Hainanese Brides, anyone???

huizz

Yeah Sherrie, I also prefer Dec

CSI, agree with u too... how the bday is spent will somehow make it more meaningful too. I was unfortunately down with flu on my hub's bday on 16th so he asked me to cancel the dinner reservation. Ended up I cooked a simple dinner, cut cake and gave him the card I made for him. The PDA cover I gave him on Mon immediately after I bought it... haha

chrysallisph

I'm back! wah.. think I missed a lot while busy with work... (will try to catch up)

Anyway how was the steamboat gathering? =)

And just to update.. still no progress with my wedding other than having selected Thomson..

m__w

aiyo u gals so happening till i nearly lost in the track ah... trying to figure who is who and wat is wat hehe... but smhow the word Toa Payoh caught my glimsp... hehe cos also near to my plc...

hazuki

juz now i brought hb to go choose pressie... Between watch/WII/cufflink...

He chose WII. The watch he wants is way over my budget... Tag H. So he decided on WII so tat the whole family can enjoy.

huizz

Good morning everyone,

Went to my old friend of 20 years's wedding at Orchard Parade Hotel last night. Her favours were so unique... gave each person 2 personalised stamps with their wedding pics. Those whose weddings are coming up, u may like to consider this idea too.

Hi, chrysallisph, the steamboat session was a blast. The food was good, despite the huge crowd around us giving us pressure to chop chop eat and siam. Gotta go back again next time for the good soup and beef..... but think better go back on a weekday! We then moved on to Starbucks at Concourse and had a 'wild' time talking all things under the sun and laughing away like siao.... kekeke

Oh yes, chrysallisph, may I have your email pls? Got this namelist of everyone here which I maintain and hope u can share some info of yourself with us. But its alright if there's anything that u do not wish to reveal

huizz

Oh ya, one more thing I think I better share with the BTBs. If u are considering MTM gowns, my advice is that it's better to have some ideas of a design you want before u go to them, rather than leaving the design all up to the BS.

I am saying this coz I have 2 friends who experienced some bad episodes with their BS. First one realised her EG is 99% similar to another bride whose wedding is 1 week before hers (and also happens to be our sch mate). Complained to the BS but they said there's no copyrights so they can duplicate design too.

The other friend realised that the EG they told her is MTM for her is actually also available in another BS in JB. She posed the pics of the EG she chose and someone commented that she had that from the JB BS too.

Well, we all choose to pay more to MTM coz we want something exclusive to ourselves. However, the BS seems to only want an easy way out for themselves. I can also imagine a worse case scenario where they can be not so honest to the couple all the way to the end by producing the same piece used for some prev couple sometime ago saying tt its new. As long as the bride's size is almost the same (or slightly bigger or smaller so that they can make some alterations here and there). I have actually heard of this before but dunno which shop la.

My first friend decided not to pursue the issue coz she was afraid they mess up her wedding. Well, this could be them making use of our fears again.

All in all, just to make sure we are spending our extra MTM dollars in a worthwhile manner, its better that we do some research of what we like and then propose the idea to the BS.

janf

hi all.. so cfm mini buffet at sherrie's hse ya.. gotta chk if they still hv the mini buffet during the xmas season coz they might charge the xmas catering prices instead.. every yr my dept will order frm elsie's kitchen for xmas party.. pricey and food cold grr..

now seems like going hainan-dao in jan08 instead coz airtiks prices are crazy! FIL chk online if go in dec is $500+ PER pax whereas if go in jan08 its $500+ for 3PAXS!! haha..

loveangel

If ta-bao then gotta call & order in advance? Cos BJ is notorious for long waiting time.

I don't mind Sherrie's house too!
Dec is quite good for me cos it's the holidays and i don't have to work. Thanks to Sherrie for hosting us then! Toa Payoh is also close to my place cos now i'm living in AMK.

CSI: Yep, it'll be my 1st birthday as a Mrs. And it's on a PH so my hubby & i can celebrate my birthday together.

Janf: The price difference is so big!!! In that case, it's better to go in Jan.

Petrina: Wii is a good buy! Has your hubby tried it out yet? My friend's hubby loves it so much!

rilo82

petrina: wii is a good idea. Your hubby made a good choice. He he.

janf: Which airline are u taking? Tiger airways? I think is school holiday pricing in Dec. Lol.

hazuki

Pris: I've tried it. tiring... hehe, the controls... wrist power needed. He prefers PS3 but i told him tat WII can whole family play. so he took WII. din have time to buy yest. maybe tonight after his work we'll go buy.

loveangel

Petrina: I think the whole family can enjoy WII cos i was reading the papers the other day & even old folks like it! They can play golf & tennis and it's a good form of exercise for them.

huizz

Phew, I had such a busy and tiring day. Can't wait to zoom off at 6.

Nellie should have reached Hainan and enjoying herself by now. I also cant wait to set off for HK on Wed morning!

janf

im around im around, petrina! btw, not sure if u got track the thread tat u started on hainanese surname Pang.. wat is ur Pang?? coz my surname Fong is 'LiangDianShui' and a 'Ma'.. in cantonese its called Fong as in the famous actress Feng BaoBao de Feng.. but in hainanese its called Pang..

ohh nellie in hainam-dao liao ah? latest update on my to-be hainan trip is my folks oso going.. challenging haha.. coz 1st time his folks n my folks going on trip tog but shd be ok coz my pama chinchai ppl.. will be staying 3days in village n 3days in city.. i heard 3days in village n went HUH?! but no choice coz hv to throw dinner there n spend another day for praying..

tink when nellie comes back, i can ask her more abt hainan..

wah huiz worked for another day n can 'MaiDongXi ChiDongXi MaiDongXi ChiDongXi' in HK liao ah!!

yupz lance - Tiger Airways is charging $225/pax for travel in jan08.. dec is too exp to go coz sch hols..

loveangel

Janf: OMG...staying in village as well!?? And so cute, both sides parents going. So when will you be leaving?

Petrina: I try my best to log in. Now the kids having exams so i'm less bogged down with planning & marking.

Huiz: Enjoy yourself in HK!

hazuki

hehe, very quiet today... only 2 posts... until janf n pris posted...

janf: yup. same feng... hehe
but diff dialect, so diff lah. village is like yucks... stay there 1day ok lah, but 3days, i'll faintz man...

pris: ok, but anyway we msn, so can keep up wif u..

huiz: so good, u can go HK liao...

chrysallisph

hi Huizz,

Thanks for compiling my email too in the list. My email is [email protected]. If possible, can you email me that list too? Thanks.

And have fun at HK! =)

Ladies - Have you gals been to Lombok, Indonesia? It's next to Bali but a lot a lot less touristy. If anyone is considering a short getaway, Lombok (and must stay at Sheraton Sengigi Beach Resort)is really a very good destination. Just relax by beach/ pool everyday, go for spa at hotel/ (cheaper alternative) massage at town sqaure (which is within walking distance). Food is cheap too cos in Rupiah... a very very decent and filling meal for two will be no more than $20. Of course also got the romantic, by beach kind of restaurant which costs more la..

Oops.. maybe I'm saying too much.. if anyone wants to see photos, can let me know.. I'll email some photos of the hotel and waterfall, (where we went trekking for a bit) and scenery etc.

rilo82

janf: I have to agree with petrina, 1 day is ok. I think 3 days I will peng. Btw, did you ask if they have sanitary facilities there?

Pris: Did you go for PSLE marking last week? I heard quite tiring. Especially my mother like all worn out.

petrina: Buy your wii liao? hehe.

Huiz: You steady la, everyday 6pm zoom off. I was on off today. Later have to go back office and work liao.

Good night ah mais, have a good day ahead.

huizz

Well, depending on your village, staying there may not be such a bore (and torture) afterall. Things do change for the better I believe. The last time I was there, the house which my Dad was born in (now used by his cousin) had installed a flushing toilet and bath facilities. Perhaps we are all too used to this modern society and tend to feel very uncomfy at the thought of the villages. But then again, keep an open mind and take it as a learning experience. Well, how often do we city dwellers see padi fields, ploughing cows etc? Just treat it like an eye opener also lor.

Hehe, janf, talking about 'mai dong xi chi dong xi', tt time my Mum's friend so cute.... told her grandkids "ah ma qu4 HK mai dong xi, chi dong xi & tou1 dong xi!".... I will b setting off by the 6.20am Jetstar tomorrow. Tonight need to book cab liao.

After coming back will be another busy spree for me. 3 events in a row.... but I really hope time will fly by fast coz I will be going to Bintan again on 22 - 23 Dec. Then 24 Dec I go back Melaka again... haha and then it's time for BKK after that! Woooh!

huizz

Hi chrysallisph,

I've sent u the Excel from my Gmail.

Hey janf and CSI,

I shall send u the list again to update your address okie?

I will circulate the updated list after I've got all the info in

kitty_li

wah Huiz, looks like you've planned your time pretty well....all the way to Jan08! hahahaha...not bad leh. Enjoy yourself...

Hainan-dao village is not so bad liao lah. At least compared with 1992 when I was back there...Stayed there for a week. My cousin and I pengz. Some bits were fun, some were boring. But, my grandpa had some foresight. He installed proper toilet (although no flush - but now have) and facilities. It was actually quite fun, drawing water from the well (although grandpa installed the thingy to pump water up from underneath). Now, according to my brother, it's TAP. hahaha. The well has been sealed and you just need to turn on tap. hahaha. Erm, the only thing is the mozzies. Somehow, they leave vicious bites! haha. The 5-cents, 10-cents they left on my legs back then, took a while to subside and disappear...

huizz

Heh CSI, actually I have my hols planned to Jun 08... culminates to the grand "climax" - the trip to Wales and London. I am just keeping my fingers crossed really hard that nothing crops up and my boss allows me to take AL.

hazuki

wah huiz... u good life hor... work few mths, travel few days...

I agree on the flushing toilet thingy... My side also have. but the rest, haiz... Like wat CSI said. The mozzies & food... My cousin had food poisoning cause she cannot handle village foods...

I juz uploaded my pics on multiply... The AD pics... Go have a look lah - http://pruehalliwell.multiply.com

Lance: WII we still sourcing for best package price... But we confirm getting it. Matter of time only... hehe... HB say ex to get everything at one go. So we seeing if buying modified or non-modified set still.

hazuki

huiz: u too fast lah... i juz uploaded... as i was posting in the forum so i might as well state it first... hehe

Too many pics... 50% left. ready soon... hehs...

chrysallisph

Hi Petrina,

My bf's sister bought her WII at this shop at AMK Hub. Supposedly gives really good price.. we later recommended a friend who also got hers from there. It's on the second floor I think... You may want to check out their prices? =)

Hi Huizz,

Will check my email for the compiled list. Thanks for sending me. =) And wah... your holiday plans are shiok manz! Enjoy!!!

hamsterden

hi mais and gor! mia for a while after our steamboat gathering... busy with biz trip to taipei and work...and finally fell sick. The virus is so potent! Just one sore throat...and the rest follow...cough, fever...now resting at home and finally have time to catch up the postings...

mos, hope you feeling better now.

M&W, you haev my support as well! Though repeating the incident a few times to the police and the subsequent follow-ups to the police posts can be as traumatic experience as well. and cos police sometimes take a long time to work on your case, you have to constantly "relive the incident" over and over in your head so that you can remember every single detail well. Your mood and feeling will get affected over and over again. You want to forget and move on but it will keep coming back to haunt you. You must be strong to handle this.

Sherrie, thanks for hosting the xmas party at your place, i'll be there! I will confirm later if my hubby is going. I suggest we set a budget of $20 per perosn for tbe gift. Buffet is easy to manage so it is a great idea!

ok... the mountain tortoise queen is here again... what is Wii??

janf... i tried the dried scallop too, like it very much too! very chewy and juicy. yum!

huiz, enjoy your hk trip!! You can get the xmas pressie in hk too!

feeling drowsy after taking medication...going for a nap...chat again..

hazuki

hahaha... Liann... WII is the nintendo tv game console... Similar to PS3 & XBOX. Different manufacturer only...

janf

haha lance, staying in the village not tat jialat lah.. its juz like wat huiz mentioned, modern n got proper sanitary facilities.. the Wang family has a 3storey terrace hse there. actually theres 2 of it (side by side) on the same plot of land but one is newly built (tink few yrs ago) and the other one is the old kind.. so i told TH tat NO WAY IM GONA STAY IN THE OLD ONE hor!! anw, if my pama cfm going, dun tink my ILs will hse my pama in the old hse lah..

yupz can put the xmas gift budget at say $15-$20 ya.. 1.5mths more to the gathering..

okie me go see petrina's webby now.. =)

huizz

Good morning everyone,

Greetings from the airport! I will be setting off at 6.40am. Back on Sunday. Have a good week ahead everyone!

loveangel

Li Ann: Glad your'e feeling better. I agree with the budget.
Sounds good to me.

Lance: yep, i was at the PSLE marking exercise last week. Luckily for me, this year i'm a recorder, not marking...only check scripts & tabulate marks.
So not as tiring as previous years.

Huizz: If you're going to Bintan to Dec, must pray & hope for good weather. From early Nov till mid March is their rainy season. Guess you must be having a great time in HK now! Looking fwd to your pics.

I was also at the airport this morning. Sent my hubby off cos he's on a work trip to Canberra. Unfortunately, i can't tag along. He'll only be back on Saturday night. Making use of the time to spend time with my ILs...didn't go back niang jia to stay.

Officially one more month to my HM, can't wait!

mosburger

hi all! been drowning in work. so many updates... kinda lost... =P

li ann, take care of yourself. does honey help when u have sore throat? i heard some ppl say honey good.

pris, gd 4 u that u still get to be recorder. me only recorder 4 1st yr, then marker every yr since. after marking everyday tired... then last week i had photo competition deadline to meet, so monday n friday i was back in sch before n after PSLE marking to see to it. very sianz...

huizz, have a gd time in HK!

kitty_li

wow, just watched the A380 take off from SG to Sydney (watch from TV lah...hahaha). Cool manz.

Pris, it's good that u're spending time with ur ILs. can bond with them more...

hazuki

Forum very very quiet... Only CSI n me chatting... hehs... U start work so early, u work 11hrs arh? Since u end work @ 6pm...

kitty_li

thereabouts lah. not couting the after work, bring-home-to-do stuff.

well, Huiz and Nellie not around, so we got less pple to chat. haha.

huizz

Hahahaha, who says I am not around? I am here! Saying hi to all from Pacific Coffee along Canton Road! We are chilling out now (and resting the aching feet and backs) before we hop over to Golden Gateway to catch Lust Caution.... uncut! Hehe....

I walked dunno how many km today when hubby was at his seminar. And I am quite proud that I didn't lose my way. I went up Nantan Road all the way to Jordan and back again... hee

Ok, I better go drink my tea before it gets cold.... catch up again

hazuki

Wah, huiz... u steady lah... holiday still serve the net... hehs...

CSI: ur company hire u very worth hor... Slogging the whole day for them...