Hainanese Brides, anyone???

hazuki

koko: ya.. he did my back n neck. $20.. very cheap.

pris: i'm also gonna contact caroline for massage soon. currently hard to arrange as Ryan dun have fixed nap times yet.

kokoyln

hazuki - if ryan don slep just let yr MIL take care for tat 1hr. u need to let him b independance sometime if not future u wont even hav time for shower..

is really cheap.. but do u both hav communication breakdown? my MIL also spea hainanese, she feel it is hard to talk to him.. he is Ah Peh of few words.. hahah

Huiz - the most i see yr picts the more i jealous.. walau.. when will i b able to revisit UK???

mosburger

lance - i can attend your wedding

koko - wish jolie a speedy recovery

lena - 14/9 is a good date leh. a good fren of mine is getting married on that day too. :D

huiz - welcome back. looks like u had a nice holiday.

twinkle02

hey huey, so 'qiao'.. i'm also going uk for my convocation cum light travelling, flying next week..

thanks mosburger.. yeah.. its the mooncake festival as well.. ;)

cheers,
lena

madames

Hi kokoyln,

Can la, when your kids are older, can go there for a family holiday together

Hi mosburger,

Yah man, it was a really fun and enriching holiday. So many things that we've only used to see in TV or pics had finally came alive.

Hi lena,

Congrats on your convo! From where in UK and what course are u taking? I am sure u will enjoy your trip there

twinkle02

hi huey,

i'm graduating for my MBA from university of birmingham.. so.. i'll take my chance to travel around europe with this convocation..
haha.. olso like a 'pre-ROM' honeymoon i guess.. ;P hee..

cheers,
lena

hazuki

koko: hehe, i spoke to him in hainanese.. but he nv respond... then i spoke to him in chinese, he replied... but ya, he is a man of few words..
i think he's not good in hearing, not that communication breakdown. cause i had to repeat quite a few times.
u r talking abt my blog? hehs, ya.. i let her entertain him. but he dun wan.. wans me. pros n cons i feel.. not tat he's attached to me, juz tat she can't entertain him well as she dun sing/dance wif him.. so i think he's bored wif all the repeat baby talk?

madames

Hi lena,

I travelled to my Masters convo last year too. But that was in Flinders Uni in Adelaide, Australia. Fortunately, it fell nicely into the 3rd leg of my New Zealand and Australia honeymoon. So we spent the last part of our HM in Adelaide coz of this.

twinkle02

hi huey,

it muz be nice to convo in person at the campus.. i didnt do this for my degree.. but chose to do this for my masters.. ;) btw.. its also a special trip for me cos i will be celebrating my birthday in europe.. 2 places (paris/bham) on my actual birthday.. :D thinking abt it oredi made me ORD mood liao.. haha.. :p

cheers,
lena

madames

Yes lena, I told myself I had to go to Adelaide for the convo coz its a once in a lifetime thingy for me. I did my bachelors in NTU so if I don't go for that, I can foresee myself banging my head in the wall. Haha.

And yes, I can understand what u mean by ORD mood too. That was how I was 2 weeks ago. But sigh, time always pass so fast whenever we r having fun. Before I know it, I'm back to reality liao ;-P

kokoyln

mosburger - thks for yr well wishes..

huiz - travelling to uk for couple is still ok, for whole family of 4 to go.. it will cost a bomb.. haha.. i wanna go aussie 1st cos i hav not gone there yet but now i need to wait till after delivery..

hazuki - haha.. old ppl, we can't expect them to ent bb much.. so long bb don cry can le..

twinkle02

yeah huey.. i know time flies.. so.. i will try to 'spend my time as slowly and wisely' while i'm there.. ;) haha.. i'll try to upload some photos to share with all when i'm back la.. ;)

cheers,
lena

kitty_li

hihi, been busy....

welcome back (to reality) Huey...

yah, I agree with Koko. Travelling as a couple is easy...but once there's kids, not only will it cost a bomb, logistics is another matter...haiz. I'm trying to see when will I be able to go for a holiday...

madames

Yeahhh man CSI, you have mentioned the golden word.... REALITY! I think my heart is still a million miles away from home. Taking half day off today to go home and wane in self pity.... hahahah!

I have mixed feelings about going on hols with children. Much as we need good long breaks sometimes, bringing kids along is so much of a hassle, money aside. On the other hand, I will really feel guilty to leave my kids behind for my folks to take care while I go and enjoy. Even if I bring my folks and the kids all along, then I will end up feeling "guilt-ier" - am I bringing them along to help jaga the kids?

Sigh, its a tough battle.

hazuki

huey: holidays wif children... ya.. u have spoken my feelings...
tats y a holiday for this august was planned a long time ago, but end up not gg because of the above issue.
whether to bring Ryan along or to bring my MIL along or to go as a family of 3 only?
We have cancelled the trip because we cannot decide.

kokoyln

u all sound complicated on holidays.. i don bring parents or in law during holidays cos my parents too busy n my in laws don share same food taste so without them is better.. however i have not fly sin Jolie is born only drive to Msia yearly for few days. now jolie keep bugging us to let her take plane so we headache.. i can't fly now..
i think most impt is the country, some countries are dirty n polluted so not suitable for babies vice versa..

hazuki

koko: august holiday was planned way in advance that only 3 of us gg...
then my mil ask us leave Ryan in SG. But i dun wan... So raymond suggested she come along.. initially she say dun wan go. but b4 buying ticket, she suddenly say she wan go.
Now we got prob as she'll be either in a room all alone or we 4 share 1 room.
+ shopping n food different frm us. very difficult to handle.
+ my MIL got plane sickness...
so in the end gave up the headache, dun go liao.

kokoyln

hazuki - ya i understand the headache.. unless we take 2bedrom apart if not someone bound to slep alone or w us.. whic is inconvenient. where u plan to go actaully? can get apartment?

for me now i also headache.. planning short trip on 1-3 Aug but no idea where to go.. fly don think can, drive to msia abit sian also don wanna spend too much cos big spending is coming soon for bb..

hazuki

koko: we r planning to go chiangmai. i've checked. the apartments available r rather far frm city & it's more exp than 2 separate hotel rooms.

kokoyln

hazuki - oic.. actually can ask yr mil to find a kaki then u can enjoy w yr family n she enjoy w her frien..

hey u may wanna consider those 2D1N trip to desaru or batam, they hav hse. can stay a few adults..

kitty_li

koko,
early Aug is 2 mths before ur EDD right? Don't think u can fly. Last chance to travel before bb is out. hmmm...go nearby place lorh like, Bintan (but a bit ex), Batam, Sentosa (haha).

I'll probably only go Sentosa. haha. Coz very leh chey to bring all of bb's stuff along. Got sterilizer, bb food etc. So Sentosa is the easiest lah. hahaha.

pet,
yah, koko's suggestion is good leh. Ask ur MIL to find a kaki. then she also wun feel bored.

hazuki

CSI/Koko: she no kaki.. cause her only kaki is her elder sis. but she dun like to travel wif her elder sis as her elder sis is very dominating.
last yr went china together - both of them. end up my MIL came back very unhappy.

anyways, prob solved. as MIL say she is still afraid of flying, she decided not to go. so we'll go as family of 3. save $ & trouble.

steriliser
CSI, eh, i think above 6mths not so necessary already. & u bfing mah. latching, no need bottle. if feeding water, no need to steri. baby food, buy bottled ones. open n feed. finish then throw...
i think younger go travelling is more convenient. older more mafun.
cause eat more solids, need to poo more, rest more...
baby juz carry n slp.. adults can go shopping. haha

kitty_li

hahaha...hazuki,
I KS and KS mah. so will sterilise till at least 1 yr old, even bottle for feeding water. Baby food, I DIY my own purees. I've tasted the jar ones, and can taste the preservatives in those. So decided not to give jar food lah. Unless really boh pian (like last week. totally no time to puree anything. So ran out of fruit purees. End up giving apple puree from the jar). Actually, I find the range of jar food not that wide. Variety not really there. So far, I quite enjoy preparing baby's food. Can control what goes into it. haha. Quite fun also...heng, I'm not the one washing up. heehee...

hazuki

CSI: oh.. haha. i usually latch as he's still rejecting bottle. water i think minimal feeds is enuff. jar food i intend to buy only organic food so no preservatives. u lucky got dishwasher at home... i m dishwasher mah. but of course i also intend to puree my own food. unless necessary i wun feed him jar food.

kokoyln

CSI, actaully when bb reach 6mth, u can simply use hot water to steralise.. i alwys run to fast food rest to get hot water n rinse the bottles and feed.. i feel too clean is no good cos when they go childcare/sch, they will b expose to all kind of dirty stuff.. need to let them get immune..
not flying b4 birth le.. mayybe go msia again lo..

hazuki, CSI - have i told u abt mash potato w carrot or broccoli + milk.. very tasty for bb..oh ya btw, rem TV show bb not suppose to drink water, my sis's paedi said tat plain water not recommend but glucose water can. of cos u set limit la..

kitty_li

hazuki,
the jar food i was talking abt is organic ones. Earth's Best. Probably some sort of organic preservatives. At the end of the day, u'll need some form of preservatives to keep it on the shelf till Nov 09 kinda date...

Koko, yah...too clean is not good. But we feel that certain stds got to be there lah. at least till 1 yr old. hee...so it's only her bottles and pacifier that are "super" clean (i.e. sterilised). Bowl, spoons, teethers, toys, bumper mat etc, we only clean with hot/cool water/wipes.

Maybe also coz of what we've experienced lah. BIL's son, they stopped sterilizing once he hit 6 mths. Only use hot water to rinse etc. The boy is now 2 yrs old. He's been in and out of hospital and the clinics dunno how many times, for fever, stomach flu...even before he was 1. Whereas their #2, they sterilise till 1 yr (the boy just turned 1 yr), and he has only seen the doc once for fever coz his brother had fever then too. It could be that the older boy's constitution is just weak, but we decided that we will just play safe till she's 1 yr.

mash potato w carrot is one of my gal's fav foods. I've been feeding that to her since she started on her solids (a few days after intro baby cereal). Just introduced broccoli to her on Sunday. She gave the weird look on her face. hahahahaha. But she whacked up the whole lot during lunch yesterday (so I was told). Pumpkin soup is another favourite. heehee...never knew these vege could taste so yummy...

oh, the TV show was abt bb not drinking water before 6 mths right? After 6 mths can slowly start...Anyway, I only give water during meals, and little bit. Sometimes alternate with barley water. Think everything is in moderation lah. My fren's PD said, max is 60ml water per day (wah. how to quantify sometimes?) Then another PD says, glucose water not good, coz can lead to sweet tooth (???). Dunno lah. Just moderation...The research on the TV programme is in ang moh country. maybe their water souce there is not as clean, and their weather quite different. SG so hot and humid...dun drink a bit of water, dunno will get dehydrated or not? Hehs. So far, I never gave her during her 1st 6 mths, and she seems ok leh. heehee... :p

kitty_li

Oh hazuki,
u going with ryan right? so one of the major things to pack would be his diapers...but think Thailand shd be quite easy to find lah...horh? Cheap or not, dunno lah. My fren went Japan with her baby (then 4 mths). Thot Jap would have diapers. End up, (a) supermarkets not always open. close super early. (b) not all supermarkets sell diapers. Only certain ones. So she had to cheong to some supermarket just to buy diapers for her baby. Didn't know it would be so difficult to find diapers in Japan. hahaha.

crystalz

csi,

i feel so frustrated feeding my ger... she seems to lose interest in taking solid food lately... dunno y leh... i see my da sao bbs so good... can finish up the cereal within 10mins.. mine hor.. haizz.. half an hr oso can and didn't finish up the food i prepare for her. So sad and i use so much time doing the pureeing etc.. she only love water!!!

kitty_li

crystalz,
mine sometimes will show temperament also. take super long time to eat. and she'll keep "blowing" out her food (if u know what I mean). got 1 day, I got so frustrated, I scolded her. hahahaha. She just look at me and continue "blowing" her food. Pengz. I know how it feels manz, so sayang. Spend so much time, energy (and $$) to prepare the puree, but they dun want to eat. She dun eat, u eat lorh. haha. That's what I did. Babies also have their moods lah. We adults also sometimes dun feel like eating, or just want to eat little bit only. Think they also the same lah. When they get hungry, they will know how to cry, so I just feed milk lorh. Afterall, milk is still impt. Then whatever she dun finish, me and hb will eat it up. Her cereal also. At least we can say we know what she's eating and what it tastes like. hahaha.

Give her a while lah...go easy on her. You freeze ur purees in baby cubes? Maybe u defrost, but dun warm up the whole cube and dun scoop out all. Scoop out only some onto her bowl or whatever u can use to warm up the puree. Keep the remainder in the fridge. Then if she wants some more, then warm up again? I use a warming dish, so it's quite fast. Even if the cube is not totally warm enough yet (I put the cube in the bottle warmer or mug of hot water), I can still scoop out and continue "warming" on the dish. Then it's not like a long lag in between the servings.

oohh...taiwan. lots of yummy stuff to eat...

hazuki

CSI, wah.. taiwan. i wan go, but hb say hygiene stds not good. so better wait.. haha
u can lah. by then louise already 8mths...

i tested ryan yesterday... put water on spoon see if he is willing to open his mouth.. failed. haha
i shall wait patiently for him to be ready for solids.

sterilising
eh, i muz be a bad mommy... i seldom steri her teats & pacifiers.. only bottles r well sterilised as it's used to store BM. things tat he put in his mouth, i juz rinse then give him already. haha

jar food
i saw some organic brands can only store few mths... how come u saw those can store 1yr type? i believe those 1yr type sure got preservatives.. yes. then dun buy those bah..
as wat u said, puree n freeze.
if really necessary, bring cooler bag n frozen puree. in hotel, take out all the drinks n put ur cooler bag in fridge.. can last afew days bah...

kitty_li

hazuki,
I'm not going taiwan lah. it's crystalz. Me likely going Sentosa nia.....hahahahah.

Jar food
ok, maybe not 1 yr lah. but i meant like a few months. and those are not frozen ones. Coz even freshly-made frozen purees, can only last for 6 weeks. Too long also not good. So, I would think the jar ones would have some sort of natural preservatives to make it last a little longer.

yah lorh, that's why I say ley chey lorh. Got so many things to bring. Even if it's jar food, also got to lug to wherever. hehs. vs if baby can eat off the adult plate...wah, so much easier. hahahahaha.

ivied

hihi!
wow, now becomes mummy's topics.
I'm finally released. So good to be free. haha..

Pris, my baby is doing fine. Thanks. He weighs a whopping 5.4kg now. My hands and back ache after carrying him for a while. hee..

Just come to realise it is not that easy to go out alone with the baby at this initial stage. Imagine have to carry the baby, the big diaper bag, the stroller. Even handling the stroller takes some skills, especially going up and down the escalator. I'm practically at home most of the time now, partially also due to his insatisable appetite. Guess I need some time to learn how to manage.

Can't wait to see u all in our next gathering. If I can, maybe can meet up some of u for an impromptu lunch appt.

loink

CSI,

any puree recipe to share.. my girl seems interested in whatever we eat.. so far give her juice.. starting her on cereals soon..what brand is better?

kitty_li

hey Ivied,
heehee....released liao yah? hahahaha...

your arms will get used to it lah. Last time, 8kg was like "wah...so heavy ah". Now, 8kg...I can carry on one arm and still walk fast fast. hahahahaha. you'll get used to it.

I talk to HB abt slimming sessions or gym (<u>in case</u> I need), he says no need lah. You got one at home. Here, carry her. That's ur weight lifting for the day. hmph....

I think every stage also not easy to go out alone with baby. Just that you'll learn how to handle. hehs. Now, baby still so soft...will tend to feel "sayang" and hold tight tight. When baby can sit upright, u think easier, then it comes with all the other barang barang (food, teething toys etc). Coz by then, baby does not just eat and sleep anymore. hahaha.

Yah, see when u free, can come to town meet us for lunch. heehee...

Loinky,
erm, recipe ah. I just puree every vege lorh. hahaha. Carrots, swede, parsnips, broccoli, sweet potato, peas (super leh chey coz still must strain to rid of the pea skin), apples, pears, avocado, pumpkin. Basically, need to steam/boil (i.e. cook) them first before you puree. Except banana. Banana just mash and serve immediately. Cannot freeze. Fruits, after 8 mths, can start to give raw. Some start giving raw earlier, so up to individual bah...

Puree liaoz, then freeze in baby cubes or ice cube trays. I only mix BM into the purees when it's time to feed. Not when I'm going to freeze. So far, I've pureed and freezed single vege. Then when time to eat, warm up and mash 2 or 3 vege together.

re cereals, I give Healthy Times and Earth's Best. I bought Bellamy's, but haven't opened to try yet...coz my HT still not finished. Some say Bellamy's got smell...dunno. haha. I haven't tried yet. Eh, I have some samples of Nestle and Dumex stage 1 cereals. U want?

Think BTBs dun dare come into this thread liaoz....hahahahaha

Is Lena overseas?

hazuki

CSI: haha, i opp frm u.. raymond asked me if i wan slimming sessions. he was willing to pay. but i told him. i bf him day/nite. sole caregiver. no time for meals or toilet trips. plus Ryan already weighing 8kg as per 4mths... he's my free slimming session.
as ryan gains 1kg per mth, i'm losing 1kg per week... haha

our old gang seems to disappear liao...

it's still exciting to hear ppl getting married.. so BTBs, feel free to come in n chat wif us.

ivied: lunch sounds great... let me noe when u wanna go by raffles plc. count me in.

kokoyln

CSI - i also don know is so hard to find diaper in Japan thot Mommy Poko, Nepia r from there..

i agree, this thread become mommy/bb topics.. haha.. btw first time i heard abt freezing bb food and use when needed? wont it be stale then? i prefer to cook n finish on the same day.. can't fnish i will eat them.. i love baby food.. hehe.. CRYSTALZ, baby can get bored with having same food daily so vary them. agree with CSI, milk more impt. till now Jolie-4yrs still drink milk powder. HAZUKI, ryan spit out water from spoon may be due to not use to it. bb alwys bottle-feed, suddenly spoon-feed sure like tat.. v common.

oh.. if u mothers don mind chinese belief on food, when cook porridge, put in Gan Bei [sweetness], Dried Oyster [for strength], Lin Yu [a kind of white ikan billis - calcium], mince carrot, potato then use Threadfin fish [remove skin/bone].. double-boiled if can if not normal cooking... taste very good and nutritious [u will love it too]. you may wanna boil the gan bei, oyster, ikan billis first and strain them before putting the rice to cook.. Jolie eat this almost daily since she start solids.. her strength is powerful. imagine she climb out her cot ard 18mth n couldn't touch the floor so she hang herself using her hand for abt 15mins b4 my HB heard her wail from his slep.. now, don ever let her beat u ;)

kitty_li

koko,
that's what my fren and I thot also lorh. we thot mommy poko from Jap (actually from Thailand) and then there's Nepia and Goo.N. But end up, she say so difficult to find. hahaha.

Yup. can puree and then freeze. But I only prepare 1 week's worth (or rather, monday to friday's worth). Sat and Sun is fresh ones. heehee...coz I also think it's not too good to freeze for so long. Fresh food better lah.

My chinese very bad...what is Gan Bei?????? Dried scallops? heee....but seafood can be allergenic right? Aiyah, we got family history of allergies...think that one better wait till later to give.

Wah, Jolie so strong ah...

madames

Errr, just a curious question, when puree-ed foods are frozen and then heated up again, wouldn't the food get soggy coz the ice has to melt somewhere right?

kokoyln

CSI - ya GanBei is dried scallop. if yr fam has allergies history then u may just test it out 1st.

I think Lance is busy getting ready.. haha

Huey - haha.. i'm not sure if it will get soggy..

Oh Ya - BTBs, pls join us also I need u all to update me on new bridal styles.. hehe..

kitty_li

huey,
pureed food are already soggy (after pureeing). Soft and all mashy. So when melt, it goes back to that same state lorh. Sometimes, when pureeing, may need to add water/cooking liquid to get the right consistency...so when that melts, yup, it'll be the water first and there's this chuck of semi-solid in it's melted state. So gotta mix together. Then it's back to its pureed state. Not soggy per se lah. heehee...afterall, it's meant to be soft soft...hehs.

loveangel

CSI &amp; Koko: My mom also made that type of porridge for my little sis when she was a baby! She hardly fell sick and always finished every single spoonful!

2 more weeks to our gathering!!!

kitty_li

eh, just had a thot...those gan bei, dried oyster, lin yu...they are dried foods right? aren't they salty? High salt content also not good for baby...so how does ur mum do it?

madames

CSI, u can soak the gan bei for a longer time before cooking. As for lin yu, I suppose its the small ikan bilis-like silver fish. Do not use the preserved ones. Its laden with salt. Get the fresh ones (they look translucent) from the wet market or NTUC (though may not be so fresh). Lin yu makes very nice porridge.