Just to share, what we are planning (hokkien marry hokkien but my mum is Cantonese so abit slant towards Cantonese...).
End of day, easier to ASK parents what they want, they also nearly as blur as us (or more blur since we have the benefit of this web site), they will talk-talk among relatives, some loud-mouthed ones will insist MUST have certain items or else too "easy".
(following pausini's format)
My Mum going to get all these for me.
1. 1 tea set (can be any style- significance is that it's the teapot heirloom *rolls eyes*, she pass to HB, HB pass to me, I'm supposed to pass to either my future Daughter or issit DIL, I'm abit confused liao)
2. 2 battery operated lamps (I will probably choose something non-traditional)
3. 1 pyjamas (for bride- supposed to, like pausini, have a set for Groom but I explained that's completely redundant since HB don't wear "pyjamas"!)
4. 1 wallet (for groom- we choose first, mum will reimburse)
5. 1 trousers (for groom- same as wallet case. NOTE: must be LOOONGGG pants.)
6. 1 belt (for groom- same as wallet case.)
Guo Da Li, from Guy side (even nos. avoiding "4")
1. 12 oranges (mum will return 6 oranges)
2. 2 boxes of cakes (flipping expensive cos we want to get from the hotel we are holding venue- more matching... but meant for personal consumption heh)
3. 2 cans of abalone (mum's personal preference lah)
4. Ang Bao for my sibling (to buy new clothes- I think pyjamas again, don't know the fascination with PJs)
5. Ang Bao for my mum (Pin Jin)
6. Jewellery for me (should be dragon-phoenix bangle).
Wedding Day Tea ceremony
1. Tea set for ceremony (can be existing, borrowed, doesn't matter)
2. Mum will give HB angbow and gold (diamond optional) ring (can be gold belt buckle or cuff-links or even ear-diggers ahaha, but we chose ring... even though HB wearing it abit look like Casino gambler).
3. Mum will give me angbow- I think the gold jewellery she wants to "pre-gift" for me to display on my wedding bed to show MIL and MIL's relatives... this part abit confusing too. I think what I'd do is have everything in a box, mum hand me the box and on-the-spot wear some jewellery on me (cos I wear kua- the sleeves supposedly does not cover wrists precisely for brides to wear the jewellery during tea ceremony).
Yah, Cantonese have a thing for suckling pigs, HB not sending us any cos all the pigs will be served during dinner itself.