Hilton Hotel

blureth

Btw when did ur dinner start exactly?
The last 2 weddings I went to, started at abt 8.30pm.

And how many gowns did U gals change into during the dinner? :p Juz being curious...

lladro

hi blureth.. our dinner started at 8.30pm (which was considered late for me). Feel really sorry for the guests. But can't help it too, cos' we need to have certain % of guests before commencing the dinner.

learnt from my hubby that my German boss came at 7pm (the very first guest). This was his 1st time attending chinese wedding, furthermore German are know to be very punctual. so, again feel so paiseh.. well, at least he leartn now our typical chinese wedding practice.. despite this, heard he enjoyed the foods especially the empress chicken.

i would say it depends on how many gowns you have with the bridal shop. for me, i have 1 WG, 2 EG. So, i got to change twice. You just gotta inform June according so that she can adjust the time for changing the gowns.

lladro

agreed with peperoni, what is more important is the room's decor. The reception was just a simple done up with few reception tables by the pool side.

blureth

lladro: I have 3 gowns, thus I had wondered if I had time to change into all during the banquet...

Oh, so the starting of the dinner is determined by the % of guests present? So who gives the signal to start the dinner? Banquet mgr?

So did U like ur ballroom decor?

lladro

hi blureth.. WG is for 1st march-in. you shall decide 1 EG for table to table shoots and the last EG is to use to bid farewell to guests.

there should be a main coordinator during your big day (you shldn't be worrying on aything, except to look pretty
on your big day) who will be the overall incharge. the coordinaator will communicate with the banquet manager on the % of guests.

blureth

Eh? Crystal theme issit still in use? I emailed June yday to ask when the new themes are ready, she has yet to reply me.

Wondering if U'll be able to post pictures of the ballroom decor when they're ready? :p Hope it's not too much to ask...

Heh, planning to wear my CS to send guests off... cos only relatives who came in the morning tea ceremony get a chance to see mar but not the banquet guests...:p Anyway, see how my gowns turn out 1st bah... hehe...

lladro

it is one of the new themes. was very glad that Hilton and florist were able to rush out the new theme before our AD. thk we were the first few couples to use the new theme.

Thk June is busy, but am sure she will get back to you..

still waiting to get photos from our PG.. shall let u noe once it is done..

blureth

lladro: OIC, so any idea wat's the name of the other theme then? Ooh, I can't wait...
To see the themes for myself as well as ur wedding photos! :p

Hope June replies me soon...mebbe by Fri, if still no reply, I'll email her again.

ling1411

I am finally back! Sorry have been missing for a while now... Was previously too caught up with work & last min arrangements for the wedding.. Was so tired with everything prior the actual day that I din even have the time and energy to read the forum... heehee..

Though I know this is a little late... But I would like to take this opportunity to thank our wedding coordinator Ms June Wee who is ever so patient with me, accomodating to my endless list of requests & most importantly for all the help & advices that she had given me to help make my wedding day a memorable one... Frankly speaking, she is one lady that never fails to deliver what she promised. I am thankful that I am able to meet and have her handle most of my banquet arrangements at Hilton. She is truly outstanding! Definitely an asset to Hilton! *wink* Thanks June.. for everything... Appreciate all the little things that you have done for me and even going the extra mile to make that special arrangement for my banquet... Really impressed & surprised. That is from the bottom of my heart...

And I would also like to thank our charming banquet manager Mr Nicolas Lim for making sure that everything during the course of the banquet went on smoothly. He was very professional and extremely attentive to details... Services from him had far surpassed our expectations... Even my parents & in-laws noticed and complimented him... =) Thanks Nicolas!

Kudos to the both of them for a job well done! =D

ling1411

Hi Blureth,

The 2 new themes are Crystal & Oriental.

I combined both themes for my wedding... Turned out really beautiful.. heehee... Heard from June that I was the first to use their new themes... =P

lladro

hi Ling, finally you're back. glad to hear that everything went well and you enjoyed yourself very much. Same for us.. remember to share your photos once they are ready ya.

all Hilton brides.. Hilton's standard is back. so, don't get too stress out but to enjoy the process. Happy wedding!

blureth

Welcome back, Ling!! Heh... How did U combine the themes? Can't wait to see when ur photos are ready. Roughly when will ur pics be ready?
2 mths?

Btw, wat's the main color used for each of the new themes? Think I gotta bug June liao, so I can go see for myself how the new themes look like.

Eh, did lladro & Ling have their wedding on the same weekend? :p

ling1411

Heehee... Hi Ladies... I am so happy to be back too.. =) Miss chatting with you all..

Its really thumbs up both June and Nicolas... They definitely brought back the standard to Hilton... Service was tops! Till to date, I am still receiving compliments on Hilton from my guests. Some even commented that my wedding banquet was by far the best they had gone to for the whole yr of 2007 & beginning of 2008! It was very heart warming to hear all those compliments and to learn that my guests had enjoyed themselves during the course of the banquet...

Of cos I will definitely share my pics when they are ready... Think in abt 1 mth time... =)

Actually I had a tough time selecting which new theme to use.. Cos both was equally nice... Heehee... So I ended up combining both... haha..

Blureth, my main theme was crystal and flowers used were big red blooms of roses and white orchids.. Cos I like strong colours.. heehee.. For the stage, cos I find it a little plain so I requested for their florist to include the 3 red slash (used in oriental theme) into the backdrop. Was a nice touch to the stage and it matches the theme of my flowers...

It was 100% Crystal theme for the flower stands along the aisle and the VIP table arrangement. But for the reception table, I used the ones from the Oriental theme....

Erm.. if i did not remember wrongly, for the mock setup.. Oriental theme was using big red blooms of roses while for the Crystal theme, they used baby pink roses with purple accompanying flowers (which was very sweet looking).

Hi nt259,
I will email you the contacts later this evening when I am home... So when is your AD?

blureth

Ling & lladro: Did June contact U personally to go view the mock setup? From the way it sounds, seems dat both themes look real nice... I can't wait. Sigh... June still hasn't replied me. Issit too early for me to be kan jiong abt theme selection? :p

lladro: U had wanted to do the polaroid thing wiv ur guests, right? So was it done in the end?

lladro

hi blureth.. suggest you chk with June for the wedding dates (@ Panorama) of different themes then you can go down and take a look on the actual set-up of the themes.

if i remember correctly, your AD is in june rite? thk it is still early to decide the theme.. but it is always good to do advance homework, eg. checking out the themes, to see if there is a need to top up on the decor... etc.

June will mail you a letter which provides schedule for food tasting, invitation card selection / collection (with AWT), to decide the theme..

ya.. we went ahead with the idea, not polaroid but similar.. well.. the whole thing turn out to be very nice.. with guests' pictures taken for the guestboook.

blureth

lladro: I've gotten the letter from June early this mth... Haha, yes, my wedding mth is the same as my coordinator! :p Will be asking her for wedding dates so dat we can view the themes. Who was in chrg of taking the pictures of guests then? U aren't talking abt ur professional AD PG rite?

joant

Hi everyone. Im new in the forum. I wish to held my dinner in Hilton in 2009. Any comments or feedback? Reading throu some of the posts, some r gd & some r bad. Im a bit worry!!

jami

hi ling, can i have a look at the pics from ur wedding? i will be having mine in dec 08, very excited about the themes they offered. if anyone has any pictures of the themes, please send to moivintage at yahoo.com.sg. Thanks!

garrard

Hi, We are starting on our wedding planning and hope to get some advise on what to lookout for like hidden cost and what we can negotiate for in Hilton. Can anybody share what are the extra wine and beer that they have gotten? Would really appreciate some advise. Thanks a lot.

joant

im planning to held my wedding in Hilton. Do they provide free red wine for each table and free flow of beer? wat r the things that we can request for more?

Thanks alot

garrard

Hi Ling/llarado,

Have you got your photos? Would you mind to share it with me at [email protected]? We are planning for a wedding in June and would like to take your advise since both of you have upgraded to happily married : ) Congratulations!! What are the things that is most time consuming to do? is it bit too late for June now? P.S:Would love to hear from anybody who is happy to share. Thanks.

blureth

Oh ya hor... been a while since I read forum posts... been quite busy myself... lladro and Ling, ur photos ready yet?

Bride2008: You are planning to have ur wedding this June? Have U booked the ballroom liao? I'm getting married this June in Hilton Panorama ballroom. I actually booked last Sept.

For me, I'd say most time consuming would be doing my research. Haha...Then U need to take time to go visit those hotels & bridal shops/designers, see which one U like & book them for ur AD. If u're going for package, mebbe there's less to do. If ala carte, U'll need to spend time to source & confirm on florist, MUA, PG (PS/AD).

Dun wanna say further, as this is the step which I've progressed to so far. :p Let the 'happily married' brides like Ling or lladro advise U if they can. :D

garrard

Hey Blureth, Thanks for your prompt response. : )
Wow.. u r one lucky one. I have seen the panaroma room.. its really fantastic. U have the whole floor to yourself... Do you think u can share with me the package that u had bargained for? Am thinking of having it at one of the ballrooms in hilton too.. Great mind think alike.. hee hee...But I guess I wont be able to hold mine at the panaroma room.. the last I checked, its already fully booked..its like hot cakes.. couples book them like one year in advance " ) Anyway,I only found out about this great place through my galfren who was there recently for seminar... she also recommended novotel which has a garden view from the ballroom : ) going to check that out next week : )

jami

hi girls, i went to check out the panorama ballroom last sat. i find the pillars quite disturbing. do you all think so? but i love to have my wedding there, and we need to have min 18 in order for confirmation, so i was thinking its a bit challenging to remove those tables blocked by the pillars. but really love the exclusive floor to yourself. anyone can give some comments how to go about making things better for the layout?

ling1411

Hi Joanne : Congrats! And welcome to this thread.. =) Dun worry lah... Everything will turn out just fine... Who's your coordinator? Frankly, I only have praises for Hilton... My wedding was a blast and everyone had a wonderful time during my banquet... Service was tops! I only have bad experience with their wedding card supplier... AWT... As for perks, Hilton don't really give out alot.. cos for a 5 star hotel.. their pricing is considered very reasonable liao.. So don't expect much k?

Hi Jami : Sorry, no pics to share yet cos I had been too caught up with things lately to meet up with my photographer... =P Btw, their new crystal theme turns out very well with big blooms of red roses and white orchids.. =P Very classy feel...

Hi Bride2008 : Congrats to you too! =) Please settle your guest list and the seating arrangement asap. Do up your actual day schedule 1 month before your AD and have a meeting with all your helpers to brief them on their roles.. =)

joant

Hi Ling..
Im still considering but high chances will hold dinner in hilton.. Hv u been to their grandball room? Do they hv mani pillars? Also, do they provide red wine for each table & provide projector?
keke, guess i ask a lot of questions liao...

blureth

I agree with Ling, don't expect lotsa perks from Hilton...

Joanne: There's 3 pillars in Grand Ballroom.
622307.jpg

As for red wine per table & projector, think that solely depends on Hilton packages at the time of enquiry. Best dat U chk with Hilton. =D

blureth

Ling, I heard from June that if I'm to change to other flowers besides roses, I'll have to pay extra. Juz wanna chk with U, if U had to pay extra for the white orchids or do they actually come together with the theme itself? I like strong colours myself too.

ling1411

Joanne : Haha... I had my wedding at the Grand Ballroom =) The pillars din really bother me... but of cos some of the guests will have their view blocked a little.. But I guess most impt is that food & service is up to standard. If I did not remember wrongly, projectors are chargable.. Like what Blureth said, it really depends on what Hilton can offer you at the pt of enquiry & confirmation... But don't expect much k? Btw, how many tables are you confirming with them?

Blureth : Aey, the flowers used in their new crystal theme mock setup was baby pink roses, complimented by little purple flowers. But I changed that to big blooms of red roses complimented by white orchids. I was charged for that change... I guess top ups are required if you want expensive/exotic/premium flowers like tulips, lilies, hydrangeas & some shades of roses like purple/blue etc.. Oh! I am waiting for my uncle to pass me the photo he took of the setup... Will post it up here when I get them k? I think you will like the flowers I used... =P

blureth

Oh, even thgh juz changing rose colour and swopping purple flowers for white orchids, oso need to top up arh... Hmm...cos i'm not a pink lover... hehe... Yeah, thks Ling... Can't wait for ur photos...

ling1411

Erm... Orchids are quite expensive nowadays cos weather had gone crazy these few months... =P So I guess got to pay a little...

I also waiting anxiously for the photo fm my uncle.. Don't know how many he took... Actually I totally forgotten to ask my PG to take the setup... Was a lil disappointed.. Hiaz..

blureth

Ling: Hmm, guess during my AD, I'll get my PG to snap the setup b4 the dinner commence if possible. See if I remember then. Haha...

layling

Hi All, I'm back after disappearing for a while coz of crazy work schedules...

blureth : yours is coming up soon right? How's the preparations so far?

Mine's in Nov, haven't done a single thing but will start on my gown this month. Heard Hilton will send the BTBs some stuff a few months in advance right? If they don't when should I get in touch with them?