Hokkaido Trip-Natas Fair

kaye

bj&babybop,
think only 1 or 2 days, lunch not provided...
I also dunno wat to buy & bring how much over...
but ve to find boots for winter...dunno if normal heels boots can make it or not.

yuki31

BJ&babybop, icic thanks
my package only 1 lunch n 1 dinner not provided

Jaz, i called SA and they told me it is 15 to go
so now got to wait n c hw ...they say to check again next week or early Jan. where u plan to get winter clothes n boots? Is winter time or cold wear clothes good?

Piggy, i heard they say got to get those waterproof n anti slip kind of boots ...where to look for boots? my friend suggest timberland but i guess it not cheap n wearing only for the trip...

hanabiwaiwai

hi all... me just back from honeymoon @hokkaido... joined SA.. very good experience with them... thumbs up! our group got 30+ people, all are cooperative and punctual... and the tour guide is super funny..

all meals except last day lunch are provided... got 1 meal we can pay on our own to taste the king crab (whole crab) and other fresh seafood... then got another meal can pay on own for kobe beef... really eat till we drop!

i bought my boots from bata... can tahan the snow..

yuki31

waiwai, great to hear that your trip was enjoyable
I am still waiting for SA confirmation ...my group now only 2 ppl

they do not provide the king crab? got to top up a lot?

bata wat kind of boot u got? how high kind is better?

hanabiwaiwai

hi yuki... they got provide hairy crab for 1 lunch... king crab (with super long legs) is about 13000 yen.. not cheap but very yummy!

the boots that i bought is high cut but not very high type.. the brand starts with "W" from bata(cant remember how to spell).. no heel one... think not more than S$80.. as long as u wear wool socks then should be okie.. why not join another group that has more people?

ublur

waiwai, i m back from my trip too.. kekeke. very satisfied with the trip.. not too bad.. got photos to share?

jasmine23

hi waiwai n blur blur... cacn i jus chk how many thick clothings did u bring ther??? where dis u gals bought them from....

agreed wif yuki, timberland heard is gd but quite ex lay...

hanabiwaiwai

jaz... i wear long john (from cold wear) + fleece (from baleno)or long sleeve t-shirt + jacket (from cold wear)...timberland is too ex, unless u are going to cold countries often else not worth the $$

blur blur... u also joined SA right?

merydith

Hi Yuki,
paid $100 per person for flight extension.
I chose my own accomodation. Will be doing FnE for the 2 days

Hi waiwai,
whats the temperature there roughly? kobe beef! must be very shiok! h

Btw, I heard there is some food intestinal poisoning in japan..ard 38 dead. Is it true?

yuki31

Merydith , which agency u sign up with? 100 per pax seem exp leh ...

waiwai, is it very cold? wat kind of jacket u brought from cold wear? i saw those thick thick kind n those like a coat ...dunno which is better so i juz brought my gloves, scaf and long john....

hanabiwaiwai

yuki... it is quite cold especially when there is wind... mine is those "under 0 degree" type of jacket with goose feather inside, waterproof material... it is better to get one that is waterproof, coz when u go indoor from outdoor place, snow stick on the coat will melt...

yuki31

waiwai, thanks
i go and check it out ...so hw much u spend over there ? think u had great fun
so envy...keke :p

hanabiwaiwai

jaz... i wear long john + jeans or track pants... the jacket is about $150+ from cold wear... not sure if the sales is still on now..

yuki... me and hubby spent about $1k... mainly on food haha.. and also on tour guide tips and snow mobile...

yuki31

waiwai, icic tat good...i was planning to bring 1k each for me n hubby ...scare dunno will spend a lot or not so maybe juz bring in case ....u use credit card over there?

hanabiwaiwai

yuki... the first few days we were at "ulu" places where most shops accept cash only.. the bigger shops at sapporo, otaru and asahikawa accept credit cards...

kaye

oh yes, Timberland is having sales...
Not sure if its still on...
My hb bought a waterproof shoes at $100+

yuki31

Piggy, yap i saw Timberland sales too...was looking at their boots but they told me suitable for winter kind will be the yellow boot with ribbon which i dun really like

hanabiwaiwai

piggy... actually the shops at ulu places are like souvenir shops... they sells the same things... our tour guide bought us to a shop at sapporo to enjoy 10% discount and no GST charge...

just to recommend a few things to buy: scallop candies, shioi koibito chocolate, rock melon jelly, sapporo classic beer, choya plum wine (cheaper than s'pore), japanese songs cd (cheaper than s'pore)

yuki31

waiwai, can check with you whether i will have problem walking ard if i am wearing boots with heel? is there a lot walking ard ? is it slippery there?

yuki31

my hokkaido trip is cancelled
SA told me if i take the alternative date, i got to topup to current price ...which is additional abt 150 ...hw can they do that?

I tot of taking another agency instead

jasmine23

hi yuki... is about 2.3k inclusive of tax.... i bought it during natas fair... call them up to chk....shld b able to

pongpong32

Haiz.. my trip is cancelled also..
Now looking for other alternatives..
Might be going korea instead..
Think Korea is more popular now.. Got more cfn trip.
Really spoil my mood...

hl_nutri

Hi Waiwai, which SA Tour package did you went with? Is it 7D Hokkaido Winter Wonderland? Is there any Onsen hotel stay?

yuki31

waiwai, me leaving with SA on 24th Jan ....
can i check hw much tips did you give during the trip? any idea if we need to get thermo sock or normal sock will do?
heard that they chg hotel everyday ...is that true?

jasmine23

hi hi..just to share... to those who r looking for boots... just bought a boots @ velocity ( besides novena square), third level... quite good sole... is URS brand... original price cost $139.9... bought @ ware hse sale at $29... buy it while stock last...

yuki31

hi waiwai,

me juz back from hokkaido with SA .....keke :p
it was really great n fun ...yap i paid the same tips ...i din know the tour guide will collect from us one by one ...din really feel like giving tour leader coz he din do anything

who was ur tour leader n tour guide?

was upset that we top of $100 per pax for weekend morning flight but now they chg to a weekday night flight n no refund was given ...SA simply say that coz the group cant form so no choice

hanabiwaiwai

hi yuki... my tour leader is a lady called huiling and the tour guide is mr sew... both are very friendly and helpful... they helped us to take photos... so i think it worths the tips..

Can check with you gals who joined SA tour, what kind of 'onsen' did you get? Is it the natural hot spring or just a small swimming pool?

Saw that the itinerary includes 2 'hot spring baths'.

hanabiwaiwai

hi... there were 2 onsen during the trip... they are inside the hotel... both hotels got indoor and outdoor onsen but are man-made pools...

Hi waiwai,
The itinerary says "authentic wilderness" so I'm wondering whether you get those onsen like those you see on TV. Btw, any chance to stay in ryokan?

rainette

i have booked a Hokkaido trip with ASA holidays. Not sure of their service. But giving it a try. I feel it should not be that bad since they are competing against the market leaders.

s__h

rainette,
what do u mean by competing against market leaders?

All agency are competiting against market leaders right?