Hokkaido

kxbc

Hi Kim

I think some ryokans also have onsens so it should be "free" for paying guests. I think some hotels also have onsens and it also open to the public if they pay a fee. I cannot tahan hot water so I don't think I will really appreciate my onsen experience. But must still try lah.

For easy conversion to SGD, drop the last 2 zeros from the yen amount and multiply by 1.5.

Did you watch Japan Hour last Sun (24 Jul)? It was featuring Hokkaido.

idono

If i'm going Hokkaido, I would buy air tix to either Osaka or tokyo and then book internal flight from there. Bullet train or air travel is about the same price. Hence, my preference is to fly. If I intend to travel by train in hokkaido, then i think the Prime travel promotion is quite worth. Otherwise, I would usually fly to a smaller city in hokkaido (cheaper) and then rent a car

idono

Hotels & ryokans in hokkaido will defintely hv a common bath (ie, onsen). But of coz, i've nvr been to those ultra-cheap ones, so maybe they may not have, but I'll be very surprised, coz onsen is their way of life. The ryokan or hotel u stay in, their room charges includes access to the onsen. No need to "save" money for it. In fact, I would highly recommend u "save" money for their king crab meals. King crabs are the best in winter. But I had it both in summer & winter. Both are heavenly. Be prepared to pay up to $150 (2 pax) for a good king crab meal

For me, I'm hooked on onsen. Coz its so cold in hokkaido, it feels heavenly after onsen.

idono

Also, if you stay in ryokans, I'll doubt if they provide western style breakfast. I can nvr get used to japanese breakfast.

No need to worry too much abt the onsen. Yes, though separated by sex, sometimes, the female onsen (and male) can be seen from some spots around the hotel / ryokan. But no one seems to be bothered by it. My wife got used to it after a while.

kxbc

Thanks Idono. What does Jap breakfast consist of?

The cheapest domestic flight from either Tokyo/Osaka to Hokkaido is by Airdo. However it's not cheap either, even if you book 45 days beforehand and somemore one-way only.

The Prime package is prob still the cheapest around so far. There may be better packages during Natas in Sep. Kim, keep a lookout.

When I am back from my trip, will definitely share some cost savings tips with you but you owe me King crab meal. Haha....joking only.

kimmie

Hi KXBC,
*phew* i thought how...must buy back and cook it the actual style that you had in japan and invite you and your wife over - stress ah...

Yeah i called up some travel agencies that i found off the internet. one advised me to wait until natas fair 9-11 sep.

thanks idono for the many tips. btw i also came across this place called takimoto inn in noboribetsu - its more economical. apparently you can stay there it will give you free access to the onsen in the famous Dai-ichi Takimotokan which is just across the road from it. better than paying Y18000 pppn.
kxbc, if u r interested let me know i will post the address and phone num. it does not have an internet website.

idono

Oh yes, the prime package is quite attractive. Travelling by air or shinkansen are both v. ex. Japan tour is very different (IMO) from other countries, usually, we look at their internal tour packages, it does help if you know japanese, coz these internal packages are usually better priced. They tend to keep good stuff to themselves :p
Even the king crab, they dun export overseas.

Jap breakfast ah...hmm.. rice and soem weird small dishes... very weird ones

kxbc

Hi Kim

Sri Lanka crabs can already, don't mind flower crabs also...hahaha....joking..
Can post that address and phone number of Takimoto Inn here? If not convenient, can always pm me.

Hi Idono, thanks for your reply. Definitely don't mind rice or funny stuff for breakfast. Will take any food they throw at me. Thanks for all the tips.

keann

Hi, anyone being to Hokkaido before?
Planning to go in Jan or Feb for the cold cold weather....anyone joined travel packages from Prime travel before?

Anyone to share experience with tour agencies who do tours to hokkaido..

naze

Try Ananda Travel, they are quite experienced in Hokkaido, they have Hokkaido/Disney HK packages now, quite worth it.

keann

is hokkaido easy to get around?
First time visiting..and like to try for free and easy and not tours...but not sure if free and easy will be easy..

Anyone been there free and easy?

kxbc

Easy to get around. No worries. Public transport is first class. If you want to drive around, it should be easy too. Traffic is quite light and I heard rental cars have GPS system as well.

I booked my F&E though Prime. I think they have the Fly & Drive package. Prime also sell Hokkaido train passes and the airport limo service between Narita and Hanada airports.

I speak not a single word of Japanese and have no trouble asking for directions, ordering food, buying stuff. So should you

My first time in Japan as well and I enjoyed myself. Will be doing rest of Japan F&E in the years to come.

kxbc

Easy to get around. No worries. Public transport is first class. If you decide to drive, should be a breeze too. Heard rental cars have GPS system as well. Prime may sell the Fly & Drive package.

I speak not a word of Japanese and I had no problems getting around, ordering food, asking for directions and buying things. So should you.

It was my first visit to Japan and I enjoyed myself. Will be visiting the rest of Japan F&E too in the coming years.

kxbc

I was told you need to go there at least twice in different seasons to really experience Hokkaido. It offers a different face to visitors each season.

I would love to sit in an outdoor onsen with snow flakes floating down but would also love to see their wild spring and summer flowers. So maybe there is no real good time to go as every season is a good time depending on what you are looking for. Pros and cons for each season.

blue_genie

hi tamarind,

the pics are lovely.
been to Hokkaido in end Jun - early Jul period, the flowers not yet blossomed...hence, my pics taken are not that fanastic bright and full of flowers

chaoahbeng

tamarind, your picture of hokkaido is very nice.

you were there during july-august? I was there in April, to coincide with the sakura season. It was very nice and I like the place....hehehe.

kxbc

I was there in Aug also. But may have been a bit late as most of the flowers in Farm Tomita have already wilted. But overall still very nice.

tamarind

Actually I was there in early September. Most of the lavender has been harvested, but there other flowers in the farms, still quite spectacular.

kxbc

To whoever is planning to stay overnight in Furano Grace Hotel, try to get another hotel please. Furano Grace Hotel is not worth the money at all. Only good thing is that it is just opposite the train station.

For Sapporo, Toyoko Inn is good value for money.

keann

Hi Tamarind,
Thanks for sharing these pics....Beautiful pictures indeeed.
Am planning for a snowboarding trip to Hokkaido in Jan...it will be free and easy, dun really like to travel in group tours..but group tours are definately more economical.

dear99

hi!

ah beng: i wanna go there for HM end Mar next yr, is it e sakura season? or only early apr?? wen was ur trip there? early apr?

camy

I planning to go Hokkaido and Tokoyo for my HM. Will plan Free and easy too. A lot of tour package din really go to the place i wanna to go.

Hi keann, I'm going for snowboaring or skiing too!

miso

Hi hokkaido will be really cold in Jan..prob minus degree. u can enjoy cold winter when the crabs are in season. i recommend summer hokkaido when you can see lots of flowers and nature.if u want to experience winter in japan,
another place i recommend is nagano. it is only 2.5hours from tokyo. good scenery and food too.

keann

hi starrynight,
GOOD..try snowboarding, in my opinion, it looks cool and more fun.
When will you be leaving? I am going before chinese new year...can't wait, a few more weeks.

I will be staying in tokyo for a couple of days too....

keann

1) Anyone stayed in Grand Hotel in Sapporo before? Any comments? Need to make my way from Grand Hotel to new chitose airport, can anyone advise best way to get there and cost if possible?

2) Any visited Sapporo beer factory, am going there to take a look.

3) Any good itineraries as most of my trip is on Niseko. Only 1 day in Sapporo.

4) Any good restaurants to recommend in Hokkaido/Tokyo

kxbc

1) Did not stay in Grand Hotel. Was told that unless you pay an obsene sum of money, your hotel room will more or less be the same, ie, small toilets.
I was at Toyoko-Inn Hokudai Mae, a chain of hotel spread all over Japan. Can book via web http://www.toyoko-inn.com/eng/ . Good value. Only 9k yen per night (only 7k yen in winter), inclusive of breakfast. Clean and within walking distance to the Sapporo train station. From New Chitose Airport, take the train to Sapporo. It's a very short trip. New Chitose train station which is just below the airport, has English speaking staff. Very helpful especially if you want to validate your rail passes and book tickets.

2) Good for a 1-hour visit, maybe during lunchtime. They have a couple of restaurants just beside it.

Enjoy yourself.

apache68

Hi all, anyone can comment when is the best time to go hokkaido for flower viewing?? early august or late august or july??

Thank you..

muffin_bear

had done some research, a bit ex to do F&E coz 1 2 go all over hokkaido.. 1 2 compare some package tour prices, read HongThai is quite good, where is it located? any contact no? Prime only sells F&E package or tour package too? any contact? going early july.

BTW any1 tried the "north Star" night train from tokyo-sapporo? is it nice?

lingling00

Hi muffin bear,

It is actually not too ex to do F&E to Tokyo & Hokkaido. I am doing that for my trip in end May. Got a return ticket to Tokyo and will get a JR pass to take the train from TOkyo to Sapporo. My budget is actually cheaper than taking the tour and I get to plan all the things that I want in the itinieary.
If you are going in early July, u should plan your trip now as its the peak season. Not sure if u want to stay in those pensions in Furano/Biei. but they are quite full in july/august.

For night train, I am going "Hamanasu" as it is the only one that I do not need to "top-up". there is a more expensive one called caseephonia (cant remember the exact spelling). it seems comfortable but u need to top up quite a lot.

muffin_bear

hi lingling,

i read about the "caseephonia" and north star night train w bed, v ex, also not sure with JR pass is top up for bed or must pay full fare +bed, a bit confused. the JR pass u buy the full package or "area" one? but is only for 7 days, so can only stay in hokkaido for 6 days. A bit tight right? if go early june will there be flowers to see? just thinking of avoiding peak period.
actually had been to tokyo twice, so also consider just fly straight to sapporo, have u compare price between flying /taking train? If take train, is it good idea to stop at Hokadate and move up to sapporo, go to furano area and back to sapporo. I counted the transport/accomodation+food about 2k.

chicory

Hi Muffin Bear,

My frens & i are planning a F&E trip to Hokkaido & Tokyo in early May. If you have been to Tokyo twice already, maybe you wanna consider going to Hokkaido only for this trip.

Actually, taking Cassiopeia to Hokkaido is expensive, i think the price is comparable to taking domestic flight. And gg by train takes about 16 hrs whereas flight is only 2-3 hrs. I am paying $366 including taxes for the ANA domestic flight (return) to Hakodate. The airline staff also recommend to fly via domestic flight to save time unless you want to experience the night sky when taking Cassiopeia, then you have to choose the last cabin. And this you have to book in advance.

Yes, it is a good idea to stop at Hakodate then move up to Sapporo cuz it is exactly what we are going to do. Hakodate is famous for the night scenery so can stay there for a night.

Now there is a promotion with JAL to Hokkaido, inclusive of international flight, return domestic flight & 5 days JR pass within Hokkaido for $1200 or $1300 exclusive of taxes. Can check out at Creative Tours or JAL office.

muffin_bear

hi chicory,
thanks 4 info! where's creative tours / JAL? did u buy this 1200 package? i read that if book advance can get cheap deal with Airdo (jap budget airline), cheapest is 45days ahead 10,500yen (instead of 21000) sounds cheap..

lingling00

hi muffin, you need to top up quite a lot for that caeeiopeia train. I bought the 7 days National JR pass. and then allow me to travel unlimited within Japan. I use that to take night train to Hokkaido. It works for me as I will travel far away to see Tulip and Sakura. ] and then on my return flight, I make use of the Star Alliance pass that allows me to buy 1 way domestic lfight at 11000 yen. That way, i can save some time. I am expecting that all in all, I should spend not more than 2k for airfares/accommodations/domestic flights/JR passes/and meals. To compare cost between flying and train, why dont u use www.ekikara.jp to calculate the total fares of all your itinieary. If it is more than the 7 days JR pass, then it is worthwhile. otherwise no point.

muffin_bear

hi!

7 day JR pass can take the bullet train to and fro? can save the internal flight cost then.. the website in Jap leh? If i dunno Jap, can i survive in hokkaido?? 1 2 be spontaneous about the trip but worry that really cant get any accomodation since july is quite peak..

tsubame

Hi muffin_bear, if you read abt the recommendation for Hong Thai in this forum under the Japan thread, that might be me. Personally feel that their Flower World of Hokkaido package is real good iternary compared to like SA or Chan. They run their packages in Chinese thought, so you must be fine with that.

For contacts:
Hong Thai Travel - 6533 1788
People's Park Complex, #02-121

(The following 2 agencies specialises in Japan travel, both in same building)
Prime Travel -6221 4250, www.primetravel.com.sg
Hong Leong Building, #B1-14D
Creative Tours - 6222 8465, www.creativetours.com.sg
Hong Leong Building, #01-01

Am thinking of going Hokkaido early July, but gotta see if office can take leave...
Was wondering between taking domestic flight or JR too. BTW, peak season starts mid-July to end August. So go too early in July might end up no flowers to see...dilemma

lingling00

If you buy the National JR Pass, you can travel to and fro Tokyo to Hokkaido (so long that you dont use Cassiopeia, then u dont have to top up. the ekikara website is in Japanese. If you can understand kanji, u should be able to get some of it. if not, make use the excite translation site. as for japanese, dont worry too much. I dont speak japanese too..but from the feedback that i have gathered so far, it is alright. have fun

muffin_bear

hello!
thanks for info!
saw from website the 7days package from primetravel is more than 3k!! i think i'll go free n easy le.. about the 7 days National JR pass, the train to hakodate/sapporo need to have advance booking? can just turn up at station? they have both day/night train?
wanted to enjoy cool weather, initially wanted to go early june but worry that no flower to see yet! early july shd be ok?

tsubame

muffin_bear! Go early June best to see lotsa spring flowers! Not lavender of cos, that's in late July. It is early July that you might end up with no flowers to see, cos the spring ones wilted already, and summer ones not yet bloom.

Long haul train trip better book in advance, cos if cannot get might trip up your travel plans and bookings, especially if going in peak season. Think night trains all need to top up, like the Cassiopeia and North Star.

muffin_bear

cant decide to see spring flowers or lavender.. will check out prices for accomdation+flight for these 2 timing.. Prime travel JAL flight+train pass package seems quite ok to me, probably buy the one with domestic flight so can have more days in hokkaido.

Can somei enlighten me how 2 pronounce "Hakodate"? is Ha-ko-da-teh or Ha-ko-date?

muffin_bear

hmmm, many info to research.. i'll probably be going to prime or creative this sat to book airtix, haha!!

i tink Jan is very cold.. but there are a few winter festivals/ ice sculpture shos?