saggiegirl

littlewoman> no worries
we did check with hilton when we booked the venue

saggiegirl

perhaps we let Hilton handle this?

I am sure that as a 5-star business class hotel, there will be a crisis management/communication plan lor

wat i understand is that the area at 10th floor alrdy cordoned off (as according to any police requirements)
so nobody can go in etc

raine1911

juz spoke wif june.. she gave me her assurance that they wun be assigning anyone the 10th floor bridal suite. And the hotel has conducted a private religious ceremony this morning at 5am with elders frm the 4 major religions. thats heartening to hear..thats a huge load off my mind.. now i gota focus on convincing my mum...

sept_09_bride

Me actually did shortlist Hilton as 1 of the hotel for my wedding banquet.. think im gona take tat out nw.. better be save than sorry..

bt i really feel v sad for the bride..

toons77

I do agree with joyjoy1 that there are so many unfortunate situations that happen in HDB flat, MRT or bus. Would you also consider moving house everytime there are any incidents in the block or not taking any public transport since there are accidents quite often??

The tabloids are making too much fuss and speculations over an issue but do they have the truth?? Give peace to the bereavement family as this will cause them more hurt..

Let the authorities handle it and move on....

missysee

ya .. let's also move on from this unhappy incident..

May i know roughly how long before the wedding would Hilton contact us for food tasting? I am thinking to have it early (5 months before) but duno if it's practical? eg. they would have forgotten what taste we preferred (too salty/oily). Also, if I signed the confirmed tables of say 35 and later increased to 45, would no. of wedding cards be of the 350 or 450 attendee?

I was about to ask Rachel more about this.. but worry they would be too busy now and hence dun wana disturb them first..

saggiegirl

missysee> haha
my food tasting is sometime ard Aug 09
about 3.5 mths bef wedding ...

usually food tasting can be anytime 2-4 mths bef wedding

did rachel email u the wedding preps checklist email?
she will state by when do wat, etc
so as to guide u along

hmm...

initially ur cards is 70% x 350 = 245 cards correct?

so if u incr to 45 (i tink is the max cap for grand ballroom) >> hilton will send a revised card confirmation order to t-dragon to reflect this increase
they need about 3-4 days to prepare this, so do inform them early ba

let me know if u need any help
i am always happy to help

amrasenelya

Hey missysee,

initially I also confirmed only 30 tables, but now we prob will increase to 36.. But do remember to let hilton noe abt ur increased number of tables bef u go down n print ur cards, cus if print twice, think T-dragon will charge u more on the second time cus more hassle for them ma.

Anw abt 4 months from ur AD u can let ur coord noe when u wan ur food tasting to be (usually abt 2 -3 months bef)..

I still dun regret choosing this hotel for my big day la =)

saggiegirl

AmrasEnelya> cool
u still can incr ur tables...

for us we cut down from 35 to 33 due to clash of wedding dates etc... but still manageable

amrasenelya

Saggie,

cus I only confirm the minimum number of tables the ballroom can hold.. So dat won't b too stressed to stick to the number of tables.. =p but I also got a few last minute cancellations from my friends. Hai..

Havin my food tasting in 2 weeks.. Excited to try their yummy food! Btw ur EG wad colour ah? Den wad theme n colour combi u choosing for the decor? Still headache on dat.

tianai83

May i know who's the btb? I hope not someone i know its too big a blow for me to take... Oh man i think for now we should not comment on the hmmm comments on how the relatives n friends will say right? Cos its pitiful for the brides actually....

raine1911

Thanks chercher

i know my mum definitely v pantang and want me to cancel the banquet cuz its not juz som random death like ritz or oriental but its sum1 die on weddin nite.. shucks... im really reluctant to do so..

odod>> wats your take on this?

raine1911

dat was insensitive of me... sorry gals.. i juz hate having to forgo such a perfect-everything wedding banquet juz cuz of some pantang. even few of my frenz come n ask me.. saying they mite not attend.. arrgh .. guess i betta shuddup

keigo_saki

I have just signed up with Hilton not long ago for my wedding in Mar 2010..

I am sadden by this tragedy too.. but i think the hotel does not want this to happen too. like wad saggiegirl and toons says... this is an isolated incident and we should let the authorities to handle and move on..~

candymix

dun worry lar, i think the groom didnt commit suicide though..its quite questionable?

since your ADs are not in nov, shouldnt be a problem..people are quite forgetful..thought i would suggest consider brightening up the whole ballroom for a more cheerful look..

questseeker

hi everybody, 14 days to go -> condition - stress level medium ; preparation - almost complete . Pantang level - zero .
hi saggie - how is everything in your side . going to become a mrs soon.

questseeker

let me share with you all my solumiser, mr yeo woon soo , he is a very good person and provide us a detail summary of what is going to happen on the actual day, 22 nov 09. After meeting him, we are happy that he is the one we want to have on our solunmisation day at hilton before the dinner starts. any bride to be, can pm me about the details

questseeker

hi saggie - how is the preparation on your GDL. Mine is on the 10 nov 09 then follow by the ann chuan and prayers to the ancestors - all on the same day. then the AV test on the 14 nov 09 - we intend to have a detail test run through to the detail of the photo montage.

joyjoy1

Hi, I am having my AV testing on 20th Dec. Anyone scheduled the same date as me? I am still not quite sure when shld play the pre wedding photos, childhood photos, love story (this is optional so i m considering if i shld spend $ on this), and express highlight.

virtual

bubbless> stress might not be a bad thing la. my friend was so stress that she lost 4 kg over 2 days before the wedding. haha!

questseeker

hi virtual > when the AD is near, worry about perfection more than any other things because it is our day and this is once in a life time affair.

missysee

Thanks SaggieGirl and AmrasEnelya,

Nope I haven't rec'd anything from Rachel and also not sure when is the timeline they will be contacting me. I'm still 6.5 mths away from wedding but like to settle most things early. So many question marks in my mind now..

hee... just being gan jiong and wana plan early. At the same time feeling pek chek coz nothing moves.. no one (parents & in-laws) sees my urgency and seems like i'm the one initiating many things leh.

Wah Virtual, so envy your fren leh, the more stress I get, the more kg I got loh..

now even have to stress out on slimming down.. everyone keep commenting on my figure until I dun feel good about myself le..

questseeker

hi missysee > don't worry , your coordinators will email you about the food tasting stuff, then on that day you will be given a enquiry form about the food you have been served and how is your opinion. Your feedbacks will be document down to your contract until you sign the confirm banquet arrangement. you will also meet rachel or pansy about the theme, the door gift , the card etc. Probably another two weeks before your email will come. So do your homework before the email comes.

questseeker

Hi missysee > u can go and see my web : archbreaker.multiply.com or saggie web about the food. U can also go to the web to enquire about the card design , the solumiser, the themes and then you can ask your coordinator 's some questions

saggiegirl

bubblesss> good
our wedding preps are on the way liao
and both sides getting very excited about our big day... and for us we are happy that we are gg away for a well-deserved break aka honeymoon...

freegoer

missyee> not so fast la. 3 mths in advance rachel will email you de. Now you just concentrate on the other aspects. Banquet side is normally ard 3 mths in advance.

questseeker

hi saggie > can advise for wine > what is the common wine normally cater in the wedding and the price and how many. Because we are not wine drinker, my htb is more to liquer type. Because i have already given 12 bottles of wine and i need to buy how many.

saggiegirl

bubblesss> haha... good question
the wine is handled by my MIL... she will be bringing in 5 crates (aka 60 bottles) plus 2 bottles of duty-paid hard liquor (i tink is Martell/XO)...

An chuang angpao typically is $28 ba for per person
for us, is my MIL doing it for us

hubby and MIL just bought the things needed for his GDL, An Chuang, actual day

we are all set and ready for our big day!!

next week: final fitting, papa jacket selection, final bridal works etc

puppet1

my stand is to gather those who are interested in canelling the banquet and raise the issue to hilton so tat they will not ask us to paid the cancellation fees. Many guest may not want to turn up and older generation will never want to have the wedding at hilton after such an incident

virtual

er. abit bad to go stir them now right? they are already facing pressure from the media and public.

Can't really blame them also. Think what they can do now is to get their chef to cook the best food during banquet and their staff to provide the best service.

questseeker

hi saggie, thx , we have brought back the photo to be put in the bedroom, confirm the final fitting date and we are ready for this saturday AV test in hilton.

questseeker

hi everybody, i don't see anything wrong in having hilton as the venue. As we all know in the press, the accident happened due to smoking a stick and went to the wrong entrance which is auto-lock and in trying to get into the hilton, he fell.
let us get our lives in order and move on, to prepare for the big day

questseeker

just a gentle reminder to every one , if craving for a stick , just go down to the lobby and outside hilton to smoke which is more safe than to go to the exit and smoke.

missysee

Thanks SaggieGirl and Bubbless again.. Guess I'm just too gan jiong le..

err ya.. like not very nice to talk about cancelling esp to the happy BTB here at this junction? I believe most of us are trying to keep cool and forget the incident bah. Understand odod's agony too, but shall we keep seperate thread ? Let's draw the line btw red and white yah?

questseeker

hi missysee , 12 days to my big day, tmr is my GDL and Ann Chuan and saturday is my AV test --> stress level = moderate . You must get yourself prepare to really know what you want in your theme, the gift and know what you want from your food menu then you can enqire from your coordinators.

questseeker

missysee > if on your food tasting day, you cannot confirm with your coordinators about the banquet setup then you can do it on another day, they are really happy to accede to your request.