Hair Loss... Help...

brown

dear people
am really worried abt my hair loss problem. is there anyone out there who has tried hair loss remedy that works?
i would appreciate any advice.

blossom

hi brown,
i have the problem too. what i did is to get a hair tonic from the pharmacy and massage it on the scalp after i have washed my hair. i also use a treament shampoo for hair loss too.

i only started using it recently so i dun know if the brand i use is good enough to recommend to u. i just pick it off the shelf to try try.

i have asked a few friends and they all tell me ... other than going to yunnan ... the best solution is to use hair tonic.

or maybe u can see a doctor? i will probably see doctor if my problem persists.... how long did u have this problem? i have it for a long time already.... at least a few years. i saw my hair start thining recently and i got worried.

babydoll

Hi Brown

it must be very distressing to loose your hair, esp for female. You should consult with your GP, sometimes hair loss for females can be due to hormonal imbalances or many other factors eg stress, diet and other medical reasons. It could just mean a simple blood test, to figure out the problem

cupcake

Hi brown & blossom

I'm also having hair loss problem. Been having it for say...... 4 to 5 yrs alr. Dunno what's the problem. Kinda worried but dunno what to do abt it. Haizzzz....

happy98

Me too facing the same prob.... I went to see 2 doctors liao but from their replied it seemed like they hv no real solution. mine is a more serioud case cos i'm borned with fine and thin hair. one doctor ever prescribed some lotion for me to apply but it was meant to be for balding man and i find it too oily for my scalp.

me trying some lotion from the pharmacy also, but hv not been very consistent so cant really tell the result yet. but 1 thing for sure is that it does help to control the oil on my scalp.

aimee06

I have been using a shampoo called neril for more than 1.5 yrs. The result is gd. It is one of the Garnier range of products. You must also apply their hair tonic after wash. You can get this is pharmacy or NTUC.

:D

brown

thanks for all the advice...
i'm even thinking of going to beijing101, but i guess the charges must be quite high.i will share with you if i go there for consultation.

happy98

thot the neril shampoo is a dandruff shampoo?? i'm using JF Lafatif. this brand is exp and hv to use many pdts together.......

owl

i had the same problem before... in fact it occured twice in a duration of 2 years. went to see a specialist in nat skin centre. there izn't any solution to it.... like wat happy98 had mentioned, the docs can't pinpoint the cause of it.

anyway, I found the medication (Regaine) which my doc prescribed effective. Itz now available off the rack. shd be able to see results within 2 mths, but itz quite costly.... used to buy it at $90+, now $70+. can get fm guardian pharmacy.

as for shampoos, avoid using the 3-in-1. can try brands like Pregaine or Klorane...

brown

owl
really thank you for sharing. i saw the regaine advertistment on papers too. what kind of improvements did you experience? less hair loss or even hair growth? how long have you been using it? do you apply on the whole head? how long does a bottle last?
sorry for so many qns, but i'm just to excited to hear that there is some effective medication

owl

hi brown

regaine helps to stimulate hair growth and stabilise hair loss in people having alopecia androgenetica... they call it AA in short. this type of hair loss occurs in a small area causing total hair loss in a patch. itz horrifiying when I first noticed it... I was recommended to use this medication by my doc and after abt 1-2 mths, baby hair starts to grow in that area. u must be patient in order to see the results.

when I "kena" the 2nd time, it happened to another part of my scalp. it was worst as there was quite a serious overall hair loss as well. I cont to use the medication and went bac to see my doc once again.

for my case, 1 bottle can usually last till I recover, ard 2 mths. i only apply to affected parts, but u may apply to the whole head if required.

i wld advise u to see a doc before using this medication tho u can get it off the rack (only 2% avail OTR). Docs can prescribed 5% medication for faster result. u can also opt for injection for a even faster result (I dun dare to try myself)

another remedy for hair loss is to keep urself stress-free.... which is very difficult... but it works for me!

diorsnow

Can try Regen Hair Preserve System. It contains ION3 minerals which enables the scalp to absorb nutrients faster, which is nesscary for new hair growth. I have two male friends who uses this products and i see many fine hairs sprouting out of their scalp.. in just two weeks! I am also using it to preserve my hair... been dropping alot so must take care.

sneaky

Has anyone here with very thin hair like me (over the crown area) been through their wedding hairstyling?

How did the hairstylist manage and style to cover up the balding areas and how's the turnout?

I appreciate advices....

rgds
Sneaky

piggy

=)Hi..

Em.. I am trying a vitamine pill called 'hair push' that I got from the ntuc phamacy.. Called Unity I think.. I think it is quite good .. Can see results in about 1-2 weeks? But it really depends if it is deficiency in a certain vitamine that causes your problem.. I also went to polyclinic to get a refferal letter to nuh.. So will be cheaper.. And the doctor recommended mi a list of tonic.. He told mi that some 'cosmetic' tonic is just to make people feel better.. And those yunan etc all bluff people as it is only to make people feel happy etc.. And I feel that it is quite expensive too.. =) Maybe you all can try going to poly clinic and get refferal letter to a skin specialist and ask what they feel about the problem? I think a doctor can solve the problem.. Rather than those hair salons.. =)

sneaky

hi piggy,

thanks for the recommendation. the bad thing about me is the lack of patience and determination for oral medication.

what result did you see? your hairloss happened suddenly or over a period of time?

ab

Hi sneaky,

I went thru a period of severe hairloss around my crown area early this year, it was terrifying for me, everytime I run my hand thru my hair, hair would drop out.. Went to see a chinese physician, took boiled chinese herbs, change my shampoo, applied his hair growth tonic and also took alot of cordyceps. Stopped taking the herbs after 2-3 weeks as I had flu and didn't see the doctor anymore when SARs broke out (also lazy lor). My hairloss stopped after 1-2 months and now I can see alot of new hair sprouting out from those areas that I applied the tonic.

I had my PS when my hair was still thin, to make my hair look thicker at the crown, my makeup artist flipped my fringe to the opp side for me and covered up the botak patch.

The physician told me to cut my waist length hair short as the weight adds stress to the weak hair follicles. I had tried Regaine before but it didn't work.

min

Hi ab,
what brand hair growth tonic u use? me also have hairloss problem. and what shampoo u use also?

ting

Hi ab,

can u recommend to us the chinese herbs?

btw, after i massaged my hair at the crown, i can see a lot of hair dropping off..... i usually rub wif my index finger in a circle direction... some pple say just press tt affected area with your fingers, ie, apply some pressure...

how do u gals apply the tonic??

ab

Hi min & Ting,

The chinese herbs were prescribed by the chinese physician and the growth tonic is also concocted by him (no label). He told me my kidneys were weak, I think most chinese sinseh always say that is the main cause of hair loss for young pple, reduce salt intake and no oily deep fried food.

Herbs that I take on top of those prescribed are Shou Wu, Dang Gui and Cordyceps extract(Dong Chong Xia Chao). You can go to those chinese medical halls and ask them what herbs you can take to nourish your kidneys and prevent hair loss.

The shampoo brand is WellRing Herbal Shampoo 101 (101 Chao Yao Fang Tu Xi Fa Jing) selling at some medical halls for $9+. The hair tonic was not cheap, $12 for 100ml but my hair started to grow after using 70ml.

Try soaking a piece of facial cotton with the tonic, spread your hair and massage it gently on your scalp, wastage is minimal.

min

Hi ab,
which chinese sinseh u consulted? can share with us the name & address.

Hi Ting,Sneaky,
think we can go together hor? interested?

sneaky

min,

definitely....then at least we have each other's encouragement and we could probably talk about our problem...

ab

Hi min & sneaky,

The sinseh is at Qun Jian Medical Hall, Blk 517 Jurong West St 52 #01-85 (opp Lakeside MRT). Tel : 65609753

Alternatively, you gals can email me at [email protected] and we can discuss more.. ;)

min

Hi ab,
thanks...will let u know if need anymore help.

Hi Sneaky,
yesterday i went pharmacy n bought Audance hair tonic to try out first. if still cannot help then i will go the ab recommendation sinseh.
but i can accompany u to see the sinseh as i m working near boonlay mrt stn. just let me know.

ting

Hi Min,

I also use Audance, both shampoo n tonic... only started last week... so no improvement yet...in fact dropped abt 10-20 hair during massaging alone (minus the no. dropped when wash hair)...wat abt u? how do u massage?

Hi Sneaky,
Like Min, I am giving myself 2 mths to try Audance. If no improvement, then i will take the chinese herbs AB mentioned.

Hi Ab,
I tried the mtd u mentioned... soaked the tonic wif a cotton pad, no wastage at all! but how to massage such tt hair will not drop?? can just apply without massaging?

sneaky

hi min and ting,

do let me know of the outcome...in fact, i'm using a new hairgrowth serum produced locally called biolyn.

did see a bit of results but they are just not good enough. the hairs grew slowly and thin...so i guess patience is the key to success...

i dunno if i shd try the sinseh leh...but if it works, why not hor?

min, i will schedule myself sometime next week to do so....will update you in due course...okay?

min

Hi Ting,
Actually I have been using Audance shampoo for about 1~2mths liao lor. when i wash hair, sometimes drop a lot while sometime ok. i guess when i stress, hair drop more

yesterday i just try out the hair tonic. i only pour out a bit & put onto the affected area & massage very very gently with 1 fingertip. dare not try too much as afriad allergy as 1st time using.

averagely i drop about 30~40 strands of hair during hair wash & when comb hair, drop somemore(abt. 10~20strands). Can anyone advise is this normal??? when i see hair drop, i very afriad. maybe its because i have long hair & when 30~40strands of hair put together, it look like 1 big lump.

Hi Sneaky,
OK. will let u know the outcome of the hair tonic but i guess got to be patience.

diamante

hi ladies, i oso got hairloss prob... but now its gettg better. there was a time where an empty patch formed from the hair loss... got me so freaked out. went to see doc at NSC. they presribed Minoxidil 4 me. saw improvements after 4 mths. doc did told me the improvemt is very slow & a min of 4 mths is required. and i was lucky, coz she told me not everybody will see effect from the minoxidil applied on the scalp. the doc told me tt actually those so-called hairloss prevention shampoo doesnt not help in our hairloss prob at all... even if it does, its very minimal... dunno how true leh...

another area u gals might wan to take note is tt when u bath, dun use hot water on ur hair scalp to shampoo. i heard tt this will open up ur pores on the scalp & comtribute to hairloss. i realised tt after i use lukewarm water (juz abit warm or if u can, use cold water) to shampoo, the hairloss prob is reduced. i guess this is logical coz durg facial, steam is used to open up our pores as well. juz a small tip. hope it can b useful.

piggy

Sneaky: Mine plagued me for 3 years..3 years ago,i remembered I was so crazy over hair dye i changed my hair color like..almost every 2 weeks? =) That resulted in my persistant hairloss problem.. =( And I only took the vitamine for 5 days and can see results liao already.. =) But please consult your doctor before you take the vitamine as i am afraid that you might be allegic to it or? But I took the risk.. haha.. =) Maybe you can try too?

And I am using this scalp application called 'Betacorten' This is a scale treatment by doctors and it really helps.. I applied this together with the hair push pills and actually after 5 days i see results already.. Will update all of you after maybe 1 week or so if all my hair really grows back?

As my scalp is still weak,so my hair still drop alot..But my hair now got too many baby hairs i actually pluck out some cause it looks real ugly.. haha.. =) Maybe you girls can go to see a skin specialist and see what he says?

diamante: em.. my skin specialist and what i read in a book says that Minoxidil is used more for men.. For woman, it does not work as well..keke.. Em.. Hope it did not offend you but maybe you should check it out? I found the book in Bukit Batok Library.. It might be useful..

Sorry if I offended you in anyway..

And I am very curious about the chinese medicine too.. I have very weak kidneys too.. =)Can you please tell me more? And I also stay in Jurong.. Maybe can meet up with you guys too? =)

diamante

hi piggy, dun worry, me not offended at all. yeah i think wat u said is true... usually men use it. but doc prescribed 4 me so i juz used lor... anyway luckily my bald patch grew back. but like u, my scalp is still weak. dunno how to make it stronger...

wah, u so 'hiong' ah? chg colour every 2 wks??? 4 me, wat triggered off was to colour my hair again one mth after the 1st time i did coz i din like the colour... i did rebondg but there was no significant hairloss... so i guess it boils down to hair colour.... =)

right now, i've stayed off hair colour & rebondg...

wats the vitamine? actually u described alot of treatments here... did u do a research & try it out or was it under doc's supervision?

aiyoh, why u go & pluck ur baby hair? like tt ur new hair will nvr get a chance to grow long mah...

sneaky

hi piggy,

what vitamin are you taking? it's amazing to see results in just 5 days....i want i want! did you seek medical treatment from National Skin Centre? i sought treatment from them many years back and was prescribed Minoxidal oso. the bad thing about minoxidal is that hair stops growing when you stop applying. the hairs that grew were super fine too. anyway, i've stopped using that already.

piggy

diamate: The pill i taking is called 'hair push'.. And it contains alot of vitamines.. I also don't know what some are.. But I just try it out for that vitamines but i read alot on hair loss before consulting the specialist because i read that hair loss due to chemical is reversible.. =) And my hand itchy.. so go pluck.. I think i will stop plucking already.. keke..

Sneaky: Actually it worked for me maybe because I have a deficiency in vitamine B and other vitamines too? But you can try too.. =) Because my doctors always say I not enough vitamines and I am underweight also.. =) Maybe you can try?

And I seek treatment from nuh the skin specialist..My skin specialist name is : Dr Seow Chew Swee .. He is quit good.. he is quite old and balding also..haha..But he told me there are only 4 types of medicine for hairloss and out of them, actually all 4 are like.. for men.. But he said the one I am using can help.. He arranged for another appointment with me in September to see if it works.. But it worked so it is ok.. But I do not know now if it is the solution that work or the vitamines..

the skin specialist told me that actually, it will take about 6-8 weeks to see full results.. And even the hair push box said that to achieve full effect, must wait 1-3 months.. varies from individual.. =) So maybe you can try? But I think it is better you consult a doctor first? Maybe go to mine? He is quite patient and is quite honest..

sneaky

hi piggy,

what you've said sounded good. how to i get to see the doctor? directly go and register and request for him?

please adv...

diamante

hi piggy... where do u find out more info regardg hair loss? i tried 2 search but not much results leh.... if possible, share wif me ur data pls? my email [email protected]

is ur doc gd??? i feel tt the doc at NSC is lousy... other than the 1st time tt i went 4 consultation, which they spent time lookg at my scalp, the few other consultations was juz abt to prescribe more minoxidil 4 me w/o even touchg my scalp... i am already contemplating to skip the appt in oct already... wats the point of wasting $$$ to go there....

i think cannot juz walk in to NUH to request 4 ur doc... theu charge u as private patient... best to get a referral letter from polyclinic...

anyway, any side effect 4 takg the vitamine pills? where to get it ah?

piggy

Sneaky: Actually you can go to any poly clinic and just tell the doctor you need a referal letter to nuh to see a skin specialist.. Or you can call nuh directly to ask for the doctor.. But that will cost like.. Double? If you are referred, you only pay $21 for consultation.. =) Or maybe you can try to ask for my doc when u go poly clinic.. But I am not sure if they will grant you anot.. But that time, I went to the poly clinic and just told the doctor that I needed help and referal letter.. And he just gave me.. keke

Diamante: You can look for books on hair loss in the library.. Just type 'hair loss' in the comuter.. I do not know what is it called as I do not always go to the library.. haha.. But I cannot find any good help from the internet also.. I think most 'cannot be trusted'? Because most of the information are from those expensive hair salons and most of them do not work..

And my doctor.. He just touch my scalp and look.. And he said that a weak scalp cannot be cured overnight because my scalp the skin very loose.. Too weak.. haha.. What he gave me worked for me.. But he said will vary from individual.. But I think it is worth a try.. =)

And I think when you go, do ask him for vitamines for your diet.. You tell him you are a very picky eater.. What the doctor told me is that unless I am a super picky eater then need vitamines.. But I am in fact a very picky eater and I do not eat eggs (one of the best food for hair growth).. and many other things.. So I bought the vitamines and try..

You can try 'hair push' I got it from Toa Payoh the MRT there got NTUC and opposite the NTUC there is a 'Unity' phamacy.. And you can ask for 'hair push' They will tell you it is very popular.. But I really do not know if there are any side effects.. But what I suggest is that you can ask the doctor or like.. check on the vitamines first.. =) Because I just took the risk, I do not want anyone to take the same risk too..Don't want to get into trouble.. haha.. like the andrea de Cruz like that.. =)

Em.. But what I suggest is to go to a doctor.. And then see what he says.. A skin specialist is the best..

And don't go to those hair salons.. Because I feel that their treatment do not work.. Even the doctor says that.. I read many books and the books state that people who consult skin specialist usually get their problems cured.. =) So.. Do consult one and solve the problem fast.. =)

diamante

hi piggy... actually i think my condition improved liao. juz tt i still feel its a bit empty at the area where we hv our hair parting. all my frens say its alrite but i am a bit concerned.

i am a picky eater but i guess not as picky as u. i love eggs!!! and i am already drinkg milk powder tt is fortified wif lotsa vitamins & minerals... guess i cant take tt hair push pills coz my body might b too 'rich' from all the vitamins.

i went to my hair salon & all they did was to give me a scalp treatment which they claim will help to unblock my hair pores & prevent hairloss. i wonder if it really works but seriously i can feel tt my hairloss really reduces. perhaps all these r trial & error kind of testing but i will nvr fork out $$$ to do treatments at hair salons coz i noe they r not docs & they might not even noe wat they r doing to u... i dun dare take the risk at all. i did the hair scalp treatment coz it is inexpensive & they dun add alot of stuff to my hair... they help em massage & steam my hair only

thks 4 sharing all the info! =)

piggy

=) Can let me know more about your scalp treatment? How much you did it? And where? =)

I am very interested.. I hope i will have my healthy and thick hair back.. Actually now earnestly waiting.. But I not sure if my full hair thickness will be back.. And I am so so so tempted to dye my hair again.. But guess would still have to wait.. =)

And it's good to have your thinking of not forking out so much money to do hair treatments at those hair salons.. =) For me, I must read up on what i want to do and if it will help then I will do.. If not, i would just leave it alone.. =) haha.. =) Hear from you soon.. thank you!!

diamante

hi piggy, if u dun mind, u may email me. i will let u noe more in detail. my email add is stated in the previous few postings. =)

sneaky

hi piggy,

thanks for the info and process. i'll do just that...hope to get more hair before wedding comes....if not, the hairstylist is going to have a tough time styling my hair...

mrs@

hi sneaky

Where did buy the product and how much? Thinking of getting this for my hubby :p

mrs@

Thanks Sneaky!
My hubby concerned with hair loss... But we think oral medication will hv side effects lor... so maybe will try this application
How's the results so far?

sneaky

mrs@

in order to get good results, you must follow its instructions closely. you've gotta apply on clean scalp for 45 mins and wash off after that. it should be done twice a day. this is really time consuming and difficult for a female with longer hair. i do see hair growing but they are fine. maybe with longer use, i will see more hair growing...i'm getting impatiend therefore, am searching for better and faster options....my wedding is in Jun 04....no time liao

hope your hubby gets a nice crown of hair...

cheriee

sneaky,
u been using biolyn? i just read about this product last week and pretty curious to try it out.
Have been suffering from hair loss for many years and tried many products including regaine and dr lewenberg's formula.Not much help though..
it's quite sad to be able to see ur scalp esp after hair wash..

sneaky

hi cheriee

yes, i've been using it for 5 months already. it's no doubt that there's result but like i said, only fine hairs grew. no enough to cover leh...

you're lucky to only see your scalp after hair wash...mine is even very visible when hair is dry...considered half bald liao...very saddening...

cheriee

hi sneaky,
i just bought a bottle of biolyn to try..one thing abt my hair loss..it has been going on since 1993/1994..i even went to the xtend of going to svenson coz i have really unhealthy scalp which itches a lot..but it din help..really wonder whether my hair loss is due to dht or just coz of stress plus realy oily scalp.

anywayz...the top of my head can see a small bald batch though...the rest especially fringe area is covered but can see that it;s thinning..
hopefully things will get better for both of us...

it's nice to have someone to share all these coz it's really traumatizing to be experiencing hair loss and i feel uneasy whenever my colleanges/friends talking abt their hair and teasing each other that they are balding when in fact they have a head full of hair..*sigh*

sneaky

hi cheriee

i hope you get good results.

basically, i spend a lot of $$$$ on my hair because i found a product to cover the balding area. it's quite expensive and time consuming...because of this, i can only wash my hair every 2 days (expenses will be very high if i wash everyday).

why not take a look at this product called Dermatch, which could be obtained in States via Internet purchase....

go to this website... www.dermatch.com

i've just placed order for 3 pcs + 1 free...

btw, this is not good enough...can still see the hollowness...in order to make my hair appear fuller, i topped it up with Toppik hair fibres....

you can find it at www.toppik.com (this could be purchased in Singapore @ around $65 per bottle).

hope this helps...

my only worry now is during my pregnancy and after birth...should i continue using all these products during my pregnancy??? if i don't, i'll look like some sick/cancerous person..how???