Hainanese Brides, anyone???

kokoyln

millkyway : ya i hav a full admin job n am a freelance MUA. i don talk much abt it here cos i don u all to think i'm in for biz.. but of cos u can ask me skincare n makeup questions anytime. i'll b glad to help..

hazuki - wat i know is if bb know tat in mirror is his/her image, it show the smartness. the reflection thingy i told u is just a chinese myth..

Ivied, u better rest more as in lie down fully/w support not semi-lie down nor sit w/out proper support. the impact don come now but later esp when preg w 2nd one. sadly i don listen so now i suffer..

YOu mean F1 will be hold next year as well?? my compnay bought 10 corporate tix which boss said willl rotate among us during the 3 days. i wonder if i hav chance to watch.. hehe..

Lena no fullerton, how abt St. Regis?

milkyway18

oh... kokoyln, u r a MUA... okok was thinking of getting another MUA for my mum, mil and sis... haben decide on it yet... mayb can get ur service? haha... do u mind sending me ur package details?

wow.. st regis is expensive!!! but heard it's beautiful... mine will be held at The Sentosa... can consider that if dont mind a small cosy wedding and off the main island lor...

Lena, my advice is to ACT FAST!! really have to be kiasu for this leh... otherwise really dont have much choice left... i was like that... not ks enuff lor...

kokoyln

milkway - hahaha.. St-REgis is expensive.. i suggest tat cos it is a latest & hottest hotel in town now.. my collic went to stay 1 nite n say their spa, food so so only ..
do u mean The Sentosa Resort? tat is ex too right? my uncle held his there and pay 1k per table. For ambience, it is worth it..

u can visit my website www.kylnbeaute.com for more details..

milkyway18

yah i mean The Sentosa Resort & Spa... cos i'm left with not much choice mah... all mainland hotels are taken up.. and my bridal shop also told me my date is an auspicious date...

hazuki

loinky: me also... i so kiasi abt my boy, i did everything myself... i already suffering the impact of lower back pain. chiropractic say tat my lower spine is not well aligned. i need to go for therapeutic massage to realign it. very ex... so i decided to leave it alone n juz bear the pain occasionally...

rilo82

Hi mais, i am compiling my wedding invite list for my AD this 13 Sep 2008 and i am inviting all of you to attend. The venue is at Holiday Inn Parkview. May i know who is interested to come? Will send an email to follow-up on this. Hope to hear from you all soon!
:D

twinkle02

csi: ya.. i oredi cut out all marina area hotels.. cos sure got road blocks and hotel rates will be high for the 'predicted F1'..

milkway & kokoyln: ya.. we have shorted hilton and regent.. after seeing so many.. we have decided on regent.. more exclusive and grand.. and both are available for our size..
tonite gonna sign the contract with regent..

lance: thanks for inviting.. but my rom is 14/09/08.. so dun think can attend.. u enjoy yr big day as a lovely bride ya.. ;)

cheers,
lena

ivied

hee.. well, I'm in here again.

I took a short nap and sneak in to get online. It is really terrible without getting myself updated!

Well, my MIL's rational is that next time will spoil the eyes. I was like huh??? Anyway, CSI is right. I believe she wans me to rest more instead of focusing on other stuff when breastfeeding itself is not an easy task already.

Anyway, will keep u all updated again. I shall be at the next gathering in July!

Lance, I think I can attend your wedding.

BTW, havent 'see' our old clan in here for a while. What has happened to Huiz, Nellie, Li Ann, Stacy, Sherrie? I seem to lose track liao.

kitty_li

lena...
heehee...Lance is our one and only "ah kor" in here...but I'm sure he dun mind being called a bride.
It's ok lah. u didn't know mah. hehs.

erm, ok, so what will happen with #2 if sit alot during #1 confinement?? back ache?

happyhen

I'm new here and woah... its amazing to find so many hainanese gals here.
I'm also pure hainanese but my bf is not. Seems like there are not many hainanese-hainanese marriages anymore.

Can anyone advise on Hainanese customs? What's needed? My bf is Shanghainese, but the family doesnt follow much traditions. In fact, they don't have family name book either. Want to find out so can prepare in advance...

Also, another question... is it true that Hainanese look alike? My bf mentioned that when I brought him to eat at this SteamBoat place in Goldenmile Theatre that the people there all look alike... esp the eyes.

I also agree that Hainanese are good cooks. My great grandfather on my mum's side is also a cook!

madames

Wahahah! Ivy, I am still hanging round here. It's just that my existence had been "ghostly" recently, i.e leaving no footprints here.

Very glad to know that we can all see u in July. Would u be bringing Baby Z? I am so gian to see handsome boy in person.... hehehe

Welcome happyhen! A couple of us here are pure (like me! hahah!) but very few of the other halves are Hainanese too. I don't think there is a pair where both are pure Hainanese. The closest we have is either both are halves or one is pure and the other is a half.

And yes Lance, I'll be there for your wedding.

hazuki

ivied: me also like huey.. seldom leave footprints here... only browsing occasionally...
most r busy i think... shld we be shifting the thread to singapore motherhood hainanese mothers instead? haha

lena: keke, lance became *bride* haha... i'm sure he wun mind..

lance: i'm gg to ur wedding.

happyhen

So many of u gals already mums.
congrats to u gals.

i'm only now planning for wedding... dunno when then will be my turn.. hahaha.

madames

Hazuki, not everyone here is a Mum so we have to be fair to everyone and keep ourselves at where we are and not move to anywhere else la. We can still talk about anything here, can't we?

kokoyln

haha.. i also laugh madly abt Lance being a lovely bride.. ;)
I'm very happy today cos i will be Ah Yee tomor.. my sis will give birth to a hainanese boy tomor.. so coincidence tat both our hubbies are hainanese..

milkyway: ya i had both certifications.. it has alwys been my interest..

Lena - Regent not bad too.. my poly prom nite n hub D&D was there.. Food not bad..

Lance, i don think i can attend yr wedding cos my due date is 4 Oct.. too close..

ivied - fun being mother??

CSI - ya backache lo.. my #2 preg no problem but bodyache here n there. my left bum has a sprained feeling.. quite painful when getting up from a lying position. even caroline said my body is weaker than #1.. haiz

anyone been to Batam or Bintan? which resort has clean beach and not so.. thot of going for a wkend getaway..

twinkle02

lance: oops.. i'm so so sorrie.. for my mistake.. :p

csi, hazuki: thanks for letting me know.. so embrassing.. :p

kokoyln: yeah.. we finally decided on regent.. cos of the ambience, food, ballroom and carpark.. overall.. we prefered regent to hilton cos regent's ballroom is in better 'shape'.. no big blocking pillars and more carpark space as compared to 90 lots (shared by 2~3 ballrooms).. and regent got good food.. cos they share the same cusine as four seasons.. some reknown banquet chefs..
so happie and relieved tat we finally settled the AD venue.. haha.. now can fully concentrate on my ROM in sept.. and set aside AD for now.. :D

thanks for all your advices ya..

cheers,
lena

madames

Hey Kokoyln, try Mayang Sari if u are planning to go for a quiet and peaceful getaway. However, if u are looking at a more family oriented kinda place, then can try Nirwana Resort Hotel. It has more facilities for the family. The former only has a beach, which is very serene and clean.

twinkle02

i'm actually looking for some nice wedding shoes for my upcoming ROM.. any recommendation? nice and reasonable priced?

cheers,
lena

madames

Hi lena, I got 2 outta my 3 wedding shoes from Tangs Studio. I like their stuff as the designs suit me well. Moreover, they are rather reasonably priced

kitty_li

koko,
ooh...ok. hmmm, but my bum (sometimes left side, soemtimes right side) has been having that sprained/aching feeling since my 1st trimester. Till today, sometimes still get it. Haiz. At first, gynae said it's due to the hip bone shifting, ligaments are losen coz of change in hormones. Now, it's still due to hormones (coz still BF, so hormones are still different - something like that lah). Even my knee joints ache now, but only when i have to get up from a squatting position. Dunno lah. One thing for sure...the body is very different from before liaoz. Dun think it will ever go back to be the same anymore.

Lena,
I got my EG shoes from Tangs Studio.

milkyway18

Hi Lena,

You can try Anna Nucci at Far East Plaza... there are lots of bling bling shoes... but they are all too high-heeled for me... keke

hazuki

CSI: ya.. my body also very different liao.. not sure if it's true abt the confinement thingy or is tat i din eat calcium tablets...
my fingers n knees r very painful. joint pain. i believe it's more of lack of calcium. but i dare not tell anyone cause i scared they say *i told u so*... lolz

twinkle02

thanks for all your advices..

huey & csi: yeah, i saw the shoes at tangs studio.. i like their simple yet 'sparking' designs as well.. and as u mentioned.. they are reasonably priced..
i've shortlisted this for my 2nd visit with my FH..

hazuki: great.. i'll keep a lookout for Vivi..
i think its the same shop at citylink rite?

sherrie: i went nuvo few times le.. maybe lately they havent got too many 'bling bling' designs.. but like u.. i love the dimantle ones..
thanks..

milkyway18: ya.. my fren olso recommended that shop.. one at habourfront and another at far east.. went to both shops.. their shoes looks good.. but quite ex.. :p haha.. but ok la.. now got GSS.. i think there's some sales going on again.. but like u say lor.. their shoes are very high-heeled.. :p

cheers,
lena

kokoyln

CSI, hazuki : haiz.. wat to do.. we lost so much nutrients after childbirth. must "pu" back

u all keep talking abt shoes make me 'Gian'. i love heels n i don lower than 3inches.. if u work at Raffles Place, there's a shoe shop in clifford ctr, beside Rachel B [another shoe shop] sell many nice heels too.. comfy. but now i can't wear heel daily if not my hub will scold me upside down..

hazuki

lena: i got mine frm vivocity VIVI... tat time newly opened. got it during GSS also.

koko: my waist is very painful. can't get down frm bed w/o support. i went chiropractic once, they say my spine not well aligned. how?

madames

Hullo everyone,

Just dropping a note to bid everyone a short farewell before I fly off to London and Cardiff tonight. Till we meet in July (or here again in the forum) take care and have fun!

madames

Haha, ya, Pet, I have armed myself with extra camera chips and batts liao. have a camcorder too. So expect me to be like the typical Sg/Jap tourist snapping away all the time ;-P

kokoyln

hazuki, if chiropractic said yr spine not well aligned, i think u shld take not n visit another one to get another advice.. spine issue is something not to be taken lightly.. it affect our daily life.. i also tot of after birth, chk out my spine..

hazuki

keke, huey.. so juz nice when u come back, we can see ur video n pics liao...

koko: any recommendations? really damn painful now. i practically have to hold my waist while walking/bending & getting off frm bed.

kokoyln

Hazuki.. i know a hainanese old chiropractic but he stay in AMK.. my MIL alwys goes to him.. maybe too far for u.. if u wanna claim medical, i wld recommend Eu Yan Seng.. they are registered TCM so can trust.. if not Zhong Hwa TCM also can.. i don really recommend western doc cos i feel they will only ask u go x-ray then physio.. but seeking both docs will b good for your assurance..

btw did u do post natal massage? don remember u mention abt it? maybe your pain is due to fatique..

hazuki

koko: i nv do massage. they say need to wait 3mths then can do. my boy juz turned 3mths 1.5wks ago.. so i'm exploring my options now...
TCM can claim meh?

give me the amk contact. i'll decide if i'm gg there for check first. thks

kokoyln

hilo Hazuki, who tell u after 3mth then can massage??? u c-section right? after 3wk or 1mth u can do post natal massage liao.. those natural birth one can start after 7days.. Call Caroline @ 96806422, she's my massuae for yrs and i recommend to Lynette too. u can chk w lynette if she's feel good..
TCM with EU Yan Sang can claim.. they give proper recipt "w GST some more". my hub claim b4 when he sprain his wrist.
AMK one is blk 500+.. when u wanna go u let me know cos i need to chk w my MIL for the add..

loveangel

Pet: Ya, Koko is right. Post-natal massage can be done as soon as a few days after delivery (if natural birth)!!! Better go see a doc/phyisicial soon...spinal pain & misalignment is no joke. Pls take care ok?

Koko: I went to Bintan & stayed at Mayang Sari when i was about 10 weeks pregnant. It's very relaxing and the beach is clean. Do you intend to bring Jolie? Then you may want to consider Nirwana Resort Hotel or Bintan Lagoon Resort cos they have more facilities esp for kids.

Lena: A bit late in posting but i bought my wedding heels from URS & Lucieno (at Taka).

Lance: Of course i'll be there!
Have told you via MSN that time...

CSI: I also experience that pain since i got pregnant. Some days worse than other days. It helps if i sit with my legs elevated & stretched out. Posture is super important nowadays if not i'll feel pain.

Ivy: How are you & Baby Z?? Must take good care & nourish your body well.

kitty_li

aiyoh...so sleepy these days. funny...after starting on solids, Baby L starts to wake up in the middle of the night crying for milk. So strange. Before solids, slept right through. haiz...

Yah, Caroline is good....I always K.O. while she's doing the massage for me. hahahaha. So pai sey manz. But, it shows how tired I was, and how good she is. Do until I so shiok, doze off. hahaha. With her, I lost a couple of inches off the tummy 2-3 weeks after delivery. heehee...

Pris,
Hazuki had c-sect...so she had to wait a while more before she can do massage...

twinkle02

hi pris,

of cos its not too late.. i still have wedding shoes to buy ma..

anyway.. thanks to all.. i found something that i really liked at tangs studio..
but i will KIV the rest of the suggested places for my wedding shoes..

thanks..

cheers,
lena

kitty_li

just read that the 7-storey hotel near bugis junction will be torn down to make way for the Downtown Line...that's the one that has the makan place that is run and owned by Hainanese right?

Was that the place you all had the 1st meet up (yah, I still remember that day 2 yrs ago...I was supposed to turn up, but did not manage to...)

kokoyln

Pris - thks for the bintan recommendation, i hav to postpone my holiday cos Jolie is unwell..

CSI - is ok to sleep during massage, in fact u r suppose to.. it mean u r enjoying the full beneits of massage.
ya that 7-storey hotel is closing.. heng i prefer steamboat at golden mile...

hazuki - i guess u go see the chirop today.. how is it?

madames

Hello everyone. I'm back with tons of dust from the sooty London air. Nevertheless, it was a very fun and eye-opening trip. Despite the minor hiccup on the last day with me down with gastric and migraine (dunno why the former also especially when I religiously ate all my meals), it was sad to leave the comfy summer for the stifling heat here.

Taken tons of photos. Allow me sometime to sort them out before sharing

hazuki

koko: damn painful... i think the rubbing n twisting is worst than labour... haha

now my back feels like blue black ache... but not extreme pain liao...

welcome back huey... u muz had lots of fun there...

loveangel

Pet: How is your back? Better?

Huey: Can't wait to see your pics!

Koko: I hope Jolie is better...don't worry and i'll pray for her too. Btw, is Caroline your massage after you gave birth? Does she wrap the tummy up?

CSI: Yep, that place where we had steamboat is closing down to make way for the Downtown Line MRT. It's quite sad...another nostalgic place in SG will be gone.

hazuki

pris: very much better. but because i was still carrying Ryan immed after massage, it kinda remove partial of the effect... plus i m nursing now, so i can't eat TCM medi.

kokoyln

hazuki - so u went to see the Chirop i recommended? during treatmen sure pain but now u shld feel much more relieve right? how much u pay?

Pris - ya Caroline is my massue for many years way before i hav Jolie. she will wrap up tummy but not legs cos she said it is not good for circulatory esp after chldbirth.. i like her v much.. CSI n Ivied are also engaging her for massage.. hehe