Hilton Hotel

questseeker

hi ling > when is your AD , you must be very details as possible when you are testing the AV. Probably we will spent the entire afternoon in the vista room on this saturday until my hubby-to-be is happy. Remember to bring your MCs along too

wo384

hi is it true that the tragedy is due to going for a smoke and entering from a wrong door? Which floor would that be? 2nd or 24th?

also, anyone managed to ask for further discount due to such incident?

tianai83

Tin (wo395)>> Y not u start a new thread to ask this yourself? As we are here to share our experience on the AD Stuff...

By the way hmmm those in panorama room can let me know the ceiling height?

saggiegirl

bubblesss> thanks for the tips
for us we will just be taking either the coach / cable car up there...then stay there for the night
if possible, just catch the sunrise and then we will go off to Phoenix Park in Day 4 of our honeymoon
... probably not much time to cook as our meals are fully covered by the tour except for 2 meals (dinner at Lotte World and dinner at Myeongdong)
with my command of Korean, i tink i can find food easily

Aiai> u can check with ur coordinator on the dimensions of the ballroom

Tin> we are here to discuss our AD preps and of coz relieve stress!!.... pls do not "divert" to other topics
thanks babe!

tianai83

Morning Chercher,

I totally cant recall the panorama room lo... The last time i went its still a chinese restaurant... I hope its not too small cos i might be having a 2pc band ... so hmmmm dun wanna look squeeze.

chercher

aiai>> then maybe u can check wif june or rachel or pansy, think they will be glad to assist you
alternatively, arrange for a day to go down for viewinG?

Aiai: They had redecorated the panorama room... quite nice now.. THey told me that the decors will be completed early novemeber... I will see how it goes when I go dw this Sun.

tianai83

I hope i can get Panorama room cos hmm outside got swimming pool hahaha... If not is other hotel le.. Cos my shortlist area... i prefer hilton for the swimming pool.. if not having there most likely is hmm Orchard hotel or others. So must go n see see the actual place.. The orchard hotel the ceiling damm high eh..when u look up is so grant... So i think must go ard n see see when my date is nearer.. Hmmm hey u all got recce which hotel before u gals sign up with hilton huh? haha share share.. den i can scale down my recce.

joyjoy1

littlewoman> R u taking Panorama room too? I went there in Feb and was told that they hv renovated. Before that i hv bad impression for this room as I attended fren's wedding in 2007 and need to walk one level down for toilet. The stairs are quite steep and nearly trip. Therefore, I told Rachel I dun like Panorama. But after seeing the renovated room and toilet at same level. Almost no pillar (if you have abt 20 tables) then i decided to book the room. Furthermore, there's poolside cocktail reception. I guess this shld be a nice place to mingle ard with frens. My AV testing scheduled on 20th Dec. If you book the same room, let me know what are the changes. Quite eager to see it too cos I'd say the condition in Feb is already quite good.

Aiai: I checked out a few hotels prior to signing with Hilton. Frankly, Raffles hotel was my 1st choice. They have those roman themes which kinda of suits what i want for my wedding.. Gave it up as they do not have an air-conditioned ballroom and their bridal suits are a little small. Sherton is also not too bad but I don't realli prefer Marriott though.

saggiegirl

Aiai> yes of coz we did research on all the hotels in orchard, marina, havelock etc...

as we are having 33 tables, many smaller hotels could not fit us...hence got striked out...

then some others are alrdy pre-book... imagine like 1.5 yrs ago... (coz my AD is 6 dec 09 which is an auspicious date)...

so eventually we choose Hilton
so far no problems at all... everything Hilton provided is good

now looking fwd to AV testing on 2 Dec 6pm

questseeker

hi saggie > ming dong has a street of clothing, goodies and accessories which i believe it will interest you. food should be no problem but if you like to eat crab and seafood then mt soerak area is the ideal place. Other places don't have fresh seafood. enjoy your trip.

saggiegirl

bubblesss> hee hee... ya lor... alrdy my students are asking me to buy them nice things
as i am the mentor for my 2 classes at RP

we have black pork, unlimited seafood shabu shabu, traditional claypot bibimbap, ginseng chicken meals, abalone porridge etc... should be no problem ....

hoping to try out their shoju...

tianai83

Oh meaning AV tesing is not on actual day one? That's cool cos from my understand i thought is on the time frame u reach hotel on ur AD to ur dinner.

Hmmm initially my top choice is Orchard Hotel... cos the stupid recept in hilton told me the top level restaurant was close down... I was damm damm upset until someone from BDC says that there's a ballroom name panorama in hilton so i called n ask June.

Huh i hope not so early booked.. Cos i wan to booked my venue very late.. i dun wan later i freckle minded keep on changing venue.. so wanted to booked only 9 months before my AD....

questseeker

hi saggie > normally the coach will bring you all to mt soerak area where the hotel is, then i believe the next day you all will be going to the big buddha and take the cable car up to the mountain, this cable car has no seat but standing position and can take in 20-25 people. Do take pictures when you ascend to the mountain

joyjoy1

Aiai> one of the reason i booked Hilton is bcos of the swimming pool. If you hv not done your ROM, you can do it at the poolside and at no extra cost. I remember Panorama room's ceiling is high. I went to Marina Mandarin (the smaller function not their grand ballroom), their ceiling very low. It's not good to hv ballroom with low ceiling because when guests are talking, the noise will trap within the room. Everyone got to shout if they want to chit chat.

saggiegirl

Aiai> it depends
coz if ur AD is too hot, then 9 mths may not be enuff

wahaha... i do drink tiger beer once in a blue moon

AV testing is someting like dry run of the music, montage etc

joyjoy1

littlewoman> Raffles ballroom is airconditioned. R u referring to outside of the ballroom? when is your AD? I only remember saggiegirl's one is the popular 6th Dec. Got to plan very early for BS, MUA, PG&VG. I intend to have mine on 26th Dec. But too bad is booked. So i picked 27th Dec for dinner and 26th Dec for AD.

Aiai> Dun drag too long. U will hv other things to plan. My initial choice is Amara Sentosa, but i cant meet their weekend dinner min table. It's a resort style hotel and hotel guests wont go there as it's separated from Hotel Lobby. As for Orchard Hotel, unless the food is prepared by Hua Ting, then it sure satisfy all your guests. If it's done by the banquet side, then i dun think it's worth to go. I had my ROM at Hua Ting and everyone was happy with the food. But i remembered Hua Ting's captain told me that their banquet will prepare the wedding dinner. Hence, i din consider them at all.

saggiegirl

joyjoy1> u are correct... for me i book my BS, MUA very early during Apr 08
... PS PG ard Nov 08, AD PG & VG ard Aug 08

next few weeks prepare 2nd round of angpaos, pack file for AD scheduling, brief AD evening helpers...

this week dye hair, collect albums, final fitting
hope i dun grow too fat :p....

joyjoy1: Yes yes.. I am referring to the reception area (outside the ballroom)... My HB told me it will be too warm for the guests etc... hence, we have to change venues. My AD is 1 day before saggiegirl.

tianai83

Totally agreed on the private cocktail reception part..

Too bad i have ROM... if not, sure will take the poolside rom....

Now hor oso too many ideas in my head.. den got a lot to ask.. so hmm when my HB not having lesson i most likely will go n see the room..

saggiegirl

littlewoman> where got fast... consider that we only have weekends to prepare more things...

then thursday gg to take flu jab & prayers... so 1 day gone....

then now i am cracking how to brief AD evening helpers

Ling> so nice
and definitely a place to remember

Aiai: When was ur ROM? I had mine 2 yrs back..

saggiegirl: I am taking flu jab tonight.. They said might have a little side effects.. keeping my fingers crossed... Agree, my HB already complained that his weekends have been burnt so far...

tianai83

Hmmm haiz so cool Ling... U got went to countdown ball.. i have nvr went before.. N the worse... We had his comm ball at conrad... N hor i totally dislike the food there...

Haha... Den hmmm i think the comm ball very sian lo... He after the comm ball send me home.. Nvr bring me out to like a move of what lo... Dammm @%&()_)(*&*^^%%$#@@!#$%^&*(*)()*()%^%$#

Tin: looks like it.. and they have spotlights.

Aiai: Saggiegirl and I are travelling in Dec, thus taking the flu jab as a precaution.

splenda

Hello! So fun seeing other brides discussing their wedding plans. Mine is going to be on the 31st of July next year at Hilton. =)

splenda

Hi littlewoman,

June's my coordinator. Haven't planned anything much actually. Just booked the dinner venue and the church for our day celebrations and lunch reception. Haha reading about all the preparations is stressful! But we're taking things as they come

SS: It will be as the date draws near... But I suppose planning for a major event is like this ba... Trying to be perfect in everything...

saggiegirl

SS> welcome

June is a nice lady
dun worry too much

good that u have booked ur church early
remember to confirm ur pastor/solemizer, church buffet, church deco, mass/hymn booklets, choir helpers etc
(although i am a non-christian, but i have christian friends who are married, so that is what i heard from them lar

it will "intensify" as the date draws closer
... for now... can rest a while, prepare for Xmas, then early 2010, can start to think about bridal works etc

splenda

Thanks for the advise girls

Littlewoman, I know what you mean... everything has to be perfect! ;)

We're trying to cut out all the unnecessary 'stress', just focus on the church wedding and the dinner. Confirmed our priest already, and friends are willing to help out with the deco, booklets and choir.

Will probably start stressing next year

bliss_bb

saggiegirl> yes, it a meaniful place for us = )

Aiai> yes, it was fun and we have been attending it every end of the year. not sure where it will be for this year. Ur hubby is in Singapore Armed Forces? I just asking as u've mentioned abt comm ball at conrad = )

wakeup2asmile

hello gals, been a while since I last log in

My wedding day is drawing near with less than 2 mths to go.. feeling stress up now

Saggiegirl, you have prepared everything?
I have yet to send out my invites... target to send out my earlier part next week as my AD is on 04 Jan 2010

saggiegirl

ss> cool!
definitely ur frens are really nice to help out
and it will be a meaningful event

Jen> yo gal
my invites are all out
of coz for relatives, all will be either mailed/hand delivered during / after GDL

splenda

Just wondering, is anyone going to have the tea ceremony at the hotel? Do you think it'll be convenient to do it before the dinner?

saggiegirl

ss> ya i believe so

tea ceremony at hotel will be at the function room

do check with ur coordinator about the booking etc... it should be FOC as u booked the banquet with Hilton
just remember that u need to bring in ur own longan tea and tea set