Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

orangecc

hi girls

need some opinions on food tasting.. do u think it's better to go for food tasting? cuz i tot of not, so i could get a table in exchange

shines

Hi Gina, it depends on individual. But I personally feel that it's better to have, so tat can have a feel of how the dishes will taste and look like. Though the food on the actual day may not turn out to be as nice as the food tasting session. :p

I went for my food tasting, the food were not too bad. Portion is quite big.

shines

Below are the dishes which I have tried.

Most of the dishes taste ok, and portion is quite big as well. But I like the duck and the dessert most! Hehe!

My family give a thumbs up for most of the dishes. We would give around 7/10.

Cold Dish Combination (Shark's fin omelette, chicken ngoh hiang, top shell salad, suckling pig, vegetarian goose) *but suckling pig is been replaced by duck meat during food tasting.

Shark's Fin Soup with Fresh Enoki Mushroom & Bamboo pith

Roast Pi Pa Duck

Sauteed Prawns & Scallop with Celery in Black Pepper Sauce

Braised Abalone with Fragrant Mushroom and vegetable

Grilled Asparagus with Fresh Sri Lankan Crab Meat

Red Garoupa in Teochew Style

Braised Ee-fu Noodles

Sweeten Dried Lily Bulb with Lotus Seed

By the way, I would like to check with you ladies. Anyone pick crystal theme? What flowers / colours of the flowers did u all pick to go along with the crystal theme? Please advise. I'm pretty lost now...

digdig

shines,

my wedding i asked for crystal theme too, actually there is 5-6 colour of roses to choose from. I wan a very romantic and princess kind of wedding so I choose red roses to match

shines

Ham ham, do u know what are the colours available?

I have asked my coordinator, but she didn't clearly indicate. She said I can tell her whatever colours I want. So got to check with her again to clarify.

xmasnowy

hi gals..I'm new here :p I've just signed up with HIPV yesterday.. actually i just 'booked' the date for Oct 08.. waiting for their roadshow in Jan 08 for more goodies..

jedilim

Hi all, could someone let me know the price for wedding dinner at HIPV and what is the minimum and max table no. could email me if you have the package at [email protected]. Thanks.
The ballroom looks really nice, love the lightings, but seem to have some pillars from the photos.
Oh xmasnoswy, how long do they allow u to book the date? so far, those i been to only allow 1 or 2 weeks at the most

xmasnowy

oh.. coz i put $1k deposit liao le.. so i confirm can have the date just that the contract will sign during the roadshow...

so which date u aiming? hehe

hushbear

hi twinklestar, thanks!! everything went smoothly & it is perfect!
the ambience of crystal ballroom is really romantic, we're so glad to hold our banquet at hipv. kudos to our banquet manager too! he did a good job. hope u gals have a smooth smooth wedding too.

shines

I am excited and worried at the same time! My wedding will be in Dec, dunno what to expect from the banquet mgr. Hopefully my wedding will be smooth like yours.

jedilim

i am looking at sep 08. but think most dates will be gone by now. can wait til Jan 08 for roadshow meh? they allow u to bargain for more goodies now? who is ur coordinator?

queenie10

hi hushy,
can add me in ur multiply,wanna see ur beautiful photos. my id is queenie10

gals,
u can pay $1000 to block the date dat u wan 1st den u pay the remaining $1500 deposit during the roadshow.I did the same for the last rdshow at marina sq...my coordinator is Vasanthi,a very nice lady

shines

recently received an email from Krystal indicating that for the wedding favour, the "happiness saucer" no more liao.... me so upset, coz i felt that's the nicest favour among all....

aquarberry

Hi JWAL,

from my personal experience with HIPV, if u r looking at holding your AD in Nov or Dec 08, especially on Saturdays, then u seriously gotta act fast cos they are likely to be booked. But for sundays there may still be dates available. I suggest u speak to the HIPV staff asap.

aquarberry

Hi Shines,

wat are the "happiness saucer" u were referring to??

Hi JJ,

As far as I know, HIPV minimum tables for their crystal ballroom is 25 tables. & I think you can only "block" your ideal Actual Date (AD) where they will give priority to you if there are others who are vying the same AD as you. Once you confirm your AD with them, then its 2.5K deposit & contract signing. If you are seriously looking at HIPV in sep 08 & saturdays as your AD, then I suggest you link up with them (try calling vasanthi) now cos most likely it will be booked. My AD is on a saturday in Nov 08, and I had to confirmed with HIPV in mid of this year cos there were others looking at the same date as me.

raragal

Ohh.... i'm new to this forum....

But am surprised to see so many people happy with HIPV's package..

Just to share my experience as a guest there..
The food was very very salty.. and not very nice..
I thot it wasnt something that fantastic...
it was at a function room at B1...

Did u all try the food before booking?

aquarberry

Hi rach,

quality of food is very subjective but I think the important point to note when sourcing for any wedding banquet venue is the price range you are comfortable with. For hotels,I think HIPV is resonably priced & though its crystal ballroom (located on 2nd floor) is not pillarless or have centre stage & though it has a lower ceiling at 1 side, its set-up (especially the crystal theme that I had personally seen) is really nice & cosy. So bottomline is the plus/minus that HIPV can offer that you are comfotable with. My AD is in Nov 08 and I have yet to go for the food tasting so I can't comment on the quality of its food (no hotels would offer food tasting b4 you sign with them & I'm quite sure this applies to restaurants). So basically, I'm basing my decision on my banquet venue on the price range and the various feedback I gathered from this forum.

jwal

Hi Auqarberry,

Yup, you're right. I've actually spoken to vasanthi, so she has given me some available dates on Friday for 2008. So will need to discuss with my FH. As for the "happiness saucer", it's actually the same type of saucer we use when we pour soy sauce/chilli except this want is nicer coz there is a bride & groom pic printed on the saucer itself.

Btw, when is AD?

Hi rach,

I agreed with auqarbeey. I have a friend who had recently attended a wedding at HIPV, his comment on the food was good. So it really depends on the individual.

jesdreamz

My AD's finally over last sunday... Had my banquet at Crystal Ballroom & i must say the crystal theme is really romantic & beautiful.. Food wise, most of my guests commented that the food was quite nice..

However, the service level rendered that night was not v good. Quite a no. of my guests feedbacked that the service is quite slow & my helpers also complained to me about the service level of the banquet ops.. so u guys may wana take note of this..

Even though the service level from the banquet ops team was not v good.. but i must stressed that Vasanthi our co-ordinator has been such a dearie! We're glad to have her as our co-ordinator & our experience would have been very wonderful if not for the lousy service from the banquet ops...

To be fair, I cant be only commenting on the bad points.. HIPV has its good points too. Price is attractive & the setup n all is really beautiful.. They even had butler-served snacks like popiahs etc during cocktails which is really good! Most hotels only served nuts & drinks but HIPV really served snacks.. They have a long aisle for march-in too at crystal ballroom...

So in conclusion, for the attractive pricing & perks.. gotta give and take alittle...

sunny_gin

Hi all, am new here.. interested in having my AD in HIPV as well. Anyone planning to have AD there in 09? By the way, when is the bridal show for HIPV?

chin_leong

glad to hear that some '+' comments abt HIPV..
my AD is on Oct'08..
wanted Lost's date but she was fatser then us..
hope when its my turn everything will turn up well..
btw, jesdreamz i thinkl u also a MBR bride?
can my wifey add u in multiply?

aquarberry

Hi Jwal,

My AD is on 15 Nov 08, its a Saturday. Initially my BF & I were looking at 2 dates: one in Sep 08 & the other on 15 Nov 08 (no choice as these were the dates picked by the fortune teller). so we went to HIPV in Apr 07 hoping to get the Sep 08 date but unfortunately it was booked, so we opted for the Nov date. It was really a suprise to us as we had expected that a year in advance would be a comfortable time to get our preferred date. But we were so wrong...
My co-ordinator: Vasanthis is really friendly and accomodating. My BF who is always very careful with sales people also have postive comments on Vasanthi. So we decided to take up HIPV offer since we were both comfortable with Vasanthi and especially since HIPV's price as well as set-up was to our liking. If you are not restricted by any specific dates and really like HIPV, then try talking to Vasanthi as I'm sure she can work something out for you. Gd luck in your search

aquarberry

Hi Jesdreamz,

congrats
sorry to hear that the banquet staff service level wasn't on par with the overall experience. I must really make a note on this & emphasized to them when my AD is approaching.. Few friends of mine will be attending wedding receptions at HIPV over the next couple of weeks, so I will get them to feedback me on the this. Thks for the update..

queenie10

Jesdream,
congrats...glad tat u have a wonderful wedding at HIPV. Care to add me in multiply so can see ur beautiful pics.My multiply id is : queenie10

gals,
my coordinator is Vasanthi too & i strongly agree tat she is a very nice & accomodating coordinator.We r very pleased with her svs thus we decide to sign up with HIPV with their attractive perks & prices. I was told that all sat & sun from Sept 08- Dec 08 is fully booked when i give her my date in early sept.We actually plan to take NOv 08-Mon but stress tat not ppl will turn out so eventually we change it to May 08 - Sat as we r not very supertisious abt date as long as we dun hold in from Jun 08- Aug 08.

xmasnowy

hi hi..

ya sat all fully booked till Dec 08 liao lu.. end up i took 10 Oct a fri... i think fri better then sun ba.. at least the nxt day ppl dun have to wk... although the pricing for fri - sun is the same...

lost_in_space

hihi.. didn't know that this thread moves so fast.. :D spider paiseh.. a step faster than u.. but now u are faster than me :D.. when did u booked the venue? we booked on 31mar07.. :D my co-ordinator was Adeline.. but heard that she was preggie and left.. hmm.. so now i'm not sure who is my co-ordinator.. how ah?? should i call up and get a new co-ordinator? by the way, who have the wine price list ah? can share with me? :D heard from my colleague (she held her wedding in HIPV) quite cheap.. abt 18 bucks..

how many tables are u all taking?? and which ballroom??

chin_leong

hi lost,
ya now abt 1 mth earlier and 1 day later then xmasnowy..
i got adeline @ the BOWS too.. but wifey n me had bad experience with her so we called and change to krystal..
i think krystal told me is 18++/ bttle so nett is ard 21..

jesdreamz

Hi all, thanks for the well-wishes.. Yup, if i am nt wrong, the wine is $18 before GST & taxes..

KANCHEONG SPIDER : Dun worry too much, everything will turn out fine & beautiful on your AD.. There will bound to be some minor cock-ups but just dont brood over it too much & enjoy the day as much as u can coz v fast before u realised it, AD is over..hehe..
Yup, I was a MBR bride too... No prob, ur wife can add me in multiply.. :) My ID is jesgal...

QUEENIE : Thanks gal.. My wedding at HIPV would have been more wonderful if the banquet staff had done a good job.. But unfortunately they didnt but luckily Vasanthi's good & friendly service (even after-AD) still leave us with a good impression of HIPV... She's really a gem to have.. :)
Will add u in Multiply but no AD pics yet though...