"Guo Da Li (过大礼)" ??

kite~

hi kfc,

wow liao really hurt ur mum leh, shldnt say such things, shld say more XI thing wat. hmm so just ur MIL n the matchmaker only? FIL leh?

cos MIL n her mum coming only.

kfc

yah, my mum was pretty upset. i mean both my parents have been looking forward to my customary for so long and was so happy before this incident happened. my hubby still blur blur, dunno what happened until i told him after that. you see, how guys can be so insensitive to this kind of thing.

only my mil and matchmaker came cos my mil "scared" my fil say the wrong things. anyway, they're always not on good terms. think doesn't really make a diff cos it's always women who make decisions for this kind of occasion.

wendy76

Can I have the GDL list too pls.
My AD is in December...

jennytansc

Pls forward me the GDL list also pls. My AD is coming Oct 04. I am very worried cos i am afraid my MIL does not know anything abt this. I of cos wants my parents to be very satisfied with everything smooth during GDL.

Thanks alot.

sereneli

Anybody here is a cantonese and husband is hokkien?

What's the GDL procedures like?? I am nuts about such things. Care to share?

ppgroom

just a question... for the bride side, they need to give away bridal cakes to their own relatives right? so i am just wondering, how many box/es does the bridal side need to give PER FAMILY?

art1

Hi PPgroom

Normally only give to those relative of higher or equal 'rank' as ur parents. Thus per family one lor

By the way, there is a shop in Beauty world, Bukit Timah area which sells the whole GDL things in package. I think it save time n effort n blurness :p and charges r reasonable according to my PIL. Hubby's brother bought from there during his wedding

art1

Wait! Which custom u from?

Me, although dad is cantonese but mum is teochew, thus buy teochew traditional cake for relatives cos dad says most of the traditional cakes goes to mum's relative plus he also like to eat tt :p
Each box is 1.5kg (tradtionally, weight is impt) and consists of some very nice peanut canny and tao sa bian (salted and sweet mix). Each box is S$16.00

If u r taking about normal marble cake and so on... i think it varies from S$6 to S$20... Dep on wat style u wan. Those more than S$10 sometimes come w fruit tarts.

ppgroom

i'm a cantonese... but FW is hokkien... so the cake shd follow hokkien right? wow, so ex??? i'm looking for those where one box inside has an assortment of 10 pieces of cakes...

i_panda77

just to share
...there is this shop at Beauty World Centre #01-15 called HUP KEE COMPANY that sells all GDL related stuffs...Tel 6466 3626

kite~

are rabbitwsk and i_panda77 referring to the same shop at Beauty world centre? lol.

usually when is e exact time for my mum to distribute the cakes to the relatives? after guo da li? 1 or 2 wks b4? me blur.

art1

Good morning ladies!

Hi Panda, nice to see you here
I think we toking about the same shop...Jus tt, my PIL not yet bring me and I dun know the exact location :p

PP groom, ya... follow ur FW
Hmmm... traditional biscuit are not easy to make and more exclusive. Thus cost wise need to be justified...S$16 is still ok for us cos we are making 15boxes...Those are for the 'higher' rank relatives

I am also getting those marble cake kind for close neighbours which we are not inviting to share the joy

For assorted ones, I dun really know how much lei...

Kite, panda and i toking abt same shop cos there is only 1 shop like tt there

GDL day, if relatives not so many, can deliver the cards and cakes to them. IF not, spill over to nx day lor.

Lala, the shop I went to also do Hokkien. U may like to call and check:
Shop name: Thye Lee
Tel: 62889514
Last sunday I went, it was a bit mad rush for they are rushing for mooncake production. If u can wait, maybe aft mid autumn then go

diminished_6th

Hi y'all!

Are grooms supposed to give all the abalone, shark fins, dried scallops, bird nests and etc to the brides' parents during "ti qing" or "guo da li"? How much should we spend on these?

cutepigs

can someone please tell me a rough range for the GDL stuffs, excluding the traditional cakes? I am asking for an estimate if i get them all as a package from the shop in beauty world.

Is it about $500, $1000 or something?

weoseek

I've just bought mine..excluding the two bottles of martell, and ping jin and wedding cakes...Its approximately $150 for both groom and bride side..also include an chuang stuff..oh yeah, didnt include the oranges which supposed to buy on that day. We got it at chinatown market..My mum commented that they hv the whole range. You just need to tell which dialect you are, then they will teach you what to do, and buy.

yuki_ko

Hi Cutepig... beauty world... the things quite ex leh...

Chinatown is near to Outram park MRT... Think now got Chinatown MRT station also...

cutepigs

hi rosalind

I know where is chinatown.

I just don't know where is the market.
Weoseek: erh.. tell who which dialect i am? and can you tell me where is the market? i mean more exact directions?

weoseek

cutepigs, u need to tell the shop which dialect you are..and then they will help you prepare the stuff acoordingly..

The market is nearby the roadside foodstall.

cutepigs

Weoseek:

Thanks! Do you happen to have the name of the shop? Or any ways to identify that shop?
If i remember correctly, there are quite a few shops there.

Paisei for being so ma fan

jennytansc

dear all btb...
i just finished my wedding this 17th oct.. & had all last min of wedding preparation things like buying all sorts of wedding things eg, pail,towels,etc..i initially buy from JB holiday plaza cos tot that it is cheap & aunty also advised very well... hahaha
maybe i can highly recommend u all another one shop which sell all GDL things in jurong if u are interested..the lady boss there is very friendly & teaches u what are the meaning of all this chinese traditional things for & how to use & what to do with it also...
Pls PM or drop me a mail cos i seldom log in Sg brides to check for mail but i do have new msg alert if there is any chat or whatsoever in my topic that i reply be4 i think...

weoseek

I dun remember the shop name cutepigs..Its the shop at corner..got hang few purple color flower basket. Becos me aim that long liao but not match with my color theme so didnt get..hehehe..They hv few indonesian maid also got store room nearby.

kite~

just to share with you gals. My mum bought Jia chuang and some GDL stuffs from 1 of the shop at chinatown. Price very reasonable.

The address is:

Blk 335, Smith Street, #01-229, S050335.
Chinatown Complex.

Name of the shop: K.K. Antique Centre.

Tel: 62251185 / 98483013 / 94362058

There are 2 sisters tending the stall, very friendly n helpful. My mum spent only $98 for my Jia zhuang stuffs.
HTH.

inlove

Hi Kite,

Think we bought from the same shop as yours but my mum have to spend $150. I find that they are quite pricey cos' we found similar stuffs later at lower price. My mum bought two set of gold teapot set from them at $28 each and I found the same set of teapot selling at $22 each at AMK.

kite~

Hi Inlove,

Oh issit? dont think we bought from same shop.

Bcos my mum bought the gold teapot set from them at oni $13.80 n they gave us discount $13 only.

We bought 2 set of gold teapot set. only $26 for both. very cheap leh.

ohstrawberry

Hi,cutepigs

Hard liquor for GDL is up to the groom side to decide. Like for me, we settled on red wine, cause my parents don't drink hard liquor. This can be discussed during the Ti Qin, if not any hard liquor will do.

bin

Hi cutepigs,

Me too! Like ohstrawberry, I'm having red wine instead. My future FIL suggested brandy or whisky earlier. Guess it's up to your preference.

stubbilla

any idea what are the various seeds to bring along during GDL by groom?

I only know of lotus seed and red dates. anything else?

stubbilla

btw,

I bought my GDL stuff at jurong west and bukit timah...both are good coz they explain clearly to you what the items u buy are for...

but jurong west one is much more expensive but more presentable coz they do everything nice nice for u (eg. tie red ribbon)

bukit timah one is much cheaper, but u gotta do your own tying of red ribbon.

stubbilla

as for the dialects group and what to buy...my pesonal opinion is no point asking here...go to the shop that sell GDL, they are the expert to ask

kite~

the chinatown one very popular, when i saw at the shop buying GDL stuffs, there are some other couples buying too. very cheap reasonable price.

bugs

hi kite ,
the shop u bought ur things from is it next to a shop selling bedsheet on the left?

i just went there yesterday, things there are higher which a simple mirror just $1++ and they are selling $3.