Hainanese Brides, anyone???

zapzap

Hi new ah mais & Loinky,

Huey is organising another Hainanese Clan gathering since our CNY one.

Date: 26th July 2008
Time: 6pm
Venue : Her place

Please join us!

madames

Added info: My place is in Hougang. Please drop me a PM for my address if you would like to join us

hazuki

loinky: my boy also drank mamex @ birth. now on TBF.

yay!! looking forward to gathering... all e babies n toddlers...

madames

Aiyo hazuki, not yet toddlers la... think other than Jolie who is already a preschooler, the others haven started crawling yet right?

kitty_li

by the gatering, yah...baby would be into her 8th month (7mths and 18 days). hahaha. Shd be crawling by then lah. she just started flipping like, 3 weeks back. then, haven't learnt to flip back yet, or flip from the other side (now only flipping from the right side), she wants to crawl already. She's been sticking her butt up and pushing her feet, like trying to move forward. hahahaha. quite funny...

loinky,
yah, she drank Mamex at birth (supplemented with FM lah, coz was waaaay too tired to TBF in hospital. I salute those who can TBF all the way while in hospital...). then TBF till now lorh.

PD said before, if no poo for 6 days straight, start worrying. more than 1 week, panic. 4 to 5 days, still ok...since your gal is on FM, give her more water in between? It may help her bowel movements...

I stay in the west...Upper Bt Timah, near Bt Batok / Hillview area / Rail Mall.

madames

Yes Lance, at the moment, 13 (including the host... haha) have confirmed attendance. So along with their other half and kiddos, there should be about 26 people.

madames

Hi charma97,

Welcome welcome! Of course u can join in
We are rather active here so you are always welcomed into our midst. How about letting us know more about you?

loveangel

Huey: If my hubby can make it for the gathering, i'll tell you at least 2 weeks beforehand ok?
Thanks once again for hosting everyone.

Pet: Ya, no toddlers yet...all still babies, except for Pre-schooler Jolie.
I'm looking forward to see Baby Ryan!

kokoyln

hehe so long din login, now the thread has mixture of baby and wedding topics.. Will we talking abt what preschool or enrichment class to send our kids to soon ??? ;)

CSI, is yr gal still having white patch on the gum? baby altho without teeth must 'brush' daily. just monitor the white patch, it can become ulcer. how to brush, u can use damp cotton gauze swipe or just cotton cloth. u may keep bonjela in fridge n apply a little to massage baby's gum. that will help ease the teething soreness. First Teeth toothpaste can use when teeth appear. Jolie also use this cos kid shld never use toothpaste that contain flouride.

btw, how are we settling the food for the gathering? someone order and then divide accordingly like the past?

Hilo to all the newbies that just join our gang.. self-intro - i'm the most blur in the gang cos I keep mixing up some of their names. Always call wrong person. Think preg make my memory fails.. hehe

madames

There's actually one Hainanese catering out there. I used them for my AD last year. Their food is quite special, like they offer chicken rice instead of plain white ones and they even have kong bak pau.

luvz17

Hi to all Hainanese Brides & BTBs,
Need to check with you all in regards to custom.

For GDL, do we follow the bride's or groom's custom?

For An Chuang, what's to prepare? Is it true that we cannot sleep on the bed before an chuang? My mum told me that we still can sleep on it as long as we don't push the bed to the wall. My MIL says cannot sleep at all..

For AD, anymore custom to follow? My MIL told me that we have to go back to his home soon after we leave our new home. Bt my mum told me, to return to groom's house 3 days later..

Sorry for asking so many questions... really torn between my mum n MIL.

madames

Hi luvz17,

Are u and/or your husband-to-be Hainanese?

For my GDL, I followed most of the guy's customs coz they are the people buying us the stuffs. My side did however ask for the usual things like cakes and wine.

For an chuang, its usually getting ready a new set of bedsheet to put on the mattress with the help of a happily married elder. After this, place a tray of red dates, peanuts, dried longans (not sure) and kua chee (not sure too)together with an ang pow in the middle of the bed.

I am not so sure about the exact rules of sleeping on the bed before AD but I personally would prefer not to until the AD.

As for AD, I am also not sure about the 100% correct order of going to whose house first but I would think the more rightful and respectful way is for him to fetch u (from your parents' place) to his house for the tea ceremony first. Then go back to your Mum's place for the ceremony and finally to your new house.

Usually new brides will return to their own parents' place (niang2 jia1) 3 days after the wedding is over.

loink

'Usually new brides will return to their own parents' place (niang2 jia1) 3 days after the wedding is over.'

I totally forgot abt it and i went home the next day.. haha..

luvz17

Hi Huey:
My hubby is hainanese, I am cantonese.

I have told him what we ask for, what is the purpose for the cakes thingy? Am I right to say that we will not receive any si dian jin?

I am concerned about the sleeping on the bed thing coz we will be moving into our new home in aug/ sep and our wedding is in Dec. Who will buy those besheet/ red dates/ peanuts etc?

As for AD, my initial plan is fetch me (from my parents' plc), to his plc for tea ceremony, new home (since it is nearby), then to hotel for my family tea ceremony.

Now he told me that that we have to head back to his place for lunch (full meal) before we can go off to the hotel. MIL said it is Hainanese custom to come back and eat lunch. I am not sure how true it is.

Oh..I got it wrong then. I thought we will go back to Groom's house 3 days later. Are we supposed to go back groom's house after wedding?

madames

Hi luvz17,

My situation is opposite from yours, with me being the Hainanese instead.

In my case, I had no si dian jin coz I think this is an custom that originated from the Teochew/Hokkien and gradually adopted by other dialect groups.

I think its not so particular as to who buys the things for an chuang?

Wow, I really haven't heard of going back to the groom's house for lunch as a Hainanese custom. Perhaps this could be true but not really practised nowadays?

Traditionally in olden days, the bride will stay with the groom's family after marriage and the bride returns to her own family 3 days after the wedding with lotsa gifts to show that her life is good there. With times changing and couples moving into their own homes nowadays, I believe going back to groom's home is not a practise of tradition but a matter of choice

luvz17

Huey: CHecked w hubby yest, he said that I will still get si dian jin.

As for an chuang, since there is no particular person to buy these things, it will be easier for us.

For lunch thingy, I really have no idea. Hope it isn't true. Or else, we will be running a tight schedule on AD. Hate the feeling being rushed...It means I have to re-do my AD prog again... =(

Again if gng back to groom's house is not a practice, it is easier and we can go back anytime we want to.

Thanks for your help!!

kokoyln

hehe, so many practice.. my hub is hainanese while i'm hokkien with my mom "everything simple" teochew.. i don rem when i return home but i think must at least go back on the next wkend. 1 thing i alswy tell BTB, on yr wedding day, u must look back at yr parent hse when u leave to go in law hse.. this will ensure yr kids will b close to u..

rilo82

Hi ah mais, so many customs ah. I read until i dizzy liao. Wah, i read luvz17 do the wedding plan liao, I have not even done mine yet.

Huiz: I do finish i send to you for vetting hor... haha

Hi luvz17, i think get the si dian jin is good... hehe... u get to keep for future. My mum also buy for my wife. But don't get those really gold ones. Get those white gold ones.

I think the thread got a lot of mummy and wedding info. We can all joint venture start our own hainanese bridal shop soon. Heh Heh. :p

luvz17

Lance, i got no choice. Coz i will freak out if i dun plan properly. It took me awhile to decide who should be my AD coordinator. If can, I want to do it myself..hahaha...

If I got a choice, I want white gold too..have been hinting my hubby..hopefully, he gets it and tells his mum..haha...i scared she gives v obiang one lei..

milkyway18

Hi luvz17... my wedding also in Dec but i haben really done much except find venue and bridal leh...u r already planning the AD prog! wow.. so efficient... think i better start planning early too... i still need to get rings, find JP for solemnisation, plan roles for AD, AD events, etc... *headache*

i don't know much abt the traditional customs and not very particular abt them.. hope can b as simple as possible... very scared parents and grandparents will interfer too much and create lots of probs... keke

loveangel

hiya Luvz17, if you're getting SDJ, get white gold (or mix of both white & yellow) if you intend to wear them.
Congrats!

Lance: How how?? Everything ok with your wedding planning?

Lance & Nellie: Happy Belated Birthday to the both of you!!! (Just wishing you guys many happy returns again.)

Loinky: That time, i went back to my niang jia 2 days later. I was just crying at home cos i missed everyone at home too much! Poor Hubby brought me home as a surprise to cheer me up.

Anyway...just to share some good news. I'm expecting liao...will be 12 weeks preggy in another few days.

kitty_li

oh yah!!

Happy Belated Birthday to Lance and Nellie!

Congrats Pris....

I haven't come in here in a while....haiz.

SDJ, erm, if it's meant to be kept for future, then yellow gold got more value mah. There are nice ones and obiang ones...

Loinky, sorry leh. In the end horh, no time to bring my gal to Dr Ang before I started her on solids. I just started her on baby rice cereal on Friday...heehee...yesterday tried some apple puree (home-made). Very fun! hahaha. She seem to love it all. kept lunging forward to grab the bowl or to reach the spoon. Then, me scared the spoon will hit her face, so kept pulling back. End up, the more I pull back, the harder forward she will lunge. so cham. haha.

Crystalz, you started your gal on solids already?

rilo82

Pris: Wah haha.... i knew it.....:p Congrats!!!! My wedding plans still ok. Very headache...

Huiz: I should be on for the seafood trip if nothing crops up. Me and Kelly onz!

sherrie: You come back from States liao? How was it? Enjoyable? Must be lots of shopping for you.

crystalz

CSI,

yeah started when she is 5.5 months old haha ya really fun feeding her... my sis bought a pkt of biscuit for bbs. aiyo see her reaction want to laugh. End up i finish her biscuit hehe

loveangel

Thanks everyone... will post more details when i find out more from my gynae. Right now, i only know that i'm due in mid-December.

Sherrie: You went to the States?? Which part?? Tell us more bout your trip!

kokoyln

Congrat Pris..
So how many Mom-to-be coming up? i lost track already

June -
July -
Aug -
Sept -
Oct - Kokoyln
Nov -
Dec - Pris

My recommendation for SDJ is get 2 set - 1 white gold diamond [for wearing] & 1 yellow gold for keep.. I had 3 set - MIL, Hubby & my mom.. Mom said that yellow gold has value so must have.. Diamond set just get a simple one so can wear daily.

Huiz - what seafood trip is Lance talking about??

kokoyln

oh btw did u all watch last nite charity show for China earthquake? so touching that I can't control my tears.. the poem was so meaningful and sad. I saw it on papers today that i cut it out. going to put on my blog.

madames

kokoyln, we had been talking about a bumboat day trip to Pengerang for seafood sometime ago. Planned to go on 24 May but due to some reasons, its gonna be postponed to 12 Jul.

Since most are mothers-to-be or already mothers, I did not send the email to all. However, I shall take this chance to ask if would anyone else like to join us?

Details as follow:

Day/Date: Sat / 12 Jul 08
Meeting Time: 7.45am
Meeting Venue: Changi Boat Jetty

We will head back to Sg not later than 4pm.

sherrie

hey pris: yes..i just got back a week plus ago. went to las v*gas, los angeles and san francisco. i will try to upload my pix on facebook or something and show u guys the link.

lance: you are right. wei how and i did a lot of shopping. hehe. btw when is ur wedding date again? i need to write it down in my diary. my cousin and ex colleague are also having their weddings in sept. must make sure the dates do not clash.

huey: sorry for the last time. i will definitely make it for this time round!

we have quite a few MTBs in the group now!

janf

June -
July -
Aug -
Sept - Janf
Oct - Kokoyln
Nov -
Dec - Pris

and ivied shd be due anytime this wk liao.. =)

loveangel

Oh yes, Ivy should be due anytime!!! All the best to her and i hope she'll have a smooth delivery. Thanks to Kokolyn for the simple table of MTBs delivery months.

Hopefully will have more soon!

Sherrie: I don't have facebook account. :p You must have bought many many things!

Huey: I'll have to give the seafood trip a miss. Sorry though i'll love to join in.

Lance: Your PS should be over right? When was it?

kokoyln

oh so fast Ivy giving birth soon.
there's another one preg right - michelle..

Huiz - think i will give it a miss too. tummy big liao abit troublesome to go up n down the boat.

hazuki

janf: when r u due?

michelle: when due?

lots MTB... so we can consolidate table... so many rat bbs this yr...

12 jul, maybe i can make it. i'll confirm my attendance only 2wks b4 actual date.

koko: hehe, after ivy is u liao...

so far the list of rats - 2boys, 2gals... hmm, who's nxt in line after janice?

kitty_li

Pet,
you bringing ryan to m'sia? or u going on the seafood trip without ryan? heehee...

Er, next in line after Janf is Koko mah...then Pris.

Huey, 12 jul I wun be joining...but will be at the subsequent gathering...heehee...

hazuki

bringing along. cause i making passport for him for our august trip to chiangmai. so prob can go...

wo bu she de, to leave ryan at home... can't eat in peace..

i mistaken.. tot koko first than janice. after koko is michelle first? then pris?
not sure michelle's bb or pris's bb gender.. currently there r a balance of b/g rats mah.. keke
so if 1 more set of b & g juz nice le. 3b, 3g...

madames

Pet, I suggest u think twice or even thrice before u decide to bring Ryan along coz we are not taking cruise ships but noisy and bumpy bumboats (for the full hour trip). Adults can get seasick let alone kids. Furthermore, when we reach the jetty there, we still need to take cab to the destination.

Do discuss with Raymond first.

loink

Whao.. lost!

So many MTB! Congrats!

CSI-No prob abt that.. i still dono when to introduce soft food.. she seems interested in whatever i'm eating now.. hehe..