to top up.. extra 300.. not worth it.. my feel.. i only top up 280++ for another projector so that my guests sitted at the lower ceiling area can view my montages..
no complains from them after my AD

hmm.. the price HIPV offers is very low.. we managed to earn profit from our AD dinner.. abt 4k.. :D

icybluegal08

Hi everyone, I just have my wedding this Jan 09.
The food was nice, there was compliments especially for the duck. All my guests loved it.
As for me, i have additional on night stay in the bridal suite..maybe because i have sign the package in year 2007.
My co-ordinator is a nice lady also..
Everything was nice except for the services of the staff to be taken note of.
I have already feedback this to my co-ordinator and i think they will improve on this area.
Mmmm..for me i took the complimentary tables...and i do make a profit too..
For me, the banquet manager was a nice guy who did a great chef dance and have all the food warmed up before sending to our room after the dinner.
Overall, im very satisified with the experience in holiday inn park view..

dustystar

I am thinking of signing up for crystal ballroom. GG for viewing this weekend. Can share your views abt the ballroom? Is it weird having pillars around?

lost_in_space

jessie.. i paid abt 280++ for another projector for that the ppl seated behind the pillar can view the montage.. hmm.. the ppl there are mostly my friends and hubby's friends.. so no complains..

serenity27

I just had my wedding 2 weeks ago. The bridal rooms have been renovated and they are very nice, big and cosy. For me, i only had 1 night stay but i also have another premium room free for my hubby's sister to stay for a night free. I didnt manage to eat the food but according to my guests, the duck is a little tough but the yam paste is fantastic. The soon hock was nice too. Overall, the service was gd and the people are flexible but there are some pts that u may like to take note of. They have only 200 parking lots in the hotel so when there are 2 weddings, guests have to park at Starhub centre but they will be reimbursed. Perhaps, u may wan to inform ur guests a few days before the dinner. For me , i wasnt told.. so alot of my guests were late cos they couldnt find parking. Another matter is that the air-con was not cold enough during dinner and some of my guests were not happy about it. But, hopefully after the renovation is mar/ april (I think), it will be better.

Hi WinnieThePooh and Serenity27,

care to share who was ya banquet manager?

so far, i'm quite pleased with my coordinator's service too.. at least she's been v frank n honest with me on wad she can give wad she cannot.. hee.. hopefully will have a pleasant experience with HIPV.

seelli

Good to hear that the bridal rooms are renovated as I will be having my wedding on May 09.

Anyone know when will the hotel lobby be renovated?

desjo_11

I just hv my wedding dinner at HIPV last week.We book the hotel coz of the chandeliers in the crystal ballroom.
I hv a wonderful night with many compliments.Hv not heard of any complaint..The chef dance was amusing & our guest enjoyed themselves very much...

cjes

Hi ladies, does anyone have the second half of 2010 Weekend Lunch Wedding Package Details and Pricing, including additional perks given? Can email me at [email protected] please? Thank you so much.

Thank you Winnie THe Pooh and Serenity27

I've just received my contract.. will be signing it n mailing back to them soon.. hee.. so excited about it..

shrekkie

I have a banquet package with HIPV, have to give up because my boyfriend is going hongkong to work, so we won't be holding banquet here already. Pls email me ([email protected]) if interested, date is in Nov09. Thanks.

winnie83

hi ladies, thanks for sharing your experience with HIPV. I attended a wedding there 3 weeks ago and me and HTB are really impress by the ambience of the ballroom. We love the many chandeliers in the ballroom. Low ceiling gives pple a cosy feeling. We plan to host our wedding dinner in Oct 2010 and have decided to shortlist this hotel. Besides the "wu lu" external look of the hotel, we feel that the ballroom and food was really GREAT ! *THumbs Up*

Anyone who have signed up at BOWS 2009 can share with me the package price?
I have yet to sign up with them but wan to know the perks to look out for. Will also call them to check when they are participating in the next wedding events.

Hi Sharon, my coordinator is Krystal. She's a v frenly n nice lady.

Hi Winnie, the pkg price at BOWS is the same as what is listed online n the perks are all the same. quite difficult to get extra perks cos during the show they offered 1k off n free 1 btl wine per table. hope that helps. =)

winnie83

hi jessie, i attended the crystal ballroom.
I call them this afternoon and they say that they are participating in an event hosted by SPH on 27,28 Feb to 1 Mar @ Vivocity !!! Hurray, its ard the corner! The manager, Adeline, also emailed me the quotation to take a look and 2010 dinner package is $888 nett for weekend dinner. So it seems that it is still the same compared to 2009 package.

I am someone who hope that my guests enjoy the food and ambience. These 2 have met my criteria. The only drawback abt this place is the pillars else it is very perfect. By the way, those who are considering this venue, the 1st march-in was very nice cos they inject lotsa bubbles on the stage once the couple walked up. Very romantic lor *smiles*

Sound system: Good. Cos that wedding that i attend, the couple invite "Truly Yours" to be the live band and its so cool. With the good sound system, it really complements with them playing music (guitar, keyboard) and singing.

I heard the bridal suite is very beautiful. THose who have stayed there before..is that true? And do they provide special rates for family members who wan to stay overnight too?

winnie83

Hi jessy.. You were saying that at BOWS 2009, they offer you $1K off the total bill and 1 bottle of free wine per table?

You didnt try to bargain to change your co-ordinator room to 2nd night stay at bridal suite?

Actually with the economy worsening, i really scare if i can breakeven or earn "profit" for my honeymoon. If each guest gives $80 angbao..thn i will sob. ;(

sean_ng

I have the following items for sale from my wedding last Friday.
All items are brand new and only bought few days before my actual day.
Please send me an email at seanngyl@gmail for more details.

1) Martell VSOP, 70cl, duty paid, 8 bottles, $70 each

2) Berri Estates Cabernet Sauvignon, 75cl, duty paid, 22 bottles, $18 each

dardevilet

Anyone know if Holiday Inn Park View is very stick with the min of 25 tables for ballroom? I heard that some hotel can neg further

shrekkie

I have a banquet package with HIPV, have to give up because my boyfriend is going hongkong to work, so we won't be holding banquet here already. Pls email me ([email protected]) if interested, date is in Nov09. Thanks.

serenity27

Hi Ahsren!

Unfortunately i was so busy that day that i din take any photo of my bridal suite... so its very cosy, spacious and new.

agneslu

HI all,

I am interested in Holiday Inn Park view.
anyone try getting more freebies on top of the package?

Btw I may be considering Park Royal at Kitchener road too. The price is very enticing. The coming roadshow promotion, a 9 course dinner weekend is only about $670/table.

Any comments for these two hotels?

winnie83

i try holiday inn food before...Nice..especially like the presentation of the sharkfin. Waiter will have a separate bowl full of the sharkfin then he mix into the broth. Super "shiok" when guests see this.

Other dishes also nice like the steam herbal prawns. Overall i give thumbs up.
And if you follow this thread, you would know that first dish presentation was the chef dancin. Super amusing and entertaining.
I like it too.

Heard that the bridal suite is GREAT too.

They are holding a roadshow at Vivo next fri- Sun and ve quite good perks.Adeline, the manager, has emailed me the details. Go check it out. I will be there too.

Pls take note the crystal ballroom is undergoing some reno work in Sep-Oct this yr. Not sure what will they be doing but upgrading means better i suppose.

agneslu

Hi Winnie,

Thanks for your feedback. So I suppose the food is good for the hotel.

Can you forward me the details of the perks for this coming road show as well?

I am also interested to sign up with them.

By the way when is your AD?
Mine will be Feb or Mar 2010 depending on the availability

winnie83

i alr forward you Agnes. Go check it out. My AD is likely to be Oct 2010. But it all depends when we look at the tong shu.
Haven analyse yet.

winnie83

Hi Agnes..rec your mail.
I am going down to Vivo with my fiance to check out with HIPV this sun.

At the same time, there are a few hotels participating as well so i wan to learn more on the perks they can provide. Actually my dream place is Marina Mandarin but recent yrs their price is super steep and looking at this economy, i rather dun splurge as we dunno what's bad going to happen...too much uncertainity~

Many couples i read from other forums also feel the same...and unlikely wan to spend a lot...so we can look out for the additional perks they offer.

winnie83

hi jessy. I have been to wedding dinner held at crystal ballroom before. Very nice with chandeliers..but it is NOT pillarless. but they have 2 screens so pple can still catch the couple on stage. But they are renovating to make it nicer...which is good.

But i dun think the pillars will be hacked off. Haha.

I have not signed up with them yet. they are under my shortlisted hotels. i will check out more with them at the roadshow this weekend.

serenity27

Hi BTBs, I held my wedding at Holiday Inn Park View 2 mths ago... their food is nice and serving portion is just right too... Many of my guests like the yam paste the most... yummy! Although the hotel is quite old, i quite like the ambience cos it gives an old English romantic kind of feel. A downside is the 3 pillars... anyway, anyone interested to see the pics of my wedding dinner can go to urbanlight.multiply.com

dustystar

Its a comfort to hear good comments abt HIPV. I have signed up with this hotel becos I like their ambience too. Give pple a very cosy, Old english kind of feel. But the con is the big pillars.

Hopefully after reno, the pillars can deminish in size.

Serenity >> You look beautiful! Thanks for sharing your pics.

serenity27

jessie > you are welcome! the pillars is really a downside to the whole ballroom but luckily they made it up with gd n flexible service and food!

winnie83

serene you look so pretty and sweet!!! Thanks for sharing ur awesome pic. your cheongsum is so nice on you.

Which bridal studio did you use?

Any other hiccups on the actual day?
Btw i heard the bridal suite is very nice? is that true?

anything that btb must take note.

serenity27

Winnie > hee... thanks! i mtm my cheongsam at Vietnam for.... $50! My BS is La Belle Couture... luckily not much hiccups except that my guests couldnt find parking lots and they had to park at Starhub centre and the building next to the hotel (cant rem the name). So my dinner was delayed. For guests who park at Starhub centre, they will be reimbursed by the hotel. Yeah! the newly renovated bridal suite is very nice and comfortable! Mm... so must inform guests to park at Starhub and not somewhere else.