Hainanese Brides, anyone???

madames

Ok everyone, catering for our gathering next week has been settled. Below is the menu:

1. Hainanese Chicken Rice
2. Lemon Chicken
3. Salad Prawns
4. Ginger Spring Onion Sliced Fish
5. Tau Cheo Pork Chop
6. Chicken Curry
7. Beancurd with Minced Meat
8. Deep Fried Samosa
9. Hainanese Vegetable
10. Almond Jelly & Fruit Cocktail

kokoyln

CSI - we dont put alot of pieces, 1-2 gan bei, 1-2 oyster n a few pcs of lin yu.. wash w water than cook w porridge.. not salty..

Huey - i'm fine w the food.. catering is it?

kitty_li

oh...ok ok. wash and wash and soak and soak first. okie. My cooking skill to date, is only up to pureed foods. hahahaha. ok, add pasta to my cooking abilities. that's about it. hahaha.

Huey, the list looks yummy. Erm, it's at 6pm is it? Can I go there a bit earlier? Coz will have to leave early too...coz baby L zzzzz at 7 plus / 8pm. Otherwise, it'll just be me at the gathering lah. hehs...

hazuki

CSI: i gave Ryan 1 teaspoon of 4mth cereal mixed wif 2 teaspoons of fresh EBM - squeezed on the spot.. haha

he managed to finish half. cause it's still warm so i think he kinda likes it.

i tried bottle yesterday also. he took. 1oz only. cause i squeeze for trial purpose. din wanna waste my Frozen BM...
he took it - reason, teats were freshly sterilised. hot to taste. milk - correct temp.

but, how to give him this?? when the idea of bottle feeding is for me to be able to detach away frm him? haha

so me n MIL say, forget abt it... frm latching directly use sippy cup... forget abt bottles...

milkyway18

Hi fellow mais... sorry i won't be able to make it for the gathering... been quite busy lately...

Huey, sorry for the late reply...

kitty_li

Huey,
hehs...can lah. I also dun mean to be like, super early. hahaha. Just dunno how baby L will be lah...coz it's zzzz time. hahaha. see how lah...at most I'll put her in the carrier, and walk ard and eat while standing. haha. coz she enjoys being in the carrier and can zzzz one. But usually when she's in a new place, she's sleepy and curious at the same time. That's the challenge lorh. hahaha.

twinkle02

hey all,

i'm back.. good times does flies very quickly..
UK was cold.. while France was hot.. haha.. but well.. i did have a great time..
paris -> birmingham -> liverpool -> manchester -> london -> birmingham -> paris within 7 days..

hope everyones' well.. and look fwd to see u all during the upcoming gathering.. :D

cheers,
lena

madames

Hi Lena,

Welcome back! Wow, u really did spend quite a bit of time on the road eh?

UK will be darn cold especially when it rains. The winds can be very chilly.... grrr....

Yes, surely looking forward to seeing u and everyone else too next week

twinkle02

hello huey,

yeah lor.. Fiance wanted to 'show me' as many places during this trip.. and as I juz joined a new com.. cannot go 'holi' too long.. that's why its onli 7 days for europe.. haha.. maybe we will go again few years later.. to see all the places in proper again.. (e.g. 2~3weeks) but it sure is a 'stressed' trip.. esp.. driving on the motorway.. continents.. :p the map was a 'nitemare'.. esp the london one.. haha.. like spiderweb to me.. :p but well.. we managed to catch everything as planned.. and back in 1 piece.. bad news is.. i got abit more tanned and fatter according to my mum and colleagues.. (oh no.. cos my gown selection is tis sun).. :p

cheers,
lena

madames

Hi lena,

I was also quite tanned from the London sun till that's the first comment everyone made when they first saw me back from the trip. As for weight, heh, I had no courage to face up to reality so I hadn't stepped on the scale till now ;-P

twinkle02

haha.. ic.. i got my tan from paris.. its so sunny.. walking around at the effiel and all the way from the louve to the arc.. haha..
but i think i got all the 'additional weight' from all the bread and potatoes there.. :p
well.. lets hope i can trim down quickly before sept.. else my FB is gonna 'nag nag nag' at me.. :p

cheers,
lena

madames

Hey is anyone interested in learning French from the Alliance Francaise on Weds evenings from 6.30pm - 9.30pm? Classes commences on the week of 1 Sept.

madames

Pet, u interested?

It's $252 + $24 (for annual membership) + $19.30 (GST) = $295.30

Textbook + workbook = $61.00

So all in all, $356.30

There's 6 terms for the whole elementary class. Exams on Terms 2, 4 & 6. But u can choose not to continue after the 1st term. The price above is for one term only.

kokoyln

i like french but it is not that valuable to learn it in SG and the timing is not good for me.. if anyone wish to learn jap, let me know ya..

hazuki, the clothing at the website not bad.. have u made any order.. i wonder if we combine, will we save on the freight charge?

hazuki

huey: faintz.. too exp for me now, maybe when i'm more settled. i thought it's only abt $100 odd..

koko: shipping frm US-SG is cheaper if we buy more.. so if we can combine ard 20kg worth of items we'll order.

madames

Haha, I am keen to learn coz we may go France and other surrounding French speaking countries for the next hols. Since I am not keen on tour groups, I think I better learn some French to survive there.... haha. Most French (in France) can speak English but they don't seem to wanna utter that out of national pride.

madames

Pet, it's not easy to find French classes <$100 unless u go to community centers. My personal experience with them is that they are not that good lor.

twinkle02

Hey Huey,

Dun worry.. I survived not knowing french as well.. Thou I prepared some common words:

Signs:
- Sortie = Exit

Food:
- Gambas = Shrimp/Prawn
- Duck = Canard
- Chicken = Poulet
- Fish = Poisson
- Lamb = Agneau
- Pork = Porc
- Beef/Steak = Boeuf

As u can see.. there's more food translation than anything.. cos I think that's most important when u order food.. :p other than that.. signs/road names translation is pretty easy.. u juz need a steady map.. and some research on the 'must go' places.. u'll be ready to be a part-time parisan.. ;)

Oh ya.. for Paris.. u can get the blown up map in the airport.. and another more detailed one in your hotel.. and pls check at the airport if there's bus/train to your hotel.. cos its much cheaper by bus/trains than taxis around in Paris..

Share with u more if there's anything u need again? ;)

Lena

loveangel

Huey: Ya, one of my friends who went to Paris said those French nationals refused to speak English knowing the language. Made her so angry! :p

Thanks for catering the food. I'll be there about 6pm with Augustine. I have to work on Saturday afternoon cos it's the school Open House.

CSI: Koko &amp; Huey have answered you about using the dried scallops, oysters &amp; lin yu. Have you tried cooking the porridge yet for baby? You can also add in finely-chopped carrots &amp; spinach.
Will make the porridge look colourful &amp; more appetitising. Spinach has lots of vit &amp; minerals.

Pet: If you confirm ordering, tell me ok?

madames

Hey Lena,

Thanks for the tips! I wanna learn also coz I hope I can be reasonably fluent to hold a simple conversation in case we need to get out of any tricky situations/ask for more directions
And hey, I am looking forward to seeing u this weekend.

hazuki

pris: i wanna test response first.. maybe sat i c how many ppl is interested then we decide. cause we need to buy at least USD100 for free shipping to borderlinx in US. Shipping frm US-SG isn't expensive. abt $110 for 20kg.. So if we split, it's cheap. if not, it isn't worth.

kokoyln

Huiz, i agree. French are very prideful of their language. i work for french b4.. they will speak french whenever possible. u can try cambridge language where they teach conversational french. short class.. not tat expensive.. at 1st i thot u wanna learn for real.. hehe..

Pris, CSI - if u cook spinach just soak/wash them longer. my mom said tat they contain more pesticide than other green veg..

Pet, i don mind sharing the order.. interested moms shld jot down the order n description then.. i have other websites too but i store them in my office pc.. i'll try to remember to post up the link

sherrie

hey huey

i learnt french at allianz francaise for 6 mths...totally forgotten everything..i think i might have the textbooks and dictionary somewhere ard...maybe my mum's plc..

see u guys this weekend...hubby and i will be there

madames

kokoyln, haha I am learning for real. I wanna learn how to speak, read and perhaps write some French too. I prefer not to go to the solely conversational courses. Wanna learn then learn the full works lor.

Hey sherrie, for what purpose did u learn? Yeah man, see ya tomorrow!

kitty_li

re babymallonline. shipping via borderlinx is better. So, yup do so. hehs. alamak...I just closed 1 spree with my Dec mums. Ok, next time we have spree, I'll inform the mums here too.

Re spinach, I understand that spinach has quite a bit of nitrates, which is not good for baby. Hence, will only start spinach after 9 mths (super KS lah). Yup, koko, ur mum is right. It has more pesticides than other vege...

Baby L can stand!! While holding on to something, of course. Which also means, she's into the "dangerous" stage now...gotta watch her even more closely and watch the surroundings to make sure nothing dangerous for her.

kitty_li

Huey,
I learnt french during my days at NTU. I also learnt Jap. hahaha. German was too tough lah. But, like sherrie, I also forgot everything liaoz. Hehs. my name has french origins...kekekeke.

hazuki

CSI: i heard that spinach has a kind of nutrient that blocks absorption of vitamin C. so i was suggested to avoid it.
Great.. i can see babyL in action tmr.. haha

I'm currently dealing wif a flipper ... hehe

i have spree wif mar mothers also.. but the collection areas r way too far for me *hougang, sengkang, bishan*. so i usually opt out. so i tot since we have so many pregs here, y not start a spree ourselves...

zapzap

it was a really good gathering we had at Huiz's house.

Nice meeting you, Lena.

Huiz, thanks for the hosting.

Btw, I'm thinking of organising a makan session at 7th Storey Restaurant before it's gone. It was where we had our 1st gathering 2 years ago. What do you all think?

kitty_li

It was a great time meeting all of you on Sat. Sorry, I couldn't sit down and chat with most...difficult lah...eat, handle baby, and chat all at the same time. hahaha. Those that I missed out chatting with...pai seh ah. But still, good to see you again.

Haiz, after leaving Huey's place, Baby L didn't zzzzz on the way back!! *grumble* She ended up sleeping only when we reached back home. Thot she would have been tiring day that day. She went for a birthday party earlier (yup, I realised I'm now in the stage of bringing Baby L to birthday parties and buying presents for the kiddos...what a change in lifestyle manz...hahaha), went to play with her cousins at MIL's place, then went to Huey's place. Think I'm more tired than her.

Huey,
Thanks for organising.

Nellie,
I second your idea! In fact, I was at Bugis this morning (for a meeting) and I had the same thot too! I didn't manage to go for that 1st gathering 2 yrs back so...this time I must make it for the gathering there. hahahaha.

zapzap

Hi ppl,

here's the details :

Date : 16th Aug 2008
Time : 6.30pm

Please confirm your attendance by 10th Aug or earlier.

Attendance :

1. Nellie &amp; Shawn
2. Huiz
3. Pris &amp; Augustine
4. Stacy

This is where it began....
725575.jpg

loveangel

Walk down memory lane!!!

Thanks for posting the pics Nellie! I remember the gathering at the 7th storey hotel restaurant and it's a great idea to have a gathering there again.

Thanks to Huiz for hosting us at your house last Saturday. I had a great time catching up with so many people.

kitty_li

cham...maybe next time we need those function rooms to hold our gatherings. hahaha...the group has grown so much...

Ok, will confirm my attendance later...

Pris,
the brand of the carrier is Pikkolo. Not in sale in SG yet. U have to get it direct from US. Think Pet is interested in it...if you are also interested in it, you can check with her lah...coz it's free shipping for 4 carries and above. But have to limit to 4 carriers to avoid GST in SG. Otherwise, a Beco carrier is very very very nice...but also much more expensive than Pikkolo. Hee....

kokoyln

Nellie: I can't attend the steamboat cos i need to do bridal makeup on that day n she want me to stay for her 2nd change to change hairstyle. Timing clash..

Huiz, thks for hosting us and also giving us door gift as usual..
btw how much it cost for each couple so i can transfer you..

btw i also post our group pict at my blog.. http://toontoonkoko.blogspot.com

rilo82

Wah, just finish one makan. Planning another one liao. I should be ok tentatively. Haha.

Huiz: Thanks for having us at your place again.

madames

Lance, we gotta plan the following makan soon coz the place is gonna be torn down liao mah. Better make it there before it bids us farewell for good.

Hi kokoyln, its $11 per pax. Have included my bank account number in my email too.

It's my pleasure to host everyone at my place. Hopefully my place has added even more warmth and cheer to the already very merry bunch of us!

janf

OMG!, the pics really brot back good old memories! nostalgic.. 2yrs passed juz like tat.. i still look ok then, now, like a whale liao haha..

still remembered the 1st outing to 7th Storey, the 6 of us were waiting at Bugis MRT trying to guess whos who keke..

hazuki

huey, thaks for hosting us...

janf: alamak.. where got whale.. so slim..
i didn't know u all then.. so i'm glad to attend as well.
muz take more pics.. so nxt time my boy knows this place actually existed.. hehe

pris: yaya, i wan.. pikkolo... i wan consolidate another 3mummies to order...
anyone??? i so like it!! thinner than ergo, same comfy state...

hamsterden

HELLO GUYS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm back in action! For those who doesn't know...hamster is Li Ann. And is Hazuki Petrina??

It was nice to see everyone again...i think this gathering has broken our record attendance yet again... thanks Huey and her hubby for having us over.

Nellie, thanks for organizing the steamboat at 7th storey! Brought back so much memories! I still remember standing outside Guardian Pharmacy and eyeing every gal around me suspiciously and wondering if she is one of the ah mais. eh, all the preganant mummies never change leh, still look like the same old pretty you.

Nellie, before i blabble on and forgot to confirm attendance, Thomas and I can make it on 16 Aug.

zapzap

Attendance :

1. Nellie &amp; Shawn
2. Huiz
3. Pris &amp; Augustine
4. Stacy
5. Lance (Kelly coming?)
6. Li Ann &amp; Thomas
7. Michelle &amp; Winston

zapzap

Attendance :