Hainanese Brides, anyone???

xiaofeimei

Thanks Nellie & iViED!

Actually, I'm hoping to just wear my WG all day...as so expensive already and SOOoo...PRETTY....don't want to change into anything else leh...LOL.

Will ask the elders closer to the wedding date if its alright with them not to change...hehe.

xiaofeimei

Thanks Nellie & iViED!

Actually, I'm hoping to just wear my WG all day...as so expensive already and SOOoo...PRETTY....don't want to change into anything else leh...LOL.

Will ask the elders closer to the wedding date if its alright with them not to change...hehe.

poseidon_gal

i just confirm with my grandma that chin deh is supposed to be given by the bride family to the groom family..not the other way round..haa opps i got it wrong..

lettingo

i am back....
ooops
i last posted last mth... and after tat could not find my way back!!! HAHAHA

I ordered chin deh too...
and same as one of you here...
ever since i saw chin deh at my aunt's wedding when i was 13 years old... i have always wanted chin dehs for my wedding!!!!!!

stacy

long time didnt come to this thread liao..welcome all new ah mais to this thread! let's keep it alive again!!!

poseidon_gal - I had yi bua for my AD (ordered fm one hainan mai fm hainan dao who is staying in SG - but got to self collect at simei). I ordered yi bua n hainan buffet for my son's full mth fm hainan gor. You may wish to try hainan gor for AD buffet, cos my relatives were v happy with their food!

nb - u wanna wear ur AD WG thru' out the day...hmm..i m different.. I want a variety in my pics..had WG then changed to kua in the morning. Then in evening, WG n EG. HTH!

lettingo

sharing with you pics of my Chin Deh and Yi Bua...

wedding over for 2 mths, and i am still reminiscing abt it... now i am trying to do a scrapbook for my Weddng preparations , hee~

but how to share pic at lower resolution ah ?
haaaa

lettingo

Bua

975184.jpg

moonbell

cookiefleur: i'm hainanese bride getting married to cantonese groom too.. hahaha...

can share with mi wat happen on AD? both our families hav no idea wat to do.. LOL

poseidon_gal

my parents did not request for chin deh and yi bua.. reason being.. chin deh is to be given to the groom side by the bride.. and yi bua no one eat..soo didnt take tat as well..

stacy

poseidon_gal - U can order hainanese dishes from Hainan Kor at Block 95 Lorong 4, Toa Payoh
#01-48 Tel: 6253 0368..hmm..u mean no one eats yi bua at ur side..wahhaa...its my family fav!!!

draaaloon - welcome to the clan

mosburger

hi all, how's everyone?

been MIA... really very busy lately... more and more things to do... very tired...

gg for my gown selection mid-april. haha... hope it will be fun. =P

btw check with u all, is it ok to have odd number of jiemeis? think my mum dun like e idea, but i asked my frens, then 1 said ok, e other said no. what should i do?

ivied

Hi mos,
Yeap, its been a while since we hear from you. Work is never ending. Got to take time off to relax, especially you will be tied up with the wedding preps now.

For me, I have 3 Jie Meis. It is odd number. So it should be ok I guess.
But if your mum does not like it, then have to make it even number. But then, avoid the number "4". Older gen do not like it.

stacy

mos..ya..gown selecting is fun..gotta try on those mei mei gowns
Same as ivy, I've got 3 JMs n 3 XDs..so make up to 6 (even # eventually)..hehee

mosburger

so sweet of u gals to help... i'm gg thru this awkward period of clearing work and attending interviews, that's why very tight for time... not much news yet due to bad economy, frankly speaking.

need the time on weekends to send resumes, coz weekday evenings need to clear my work. can't do much work on weekends nowadays...

yeah, looking forward to e gown selection... heehee...

when there's gathering, i will try very hard to meet everyone up ok... i miss u gals too...

kokoyln

hi mos.. missed my time of gown selection.. just kept on changing, so fun.. i have 4 jie meis while my hub had 10 bros.. if i have known u all early..

u looking for job? what scope?

kokoyln

sori mosburger, can't help you.. My office only does recruitment for Finance/Accounting, Banking & IT..
BTW, urgently looking for suitable candidate to fill a Trainer position.. 2yrs exp in training customer service staff, can train in classroom styled, write training manual, chinese/sporean..
any recommendation?

kitty_li

aiyoh...I kinda forgot abt this thread liaoz. hahaha....

Hi to all the BTBs....

The pic of the chin deh is nice....makes me regret not having one at my wedding...that time only knew of the Seah St shop that does it. didn't know of any others.

ecstasy42

hi im a clueless hainanese bride.. seriously this is the first time ive heard of chin deh, but i rem my mother forcing me to eat bua... hahaha

stacy

esta..welcome..hahha..ur mum forcing u to eat yi bua!! hahha...give it to me next time, will help to eat on ur behalf..love the chewy chewy feeling :p

sillygal_27

hi all, I'm not a hainanese but my fiance is.
But his mum knows nothing of the tradionational/customary stuffs.. Only say that must fetch bride and have tea ceremony.. *faintz*
Can anyone advice me on any special things to take note for tea ceremony or what time must the bride rch groom's home?
Do we need to give angpows to all the kids?
Please help.

kokoyln

Hi All.. seems tat most of the "older" members haven been logging in..

Hi Suzi, I'm a Hokkien but my hub is hainanese.. My MIL also don really know wat are needed thus, mine was a simple one with Oranges, Red Wine, Cakes, Si Dian Jin, Bin Pin for Guo Da Li
on AD, same like other chinese, he come fetch me then go his home tea ceremony, back to my parent's hse for tea ceremony.. the only thing extra was that we are supposed to give angpows to our juniors who are not married.

being a MUA, i have hainanese brides that leave home b4 sun rise, thus timing wise, it all depend if your parent or PIL check the Tong Shu for good timing or not..

sillygal_27

Hi Kokoyln.. hmm.. is this a tradition for Hainanese "only thing extra was that we are supposed to give angpows to our juniors who are not married"?
We not having Guo Da Li thingy.. only straight to the tea ceremony then back to hotel.. my side not pure chinese so no need go back..

ivied

Hi Suzi, some elderly insist on giving ang bao to the junior who are single (irregardless of age). So u have to check if either side has such request.

If the elderly is particular or stringent abt the customary, then some points to note are:
1) Person who is assisting in the tea ceremony to be a lady of seniority
2) Seating wise is "’j¶—‰E". The bride will served the tea facing the male elder.
3) Serve tea in this order:
- Parents
- Grandparents
- Grand uncles/aunties
- Uncles/Aunties
- Elder siblings
- Elder cousins

These are basically Chinese rules in tea ceremony. Hainanese customs for GDL are very simple.

Ah mais and ah gors, I have some items which I do not need anymore. I do not intend to sell (coz I dunno how much to price each item). Let me know if you want them.
1) IKEA plates holder stand (used once) - 6 pcs
2) IKEA white cutlery trays (used once) - 1 x big, 1 x small
3) NUK latex teats for normal bottle (new) - 2 x size 1 medium flow
4) NUK latex teats for premium bottle (new) - 1 x size 1 medium flow

ivied

Opps, just realised that the chinese characters cant be viewed.

2) Seating wise is the bride will stand to the right of the groom. The bride will serve the tea facing the male elder.

kokoyln

Hi Suzi, Ivied has answered you most of the question. as for the seating/serving position, just remember, Male is always left, Female always right.
some Hainanese are particular in customs esp older generation thus u better chk with your hubby's side on some procedures. If all are modernised thinking then u will probably save a lot of preparation time..

melmelwon

hi all ah mais,

i am a hainanese bride getting married to a hokkien.

can share with me on the process like GDL, 'an chuang' and on actual day.

thank you in advance

madames

Hullo everyone! It's sometime since I've been here. Hope everyone is doing well

Haha, esta, think u'll see me fighting with Stacy for your yi bua ;-P But I'm very generous wan, I will take the skin only and give the sweet fragrant filling to Stacy.... kekekeke

Mos, if u need help, just holler! We're here to assist

twinkle02

hello ladies..

i'm back.. 'sorry.. after so long'.. :p cos have been real bz.. just completed my PS (in 2 sessions) yest.. real memorable but tiring event.. but at least i'm 1/2 done to my big day.. :D

however, i'm now at lost.. wat do i have to prepare for my 'guo da li' and actual day? can anyone recall on this and advise me?

thanks in advance

cheers,
lena

hi all finally found this thread.. on hainanese tradition

my hubby is hainanese. acccordingly to his auntie, nothing much required for GDL preparation? very simple kind, is this true?

do u all have hair combing session?

btw what is this hainan dishes all about???
" can order hainanese dishes from Hainan Kor at Block 95 Lorong 4, Toa Payoh
#01-48 Tel: 6253 0368..hmm..u mean no one eats yi bua at ur side..wahhaa...its my family fav!!! "

sorry for long qn

lettingo

joleen

my Chin deh bought from Hougang Blk 7
for the whole blk, there is only one confectionary shop, just go in and Order....
i think must order 2 weeks before your AD

Bua --> i got it from the market near my house
most cake stores in hawker centre got this BUA i think

stacy

Joleen,

I mean tt if u want to order hainanese dishes, u can order fm this restaurant called hainan kor
. They have hainan pork chop, gu cai, lor bak..

hui - can share the bua contact?

stacy

stacy

sorri..i meant dishes like hainanese chicken rice, hainanese chicken, pork chop, mixed vegs..r available at hanina kor restaurant..can order as buffet dishes.

lettingo

stacy

i dun have the phone number

it is a Hawker stall

you can find this stall which sells kueys and bua, at bedok south Market, Blk 58, near New Upper Changi Road...

it is one and only stall too, i rem

madames

Haha, I am getting confused myself. When I see "hui" I thought its referring to myself. Anyway, welcome to the group, hui!

Would u like to join us at our gatherings?

lettingo

Stacy.... yes, i stayed in bedok south.. you?
i realise Bedok got many hainanese...

Huey... heheh another hui...
yes, i would love to !! how to join?

madames

Hi hui,

We have a list of our "members"... keke, no la, just an Excel where we share with each other our details. Most of us now chat on MSN. The group (of about 10 or so of us - all ladies with the exception of Lance, the only thorn) meets up a few times a year, like during CNY, Xmas and also perhaps one more time in the middle of the year.

If u don't mind, can share some info about yourself that u are fine to divulge with us?

Come to think of it, most of us have actually known each other for 2years plus already?

madames

Hi hui,

U can send it to me... I usually do the collation and update everyone with the details. But first, may i have your email for me to send u the Excel to fill in?