Hilton Hotel

strawberrie1983

Hahaha..so long when the fan fare song starts, the servers dun march in with the food and dancing lo..that time i went to my friend wedding..the servers came out with the food on one hand up, then they went to the stage and dance with the food manz..the sight is ugly lo! is not professional at all!!!! Hilton dont do that right?

starfrost

stella, i get wat u mean.. i seen a couple of hotels doing that.. think i'll check with the coordinators during food tasting. make sure its not the unprofessional type :p

saggiegirl

so far i see no complains on this for Hilton =)...

but so far of all the weddings i have been to, no such dancing with food leh....

honey_greentea

Thanks bubbless and starfrost =)actually i've got the hilton's reminder letter also 4-5months ago lor..just that i do not intend to have 2nd march in so dunno when is the montage going to be played :p

any advice if i only have one montage (childhood + couple + bridal altogether)and only have one march-in, is the same montage can be played again during my luncheon?

And also, if we choose the songs from hilton, meaning that they wil get ready the songs and play for us automatically for march-ins and first dish isit?
what if we wan to play our own songs leh?

shin24

I just attended one last Sunday @ Novotel. They danced to 'Accidentally in love'. I think they didn't really change much. Same music in 2008 for another wedding at the same place.

It's quite cute (if you like this kind of thing).

saggie: You are stressing me. Your wedding in December and you are sending out invites now?!? My married gfs all tell me invites are sent out 3 weeks before, RSVP about 6 weeks before.

Greentea: I checked with RedKite too but there is equipment charge and I heard not too good review so I decided not to.

chercher

jane>> for me.. my ad in jan... i planned to mass sms/email by end oct... then send out invites probably mid nov
then relatives wise, during GDL.... so that if any friends last min cant, u have the time to invite others... then others wun feel the last min invite ~

hi starfrost *winkz* heehee.. usually when u go down select, they will probably give u the draft layout by email within 1 week, thereafter u give ur confirmation, i think 1 week for inserts, 2 week for hotstampin

ladies>> i oso no idea on the fanfare song.. i saw hilton list... all very classical =P

strawberrie1983

chercher: Yeah think I gonna choose the song "Victory" by Bond..the rest too classical liao..

Tmr will be my GDL! Gotta wake up early..Super tire..Haha after hubby pass us the gifts, think I will go slp manz..seriously need more ZZzZZZz..hubby gonna go home and "an chuan" himself..and send cakes and invitation cards to relatives..he will be more tire for me..

saggiegirl

Jane> i prefer to send out early coz we have quite a fair bit to cover
... if u send out 3 weeks before, it is quite late already =)... usually for relatives is ard 2-3 weeks before... i leave it to my parents to settle. What i did is just do up the cards and pass it to my parents ...they will settle the rest...

some alrdy RSVP le...so just mail out lor...actually is just 9 weeks to go for me... not too early ...

colleagues de I have gave out 1 batch... 2nd batch will go out shortly :p

starfrost

hi chercher
thanks! have u decided on ur card design? i'm planning to email by end oct, and send out invites in mid nov too.. hehe..

crystal_bella

wow u gals are really efficient!! all sending out invites really early..

Ling: when's your AD? i'm interested to see how your setup will look like. we wanna take the red and black theme but my parents don't really like the black VIP table cloth.. i wanna change to the crystal setup on stage too!

wakeup2asmile

hi all, im really getting nervous now...hahaha.
i have yet to finalise my guest list and select my invite design. my wedding is 3 mths away in Jan 2010. i'm thinking of sending out the invites in mid Nov too. I'm taking my pre-wedding shoot next tues..

strawberrie1983

that time we go down with no info at all..they will give u a template..then from there, u will edit the groom and bride name, parents name in english and chinese version..RSVP, ur mobile nums

is better u get 2 parents name, so u can edit from the spot..

the hotel name and address all standardised, so no need to edit that portion..

questseeker

hi jen, u can also consider jasvy, to print the inserts. I had 200 pieces for $160 and the draft will sent to u to confirm. T-dragon - can be a bit expensive and poor attitude of its staff

saggiegirl

bubblesss> t-dragon poor attitude?
no leh... we went down and the staff immediately attend to us...

jen> wah ur pre-wedding shoot abit late leh...

chercher

saggie, mine even later lo :p end oct.. hahhaa

bubblesss>> i find t-dragon okie leh =)

jen>> mine later in oct.. hahaha.. so even later than u.. better if u can go down wif the names, easier
alright?

saggiegirl

chercher> yup.. it is kind of late... rem to chase ur BS for the album coz yr end (esp Nov 09-Jan 10) too many couples weddings...

for me i am waiting for my BS to call me... by mid Nov the albums shd be ready

saggiegirl

Aiai> hmm what u mean by Mickey & Minnie theme wedding cards?

if u dun want to take the Hilton's collection, u can choose from T-dragon's own collection =) but of coz u need to pay ur own cards (coz Hilton's cards are FOC)....

questseeker

hi saggie > u know something, when we went down to collect our cards then we enquire from T-dragon about the inserts' printing then when my htb said that we consider their printing, immediately that person straight away change her attitude and ignore us and tend to others

saggiegirl

bubblesss> then i dunnoe le
coz the lady who attended to us is very patient and explain every line to us
... maybe different person but i also dunnoe

honey_greentea

bubblesss and saggie, ya for us also find T-dragon ok.. the one attended to us was Wendy
i also told her that maybe i wanted to consider other printer but she stil explained to us patiently how shud we do...

Aiai, i din see any Mickey&mini cards too... their cards are more towards lovely & romantic style instead of those cartoon types bah..

Stella, how's ur rehearsal? who should attend it besides the bride & groom? hehe..

Got the invitation card printed! gotta send out soon lorr....

strawberrie1983

The video and musi testing is great! the AV guys are very funni and vry cooperative..we engage them to be our AV coordinators for that day as they saw our montage everything..they do gave us some suggestions, we test out the march in songs, montage..as for the fan-dare song, we decided not to get their inhouse common songs..so they played some of their songs as well..in the end we cfm to choose Jason Maraz "I 'm yours" to be our fan fare song instead of "Victory" by Bond..we didnt get to see our banquet mgr, we will oni get to see him on actual day..but there is another banquet mgr whom attend to us jus now, very accomodating as well named Jeffrey..on our actual day, we will have another round of final testing at 530pm..Hehe

saggiegirl

Stella> good to hear that

we alrdy shortlisted some songs for our banquet...fanfare song will perhaps take from Hilton coz a bit lazy to think..and will confirm on AV testing date
...others i have an idea alrdy

now is 2 months more to me & freegoer wedding

bliss_bb

Stella> How much do you need to pay the AV guy to be AV coordinators?

I feel that it a wise choice to get someone from ther hotel to do AV stuff = )

Alittle confused; Rachel told me that their technicians will be helping out for the AV stuffs for my AD, we still have to engage them mahz? If yes, how much do we have to pay?

starfrost

hi all, if we decide to have printing done by other shops besides T-dragon, how should we go abt doing it? We will have to collect the FOC cards from hilton and then bring it to the other printing shops? =)

hi stella, I thought video and testing is to be done on the actual day only :p didn't noe we need to do an initial testing in advance too.. hehe.. do we need to arrange with hilton coordinators on the date for testing, or would the coordinators contact us nearer to the date?

saggiegirl

starfrost> u can contact ur coordinator for the free cards if u want to do outside printing

lol... AV testing is ard 5-7 days bef AD
then actual day briefing is ard 5-5.30pm

u can contact them for a date ...

haha.. thanks saggiegirl.

starfrost: yes.. we can arrange for a testing to confirm and ensure that our CDs etc can be played prior to our AD day.

strawberrie1983

Yes yes Saggie, u r right..yesterday is to test my montage and music working well..on the actual day, we will test on the morning highlights if any and any last min rehearsal..

no need to pay..we didnt thought of engaging them de..is the AV staffs mention to us, if we are ok with them, we can book them for our AD..somemore they saw our staffs, easier for us oso..

starfrost

thanks saggiegirl & littlewoman!
i always learn something new from u gals. hee.

I suppose most of u did the printing at T-dragon right?

saggiegirl

Stella> yup quite true also

now thinking of 3 songs for my VG for doing my morning express highlights
bt this is optional lar...

then started to think abt march-in songs
hmmm... still pondering

starfrost> haha
yes i did my printing at t-dragon... cards alrdy sent out to frens & colleagues of my side... hubby side i leave it to him to settle

starfrost: Yah... did and completed the printing of the inserts at T-Dragon in late July. Had forwarded the cards to most of my friends and colleagues..
Pushing our parents to do the same by this or early next week. Have you completed your printing?

starfrost

hi saggiegirl, which card did u choose?

littlewoman, I haven't go down for the card selection
planning to go down these few days when my boy is free.. can't wait to do the selection..

has anyone seen the ang bao box and guest book? any one has any pics of it? I'm still wondering if i should use hilton's one or go get my own.. still shopping ard for the items

saggiegirl

littlewoman> lol...
ya lor... my parents side de relatives not many (coz i m not inviting my dad side relatives at msia)... so everything i write lor

starfrost> i choose the red card with pink color inserts

i chose the ivory color guest book
hilton loaned us 2 AP boxes in ivory color... however we will be bringing our own DIY angpao box in gold & ivory ribbons (decorated by my hubby)