Hainanese Brides, anyone???

jasmeo

Hihi ladies!! I am Hainanese bride too..big day in Sept. Veri excited over it, juz joined this happening forum sometime ago, then came across this topic. Now then I realised so many hainanese in spore. Seldom get to meet hainanese in wrkplace/sch....=)cheers to all Hainanese BTB...

loveangel

Pet: I think Huey has a very valid point. It may not be very advisable to bring Ryan along for this trip.

Koko: When is Michelle due? Is yours a bb boy or gal?

May - Ivy
June -
July -
Aug -
Sept - Janf
Oct - Kokoyln
Nov -
Dec - Pris

hazuki

hihi jing xuan... congrats to u. welcome!

kokoyln

hi Jing Xuan, welcome to our group. we r a bunch of fun-loving BTB, MTB..

Pris : Michelle shld b due in Nov. I'm having a boy.. i post his scan on my blog.. http://toontoonkoko.blogspot.com

CSI, Loinky : hav u tried mash potato with mash brocoli or carrot.. brocolli taste nice while carrot will taste sweet. add abit of milk to thin the consistency.. jolie love tat when she's young. i love it too...

MTB Table Chart
May - Ivy
June -
July -
Aug -
Sept - Janf
Oct - Kokoyln
Nov - Michelle
Dec - Pris

jasmeo

Thk u hazuki..u r a hainanese too hor.. when is ur wedding?
Congratz to all MTB too... hainanese babies to come along =) hope all haf smooth delivery n healthy baby!

kitty_li

Pet,
that's what I meant when I asked if u bringing Ryan...haha. Coz boat ride will be bumpy etc.

Hi Jing Xuan,
Welcome!

hahaha...er, think hazuki will be telling u that her wedding anniversary is coming up. heehee...

koko,
yah...i'll be puree-ing sweet potato this weekend. Slowly lah. just started her on the baby rice only. Probably introducing her to potato, carrot next week. hehs...

madames

Welcome Jing Xuan! It's so nice to see more people joining this group. Do "visit" everyone here often

Yah Pet, one more thing about the boat is that there is no proper gangway for boarding like cruise ships. Gotta literally "jump" from the stone steps to the boats bobbling on the water. Miss one step and into the water u go! I am sure none of us wanna see u taking this risk!

kokoyln

loinky, Friso is suitable for baby weaning at 4mth. but i can't remeber is rice based or wheat cereal based. u read the info stated on the tin. jolie start w tat at 4mth. however i will only recommend 1 tablespoon serving daily and provided baby does not hav any stomach issue since birth.. if not wait till 5-6mth or feed only 2-3x weekly. starting don add other ingredient just the rice will do. if i'm not wrong, other brand will state start frm 6mths. but i love Friso cos they taste n smell good..
When jolie is 6mth, i start to give her baby yogurt.. the brand Yogen frun [think spell like tat] is suitable for baby.

Lance, u haven take PS? i tot like finish long time ago liao.. enjoy.. can b tiring..

loveangel

Lance: Your PS seems a bit late!!! Your AD is in Sept right? Nvm...i'm sure BC will be able to get things done for you. How did your PS go? Where did you guys go in the end for your outdoor shoot? Must update us!

Koko: Whoo, Jolie will have a baby bro! Hee...have you thought of a name yet?
I still dunno the sex of my baby...i went for a checkup 2 days ago. Gynae said probably will only know at the next appointment.

I saved your blog URL. I have one too but you'll need an account to read cos some of my entries are not public. (http://prisc.livejournal.com)

Jing Xuan: Welcome!

kitty_li

loinky,
try not to give so early. best is wait till after 6 mth. But if cannot wait, like baby keeps crying for milk even after a full feed, wakes up in the middle of the night for milk (that was how Louisa was like a couple of weeks back...I tong until I cannot tong already...hahaha. Imagine, every night wake up at 3am for milk, when she's been sleeping right through since 1 mth lorh...), and baby is near 6 mths, then shd be ok to start a bit...but milk is still the main food for baby. I started Louisa when she's 24 weeks. heehee...technically 6 mths. hahahahaha. But only 2 tsp of baby rice cereal. heehee...

charma97

Hi Huey and all,

So sorry for the late reply. Was quite busy recently. Well, here is a brief intro of me.

I am a Nov BTB. I am a Hainanese while my hubby is a Teochew. Feeling abit tense as the wedding is getting nearer and nearer..

Congrats to all the MTBs and BTBs!! Kudos to Hainanese!!

poseidon_gal

charma97, me same as u..i'm a hainanese and my SO is a teochew..

are u going to follow the teochew custom of getting married before the sun rise??

charma97

Hi poseidon,

What does SO means??

I not sure leh.. my FH said maybe.. coz we have not discuss till that part.. when is your AD?

charma97

Oic... Both parents just met for ti qing today.. Discuss minor stuffs only..

Now waiting for my FIL to choose the date for GDL and an chuang and timing for my AD..

milkyway18

hi... my FH also teochew... do we follow the bride's side custom or groom's side custom for the AD?

Apparently my FH and me didn't discuss with our parents and we decide on the timing that my MUA will be coming to my place... cos she's a hot fav so must booked her early. In fact i'll be her 2nd bride for that day.. so the earliest she can come to my place is 7am leh... :p

so if have to follow my FH's custom, ie teochew, then... oppss!

charma97

Hi Milkyway18, I tot normally is follow the groom's custom?? But if your in laws not so traditional, just find the timing which is good for both of you.

kokoyln

PRis, i have christian name aredy - JOVAN, mean God is Gracious or God Gift.. but chinese name.. i'm hving a big headache..

Poseidon, leaving hse on wedding day b4 sunrise can be quite siong.. my mom is teochew but luckily she din ask to follow teochew custom but only ask for SDJ..

hilo to newbie BTBs.. i'm not sure abt hainanese customs but Huiz n nellie shld b able to help.. my in law are hainanese but even they don know wat the custom so end up we jsut do wat usual chinese does..

hazuki

congrats to ivy... ya, waited a long time for baby Z to arrive...

jing xuan: yup, my wedding anniversary is coming up.. haha..
i'm a mother to a 3mth of baby boy.

CSI: ryan drinking lots recently... starting to chew on my brts liao... any solution? he nurses to slp... otherwise he dun slp.

loveangel

Congrats to Ivy & her family...it's a long-awaited baby! So glad that both mommy & son are fine.

Koko: I went to your blog & saw the name of your baby.
My hubby & i have agreed on the English name...now just must wait to see boy or gal. As for Chinese name, will leave it to the ILs cos they said must let geomancer calculate.

My NT scan & blood test results are out. Baby is considered extremely low risk for Down's Syn. *phew* Can sleep well at night...my gynae said no need for further testing.

poseidon_gal

both my parents are hainanese and both my SO parents are teochew...so who's custom to follow..

I dont know much abt hainanese customs..can anyone enlighten me??

kokoyln

Ivied, congrats to you & family.. now u must be having bundle of joy..

Pris - yes chinese name follow family book so my son has to be call Mo Cui XX.. is Fei Cui de CUI so i'm having big headache.. i hope the geomacy can give me nice manly name if not u all ah mais can help me think of some characters so i can chk with the geomancy..
yeah slep well.. i done w all my tests so i can slep well too..

kitty_li

hazuki,
yah, it's like that...Baby L also bite and chew me a few times. Sometimes very hard! so painful ah...there was once, she did that and I almost slapped her in the face (reflex action mah. wanted to *piak* the cheek, why u bite me?) hahaha.

But had to control. hit the bed (that time sitting on the bed) instead. Then I scolded her lorh. Firm voice, a bit raised, told her not to do it again. But she still do. So each time she does that, will have to scold her.

Then sometimes, when scold her, she'll stop feeding, look at me.....and smile / chuckle. Wah lau! Pengz manz...hahaha...coz u really dunno whether to laugh or to get angry. But whatever pain from the biting definitely goes away when I see her smile as I scold her. Like she's saying "heee...I bite u. Heeee.....yummy". muahahha

yah, prisc, koko,
rest well...

hazuki

CSI: haha, ya manz... when i scold ryan, he'll open eye big big n stare at me.. then stop feeding n chuckle also... sickening rite... babies can get away wif anything... by smiling... haiz...
we mummies r such suckers.
btw, i'm slp latching, i realised tat my waist is killing me... tat time i went to chiropractic clinic, she say my spine alittle dislocated.. i'm not sure if because of the epi or due to straining...

koko: CUI as middle name? wahh, very girly leh.. u definately have headache finding name for ur boy. haha

pris: update us on gender ya?

poseidon: it's up to u both. for me, we follow both.. mine is hokkien + hainanese. so it's easier..
urs is teochew. so if the male side is ok wif after morning bride fetching, then u can follow both except tat part.. if not then u gotta discuss wif ur parents liao.

mosburger

hi all, long time no @@

congratz to all MTBs! so exciting to @@ e family growing!

koko: what abt 翠安? 翠�
try google search with keywords "姓å大全"

mosburger

koko: ç¿  has very good meaning with some idea of 'strength'.

i've an grand-uncle with this word in his name too. who knows we might be far relatives. :p

kokoyln

Thks mosburger. i tot of 翠安 too.. i will google on the keyword u mentioned..

Hazuki, ya lo.. so girly..

poseidon, i agree w hazuki, so long both of u n parents r happy, any custom is fine.. the most impt is both stay loving alwys right..

loveangel

Mosburger: Enjoy your trip!!!

Koko: Cui An sounds good!

I think for my hub's side...the next one should be Ting...as in family that Jia1 Ting2. So my baby will be Wu Ting XX. Must double check with the family book again cos FIL said he's not sure too. Haha...

CSI & Pet: So cute...both your babies will chuckle when scolded.

Poseidon: Nowadays, i think most families are not very strict about following the guy's side. Hmm, you really have to discuss with both sides' parents & come to an agreement.

poseidon_gal

thanks all for the advice..
havent talk to my parents or my SO's parents..
but then we (my SO and I) are not keen at all with the super early morning teochew arrangement..
My SO's parents are very traditional...soo. that might be a problem..will see how it goes lah..thanks..

ivied

Hi hi! I'm back online!

Thanks for all the well wishes. Both mama and baby are discharged from hospital today. And this sparks the start of my confinement.

Just to update, baby is called Zachary Xu Rui Jie. 许ç¿å€¢ He weighs 3.78kg and 50cm long. So far he is doing fine, but he is too lazy to suck. He can fall asleep after 10mins of latching on. *faint*

Just to say hi to all the new ah mai! Wish u all the best in your wedding planning. Enjoy the best of it.

I wont be coming in for the next few weeks. (MIL said cannot look at computer screen or TV during confinement)

So 'see' u all after 4 weeks!

hazuki

weird tradition? cannot view tv or computer screen...
i think i'll die of boredom if no TV... keke

take care, ivied... cya after ur confinement..

milkyway18

alamak.. if i have to follow my FH's (teochew) ceremony, then my plans will be screwed... my MUA can only come earliest 7am... and if really have to be wee hrs then there will be additional charges for MUA, PG, VG... so me and my FH hope not... keke... at least now my FH is in this together with me... keke... he say dont have to ask his mum whether it will be early wee hrs, we just decide and tell her after that... hope things are smooth-sailing

kokoyln

ivied - not that u can't see TV screen or pc screen but NOT to bring yr bb see thing tat is reflective cos chinese believe tat bb once see the reflection of the one who carry him, he will stick to the person.. if u carry him see mirror then future other care-taker may hav trouble looking after him

milkyway - paying surcharge is no joke.. come to think abt it, i shld re price my rate liao.. haha... hope u get wat u want

HEY big news
my hubby said that casuarina prata is unhygenic. they pour leftover curry back to their main pot and serve others. he din see it himself but his friends heard it and they went to observe. they saw tat some leftover are pour back some not.. yeeeeeeeee.. yucky..

twinkle02

hello ladies..

sorrie.. have been on MIA for awhile.. cos gotten into a new job.. super bz catching up at work.. and of cos.. preparing my ROM tis sept.. while.. hunting for banquets for my AD next year sept.. finally decided on 20/09/09.. so.. gotto be 'quick' to book a hotel to host my guest.. cos its a hot date.. and quite a lot of hotels are snapped.. :p headache man.. haha..

cheers,
lena

milkyway18

Hi kokoyln, up ur price? are u a MUA, PG or VG?

we didn't want to incur unnecessary charges lor so hope we can use that as an excuse if MIL complains.... keke

Hi Lena, better start early and book now since i think 20/09/09 is a hot date... i have problems finding my banquet for yr end cos i started only this yr after CNY but lucky manage to find it at sentosa... but gotta compromise on fewer tables... but we love the place and it's a meaningful place also...

hazuki

koko: isit? wah, i tot really cannot watch tv.. then how to spend time? keke... but i already see mirror while carrying ryan liao
cause the baby books say shld let bb see his own reflection so he can coordinate his limbs well earlier...

regarding the prata
it's considered old news already... i've heard abt it since last yr.. on the sgbrides thread.. i seldom eat prata.. hengz. keke
but ppl still go n eat leh...

milkyway: sure kenna extra charges de. cause midnite charge for taxi fare n slp depriving time...

lena: ya. hot date... easy to remember mah.

kitty_li

ivied,
hehs...by the time u see this, it's 4 weeks later. I think also coz ur MIL dun want u to tire yourself out lah. She wants u to rest. Usually when at comp, we tend to ignore our tiredness mah, and the same when we're watching a good programme on TV. how tired, we'll still continue to watch till it ends. hahaha.

Oh, I my fren's baby gal's name has the same "Rui" as your boy...I think that's a unique "Rui"...

Pris, your baby will do the same too lah...heehee...then u'll really na2 ta1 mei2 ban4 fa3.

twinkle02

milkyway & hazuki: ya.. i din even know its the 'easy to remember' date till one of the hotel coordinators told me its 20092009.. haha.. cos its a date from the alamac and 2 days after my FH's bd..
hmm.. hope i can get a hotel tat we really like and fits our requirement.. thou.. its a pity i cant get fullerton.. cos they blocked all weekends for sept for the 'predicted f1 2009' in SG.. :p

cheers,
lena

kitty_li

lena,
those ard the marina bay area may be a bit difficult, coz of the F1. Esp ur AD is 1 week before the supposed F1 race date. But you gotta quickly decide lorh. otherwise, the orchard area ones are probably going to be full too...