Hainanese Brides, anyone???

mosburger

wow... so many posts liaoz... sch start liaoz busy with work. tis year my timetable many issues. up till today they still confirming or re-confirming my timetable. tell u all nxt time.

huey, pls include christine & tionghua 4 e gathering too. =)

friday's coming... i shall catch up on the posts here again. =P

janf

csi/sherrie - my cousin oso got a 'Rui'! his name is RuiQing.. 100% super pure hainanese coz my aunt oso hainanese.. my uncle got a super lao gu dong thinking last time tat he die die muz marry a hainanese (?!) lady, tats why married late n only one son which is my cousin n hes such a baobei to them lor.. oso a baobei to my ma coz my ma took care of him when he was young..

csi - i mite not be able to attend ur bb full mth coz 12th i oso got wedding lunch.. 13th got duno wat on as well (to do wif TH's frens).. btw, pierced oso having her bb full mth on 12th at her pl! i cant go too.. bleh..

this mth n next got many red bombs.. 19th another one, then 2feb another wedding lunch..

my FIL discharged liao.. now at home relaxing.. tink his double vision correcting slowly.. he used to see our car number 2101 as 2101101! juz now he said now he see 210101 haha.. got improvement liao..

petrina - tink u ask ur wai-gong better ya.. at least he can call up hainan island to ask for help..

mosburger

sherrie, i go ask my hainanese teacher... he's got tis whole set of hainanese 'han yu pin yin' derived from some hainan dictionary. impressive hor... haa...

janf

huiz/stacy - today li ann has errands to run so din meet up for beef lunch.. next wk ya.. then i will pass to huiz..

hazuki

janf: i also lao gu dong... cham lor... my son either become loner or have to marry hainanese gal... i dun accept others.. :p

mosburger: can help me ask ur teacher? Feng2 Hong2 Yao4 translates = Pang2 ??
thks...

i juz came back frm my agency chalet retreat.. so tired...

CSI: i having sprains on my back n front.. left n right side each time. below bust lvl. common? can't breath well le... deep breath hurts.

i realised tat Rui En* is a very popular name amongst gals... my cousin also have a En* in her gal's name...
then 1 Mar MTB having triplets also having En* as their common name.

kokoyln

CSI, thks God u like Caroline.. I like her v much too.. Hey i almost call my gal Rui En too but his papa don like so i chose Jingyi.. n her surname is Mo meaning wu in chinese, so... she is neither quiet nor demure.. hahaha she so playful n tomboy..

think i really can't catch up here. i read till blur. anyway pls email cfm for CNY dnr and CSI bb full mth party so i wont miss them..

rilo82

Thanks iViED for your comments. Actually i admit i am fat. Haha.

Huiz: You never include me ah? CNY i going.
So when is CNY dinner thingy? Confirm 19 Feb? I can't wait to eat lei. I missed out on the last one. Hehe.

CSI: Nice name. Looks like she going to be superstar liao. Hehe.

madames

Haha, talking about being old fashioned, I have to admit I used to be one last time too. Wanted a Hainanese guy for the other half amongst other criteria la. But wishes being wishes, are seldom in tandem with reality. So now end up with a Canto ah pak.... hahaha.

Hey janf, no hurry with the TDF stuff. Next week is fine with me too

Wa, mos, the dictionary sounds so cool. Where did he get it from?

Oops sorry, Lance, will add your name in the list. The dinner shall be on 19 Feb, 7.30pm at the Geylang No Signboard. Shall send out the road directions later.

1. Nellie & Shawn
2. Huiz & Eric
3. Janf & TH
4. CSI, Leslie & Louisa
5. Ivied
6. Petrina & Ray
7. Li Ann & Thomas
8. Sherrie & WH
9. Christine & THua
10. Lance & Kelly

hazuki

huiz: haha, canto ah pek... so bad arh u...

btw, i think kelly's in vietnam for CNY? i tot i saw Lance post somewhere...
Old fashioned - i think i most stubborn ard here bah.. i kinda asked for dialect b4 actually dating for too long... so if not suitable... bye.. :p

madames

Haha, Pet, its true that he's an "ah pak" (Canto version of "ah pek") mah. I think age wise he is one of the older ones amongst the husbs here liao. And he has some habits that I find very old man, so I always call him ah pak and he actually don't mind.... hahaha

janf

harlow all.. today my 2nd wedding anni so we took leave to go walk walk. went to highlight n cut my hair while hub went for massage.. then bot 2 dresses n a blouse from Southaven.. pok liao haha.. then sudd tot of popping by li ann's ofc to pick up the stuffs.. tink she got a shock when i said "im coming now woh!" haha.. lucky she has the stuffs in her ofc except for stacy's fridged item. juz came back frm jack's pl dinner.. burp so full now.. btw, amk jack's pl has many old hainanese staff! kitchen n waiters mostly hainanese uncles aunties!

so huiz - i will pass u ur stuffs n stacy's stuffs except her fridged item coz its in li ann's home fridge.. prob tom coz we are going hougang OPD tom am then to ttsh for his knee physio.. will msg u to arrange ya..

chrysallisph

Sorry I MIA-ed for a while. Was a bit lost.. but hope I can catch up later...

Meanwhile, amidst all the mummy talk, let me just share that my bridal studio has FINALLY automatically called me to go try out gowns on 20th Jan! So, i'm really excited but panicky that I now have less than 3 weeks to lose weight and then less than 5 months to lose even more for wedding!!!

ARGH... if anyone has weight-losing tips, pls feel free to share. Nevertheless, pls count PH and I in for the Geylang NO Signboard lo-hei dinner (diet plan or not). Ha ha...

madames

Roger, chrysallisph! Here's the updated attendence list:

1. Nellie & Shawn
2. Huiz & Eric
3. Janf & TH
4. CSI, Leslie & Louisa
5. Ivied
6. Petrina & Ray
7. Li Ann & Thomas
8. Sherrie & WH
9. Christine & THua
10. Lance & Kelly
11. chrysallisph & PH

kitty_li

Okie...just got details settled today. hehs...yeah, I'm awake coz gotta feed her soon.

Here's info re Baby L's full month...

Leslie and I would like you to join us as we celebrate Baby L's 1st month.
Date: 13 Jan (Sunday)
Time: from 2pm onwards (so you all might want to fix a time and come together?)
Venue: Can I email those coming my address?

Petrina, it's okie. Can understand the pantang bit lah. heehee...

hazuki

CSI, paiseh hor... hehe, but my bb's full mth u coming? haha, i so kiasu... haven't born i talk abt full mth liao...
I spent the wkends buying last minute stuffs... still have lots not bot yet... aiyo... headache gg through the checklist...

did u have a checklist for bb stuffs n post natal stuffs while shopping previously?
i'm shortcutting some stuffs. so i tot i'll confirm which is not necessary, then i dun buy.

madames

Hey kokoyln, paiseh ah. Added u liao. The date is 19th Feb...

1. Nellie & Shawn
2. Huiz & Eric
3. Janf & TH
4. CSI, Leslie & Louisa
5. Ivied
6. Petrina & Ray
7. Li Ann & Thomas
8. Sherrie & WH
9. Christine & THua
10. Lance & Kelly
11. chrysallisph & PH
12. Kokoyln, Jacob & Jolie

Anymore anymore?

hazuki

juz read on TNP yest abt Focus Bridal sudden closure... poor couples.. stranded w/o svc n financially strapped...

hazuki

ya.. so sad. i went to read the thread on Focus. so many ppl went CASE, police... all cannot help them. P/L co mah...

ivied

janf, so fast hor, 2nd anni liao. Me coming to 1st anni, make my hubby promise to spend the weekend together, else i wont talk to him. haha..

chry, which BS did u sign up? I think we do not have your details. BTW, no need to lose weight lar, u are so slim leh. Anyway, when the date is near, u will lose more weight automatically. :p

CSI, sorry, I wont be able to attend Baby L's month old, arranged to visit the National Museum with my sis-in-law already. Post the pic for us to see ok?

petrina, I have just started my shopping spree on baby's stuff. Kept thinking its still early, so procastinated. I was also wondering what to buy. To think that I was in Kiddy Palace for 3 hrs and ended up with some hooded blanket and clothes only. haha..

Focus Bridal? Where is that?

kitty_li

ivied, it's ok. no worries. ok, will post up pics.

hooded blanket is actually not necessary. Just use nappies or some cloth (can't remember the type of cloth) to swaddle can liaoz. Ivied, think you still have lots of time. There should be another baby fair in March (can't remember if it's taka baby fair - they have 2 fairs I think or which baby fair). You can get more stuff then.

Petrina, er, when's ur baby's full month? heehee...u so excited yah? heehee...I shd be able to go, unless it clashes with some other appointments...

yah, I had a list of stuff to get. It's the same list I emailed you before lorh...you still have that list? What else are you considering getting?

hazuki

csi, i mean did u get all the stuffs on tat list? or did u cancel some?
edd 25th mar. but i saw latest scan, bb growth @ 16th mar edd size liao. so doc say anytime between these 2 dates..
full mth shld be held exactly 1mth's following sat...
eg, if thurs exactly 30days, then coming sat.
will give exact date nearer to the date... so excited...

except for the fact tat due to mil issue, i dare not deliver... too many fears n worries. but i personally can't wait... haha...

i got some 2nd hand nappies to swaddle bb upon discharge. plus 1 nice looking hooded towel for outside appearance. *vain hor*

ivied: u can still slowly do it. try to finish by 8th mth. cause now i find breathing/shopping a difficult task liao.
3-5hrs is my shopping max... then when i reach home, need to elevate legs whole nite.
can feel my toes - bones seperating frm each other liao.. very painful. feels like rheumatism pain.

Focus bridal is a bridal shop in IMM. sudden closure causing 150 couples to be stranded w/o gowns, svc etc... some fully paid wif open dates. nothing done type.. very cham.

hamsterden

janf, ya, TH drives very fast hor. I went to the loo after receiving your sms/call that you are coming to my office and the next thing i know, you have reached my office.

and i got a job offer...
Don't know if i should accept it. I've got alot of feelings for my boss and this company. But job scope is getting a bit stale and more and more unclear due to the acquisition...

ivied

I was not so worried initially, then realised its 4 mths to go only, and with only weekends to buy, time is a bit limited. Somemore I'm a fussy mummy, I would look and compare b4 making my final payment. But I would still take my own sweet time to buy, must see more then know mah. hee...

loinky is due next mth woh. One more new mummy on board!

I had a small scare yday. Saw some blood after the business and freaked out. Went straight to KK immediately. Lucky bb is fine and no internal bleeding, but doc suspect vaginal bleeding so gana injection. Now my legs feel a bit numb but this is all worth it, so long as bb is safe and sound. *phew*

Huiz, Stacy not attending the CNY gathering? hmm.. this year most of us will be giving out ang baos already. All are now aunties and uncles. hee..

crystalz

ivied,

u preggy?? Congrats~

petrina,
haha u better enjoy ur preggy days~~~~~~~ when bb out, its really very busy day for u...

CSI,
my da sao daughter oso call Rui En.. haha but i dunno izit the same word or a different one.

hazuki

crystal: hehe.. tats y i think very common liao.. made popular by tat actress?

angpaos... gathering need give ma? we eat outside rite? not consider bai nian?

madames

Aiya Pet, we meet outside or in someone's house all are considered bai nian since its during the CNY period ma. Even the members of the Chinese Chamber of Commerce also meet at their association for a big tuan2 bai4 every year.

But then again, we're all not eligible to receive ang pows liao
hehe

kitty_li

me, me! I can still receive..on behalf of my daughter...hahahahaha

yah Pet, enjoy your preggy days while you can. my dad was just telling me when he saw how busy i am with baby, that this is the joy of being a mother. i told him...no leh, it was more joyful being preggy, coz everybody gives way to you....hahaha.

yah, the name is so popular now...the actress' rui is different rui.

hazuki

huiz: haha ya... only CSI's daughter is eligible...

CSI: give way? think so bah... nobody dare to scold me.. cause scared i upset. aiyah.. all they do is for bb's sake. after birth liao they dun care if i kenna postnatal D or not. reason y they treat me nice is because of bb.

But take public transport getting more n more enjoyable.. haha. as tummy grows, i tend to get more seats. not 100% though. maybe abt 20% time..

loink

Hey everybody! long time didn't catch up on this thread..

CSI-Is it normal to feel pain/cramp near the hip area for ard 10s.. so far experienced twice but only on the right side.. the pain tingers through my thigh as well.. its a different pain compared to period cramp.. quite painful.. i can't imagine the real contraction kicking in in short intervals..

So nice of ivied that u still remember me.. thou i'm not so active with gatherings.. haha

So envy ivied n petrina.. still can enjoy CNY..

hazuki

loinky: hehe, can eat CNY goodies.. but now my tummy very big liao. kicking way too much... too tired to travel long n far.
when u delivering?

loink

Hey petrina.. u mean i can eat CNY goodies.. or u gals can eat? haha.. my edd on the 10 feb.. but gynae said might be jan end.. i think my baby underweight.. 2kg only at 35-36wks..yesterday just went for checkup.. i saw my friend yesterday.. same edd date as me n her baby is 3.4kg.. dono what she eat also.. keke..

hazuki

loinky: u can still eat... we also can eat... EDD on 10th... u still gg visiting on 7th?
at birth bb wt varies +/- 300g... dun worry.. Smaller easier to deliver.. haha.

crystalz

CSI,

how ur bb lately? colic getting better?? i can understand how tough having a colic bb... cos my ger first month oso like that.. haiyo tiring man..

ivied

hee.. Baby L can receive ang bao already. 1st year leh.

Li Ann, congrats! So u be taking up the offer? Did the new boss ask abt u getting pregnant? I was asked during interview and insisted on not so fast, but ended up ..... haha..
I think u should keep the new boss notified abt your intention so that there wont be conflicts at a later stage. Spore law only binds employers to provide maternity leave to staff who works >180days so a good communication is to be established b4 that.

loinky, aiyo, u are the next mummy in line mah, so will sure rem one. BTW, I had cramps/pain from back till hip areas since a mth ago. Dont worry abt it. Just rem to sit straight, keep your posture right, dont sit on the floor and massage the cramp area constantly. If u feel the strain, sit down immediately and massage.

Thanks Crystalz!

I told hubby that I cant sit and stand too frequently so he has to distribute the ang bao this year. He gave me a dismayed look. haha...
BTW, mine is a boy!

kitty_li

ivied,
congrats!
Heehee...your hb dun like to distribute AP ah...heehee...I told mine that he has to distribute too, coz I'll be carrying baby, so I'll be collecting, while he distributes. hahaha.

loinky,
You mean near hip area (but not the bone), ard uterus but below belly button? Yah, I had some such pains too. Not much lah. Like pinching/cramping feeling. Could be false contractions. BH contractions...my gynae told me then to only "panic" when it's whole tummy from top to bottom cramping. And yah, that's how the real contractions felt for me.

Oh, yours is likely to be before CNY ah...yah lorh, then you cannot eat the CNY goodies. Even if it's pork (bak kua), not cooked with sesame oil mah...then again, depends on how "strict" u are lah. heehee...

Crystalz,
haiz, I'm so tired. I think I look like panda of the year. Her colic is just frustrating. So poor thing, cry and cry, but there's nothing we can do to help. Gripe water...just tried, so dunno how it works for my gal yet. Hopefully it goes away soon. She's so heavy now (she's almost 5kg and that's heavy to me) that carrying her and walking ard is lagi tiring.The good thing is, hb and I have more or less identified her cues so we can "communicate" better with her. Thank god hb is on sch hols when I go back to work, so that gives bb more time for the colic to disappear. Otherwise, dunno how the caregiver (grandma etc) will react to her colic.

kitty_li

oh loinky,
forgot to add...eat durians. Durians quite bu3 one leh. I ate quite a bit during pregnancy. heehee...just got to be careful not to eat too much at one go, coz durians got quite high sugar levels. My gynae was quite accurate with my baby's weight...

loink

CSI - ya.. near hip area but dono if its the bone and only on the right side.. the moment i feel it.. i feel so weak n cold.. i scared once i start to eat durian.. i will have no control over it..keke.. oh.. do u have the list of things to get ready.. can send to me?

btw.. what are the symptoms like for baby with colic.. which brand of milk btl are u using? Oh.. diapers which brand is better?

Petrina - i don't think i will go visiting.. not nice if i suddenly need to pop.. my gynae say i might pop end of jan..

congrats on having a boy ivied.. 2nd baby boy after petrina..

kitty_li

loinky,
if it's the bone, it's probably due t hormones and the joints are losening (preparing for labour). I had that feeling the entire pregnancy, and even till now. Harh? durian will have no control over it? Dunno leh. Thot with durian only have bigger sized babies...heehee...

erm, the list ah. okie. I need to search for it. Sekali it's in office computer...heehee...

Hey, you can start to drink coconut juice already leh. You got drink? Baby will come out clean clean if drink enough.

Colic - baby just cry and cry non-stop for long hours....stop only to take a break / rest. And the cries are super loud. Seems like only walking ard, swaying motion will soothe coliky baby (temporary only...hahaha). Supposedly caused by excessive wind in baby.

I'm using Avent milk bottles (supposed to reduce colic some more. hahaha...I never believed that claim anyway. It probably just means its teats dun allow that much air back in, so baby ends up sucking less air lah...)

Diapers - I used pampers NB for the first couple of times. Hospital gave 1 pack, I bought 1 pack at home. Think it lasted me up till week 2 only. heehee...so when that finished, I used Pet Pet. Not bad and cheap. I only dun like the sticky tape bit. Everytime want to change diaper, when "rip" apart the sticky tape, it's very loud and noisy. heehee...PetPet S size lasted me 1 week. Then I tried Drypers. Drypers' cutting dun seem to fit my gal...now still trying to finish up the Drypers first lah. heehee...

Petrina, erm, I didn't get some stuff on the list coz I felt not necessary yet. e.g. I didn't get cradle cap oil / comb.

hazuki

CSI: tats y i was wondering do i need some stuffs. eg. bathing mat. u noe, the squarish mat tat's bouncy. tollyjoy sells abt $11.70.
i dunno wat else i dun need to buy lor. i dun wan to over buy.
I bot dryers also leh. NB pampers abit ex. so i trying dryers first. I bot 1 NB & 1 S size. hope it can last throughout my confinement.
how come baby L is colic? i tot u BFing?

Ivied: congrats... haha.. prince.. ur hb happy ya?

loinky: my feet hurts very badly liao. toes cannot flex. hurts when i try to rotate my ankles or toes.
had bad cramp in elbow area while slping.
fell sick today. fever, sore throat, flu. whole body aching liao...
had to sit through a 3hr conference.. butt hurts.. no more movies for me liao. cause i couldn't sit w/o hurting...

hamsterden

ivy, thanks. i've countered offer so waiting to see if they will accept. If yes, then yep, most likely i will take it. It is a pretty exciting job switch for me. i am finally doing marketing work after so many years!!! And about telling them of my plans in setting up a family... well, i guess, i will have to tell that to my boss after i settle down.

And congrats on your little prince. We have Jolie, three gals and two boys now.

petrina, oh dear, your conditions sounds like my colly. When she is nearing her full term, she suddenly "swells up", her face all puffed up, her joints also swell and stiffen up. She can't really close up her palms as it will stretch the skin around the joint area. She has to be excused to be allowed to work from home. But after birth, the swell will subside. My boss is out now, later i check with her then update you.

hamsterden

lobang lobang!

Kenwood having members promotion. Anyone interested in ordering the following items:
1. Food Steamer (FS560)- NOW $88 (U.P. $151)
2.6l/3.5l/4.5l baskets; removable stainless steel basket base; 900W

2. Bread Maker (BM256) - NOW $188 (U.P. $238)
500g-1kg loaves; stainless steel body; jam making function; control panel; 480W

3. Ice Cream Maker (IM280) - NOW $88 (U.P. $101)
1.5l; non-stick freezer bowl; fast freezing; 4.6W

4. Attachement PAck For Major (MA300)- NOW $88 (U.P. $370)
includes the following items:
-Meat Mincer with sausage adapter (A950)(U.P.$143)
-Potato Peeler (A952) (U.P. $135)
- Acrylic Blender (AT337) (U.P. $92)

5. Scholl Foot Spa (DR6654) - NOW $88 (U.P. $168)
3 motorised massages; manicure/pedicure kit; removable heel & toe relaxer; toetouch controls; toenail dryer

Let me know by next Wed should anyone interested. I'm ordering bread maker.

keke... next time hui can make her ice cream and i make bread to wrap the ice cream. yum. keke...

you can drop your order to [email protected]

loink

CSI, i was meaning that i might eat too much.. haha.. um.. if u manage to find then send to me.. so far drank coconut once.. but i drank those thai ones.. i think cannot rite? or as long as its coconut.. i also don't dare drink much cos i never really 'bu' myself.. so not heaty..

Petrina, i find that my butt might cramp if i sit too long.. cos all the fats seems like move to the sides instead of cushioning my butt.. haha.. so far still ok.. mayb slight swelling only..

hamsterden

petrina, ok i checked with my boss. She says that this condition is called pre-eclampsia. This means that you may go into a fit anytime and affect baby. Three signs to watch out - (1) water retention; (2) protein in urine; (3) high blood pressure. You can consult your doctor if necessary. If just water retention, then means you have to cut down on your salt intake and raise your feet up as much as possible.

hamsterden

Unilever Sales!

Annual warehouse sales at Singapore Power Club (recreation club at Basement 1 of Spore Power Building) on 16 & 17 Jan 11am - 6pm.

Popoular brands like Skippy, Dove, Lux, Bertolli, Lipton, Walls, BEN & JERRY (!!!)

Up to 60% off.

kitty_li

Petrina,
the squarish bouncy mat? that's for bathing ah? Didn't know. hahaha...anyway, I didn't buy that.

BFing can also get colic...Hehs. Coz babies will cry mah, when they want attention, hungry, wet etc. so that's when they will swallow air lorh. Plus I give her EBM at night, so that at least daddy can have bonding time (he feeds her at night), so I guess that's where she swallows a bit more air (from the bottle lah...).

Final stage liaoz, so take care of yourself...

loinky,
oh i see....erm, I think dun need to worry abt eating too much lah. I ate A LOT the few weeks before I delivered. (a) coz for next 4 weeks I can't eat lots of other food mah, so must eat my fill before that; (b) need to "store up" energy for delivery...heehee...
Oh, I drank the young thai coconut that we can get from NTUC. Cooling is good (at that stage), coz will feel so hot mah. heehee...

Li Ann,
Sounds like a good opportunity and the kind of job scope you like...marketing stuff right? heehee...hope there's good news on the job front!

Hey, some of you are going BKK next weekend right? so exciting...group outing. hehs...