Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

jesdreamz

Hi Jennie, i think the long march-in will be better.. Coz if u take the L-shaped, the march-in will be quite short.. And i heard from previous HIPV brides that the blockage from the pillars is not really that serious... Only some seats ard the pillars...

garfield_glad

Hi Jennie, also think long march in better coz get to soak in the atmosphere better
But that's just my 2 cents. No choice some guests on the lower side might not see you that clearly when you march in... But for videos, u can put an extra projector on the other side so that guests can still see clearly!

shi40lin

Jennie, i'm also looking at NCQ and HIPV also...
But i've not been to site inspections so haven decide yet. Is it true HIPV has more perks than NCQ? How many tables of guests you will be having?

Haha my concerns are also the pillars and the different level of ceiling of HIPV.

Shanice, the machine is in front at the stage meaning only when the couple march in nearing to stage then can see the bubbles? So how when they start march in? Can have both dry ice effect then the bubbles? Hahaha... I think i will ask the Coord when i visit the venue.

mrsyong

Hi, anyone took an extra projector on the other side? Can it be connected to the projector near the stage so they both play at the same time?

How much is the additional projector?

nt259

Just to check.

You know the Bridal car is normally from 6am to 6pm.
Are we to made full use of it ?
I mean after the sending us to Hotel, can we ask the driver to fetch our parents to Hotel ?

terrapinjl

Thank you so much for the advice.
Guess I will stick with the ideal to have a long march-in... More grand ya.

Glad, thanks for the reminder! Yes I intend to put another projector on the other side so that the guest at the low ceiling side will be able to view it. Like many other BTB in HIPV, I dont want the guest there feel neglected.

Xinling, yes I have viewed the NCQ ballrroom.
It is also very nice, pillarless & with tall ceiling. Another plus point is the spacious reception area.
However, I chose HIPV bcoz of its cozy ambience & the classy look from the chandelier despite the pillars & low ceiling on one side. I signed during wedding show so better benefits was given. (Voucher given) Other perk like freeflow of beer.. which i think NCQ only offered 1 barrel... Have to dbl check again...

nt259,I think its okie if you can discuss with your driver beforehand. My friend give another extra ang pow as a token to the driver for fetching her parents.

terrapinjl

Oops! Xinglin forgot to answer your qns in regards to the number of tables....
Mmmm... Tentatively, we planned to have 28 tables. Hopefully, nothing more than 30 tables.

loveangel

xinglin: Yep my AD is just 2 weeks away!!! I'll be having 32 tables + 2 reserves. I like the bubbles effect too! I'll check with Vasanthi again the next time i speak to her.

glad: Yep, you're right. There're lotsa minor details to handle. Any tips for me?

jennie: I agree with the rest. I think a long straight march in is more grand. I'll be using that layout too.

Next Sat is my GDL & An Chuang! Quite excited...

I picked my wedding favours already. I picked 2 -- bookmark & the magnetic photoframe. I wanted more practical items for my guests.

princess_momo

Hi Terrapin Lover,

Agreed with you, and also for NQC, the check-in lobby is not so nice as HIPV. First impression counts when walking into a hotel.....This is what I think..

garfield_glad

Hi Jo
Yup, I got an extra projector at the other side and yup, it can be linked so that the videos can play at the same time. Didnt pay for it tho coz borrowed the projector fr my friend.

Hi Pris,
SO exciting!! It has been 2 wks since my wedding is over hee. I think you are well prepared already! My only advice is to just enjoy the big day and let your helpers run the show! And bound to have some glitches here and there but just smile and be a happy bride!

mrsyong

Thanks glad! ok, now muz find lobang for the 2nd projector!

I heard that the Muslim catering is Halal slaughtering, not Halal certified cos they use liquor in their cooking. anyone had prob asking their Muslim friends about this?

garfield_glad

Hi Jo

No prob. I invited 4 Malay colleagues and informed them b4hand that is not halal certified but thats only coz the hotel serves liquor
And they like the food, in fact my other colleagues 'koped' some of their food coz they can't finish it so funny...

mrsyong

Thanks again, glad! Feels so relieved and happy to hear from you,

Anyone picked saucer for the wedding favour? Or i'm the only one thinking it's nice? haha!!! I want the guest to think of our wedding often! and saucers seems quite practical for household..

jesdreamz

Glad, can i check with u.. Do u happen to remember estimately hw many crystal/floral stands they have along the aisle? I am doing some additional decor on the stands along the aisle & needs to know hw many stands are there...

By the way, anyone can update what kind of wedding favours we can choose from?

terrapinjl

Pris, Congrats to you! Thanks for the advise... guess I will stay firm on having the long march in.
Do stay relax and enjoy ur big day! Do share with us your AD then ya!

Princess Momo, infact that is also one of my concern too... :p

Jesdreamz, can share with us what you have intend to add on for the stands?

mrsyong

Hi Jesdreamz!

I saw the favours last week, there are paperweights, a saucer with a cartoon chinese couple dressed in kwa-styles on it, silver bookmark with 2 dangly small couple, gold wine charms with the same 2 dangly small couple, male and female teddy dolls. That's bout it i can rem...

blackbear

garfield_glad

Hi jesdreamz

The flower stands/crystal are placed along alternate tables, if I rem correctly. So there are abt 4 tables along the aisle. So there are 2 flowerstands each along the aisle. Pls cfm this with your coord

I chose the wine charm and bear keychain as my favours. I think the guests find the charms quite unique - a few of them thought they were earrings even haa..

sockie

I am keen to know more about HIPV. Any good or bad reviews about HIPV (other than pillars and low ceilings)?

How is the food there? Heard from some forum comments that the food served are cold and not nice.

Who will u recommend as coordinator? What are the perks that i can ask for?

cheekychick

Sockie, i saw on sgbrides features page dat HIPV is having a show on 5th Aug...i juz sent email to them to register cos they nv attach any registration form or wat leh...haaa...Since u r interested, mayb u shld join? Admission is free wor...Only free ones then my hubby is more willing to go with me :D

http://www.singaporebrides.com/hotels/hipv/

Hope it helps..

aquarberry

Juz signed the contract with HIPV and wedding date is on 11 Nov 2008. Dealt with Vasanthi and she was very helpful and affable. went with the crystal theme and I think thats 1 of its more pouplar choice. With the venue settled, next on the list is the bridal shop. Anyone has a good recomendation? Was thinking of looking at Bridal Zone and Bridal Concept, anyone been to these 2 bridal shops b4?

shi40lin

I've went to view the ballroom last weekend on our own.
There's a wedding going on so i only can peeked into the Crystal ballroom.

Beside the ballroom there is the hotel restaurant (Window On The Park ) which is open to public. Am i right?

sockie

Hi aquarberry,

My wedding date will be on the same month as u. Mine will be on 2 Nov 2008. Do u ask for the perks of the wedding show to be extended to u now? Adeline is willing to extend the perks to me. What we need to do is placed $1000 deposit first to chop the date, then pay the rest of deposit to entitle to perks of wedding show.

Maybe u can go down to look at these 2 BS photo albums, gowns and hairdo first. Do give urself more choices of BS too. Most of the BS are quite pushy, never tempt into their offers, but rather u tell them that u need some time to consider first. Personally i would recommend Sophia Wedding Collection (SWC) and Julia Wedding News (JWN). SWC and JWN have many gd reviews in the forum. I am using SWC. If there is any question, u can email to me: [email protected]

sockie

Hi xinglin,

I am not sure abt it. I feel it's probably open to the public. U can call HIPV or walk-in to enquire.

I saw ur posting in Furama City Centre. What are some of hotels that u have narrowed down? When is ur AD?

hushbear

haven't login for a long time... hv anyone send their invites for printing lately? any recommendation other than tdragon? anybody adding more flower arrangements for dinner?

hi aquarberry,
u're early in ur prep! my wedding is on 11 nov too, but in 2007
which means my 1 yr anniversary would be ur AD. had a fren who took BC, not very good feedback thou. take ur time to choose a comfortable BS, shop around, don't be pressurised to sign any BS if you think it's not the one yet. hope it helps.

shanice666

one good news to share with u all~
hee ^^ i received my 'just married' car plate liao. last week. the person delivered to my house. so good service. ha~ anyway.. it is not cheap.. S$40+ for a single plate.. but very nice.. kekeke..

shi40lin

I've checked with Adeline and my wedding date has been taken up at HIPV.

Actually i was quite disappointed when i went to HIPV. My hubby also don't really like it.
Plus the reception area is too small.
And of cos the restaurant beside the ballroom no doubt i really like the Crystal ballroom (except the lower ceiling)... keke

Hi Terrapin Lover, thanks for your advice for NCQ and HIPV comparisons ya!

Hi sockie, I've a few places to in mind and don't wanna rush to decide on a venue.
My AD is next year Dec :p

sockie

Hi xinglin,

Think u will not like Furama City Centre, as i feel HIPV gives a more classy look with its chandelier in ballroom. It gives more attractive perks than NCQ especially for the coming wedding show. Though the reception area is small, but it gives pple a cozy and warm ambiance. In addition, it is very accessible from somerset mrt. Different pple have different likings. It's impt to choose the venue that u are comfortable with.

Some people advise that it's better to book the venue one year ahead. If yours is a hot date or weekend, u better hurry to book the venue that u like. I already face the difficulty to book HIPV and Club Chinosis. Luckily the couple who placed a tentative booking in HIPV let us have the venue. Wishing u all the best in ur search for venue

Hi Shanice,

Glad that u like ur car plate. Are u intending to use it for ur photoshoot?

hushbear

thanks shanice! i shall go thru one by one... haha... when's ur AD? hoz prep? i bet the car plate must be nice, bought some from overseas b4, kindda cool! using ur own car on AD?

bubblepearl

Xinglin, one thing u need to consider also is the carpark for NCQ. same as u, i was also considering Furama city ctr, riverview, hipv and NCQ. I love NCQ simply becos of the exclusive reception area and no pillar high ceiling ballroom but my bf dun like it cos the area is inaccessible for my guests to come. Therefore, we took HIPV , again because of the location. I have personally attend wedding dinner for furama city ctr and riverview, in the 1st impression for cityctr, u will not like it cos it is v old but the ballroom have newly renovated and it is v nice n grand. As for riverview, nothing really impressed...especially the food...taste..

shanice666

Hi sokie,
nope.. won't use it for photoshoot. coz just receive it.. and my photoshoot is done long ago. will b collecting it in aug.

Hi hushy,
my AD is on oct. ;)
will use car from bridal studio. mercedes.

kikibear

Hi everyone. I am considering to have my wedding banquet at HIPV next year. But I heard from my colleagues who have attended banquets there that the food is bad. Is that true? Really don't know whether I should choose HIPV now.

dearris

Hi Shanice

My AD is also in Oct. Which date is yours ?

Hi Kiki,

I would say the food is ok. Not that bad but not very fantastic only.

hushbear

hi kiki,
i heard some say the food was good last time. although i haven't go for my food-tasting, i feel that it shouldn't be too bad. if you really like the crystal ballroom, i think itz still worth it.

pink_rose

I will be goin down to HIPV to place the deposit this saturday. Can anyone who just attended wedding or who had their wedding at HIPV offer some comments about their food and service?
Really appreciate dat

peace13

hi Lavender & all,

Can share with me did u gals negotiate with the additional perks in your package?

I'm gonna meet up the wedding planner this weekend for discussion.

sockie

Hi peace13,

I just met up with Adeline not long ago.

We find her quite rigid, and kept saying that this was the best offer in town, and thus refused to give extra perks. We only managed to negotiate for late check out time for bridal suite and extra carpark coupons. Tat's all. Who is ur coordinator?

Are u thinking of signing up this weekend? It will be better to just tentatively paid a deposit first to secure the AD but the rest of deposit paid on coming wedding show.