Hilton Hotel

shin24

amrasEnelya> Thanks for your advice on the beer! That took my mind off one thing @ least. =)

Had pop by Hilton today as my bf & I had took leave to attend to HDB stuff and it was mainly to recce Hilton's ballroom.

But June was very professional and not pushy plus we liked the place and the decor she showed us. This was on top of the good price and to die for suite. So we decided to take the venue. On hindsight, it seem pretty impulsive and I am having second thoughts now (typical of me).

I think I will call June tomorrow and have a discussion with her on my afterthoughts.

purple_posh

Hi ladies, i'm new to this thread even though i booked my banquet at hilton last year for my AD in Dec'09. Hope to share more info with brides to be here

wakeup2asmile

hi all, i just booked my banquet with Hilton recently too. my ad is on 2010. No wines inclusive but one barrel of beer. My perks are pretty much the same as the rest of you

saggiegirl

Sharon> hey i am also holding my dinner in dec 09. Mine is on the 6th at the grand ballroom
what about you?

AmrasEnelya> same thots too~~ we will "play by ear" to see how the flow of beer goes on AD evening

shin> June is very professional.. spoke to her on a few occasions... the bridal suite is basically full furnished...u just bring ur clothes, MU remover, etc...the rest Hilton will take care...

hubby likes the place very much...

questseeker

jen > u should try to bargain with june to give u more perks, for my case it is view at first sight then discuss then bargain then paid the deposit. My AD is on nov 2009 and been busy preparing now after we had just came back from europe, joining my htb in his work posting there.
hi saggiegirl and sharon

Ladies, just wanna check, I understand that Grand Ballroom maximum capacity is 55 tables. For the maximum capacity, heard from June is for the short march-in walkway, not the L-Shaped one.

So, to have L-shaped walkway, anyone knows what is the maximum number of tables huh?

shin24

Spoken to June and she's willing to offer me waiver of one bottle of wine per table but she wasn't willing to offer unlimited waiver.

Do any of you think that my F&B voucher is worth 20 bottles of waiver? haha.. just doing simple maths here, one fnb voucher = 1 LCD projector @ $300.

In case you are wondering why I am so concern for the wine, my brother drank up about 130 bottles for 40+ table for his wedding. If I have to pay corkage on top of my own wine, I think I will faint. >_<||

shin: Think will depend on the profile of your guests. In any case, Hilton offers wine per bottle at S$33 nett which you can consider. BTW, is your date a very hot date, that's why June is so stringent? If not, can ask for waiver of 2 bottles corkage per table.

shin24

jane> my date is not hot at all. hahahah. Its in Jul 2010.

I guess I have to be a little more thick skin and try harder with June. Good thing that I have yet to pay the deposit.

strawberrie1983

oh my invitation cards are settled..can collect on 2nd Jul..Yeah!

think for Hilton, due to they are 5 star hotel..and if they are nt having promo..they will be very firm on their perks..as what I experience with June, though she is pro on this area but I jus feel that she doesnt have that kind of personal touch with her bridal couples..which I feel is quite sad coz wedding should be a very happi affair but due to so much of can and cannot..is very sianz!

but i cant say much on my case, coz i think i signed on the promo that time, so at least i could get what i want at least..so well hopefully things goes well

saggiegirl

Virtual> i also have waiver of 1 corkage per table
which is quite Ok...

Jane> i am having 35 + 2 tables and will be having the L shaped march-in
i tink max is 40 tables if u want to have the long L-shaped march-in

shin24

virtual> huh, very pro meh? haha, she was very upfront with what she can offer as I approach her directly after attending a friend's wedding @ hilto and my friend gave good feedbacks.

When I went down, she offered me the perks upfront and we don't have too much requirements either.

Then I called her the day after to discuss on the waiver of corkage and possibility of the helper's room. She was quite open and frank with what she can give me. I even asked her if she knows of any upcoming credit card promo. Obviously, she says she is not aware of any at the moment.

Maybe she's more accomodating as I approach her directly? Or maybe she found my bf funny and the atmosphere was quite relax? Or maybe the number of tables or if it's lunch or dinner matters?

I am going to push my luck and maybe ask for more corkage waiver as jane mentioned. But maybe later, need to boost my guts 1st.

saggiegirl

Sharon> hmm..dates wise..for the cards, we tentatively plan to settle during the 1st week of Aug before National Day...then the rest will be settled just before the 7th mth

purple_posh

saggiegirl> i would want to settle in July if possible as we want our invitation out by Sept as my hubby has overseas relatives, will need to notify them so they have time to plan their travelling in the year end.

How many % cards are you entitled to?
Do you know any preview of the card designs?

saggiegirl

Sharon> ah i see
hubby side also have overseas relatives ...
MIL have started to call them...hopefully they "guai guai" come back

we are entitled to 245 cards ... coz we ask more as hubby has a lot of relatives and colleagues

i dun have any preview of the card designs... last time i saw the cards at the wedding workshop...quite nice

starfrost

hi stella, I agree with you.. the fact that they are so firm on their perks does make things a little -_- .. am hoping that their service on the actual day will make up for the lack of perks

hi sharon, you can try to ask for 80% of cards

hi gals, where are you all going to get the wine from? any recommendations? it's a headache having to find our own wine.... thanks in advance

saggiegirl

starfrost> my MIL works in a supermarket chain... we plan to buy 35 bottles (which is about 3 crates) and offload to Hilton prior to the wedding... and then the rest buy from Hilton

i think got other places can try, e.g. D*nis* (replace * with e) The Wine Shop, etc...

ferlisb

saggiegirl>> yup, agrree with u.. Btter serve it during dinner. Just wonder how to tell our guests if they want beer but then beer run out le..?

I not goin to cater for anothe barrel coz it damn expensive, abt $800+ if i am not wrong

saggiegirl

Ferlis> haha
1 barrel is about $800
30 litres can serve up to 90 glasses

i tink nowadays ppl drink less beer, and more towards red and white wine... even those who drink wine, also control (for those drivers)... coz very heavy penalties for those who drink and drive...and esp during yr-end TP will spot check orchard road area...

shin24

I have some feedback from a friend who attended a wedding I think last weekend.

1) Carpark was the 1st problem and she was amused (astonished) by the parking coupons handed out.

2) The pillars do block some view but not that significant.

3) Server was not prompt in refilling the drinks.

4) White wine was very very nice. But she's not sure if it was the hotel's housewine or the couple's.

Thats all she said so maybe some of you may wish to take note.

saggiegirl

shin> thanks for sharing

carpark has been always a problem...which is even worse during yr end coz i already received information that on my wedding day, all 3 ballrooms will be booked for lunch and dinner ...coz too hot date ...

so we already start to "nag" our guests to either car-pool / take public transport...

pillar blockage is not very major from wat i see ....at least still have live feed...

most probably the servers are part-timers ba... but for the ratio wise, will check with my coordinator... coz imagine they need to source for 100 service crew for dinner at all 3 ballrooms ...

for wine wise, i think french / australian wine is quite nice

i have 2 bottles of South African wine at home (which was a ROM gift from my ex-company)...which we did not open up and try...haha...but it looks branded and good...

virtual

i think there is a URA carpark behind the hotel right? Understand that 10% car passes will be provided for parking in the hotel and another 10% will be for the URA carpark.

Am meeting June in 2 weeks time to discuss other matters and also the parking concern. One question I raised is, if most of my guests drive and not enough parking, how? Haha!

And I agree that most people go for wine and not beer. Usually people will tell the manager/captain to inform guests that wine is available when beer runs out. It's how the waiters/servers bring across to guests.

saggiegirl: I just draft out my guest list and I may have more than 40 tables, BUT I still want the long L-shaped walkway. Also intend to include a dance area, so may not be able to accomodate. A little panicky now... kinda stressed!

saggiegirl

Virtual> yes u r right...there is a URA carpark...behind Hilton..

we have 88 carpark coupons... 50-50 between hilton carpark and URA carpark...

Jane> if really come to worse, we ask our guest to park at other carparks, and we will reimburse them the URA coupon

Greentea: If buy wine from Hilton (the one at S$33 nett), no need pay corkage liao!

For the rest of the lovely ladies here, just to check, when do you normally RSVP? How long before your AD? And from experience, of your guest list, how many percent will RSVP coming huh?

strawberrie1983

I will send my invitation cards by Jul..coz dun wan to hit the 7th mth period..if after the 7th mth, too late to inf guest liaoz..coz my AD is on mid Oct..

honey_greentea

ok, Thanks jane =)
For me i would send out invitation card b4 7th month chinese calendar lo, which is sometime ard august (AD in Dec) and also because of having oversea guests, so better send out asap. Jane, we have no experience on this wor, as all of us should be first timer in wedding bah =P

saggiegirl, the price range of wines from den*se is around how much? is it affordable?

stella, i agree with u on june's attitude le, doesnt have the personal touch with her bridal couples, she looks very pro but serious also, wanna joke with her also no facial expression one lo -__-|||

Greentea: How come your AD in Dec and you give out invitation so early?!?!? My understanding is, RSVP (email/sms/phone) 1.5 month before then 2 weeks before give invitation cards leh!

chercher

i got no idea.. maybe someone know can share wif us?

for me, my weddin in jan.. so by early nov, i will send out sms/e-invites
then by dec, i will send out cards to those who are coming?

saggiegirl

greentea> good qtn
price range i dunnoe ...plan to check out their bukit timah outlet...hahaa...

actually June quite OK leh... she can create small talk with me and hubby... as long as she is professional..to me is more important

for me, as hubby side have overseas guests, we plan to send out the cards sometime in late sept(actually we have our MIL calling them to "block" their dates)...

for frens/colleagues/classmates, a lot of them already know our wedding date...but we will still send email for rsvp purposes...then those who coming, then i send card to them

honey_greentea

ooo... like that... i also dunno leh. coz hilton's letter indicates that invitation card should be ready by 3rd week of august? then when ready can start to distribute liao (my understanding). in that case, since most of my frens and relatives oredi knew it, so juz like all of u said, send email/sms 2mths b4 for RSVP, then only send card lor. think i'm a little bit kiasu so thought of sending out ASAP. haha.. ok, can relek a bit now...

jojo11

hi all... my wedding preps with hilton have been going good..Food tasting in Aug...

i think june is quite friendly leh, havent met her face to face, but i do chat to her on phone n email, reply me very fast and does what she can with my questions... Somemore i'm always calling from overseas..

I think from all the other hotels i have corresponded she is one of the most reliable and friendly ones.. Even if she's not at her desk when i call, she will quickly get back to me via email or phone..

One of the reasons y i choosen hilton was her quick and direct replies and good service. Dont like those service tat takes their time and no result also..

jus my opinnon... hehe..

saggiegirl

joanne> hee hee...my food tasting also scheduled sometime in Aug ....

yup June and Rachel r v nice
very fast replies and professional....

honey_greentea

Hi joanne, yala.. i do agree that june is professional and fast in her reply. that is why we stil stick to Hilton =) both june and rachel attend to my emails very prompt. this i what i want to rave about them. hehe..

saggiegirl

Stella> good leh
hee hee...

so T-dragon got work on saturdays??

thinking of making apptment to go down sometime early aug to do the cards....

Thought I would give some updates. June was on leave on Wednesday and on Tuesday, contacted me to arrange for a meeting as I have LOTSA queries. Then on Wednesday, I contacted Rachel, who readily helped me as I was asking her on table arrangement and floor plan. I must say that I am really pleased with Hilton's service!

With regards to the invitation card, I sorta spoke to my gfs who got married the past year. They mentioned that they RSVP 1 - 1.5 month prior to wedding and invitation cards out 2-3 weeks prior to wedding.

Also, they warn me that of the guests list crafted, about 20% - 30% will probably RSVP not coming. Then on actual day of wedding, probably another 5% will last minute sms say not coming (reasons such as not feeling well, got prior engagement etc). So, you girls take note ya!