Hilton Hotel

kurera

Yah..I also had mentioned nothing great about the cards..I not bothered la...heh heh..

it's just not many to choose from lor and besides I need put in inserts so me like left with squared ones..haa

I have yet confirm my card yet....still sorting out how many i need.

twinstarz

hey gals! ive only stared to look at hilton pkg recently. could i see any pics of any available themes? seems like it changes every yr from what u gals hv been saying?

would appreciate any advice i could get! thanks in advance! [email protected]

jen02

HI cat, am going down for a peek too. We going down on thursday evening. Quite paisai keep calling June and ask for the themes. Hehe.

If i go down myself without inform june, will the ballroom door still open up? My hubby be saying it best to go down when there a themes for us to look at. More better then looking at the whole empty space. So each time i have t call June and ask her abt the themes deco. So paisai. Hehe.

sspl

hi, can someone share w me on the package for yr07 too? i look at the pics uploaded here, its so pretty.. i wanna know wat is the package menu price and min tables, cos my expected guests is only at 200, dun wanna exceed my buget of $800 per table.. tks so much.. pls Help..

kurera

Jenny Thurs got wedding meh? You have to check with June leh..not all the time they have wedding set up babe...thurs I also cannot go down, parents went genting..
msut look after DOGS!

can check saturday got any weddings anot?

Sspl the price is at 850/950 depending on the menu for weekend. not sure about weekday better email June.

jen02

Hi cat, are u going down on sat? Am going there as well. Actually it sld be today but my hubby dun have time. Be told that the themes is seduction. Am going down ard 6pm. Maybe we able to bump each other there. Hehe.

tnselg

Hi Jenny

Do you knw which ballroom is having the seduction theme?? Cos I m interested to c hw it looks in the Vista Ballroom... thanks

kurera

Jenny...what time u going on Saturday..cos i will be out shopping in orchard..

you know what theme on on saturady?

i watching da vinci at 6.30 great world..maybe will go earlier leh.

anybody knows the them this saturday?

jen02

Hi blue, my wedding date havent found yet lah. Hehe. We went to Jiang zi long, but til now they havent got the date for us. We searching for mid next year. It sld be known by next week.

Hi joanne, i duno which ballroom lah. All i know is the theme be seduction.

Cat, the theme is seduction. I tink i reach ard 6.15. June told me to come between 6.30. By the time the whole set up will be done.

sspl

Hey, twinstar , i got ur email , tks! But i dun really like the food menu leh.. heacdache now.. comments?
anyone?

barbapapa

Hey people,

I just went to take a look at the wedding cards. Its not fantastic but it is still decent for a hotel wedding.

They have some new cards for the hilton wedding and got to go there to see for yourself if you liked the cards.

What kind of cards did they show at the wedding show anyway??? I can;t remember liao.

SSpl,

Apparently the food are ok. U are able to mix and match for the 2 menus which are of the same value. All the dishes are standard items in hotel. can;t really ask for much, really.

twinstarz

hey sspl! yah..i din reali like the food menu oso...sigh. hvn't heard much feedback abt the food actually. hv u gone down to speak with the coordinator yet?

ladies, anybody got comments on the food / service in hilton? any pics to share?

timminbuzz

hi...
i went for my food tasting. we loved the food! but not sure if they've changed the food menu from what we are having. cos now...they have menus of different prices??? not sure man.

kurera

Ummmm...heard it's applicable only for AD for after September 06.. they have yet finalise as must see IF the theme can pass Hilton QC.

And due to the 2 x ghost month coming up soon..think we no chance to see the new florist set up EXCEPT in pictures lor...if we interested to take the new themes..

And most of us who are getting hitch this year..have to confirm theme by July..ummmmm..which means we have to either take the old theme which is not nice OR take the NEW theme which is ????? FROM PICTURES.

I am still waiting for my ah lao to give me dates for food tasting than can confirm/finalise the theme.

I am basically stuck..ha..but I am NOT going to take the OLD THEMES FOR SURE!

So let's all pray the new themes are better!

lastminqueen

Hi CAT,

I totally agree that the pictures don't capture how the room will look. I guess they only photograph the nice parts???

It'll be risky to choose from the pictures and then be in for a SHOCK on our wedding day. I won't do that too.

U mean the old themes are still applicable after Sept? I heard that they won't be.

Have u seen the theme with white roses? (I think its called "Seduction"). Its a bit plainer, but at least looks cosy.

kurera

lastmin queen

the seduction? ummmm..i forgot i tot it's in RED?I know I must have sth white but not red to fit my EG which is champagne cream lor..

the white one is the passion which white roses at the sides also have the roots thing on the stage..that one sucks...ummmm...

anyway the current old theme not nice..I just hope the pictures for new themes look nicer..

all in all I prefer their old florist..ie the one which did all their old themes last year..ummm

now everything has changing and really just worries man.

Last night you can't believe that i dreamt my ah lao suit was done wrongly...left sleeve longer than right sleeve! haaa...think i too stress leow..

kek kek kek

barbapapa

so the wedding theme is going to be changed? cool. probably hilton read so many negative comments abt the deco that they decided to change the florist?ha ha ha....

at least hilton responds....to bad comments.

lastminqueen

Hahaha....CAT u so cute! U must be too stressed up already....Must relax!

There are 3 themes that I know of: One red one (red gerberas and roses and candles); One white and pink roses with green balls of moss hanging as backdrop and the last one with the lilies and roses with the twigs as backdrop. I don't know the names of the themes lah...always get them mixed up.

The one I was referring to is the 2nd one. Forgot the red one and the lilies one. The red one wouldn't go with your EG and the lilies arrangement is a bit stark.

kurera

haaa..last min..yah the red one doesn't go with my EG...worse the moss hanging at the back drop can kill me..none of them I like lor...

I think I super stress la..haiz....before my gowns are done..I dreamt my gowns turn out like shit! kek kek kek

twinstarz

hey ladies! i must be realli slow or sth, but wat's wrong w the existing themes that made all of u seem to dislike it so much? sorri..must admit i hvn't seen any pics of the existing themes, hence, abit lost.

lastminqueen

Its really up to the couple lah. Some people like red-red, others don't.

For myself, I can't say we dislike the themes, but we have seen better.

But what shocked us was the real setup looks v diff from when we saw the pictures. Its not that the flowers or arrangements are different, but when u see the real thing to size and in the ballroom, then u finally realize what it is going to be like. For instance, the red theme looks ok in pictures. But in the real world, some of the flowers used in the stands are artificial silk flowers. And the backdrop with the moss balls look amusing, at best.

Mayb I'm also a bit more particular abt flower arrangement. The use of the artificial flowers and some of the arrangements, like just having a few stalks of lilies sticking into a pot, look v cheena n cheap.

Some couples may not be too concern about the theme as long as there's some decor. But those romantics here who want our dream wedding is waking up to a nightmare...

kurera

YUP YUP I totally agree with lastmin queen..the real set up is a total difference from picture..so which left me with a big headache..meaning I have to take the current theme (the on with the moss balls or the roots) OR I have to die die take the new themes which I can see from the pictures ONLY.

Also the theme has to compliment your EG...you dun want to have the set up looking like your took some material for your EG or the gown.doesn't match theme...it looks very farnie lor..

The flowers arrangement if not done properly it just looks like sticking out from one pot or looks dead..ha...basically erm...nothing fantastic about the current theme.

Orh..there was one theme with bamboos behind the seats..really farnie man..think Hilton must change the florist leow cos too many bad comments from the theme.

can't remember...total there is 3 themes seduction/passion and another..gosh...dunno man!

Haiz..anybody going down to see this week? Or who knows what's theme this week?

barbapapa

is there any wedding this weekend? i wanted to go last week but totally forgot about it!

Since both CAT and lastminqueen have seen the deco,must be very bad.

Does the new theme consists of fresh flowers or fake ones?

Actually if hilton is changing florist or themes, they should organise a preview to wedding themes. then that should satisfy everybody who want to know how to looks like actually. OR perhaps a video to show how the new theme appears.....

aiyoyo

hi gers!

am considering hilton as one of wedding venue. any feedback about the service and food? will be meeting june this sat to view the ballroom.

twinstarz! hi! u r here too!

lastminqueen

Blue - Totally agree with you that Hilton should organize a preview of the new themes once they are ready so at least it saves the couple a lot of headache and trouble instead of having to rush down to a real wedding at the last minute.

But I'm not having high hopes that they will do that. So far, I find the service from Hilton falls very short of what you would normally expect from a 5 star hotel. This whole theme saga is a good example plus other incidences which we have experienced.

I don't blame the wedding planners. Perhaps its more a problem that top management does not offer them enough resources or place other restrictions on them. Because more often, the first answer you get to a request is "No", resulting in a lot of effort and time spent negotiating for a compromise.

Its not a hotel I would recommend to friends to host their wedding.

kurera

oooohhhhhhh....erm....I won't say the service not good lah..it's just the theme set up was the main problem.

I had great service from hilton and I am sure past brides from hilton will agree with me. My reason of choosing Hilton was becos I had attended the wedding before and at that time they were using their first florist.

The food and service was great when I attended accept the DUCK dish..ha, but who can guarantee the AD will be as good as the food tasting?

Even if you get a tung lok group the taste may differ on AD.

Well mass production I do not think will be good...I would be happy if they pay more attention to having good setup of themes and good quality service.

Sad to say they changed their florist but I do not think the management is to take the full blame.

Perhaps they just need to acquire the right good taste florist to do the themes.

I had attended other 5 star hotels, but the service is a NO NO also..

Gers we should just hope hilton do sth about the florist and not blaming the entire management on this.

aiyoyo

hi cat,
i haven been to hilton yet but is their present florist really dat bad? hows the ambience and service there?

timminbuzz

hi gals...

i tink with decor..it's personal preference. Some who have had the new themes loved it as well. So i guess it's better to make an appt or pop down when there's a wedding to take a look personally.

kurera

aiyoyo...service meaning the service crew or the coordinator who handles my wedding day?

Ummmm..as mentioned in my earlier postings..I was attended with good service with my cooridinator and attended wedding in hilton twice. The service was good.

And I guess it's individual I like the ambience in hilton ie. yellow romantic lights..but not everybody have the same liking.

I would think best you meet the coordinator let her show you the ball rooms and 2 x function rooms..if got chance to show the suite...heh...suite not fantastic la..but who cares when u staying only 1 night.

For me what's important is service and theme set up flowers decor. Music ok...mike ok...

food wise no one can guarantee lor..and suite room how it look like la..I not bothered as long it's a suite room!

*wink*

lastminqueen

Service depends on expectations lah...

We had hopes that service from a branded 5 star hotel whom is charging tens of thousands of dollars for the wedding banquet would be better than from a restaurant or a less well known hotel.

To be fair, service is not bad to the extent that they are rude or bo-chup. But, not 5 star lah...in our opinion.

My ah lao and me had a good laugh over this last night. Ironically, we might have been happier having our wedding banquet at a restaurant and saving the cash for our honeymoon.

Hopefully, hilton will start listening more to customers, review their selection process for outsourced suppliers and not try to stretch their dollar so far. Until then, they r not getting the thumbs up from us.

lilic

hi ladies, i got an invite to a wedding banquet in hilton on a sunday evening. can i know what is the price per table like? just wondering if S$100 enough to cover costs for the couple.

thank you in advance for your help.

kurera

The price for 2006 is at 850/950 for weekend depending on menu if there is not change.

Ang Bao it depends how close you are with the person.

Enjoy your dinner and do feed the information here, erm of cos not everyone's taste the same la..so you can post how you feel after the banquet ok?

*wink*

lilic

<font color="0077aa">hi CAT, thanks..

yupz.. i will usually mark up my ang pow after knowing the costs if i close to them.. at least help them a bit in the financing of the wedding lar.. afterall its a blessing to bless others too.. =)

no prob.. will do so after i had the dinner.. </font>

kurera

huh? how u get into my friendster ar?

ummmmmmm.....

heh heh...that one not the final leh...and it was only the 1st fitting no pong pong effect yet.

*wink*

barbapapa

You added me into your friendster, remember?? Anyway....ur gown is done pretty fast...my wedding gown is done liao and i finshed taking my wedding pics.....

Wanna take a look at my wedding dress? but i dun have evening gown.....still looking for one......

kurera

haaa...ok but i didnt see you in friendster leh....u got msn anot?

wedding dress ok email me lor..

I can't load my WG cos ah lao take the pictures all not clear.

aiyoyo

visted hilton yesterday. the co-ordinator told me that the grand ballroom is undergoing pahse 1 renovation during the seventh month. hopefully the ballroom will look much nicer. The thing setback are the pillars, but they have provided two LCDs for live viewing, which I tot will compensate for the pillars!

and the new flowers themes aren't out due to the reno of the ballroom. So i din get to see any. But at least the red theme with roses will still be available, which I tot was not too bad.

jen02

Hi aiyoyo, do u know what renovation they doing? I did check with our coordinator but that time they havent discuss what they be doing.

aiyoyo

hi jenny,
hmm.. the co-ordinator only told me they will be renovating the whole grand ballroom, changing the lights, carpets and stuff.. but she did not show me any pictures.