Hilton Hotel

missysee

Thanks Bubbless and Saggiegirl, me worried relatives/ friends will come up to us and grumble it's difficult to find parking..

freegoer

missyee> they can always park @ forum or international plaza and claim URA coupons from you.

Of cuz any places with less than SGD 3 is worth parking.

Limited lots are available @ hilton hotel

als

Hi Joyjoy, I think that is totally unacceptable! The main reason why we booked Panorama Room is because of the exclusive use of the whole level 24..... How can they just last min inform you of the change?

Did Rachel give you a reason why they won't close the poolside? Is it a permanent arrangement?

saggiegirl

missysee> hmm for us on that day coz full house, so some guests may find difficulty in finding lots. Overall still ok... coz some guests carpool or take public transport... alot of them came early at 7.30pm ....

joyjoy1

Ailing > Rachel said it's management's decision. I have emailed to her so that she can escalate to her boss. The reason for me to book Panorama room is the same as u. If this new ruling is implemented before I signed the contract, i will either consider Vista room or just book with other hotel. Now it's 10 days before my wedding. Instead of relax and look forward forward for the wedding, i got to suffer fr the stress of last min changes.

missysee

Thanks freegoer & Saggiegirl, Hope u had a wonderful honeymoon? I guess I have to hint some guests to take public transport to avoid disappointed slots..

joyjoy1> oh dear.. how can they like that? U tried speaking to June directly? coz usually she seems to be able to make decisions herself..

freegoer

jayelle> it is a plain looking box. not fancy type . but reasonably presentable. you should be able to see samples when you go for food tasting etc.

frankly I did not use hilton's box.

als

Joyjoy-> is you wedding reception dinner or luncheon? I've emailed June today asking her to confirm whether it is the same case (no exclusivity to pool area) for our wedding next year.... now waiting for reply......when my mum went to visit the venue back in May, she was told that the entire 24 level will be for our function only......

So now waiting for clarification.....

Hopefully the mgmt can understand the importance of the exclusive use of the area for the bridal party.

freegoer

lol the hotel guests must be not very happy for not being able to use the pool for extended period during wedding season. mainly those who love to have a evening swim ... the pool is mainly blocked off from 1830 - 2030.

Typically you can have weeks of evening pool closure.

purple_posh

Hi ladies, i just finished my wedding at Hilton last Sunday, took the crimson theme, the color theme seems quite alright on photographs i must say.

> Saggiegirl & freegoer, how was yours the week before?

saggiegirl

Sharon> our wedding on 6 Dec went very smoothly!

kudos to Hilton managers (Matthew, June, Jon), Rachel, AV tech team, etc...

No complains on food & service...even some relatives asked for tapao of the lotus leaf rice coz it just tasted too good!!!...

and of coz hilton arranged a nice bridal suite for us
very comfortable... and a bid bday surprise for me!!

joyjoy1

Ailing > I've spoken to June today. She said Rachel has forwarded my email to her. Currently, the person in charge was on leave and will be back next Monday only. She can only feedback to me next week. To be honest, if i were the hotel guest, i will be furious to know i cant swim during that particular evening. But swimming is not once in a lifetime. If they compare my wedding with the joy of evening swim... i believe even the hotel guest will be able to understand too. Keep our fingers cross.

joyjoy1

Ailing >Mine is dinner. Looking forward for my big day next Sunday while hoping things will go smoothly including the closure of pool.

freegoer > i know it's kind of unfair to hotel guests if they cant swim during evening when there is function... but again, it's not going to affect their whole day stay in Hilton. They can swim from morning till sunset (by 7pm). However, if the pool is not closed, my wedding plan is screwed up then it's going to affect my good memory for a dream wedding.

als

Joyjoy-> I've just received an email from June saying the mgmt implement this new rule with immediate effect. But she will talk to the mgmt and see what they say because I am having a poolside dessert buffet for our wedding dinner as well.

I've stated very clearly in my reply back to June that I will in no way accept sharing the poolside are with strangers clad in swimwear during our wedding celebration and will expect a full refund of my deposit if the mgmt refuse to guarantee exclusive use of level 24 during our wedding celebration.

I am now looking for alternative venues.

Let's see what she comes back with next week...

Freegoer-> Hilton is free to open the poolside with no restriction to their guests BUT that must be made known to any couples who are looking at booking Panorama Room for their wedding celebrations PRIOR to them signing the contract and paying the deposite.

joyjoy1

Ailing > June said she will revert by next week. Let's keep our fingers cross. Any changes to me is bad since I left with one week and no chance to change venue. =(

bbblue1

my AD is this month and i also just rcv the new pool notice from Rachel.
i definitely agree with Ailing and they can open the pool but MUST BE MADE KNOW TO US BEFORE WE CONFIRM.for us, they told us it will be closed prior to confirmation and now they told us it will be open.how can we accept?

freegoer: i understand there be unhappy guests,but if u were us, will u be able to accept? those strangers walking around your recept area and even appearing in your photos.

chobee

What is the point of having a banquet contract when the management has the rights to change their rules even though terms are stated in it?

Personally I do not think it is a lot to ask for closing the pool area for just 2hours for wedding receptions and solemnisations and hotel guests may be allowed in the pool area after the ceremony. No one would be happy to see people walking around in swimming trunks or bikinis in their wedding videos and photos.

I hope Hilton will seriously reconsider the new rule as weddings are supposed to be a very private function for the hosts and their guests.

wakeup2asmile

hi all, im struck in the same situation too. was upset to hear the pool will be opened to all. This means there will be no exclusivity. My wedding is 2weeks plus away......

wakeup2asmile

i specifically asked abt the poolside before i sign on the contract. If it was open to all during my wedding banquet i would have choosen Vista room

virtual

maybe can negotiate with them to change to other ballrooms if they are available?

btw, off track a bit, saggie > saw ur bedsheet etc on ur multiply. how much did u pay ar? my frd just bought her comforter and bedsheet etc for abt $100+. just wondering if that is cheap. TIA!

als

Merry Xmas to All!!!!

JoyJoy--> Hope you have a lovely and beautiful wedding day! Share your pics with us k?

virtual

saggiegirl> urs is quilt cover right? Cos the set I'm looking at comes with comforter. Comforter shd be more expensive right?

freegoer

virtual > quilt cover ...
comforter will have problem storing them later. as you dun get only a set. you need to get at least 1 other set to change.

joyjoy1: Do you like the ballroom?
Hope your AV testing went well?
Hmm... It is totally unacceptable, what reasons did she state? Hmm... wun close during the whole dinner banquet as well?

Sunnyham: sure, you may view some of my pics on my FB at [email protected] When is your AD?

Ailing: I requsted for the swimming pool to be closed at 5:45 PM, and i got my brothers and sisters to decor the pool with some helium balloons and of course hilton did adhere to my special requests for arranging some table cloths on the pool cocktail tables... Turned out to be rather okay...

Ailing and joyjoy1: How are things? Hope everything is fine?

joyjoy1

Ailing > Thanks. My wedding is great. Hilton staff are fantastic, Rachel and the AV team helped us a lot. They are trying very best to accomodate to our request. No regret for choosing Hilton.

littlewoman > Thanks. Everything goes smoothly with Rachel and AV team's support. My guest enjoyed the dinner and some commented that the door gift are lovely and even thought we bought them.

For those who is still comtemplating whether to sign or not to sign, it's a good location with good food and service. The executive suite is clean and nice. We had a good rest and enjoyed the breakfast in the room for the first day and second day (today) we had it in the lobby cafe.

I will upload the photos to facebook soon.

jayelle

Hi all, just returned from AV testing. Were your coordinators there with you during the testing?
I am unhappy with my coordinator. First she wasn't present at the AV testing which she didn't tell us beforehand. As a result, we spent 20mins waiting for her at the lobby because the reception couldn't find her. We only managed to contact her when my fiance decided to call her on her mobile, and when she answered, she said we can go up to the ballroom ourselves.

And until now, we haven't signed the event order form when our wedding date is on 8 Jan, next fri. Reason being we are still pending her revised event form. We need to email her a few times to chase for updates.

Our solemnization room was changed in the event form without highlighting to us. It was when we queried her regarding the issue then she mentioned it. Overall, her responses were not very prompt. Unhappy with her service considering this is a 5-star hotel. Tot they could have done better from the past forum reviews.

Right now, I have low confidence in my coordinator and have decided to check everything ourselves as thoroughly as possible. Apart from that, the AV testing was good! The crew is friendly, sharing with us their experiences and points to note. Also, constantly taking notes for our instructions! =)

saggiegirl

joyjoy1> yup me too
no errors on serving, deco, songs etc...
no regrets of choosing Hilton...everybody enjoyed our wedding dinner and of coz the surprise!!...

jayelle> hmm cannot be leh...

for us Rachel and AV crew were present & punctual for AV testing on 2 Dec at the grand ballroom... then went thru our montage, songs etc...and taking notes to make sure that the resolution etc is perfect...

we signed our event order form pretty early ard Aug 09 as we finalized our deco & food tasting .... u can check with ur coordinator on any updates lor

ceinwynz

Planning to book hilton for my banquet in july next year, just wanted to find out if you ladies were able to negotiate for any additional perks as June said that they were not able to give any additional perks.

saggiegirl

ceinwynz> usually perks are offered during wedding shows / in line with credit card promos...

for us we exchanged the anniversary makan voucher for free use of 2 projectors... then corkage waiver of 1 bottle per table... as we have only 30 tables on AD and drank only 33 bottles of wine...

joyjoy1

Jayelle > I remembered my coordinator was having meeting when we went for AV testing. But she rushed down to meet us as soon as she can. During the first 10 or 20 mins, when we do the testing with the AV team. I have no issue to talk to them directly as they are very friendly and professional. Able to solve the technical issues for me. Even my coordinator were there also cannot solve those technical issues for me. Therefore, it should be okay as long as the AV team can solve the problem for u. If you have anything to discuss with coordinator, then of cos she got to be there for u.

Dec got many weddings. I had mine on 27th Dec. Then I saw 2 on Monday and 3 on Tuesday. With that kind of packed schedule, she might not be able to reply to you promptly. But did you send reminder to her on event form? I had my food tasting in Aug then I revised some dishes, I got the event form in either late Sep or early Oct. My experience with Hilton quite similar with Saggie (except on the surprise part) =) I had never experience any late respond from my coordinator. Even there is any delay due to out of office, she will apologise and revert to me quickly when she is back to work.

ceinwynz > I signed up in Feb and got my additional perks using UOB card. I dont know if UOB still having promo for wedding in Hilton. You might want to check the bank website or call them directly. I got free 12 bottles of wine, extra one night stay and usage of 2 projectors. To me the extra one nite stay is worth cos my hubby drank too much during wedding, we woke up the next day 10am and too late to go down for breakfast (they serve till 1030am) so we had it in the room. If we do not have the extra night stay, we will have to quickly pack our things and check out at 12pm.

joyjoy1

Ling > How is your wedding? I saw the notice board for wedding dinner at Vista room for Lynette, r u the one? Congrats. I was thinking of going up to take a look but my hubby frens were in town so we got to rush to meet them for dinner.

sunnyham

Thanks Littlewoman, just added you =) My AD is still way long, next year Dec'10 but I have already signed up with hilton.

Hi Ceinwynz, I signed up for hilton during their road show ard Sep this year, they are offering additional night stay, free of 1 wine per table and waiver of corkage charges for additional 30 wines. I suggest you sign up during their roadshow if you want more perks =)

jayelle: My coordinator wasn't ard when I did my AV testing. She came like when we were about to finish. I like my AV systems coordinator alot and they were very helpful throughout the banquet.

Sunnyham: I see... It is never too early to start planning a wedding. My HB and I spent close to 1 yr to plan our wedding...

joyjoy1

littlewoman > your coordinator is Rachel right? She's very good and helpful. AV guys like Jumadi, Farid are very professional too.

crystal_bella

littlewoman: hi i added you on fb cos wanna view your photos with the crimson theme!

and anyone else with crimson theme or crystal theme for their dinners can pm me too? hope to view your AD photos cos i can't really decide which theme to use!

and lastly congrats to all those who just completed their banquets and happy new yr!

joyjoy1

emily > I m using crystal theme but yet to collect my dinner photos.

chercher > Congrats. Hope you have a wonderful wedding. Just remember dun do too much arrangement by yourself. I hands on a lot so till the last min I m still printing the changes to my table list and brief my frens who handled the reception area. Luckily everything is okay. Small hipcups like pple received invitation but yet they said not sure when we invited 'MR' then it's for 1 or 2 persons. So brought along the partner. So we got to do arrangement for them and make sure they got the seats though we know they did it on purpose. Other than that, everything is fine. Just remember got to smile from beginning (make up) till sending the guests off.... then another good laugh when open the angpow. =)

Congrats Chercher... Have fun and enjoy ur wedding...

Emily: I have confirmed you...
May I know ur name in FB?
I will be viewing my AD photos today, will upload more asap..

joyjoy1: yes, u have the same coordinator? Personally, I think there is still room for improvement in her services, there are sm issues which could be prevented which might makes the lives of my HB and I easier on AD.... Jumandi is great... thumbs up for my banquet manager, Mikey too... Overall, the wedding went very well and it is important that we enjoyed ourselves..

bbblue1

hi all, i just had my wedding at Hilton Panorama room.
Below are just some feedback that maybe BTBs like to take note of;

1. notice was pasted on the lifts that there will be a private function on the 24th flr and pool be closed. however in the evening, the pool was not closed and during my reception, there were 3 Eurasian men with only swimming trunks lying on the couches beside the pool chatting away and 2 ladies clad in bikinis swimming.
they were joining in the crowd while my guests were mingling away..

2. we had specially instructed banquet staff that we had 12 foc bottles of wine and we had brought another 20+ bottles.if all were drunk up, then the banquet mgr will inform us and then we will instruct them to open new bottles from hilton itself.
however halfway thru the dinner, my closer guests came running up to me and said the waiters told them no more red wine when they asked for more,so "malu" right?
in my opinion this should never happen, how can they inform guests no more wine? so my hubby checked with the banquet mgr and he then brought out the 20+ bottles of wine we brought to serve to the guests, by then many of the guests are leaving soon as we are coming to the end of the dinner and in the end, we had to carry 10 over bottles of red wine back home!

3. overall food was above average.some guests did comment that food served was better than ritz carlton and hyatt which they have been to.however do note that i only have 20 tables for the whole banquet.

4. my cordinator services was so-so.she was not around at all during our banquet (that is ok i guess?)i had my ROM at fullerton and the coordinator there was 100 times better in terms of service and response!

anyway my wedding is over and i am prepared to forget everything,just wanna let all BTBs holding their big day at Hilton take note ya..

bbblue1

5. Bridal suite was great,big,posh and comfortable.

6. Cheese cake served after the banquet to our room was fantastic, best i have ever tasted.

joyjoy1

littlewoman > I have added u wks ago. U have also accepted my fren request. Search for 'Joyce Chong' in your fren list. Our common fren is saggiegirl. =)

BB > I m surprised to know what happened during your wedding. I just had mine in Panorama room too. We had 21 tables only. Before wedding, my hubby already 'brief' the waiter/waitress and inform the bar mgr / banquet mgr to finish the foc wine (12 bottles from UOB) then open the 30 bottles of red wine that we brought over. I think it's the communication problems.
As for my coordinator, I did not expect her to stay for the whole wedding. I saw her in the beginning of the cocktail reception and before the 1st march in. After that, it's the banquet mgr who take over the duty. That's why I do not think it will be a prob even if she dun show up. Again, a lot of things are due to communication breakdown. So if any BTBs here want your coordinator to be in your wedding, just check with them. Overall, my experience in Hilton is good. =)

saggiegirl

emily> u can add me on FB: [email protected]. I am using crystal theme with red roses

so far my coordinator Rachel stayed till my 2nd march in ard 9.30pm... and June even come over and congratulated us and asked if i like the bday surprise :p....hahahahahaa...

our banquet manager is Matthew...very nice & experienced guy who helped us all the way... Jon is our duty manager... very nice and delivered all the food, bday cake, FOC cake up to the suite!!... nicely packed...

food & service wise... all guests commented that it is above average..no wastage of food...

bbblue1

joyjoy1, as i mentioned the wine issue has already been highlighted to both cordinator and banquet mgr to use up the foc bottles,then our bottles if still not enough than we will open bottles from hilton.but this still happens.

good that ur overall experience is good and happy for u.
i am just posting my experiences to share with all so future btbs can take note.

missysee

Hi BB, many thanks for sharing! I believe one's experience depends on the luck too. Each wedding is special, coz it's a combination of different crew memebers, the guests, the couple.. We see our wedding as VERY special day and definitely look forward to minimal hiccups.. But to them it's just another working day and thus some may not be sensitive enough in certain aspects.. Although I'm having mine at Grand Ballroom, I empathise couples who have to endure the management's decision on opening up the poolside and your wine issue.

I can understand what u mean... and these are my areas of concern too.. So far the service I had from Hilton is quite "cool". Before I signed up with Hilton, the other few hotels' co-ordinators have been very prompt to my enquiries and requests. Not to forget these are 4 stars hotels only.. My encounters with Hilton's coordinators is so-so only and they take time to reply.. plus they dun sound enthusiatic when meeting up or over the phone.. Ironcially, I signed up with Hilton eventually due to other factors such as pricing, beautiful ballroom, ambience and location.

Am not criticising/ complaining here though.. Am in the service line and somehow tend to be quite particular if service staff are not initiative enough... I consider myself easy going le.. but would apprecitate sometimes if the service staff would give me better experience.. Now, I just hope my wedding would be a smooth one..

Anyone had their wedding held in grand ballroom? Mine sharing the pics as well?