HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

stressedl

hi och,
no it isnt completed yet. Waiting for the window/serving counter to be installed.Really clueless on the pattern so in the end told Ah Keong to do the same as the one he did in AMK recently.
Also waiting for painting of MBR toilet n service balcony to be completed.
Bosch is a good brand. Is it German product? I browsed some washing machines earlier. Saw the Miele washers.So exp!
BTW did you change your door grille? Mine really look terok. Paint peeling here n there. Thinking of changing to a wrought iron gate.
Geesh, lots to spend, need to tighten belt.Haha

hunnybunz

Hi ssmilezz, Our Samsung LCD 32" (was eyeing for the 40") was $2799. Bought it from Harvey Norman during one of their rd shows. They throw in 4 years warantee plus the home theatre sys free!

Hi sprilgal, LOL! Where got vacuum cleaner so cheap. Waht I meant was I got it $50-60 cheaper than mkt price.

To those who are interested in the VAX vacuum cleaner:
You can see the model in Harvey Norman.
Its about $600+ but got it from this place : Tolay Electrical Trading Pte Ltd. 460 Geylang Rd Tel : 67459698 for $515

Hi Och. Yeah the bedset comes with a study table but not good enugg for the kiddos leh.
We wanted this one
http://www.crosscom.com.sg/workstns.html
Geeze! Cost about 2K. Thus have to wait till year end when the bonus comes in! We spoil our kids -rite!

I used ICI for mu home. Cant rem exactly what blue and the painters throw away wll the tins already. But look at the catalogue and there is only one sky blue. But dont use ICI. Nippon is definately a better choice.

MMMmm..shd have consulted u gals. I bought my dryer. Electrolux. So-so only leh.

And yes, the painting is extremely badly done. My kitchen walls - can see hairline cracks. And I have every reason so suspect that they only do 1 layer for some parts ... cos when the apint peels, we could see that it is really very thin.

ssmilezz

Hi VL ~ Yup, I bought the CU46P.
Hopefully it serves us well. keke

Bosch is a german brand. As I bought both the dryer and washer together, i think the shop gave us some package deal.

I changed my gate too to a wrought iron gate but it's not those with the designs cos our main issue was more for security reason.

Hi Och ~ Yeah, only one coat leh..and the painter admitted that to us saying that dark colors one coat is enuff! Gosh. Reno's considered all done except we want the painters to repaint our living room. The whole area looks really patchy right now. And Ah Keong still owes us our bedhead cushion. Not to worry will snap pics after everything.

I used bluish shade for living room. But it's not the light blue type. It's more of a greyish/blue color. Not too sure if you are looking for lighter or darker shades.

Hi Hunny,

That's quite a good offer! Over the weekend, I saw this new LCD Toshiba's model. Their 40 inch was going for S$2,999. When the sales person introduced this model to this family beside us, the father commented "wah so cheap..i don't want". so funny. kekeke...

Ah...that means u can see the white layer of paint below right. terrible man...

Wow..nowadays kids have good life sia...all i remembered having was those foldable tables. :p

aprilgal

Hi och,
yup, might consider karcher's water-based vacuum... based on your experience, is there any pros and cons to share?

Hi hunny,
haha... ya hor, me too anxious liao... thought so cheap, keke..
Heard that it has both vaccum and mop function, am i right?
Does it really serve good purpose? Have to make a trip down to HN soon ya.

I was thinking of getting a cordless vaccum cleaner - Electrolux...
but now i'm tempted to get miele, Vax and karcher vaccum...
how??

lsbb13

Hi Dear All bros and sis....

I believed ...you all have been searching for the right IDs...can you please advise...if Ho bee is good? I am considering them as one .

bluzcorner

I guess Ah keong is really bz now. I am waiting for my carpentry to start since two weeks ago and now onli got confirmation dat it will b done it tis thursday. Sigh...dunno it will then take how long to be done.

Hi ssmilezz~wat???? they onli use 1 coat for dark colors? OMG....i tot no matter wat they should do two coating? My masterbedrm is a dark grey n light grey color. N i actually found some part peeling off..... then Hennie was telling me if the painter do touch up, d colors will be uneven? anybody encounter tis?

So far the lighting ppl still did quite a gd job, no complaints on dat.

och

hi vl, i changed most of my corridor-facing grills to wrought iron. the rest were done in aluminium n still in good condition, so i din bother to change them.

hi hunny, last time i studied on the dining table. $2k for ur kids' study table?! i saw crossing's tables when i was renovating my study 3 yrs back, but i just couldn't bear to pay that amount for tables.

hi ssmilezz, i don't mind light or dark blue, just as long as it looks soothing n isn't dull. so what's the colour code? u used nippon paint right? the painters r lazy, lazy.

aprilgal, kaarcher is not bad. this is the newer model http://www.karcher.sg/sg/Products/Private/Consumer_Indoor/Water_filter_vacuum_cleaner/11951010.htm. mine is old old model, it was grey n black with some yellow. dunno if the features r the same, but one complaint i hv is that it is very loud. cannot even hear the phone when vacuuming. the suction power is also a bit lower than vax.

the pros r
1) it's water-based, so it's v. easy to maintain (no dustbags!)
2) it has hepa filters to trap bacteria, good for allergy prone pple.
3) there's another filters at the motor emission, so it traps engine dust
4) there's a place to stick all accessories on the vacuum n the cables auto-rewind, so it's v. easy to store
5) quite easy to move around.

there's a parquet accessory too, since u hv parquet in ur house.

there's a demo every weekend in tangs. i bought it when the product just launched, then it was just $548, think it increased to abt $700 now. there's a mother's day sale on-going on n there's a twice-a-year karcher sale in their warehouse opposite imm, where u can usually get some freebies.

ssmilezz

Hi Aprilgal ~

The vacumn cleaner certainly came in useful during our major first round cleaning esp cos the whole house felt so sandy.

Take your time to decide cos every brand has their pros and cons. For me, I was concerned with how heavy the cleaner was cos usually water based ones are heavier. Also I tested to see how noisy it was when switched on to the max mode. Usually the sales person may not switch it on to max mode so it's quieter. hee hee..Check the wheels too. To see if it moves around easily and if it scratches. Find out the cost of those replacement dust bags too cos you'll prob need to replace them in future. If you have a sensitive nose, do take note of the type of filter they are using too.

Hi Tale ~ Welcome to the thread. I'd advise you to read through some of our earlier posts to have a clearer picture.

Hi Bluz ~ How's your reno coming along?? They are supposed to do two coats! But we suspected he didn't do so cos we could see those horrible patchy streaks around the sockets. And when we asked him, he said he didn't do so. terrible...so if yours is a dark color, perhaps it may be true ba.

Your MBR sounds very nice. I like greyish shades. What color of laminates did you get for your cupboards? Yes, he is really very busy, have to bear with him. At least u know when he gives you his attention, he will do so 100% right?

Hi Och ~ I can't recall the color code but i know it's called November Sky.
It makes my living room look smaller cos it's a darker shade ba...

bluzcorner

Hi Sweet~Patrick's hp is 96792934.

Hi Ssmilezz~

I actually doubt they do two coats for me....n d way dat they do touch up is no gd. Looks patchy patchy n uneven. Ya, patchy streaks r found too.

I like my MBR color, very cosy. My laminates r in dark grey close to black as well. Sure up load some pic shortly. All lightings r up except my dinning lights. Now only waiting for carpentry. I wonder how long they will take to do it.

ssmilezz

Hi Bluz ~

The bad painting will look really obvious if you have this long wall or an empty room. We were discussing if we should just close both eyes and accept the substandard work, afterall, when our furniture arrives, we wouldn't focus so much on our walls. But in the end, everytime we use the switches, we can't help but look at the painting around the area. So have to get them to re-paint which is a chore cos I have things in my living room now.

I used greyish laminates for my kitchen too. Are u going for white lights or warm lights?

Erm..not to scare you, but my carpentry took a very long time. Think the fabrication was slow cos overloaded with many clients. Plus, his guys are also busy so by the time, it was finally my turn, it was at least 1.5 months delay. My entire reno took me close to 4 freaking months. :p Even after handing over, they have been coming in for the past 2 weeks to do recitifications.

rhea

Hi bluzcorner and other fellow ladies,

I have been following this thread

Its through this forum that i found Ho Bee to renovate my place. Apparently, their work process on painting has changed.

My place has just been painted with only 1 coat. I have problems like unevenness, holes, pop out etc

I was told that they will do the final two coats and settle all the problems after installation of carpentry. Actually this method is better, touch up will be patchy as paint is applied at different timing and brush used.

I am now keeping my fingers crossed, hopefully everything will go well.

paper

yup.. =)

my house now also using the same method as Nancy..

Somemore i got a red dining hall.. very obvious leh.. if the paint is patchy..

Did you change the switches? we are thinking of changing to hager.. is it good?

stressedl

hi ssmilezz,
Did u get your new gate through P? I would also prefer a more 'secured' one than one with design.

Ya, my kitchen cabinetry took the longest time to be done.Poor Ah Keong,sick already. He looked so peak chek yesterday.My flip-up glass door cant be installed as the 4 gang switch is blocking.You pretty lucky to get the fat guy n Ah Keong's brother to do your carpentry.Heard they are the best. I got 1 grouchy n grumpy guy n his nephew.Not very refined(Imagine patching chipped off laminate with filler n buat bodoh when I asked him).

Talking of switch, OMG the electrician used Clipsal for the 4 gang n Legrand 2 gang in my kitchen. They didnt cover the screw holes on the switch plate.Looks like recycled switches....sigh.

och,
You are one feisty gal. I didnt asked the workers to refrain from smoking in my house.Combined with dust, I had sore throat n cough 3 times the last 2 months.Im extremely allergic to cigarette smoke.
Do you still have the contact for your wrought iron gate? Thanks.

rhea

Hi Paper,
I have using MK switches heard its more reliable. I did saw Hager switch when i was buying my switches but i din pay much attention :p

VL,
U could tell the electrician that u get your own switches, i got my own. Designer switches is not cheap, i paid at least 100+ already.

paper

I heard from Ah Keong on Monday, 8th May 06, that his mum is sick and he is worried about her.. but he can't leave here to visit her.. He said his brother is with the mum.. but he would like to go visit as well.

Seems like he did not go back.. think he is worried as well as too busy over here.. tats y sick..

I called him two days ago and he is popping flu medicine... but must be very stressed up cos he sounds quite disturb.. = /

Hope he gets well soon.. or he can delegate some of his jobs to others..

paper

btw.. the switches.. i may have to pay about $200 (not confirmed yet), cos some of the switches are two way switches.. thus more ex..

this sat, I will meet the curtains ppl, from Art Living in Furniture mall. Most prob I will do roller blinds.. less maintanence.. =)

och

hi aprilgal,
ssmilezz mentioned a gd point. the karcher vacuum is quite heavy.
i usually just pull it around n make hubby carry it up n down. haha.

hi ssmilezz,
dun think u should accept substandard painting in ur living room leh. living room is where most pple focus their attention, patchy paint jobs will be noticed. somemore u like the clean cut look right? if that's the case, then the paint job should be good, cos it's not like ur room will be so crowded with furniture n barang barang.

hi vl,
oh dear, hope u r feeling better. living with reno dust is a pain. i was ill during reno too. as for ensuring there's no smoke in the house, i din quarrel with the workers or anything. when i smell smoke, i naturally investigate the source of the smoke n the workers took the non-verbal hint v. well. the workers will share this kind of info with each other. check out one team, n nobody else will smoke inside the house anymore. haha.

i din change my gate, only the window grilles. i changed it while renovating my house under my previous contractor. two different brands of switches in ur house?! mix n match?

hi nancy,
u only paid 100+?! i paid 250 to change all the switches in my house to big-gang switches! the 3 heater switches alone cost me 30+. hv i been fleeced?

ssmilezz

Hi Nancy,

Just make sure they cover your cabinets properly and also your flooring if not you'll end up with specks of paint all over. That was the reason why Ah Keong didn't want to bring in any carpentry prior to the final coat of painting previously. He says it's not good for his carpentry. Perhaps they decide to review the situation now.

Hi Paper ~ WOW!~ Red hall. Another very interesting color. Do you have pics to share? Issit like a bright chilli red color?

I changed mine to MK but not those big big ones cos I don't like the loud tick tiak sound from the big ones. LOL!

Not too sure abt Hager though.

No wonder Ah Keong says he can't come down to settle some stuffs for us. He must be really worried abt his mom. He hasn't gone back for weeks liao....quite tough for his wife and kids.

My curtains will be put up this Sat.
We did curtains (day and night) for all the windows.

Hi VL ~ Yes, I got my gate thru P. We didn't chose those fanciful designs but it's a standard (jail like) looking one. Make sure the hinges are properly welded. If possible, get them to put more than the usual 3 on each size. P knows how particular we are abt security and we modified the gate until we were satisfied. The gate guy had to come down a second time cos after the first time installation, we realised there was like a big gap between the gate and the door which isn't very secure so the person came down to rectify for us.

Tell P abt those switches and get them changed. The electricians do recycle the switches so u can probably see fine scratches on them. It's very dishonest of them to do so and we shouldn't just accept it.

Poor Ah Keong. Must be feeling lousy now..sick and worried abt his mom. I hope she's ok. Since his brother has gone back, his team is probably short handed again. Jia lat....

Last weekend, it was fat uncle (Ah Long Ge) and the tall thin chap who came down. Btw, fat uncle speaks good English..hehe..i heard him talking to the indian electricians that day. LOL!

One thing abt fat uncle, he smokes alot! and in the house...so i don't think u can tahan. I dislike the smoke too but no choice lar..just tong. :p

Hi Och ~ Yeah, they are coming down tomorow to redo the living room only. Will let you know if it's better. We were insistent that we don't want to use the same painter.

Any of you ppl keep pets??
Sorry ah..a bit off topic.

paper

ssmilezz,

yup.. red dining hall.. in memory of "red house" in Katong. I used to go there for tea and cha siew pau like 8 or 9 yrs ago .. kekek.. very old place with very old waiters.. very interesting.. but they had closed down.. wonder if any of u remembered or know of this place....

when ah keong told us on monday.. (becos we have some time in between while waiting for patrick), can really see him very worried... he said his father is still working in singapore..

quite poor thing.. kekek.. do u notice that his hair is longer than before? i think no time to cut.. keke...=/

I have 1 dog (maltese) about 5 mths at my current house.. bought by my sister..and she just bought a black poodle, but my mum dun allow... so her bf brought it home... but won't be having any dogs in my new house.. since i will be staying with fh's parents who dun like dogs.. otherwise the black poodle will be mine... too bad... oh there will be a tortoise in the new house.. kekee.. owned by fh.. for over 10 yrs!! very big!!

aprilgal

Hi och,
thanks for your detailed info on the pros and cons of the karcher vacuum. Very thorough indeed.
Ssmiliezz has brought out a very good point, does the wheels cause scratches to the parquet?

Think really have to go down personnally to CK tang there to witness the demo myself. One thing is that i am myself easily get tempted and worried that i might regret after I buy during demo session that's why asking you kind gals to advise.

Really appreciate you gals feedback very much.

Hi paper,
we do have a red paint on one of the walls in the hall too, keke... It seems that it's quite well-painted. Maybe we're lucky or nv pointed it...

As for the switches, i always have liking for large swtiches cos tired of using small ones so managed to convince my FH to change them all.
We paid $250-300 on all those switches (includes quite a number of 2 gang 2 way switch and 3 gang 2 way switch, 2 heater switches, 1 door-bell switch, etc...)

On last Tues, some hip-ups happened. they accidentally drilled holes onto the walls (whereby got water pipe behind)and caused the pipe to burst. *Really not smooth for them* They have to rectify and find compatible wall tiles as well.

Ah keong told me to help since he could n't find compatible wall tles. Luckily i still managed to find the main-con number and the most important part is that they still have the tiles.
Me also trying my best to help Keong lah.. see him so poor thing liao..

As for Ah keong's situation, he only informed me yesterday that he'll be going back to visit his mum for today and tml. Quite poor thing and i told him to go back and not to worry abt the situation here...

Dogs, ya we do. it's a chihuahua belongs to my FH family... quite old liao (close to 10 years old) and think not much of a prob though we got platform in the hall and parquet for all 3 rooms cos 'he' should know the basic 'courtesy', i supposed, haha.

paper

i have decided to change the switches to black colour.. keke.. din do much research on the switch.. just told patrick tat day and he brought down a sample of each brand.. only hager and legrand.. so i chose hager...

today.. i went on a search for traditional door knobs for my big wodden sliding door at the study room... keke.. finally found it.

u can read more about it at http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/409/369080.html?1147447485 .. if you are interested.. keke..

ssmilezz

Hi Paper,

Actually, i'm currently staying at Katong area so yes, i do rem the red house.

We spoke to Ah Keong today. He's resting at the factory so I'm not too sure if he made time to go back. If you guys do see him, do ask if his mom is better and update us yeah?

Eh, black switches and red walls...COOL contrast. I think it looks great. Very bold colors.
Do you have a particular theme for your house since you are going for the traditional chinese door knobs?

The painters came done today. Erm, one of the guys was the same painter who did our place earlier so we came to the conclusion that P doesn't have many painters to start off with. LOL! Anyway, they used masking tape to do up the switches, windows, etc so everything definately looks better.

Met up with P today cos we intend to add on and do a divider (perhaps something similar to Hunny's study room) between our foyer and living room.

Black poodle? Issit those toy dogs breed?
Usually i only see white ones..hehe...oh yes, tortises can grow really big. My cousin has one and he has kept it for many years! It's as big as a palm.

Hi Aprilgal ~

Yeah, go check out the demo. Have a feel of the cleaner. Sometimes, it may be very big and bulky and u have difficulty moving it around esp if there are hard to reach corners in your house.

The Miele model that I bought is the only one in red. You can check that out if u are free.

So are u guys bringing the chihuahua along? FH's family has a prembroke welsh corgi (4 years old) and we were thinking of getting another one for our own place.

Good to know you managed to find the tiles. That probably saved Ah Keong some trouble. Hope all goes well for u. Have u finished with your unpacking?

My electrical appliances were delivered today and we tried out the Bosch washing machine.
Luckily it's not too noisy and Persil does smell quite nice. LOL!

paper

I love the red house... so sad it is closed...

At first i want a red dining room.. in memory of red house.. and then i tot y not have a chinese dining hall? and we bought a black stone table.. but the dining light is more to modern.. kekeke.. =)

but the rest of the house .. we want it to be modern villa style.. meaning.. using materials like leather sofa and glossy homo tiles...

yup.. toy breeds.. keke.. very cute... and they are quite obedient.. so really happy about tat!!

We met up with the curtains shop today.. whole house will be roller blinds.

ssmilezz

Hi paper ~

Yeah, i think a lot of ppl were sad to see the red house go. I think further down Upp East Coast Road there's another similar old school kopitiam selling bread/kaya etc?

Black stone table? What sort of stone? Marble? hehe..you'll need to look for more looking lights and perhaps a nice chinese painting or two for your living room.

How much did they quote you for your roller blinds?
My curtains came today and together with all my furniture, the whole place looks smaller now. keke... *yay* less open space to clean and mop. LOL!

paper

hmm.. the stone is matte stone.. but it is not one whole piece.. it is a combination of short strips of stones... we bought it from accents of accents in furniture mall, they import from china.

Actually we bought the lightings before we decide to have a chinese dining hall.. the lightings are more to modern. hahaha... we see how.. can't change the lights.. so just hope to achieve a modern chinese dining hall..

For my living room, I will put a ceiling fan and downlights..

yesterday the shower screen is up.. but the height is wrong... so i called patrick and they have to tear it down and do a new one... hahaha..

but I would say the quality of the shower screen and windows are good.. it slides smoothly and the windows also can open smoothly. = )

I was quoted $1.1k for the roller blinds, but the lady heard wrongly and tot i wanted fabric curtains and brought the fabric cataloges, so i will have to go to the shop another day to select. =)

wow, really happy to hear tat ur house are ready.. rem to show us ur photos!! =)

hunnybunz

Wah...this thread grows so fast!

Hi paper, share some pics when yr place is done. Wah! very daring colour - RED. I am sure it would be striking

My whole hs roller blinds too. I was quoted 1.4K for all roller blinds from Jimmy Textile in Katong Plaza. The roller blinds got diff quality ones. There are thinner ones. There are some which is 100% light proof. Very shiok to put inside the room - esp when u sleep during the day (feels like night). And on weekends can sleep late late! LOL

Hi ssmilezz, when u do the divider, rem to choose the correct dimension. Cos ply wood - u need it to be thicker and broader. Unless use solid woord. But solid wood very ex. Can opt for bigger pieces instead of 'many' finer stripes.

Oh ladies, I created a garden at the entrance of my home. My living room is also ready. Check the pics from my renoBlog.

**Hey I finally knew how to upload pics ! So here are some

370249.jpg

370250.jpg

370251.jpg

ssmilezz

Hi Hunny,

What's the ideal dimensions like ah? We have yet to get the quote from Ah Keong..cos when we told P abt our addition, he says he'll get Ah Keong to quote us. I have no idea how much it'll cost.

Your little garden is so nice. I like the little figurine.

This week should have very little updates from me. Am busy moving house right now. Going crazy!! ARGH!

Hi Paper ~

Do you have a pic of your dining lights? Maybe it won't look that bad with your table.

How's the reno coming along this week?

paper

I went to Art Living for my roller blinds. Ended up doing a fabric curtain in front of my balcony door... keke.. long story..

We choose the total black out blinds for the 4 rooms.. =)

My dining lights are 8 dangling rectangular-shaped acrylic. and they are dangling down.. keke.. dunnoe u understand.. have one, taken at the lightings shop.. but not with me now.. its at home.. i will try to post here.. if i rem.. keke =)

We will change the switches..but there are not enough hager black switches.. limited and not enough stock for my house.. so patrick brought a metalic dark dark grey sample and we think its okie.. The brand is Fung Yi electric. from taiwan.. with 12 yrs guarantee.. chim chay lah. keke..

hunnybunz

Hi Paper. might wanna think 2X about using ICI. Nippon is better, IMO.

Hi ssmilezz
Not too sure about the ideal dimension but think after my home, Ah Keong shd be able to advise accrodingly. Post your pics once u shift in ya

paper

hunny Bunz,

Thanks for the reminder.. we chose ICI before we read all the posts here about ICI..
too late.. and patrick had paid the consultation in exchange for the vouchers..

So sad I din read ur post before i chose the paints.. and FH said that we should not change since we have met up with the consultant.

Thanks for your advice!

ssmilezz

Hi Paper ~

That's a great color actually cos i think it goes very well with your theme.

Are u doing anything for your bomb shelter? Any feature wall?

Whereabouts is your new place at?

Hi Hunny ~

Ah Keong says the divider is ready except that the veneers are not here yet. Dunno if it will come in time prior to me moving in.

cacphin

hunybuzz> how much appro u spend on the garden corner? How abt maintainence? coz we are sort of doing the same thing in ou house but due to dust and worry abt mosquitos, we sort of put on hold.

gals> any problems with aircon pipes? The boxing leaks when raining heavily one day and luckily we are at home to stop the flood from spreading.. best part is that so far only when the rain is blowing in certain direction then it leaks..
pipes running from outside service bal into service bal, then to the rooms.. and it leaks at the place just when the pipes are into service bal. also, so far, we only on aircon once.

DEFINITELY not Ho Bee's problem, but want to know what is wrong 1st b4 the aircon pp is down and twist their words.

hunnybunz

Hi nihpcac, I psent about $350 for the whole thing - from plants to pebbles to the wood base to stones. We bougt eveythg from Goodwood/FarEast Flora. The water monitoring sys plants comes with this monitoring sys where u look at the indicator and when it shows low - then pour water in. Clean, easy and good.
I doubt if mosquitoes will breed.
Otherwise, can go for artificial flowers. I intend to change to artificial vines once the real ones died.

Hi ssmilezz, so yours is not the solid wood. Good... then not so heave and easier to install.

och

hi hunny,
i like ur little garden. is the fern an indoor plant or outdoor plant? i put a small garden in my home too, but all the outdoor plants died after 2 months.
kao_cry.gif
i'm now debating whether to find plants that will grow well in indoor environments or go for the artificial flowers route.

hi paper,
i think the red colour is v. nice! not too overwhelming, but makes ur house looks fresh. but the paint job seems a bit patchy, even in the photo.

n i highly support blackout blinds n curtains. i hv those in my mbr too. makes the room perfect for sleeping in during weekends n taking afternoon naps.

hi nihpcac,
it sounds like the hole where the pipes entered the service balcony was not sealed properly. even when aircon pipes leak or sweat, it's unlikely to be severe enough to cause a flood!

hunnybunz

Hi Och, I got indoor plants. When we shop for our plants, we shop for those that they place inside the store instaed of the ones outside. Then again, plants need sunlight so we intend to 'sun' them once/twice a week

ssmilezz

Hi Nihpac ~ Oh dear, it sounds bad. Your air-con was newly installed prior to you moving in right?

Hi Hunny ~ Good news, the carpenters are coming down tommorow to put up the divider and finish up with my bedhead cushion.
Not too sure who Ah Keong intends to send down. Will update accordingly. We didn't need to use solid wood stripes cos we actually have a box base so don't need the strips to be very stable/heavy.

Hi Och, Paper ~ Those blackout blinds..so they allow enuff air flow into the home?

I realised that although my place is new, i have seen a lot of funny insects around. *yucks* and i just got rid of one xiao qiang last week while cleaning the toilet.

hunnybunz

Hi smillezz, My place have lots of insects. Prob bc there is a big patch of "State Land" at the back of my home. The 'strange' insects usually come after the rain. We even caught a praying mantis last week!

As for the black out blinds, yeah they don allow any wind to come thg at all. A valid concern bc that was what we thought of initially. My logic is this (based on experience). We used to have day/night curtains.
1. When we draw the curtains, - yes - it does allow some wind/air to come in, but the curtains flip/flap eveywhere. Its annoying. So end up either tying the curtains all the way back to allow the breeze to come in of (if no wind at all) let it down, close window and on the aircon. The 2 extereme. Thus the blinds just fits in. Got wind, roll all the way up. No wind, roll down and on aircon. (Err..do i make sense or confusing u further!!)

BTW gals, I heard that Malcom left Ho Bee and come out and start a co on his own.

och

hi hunny,
thanks for ur explanations. my garden spot is next to the windows, so i din need to sun the plants specially. but so heartbroken when my gerberas died.
kao_cry.gif

hi ssmilezz,
like hunny said, if u r using blackout cloth, wind cannot flow in. but hor, i used to hv translucent roller blinds. no wind at all when the blinds r down, n the blinds make a lot of noise when there is wind, cos the weights at the bottom just keep hitting against the walls. on top of that, it's v. difficult to sleep in the room during the day, so i got frustrated n changed. would hv liked venetian blinds, but the look just didn't suit my room, so...

i hv a lot of insects in my house too, cos there's a huge empty piece of land right in front of my house. some of those flying insects even build nests in the open area right outside my bathrooms n abv my kitchen roof.

ssmilezz

Hi Hunny ~

Nope, u are not confusing me abt the blinds. hee..it does make sense to a certain extent.

Really? Malcom left? That's interesting. I haven't heard of that. P dropped by my place for a while today while waiting for the carpenters to come over. They finally did up my divider and my bedhead cushion.
Could finally clean up everything for my big move tomorow. Hopefully, my internet will be up and running so i can come online.

We're grateful to Ah Keong for rushing it out since we only told him last Sat that we wanted to do the divider. Didn't have a chance to thank him personally thou' he says he wanna come over to take pics this weekend.

Hi Och ~ looks like those pesky insects are here to stay. Doesn't help that i'm not staying on a high floor.

Actually, venetian blinds are not easy to maintain either. I used to have them at my previous home. Could really see the dust. Very gross. :p

hunnybunz

Hi ssmilezz, Och made a gd point. The roller blinds - u can either have them roll up all the way (to let wind in) or roll down all the way (and switch on aircon). No half-half.

Oh plzzz take some pics and show us. Know u are gonna be real busy.

rhea

finally i am back on internet ....
hi Paper, i like your colour very nice
hi Hunny bunz, your mini garden is very nice was wondering if they designer for u or did u desinged yourself?
Ssmilzz, good luck on your shift ... i will be shifting after u

ssmilezz

Hi guys!

hehe..finally shifted in. Internet was up and running last night but just no energy to do anything. hehe....

Hi Nancy ~ When is your "target" move in date? Have u started packing/unpacking?