"Guo Da Li (过大礼)" ??

cheetah

<font color="0000ff">hi alicia,
err..what did your mother say ? cos my mum told my hb he shd come with a meipo..so my hb get his auntie to come with him.</font>

alicialsp

Hi cheezz,

My mum jus kept quiet lorr.. she never said anything lorr.. Shd have a meipo rite? So funny without one lorr..

kenjoc

Hi hi..

During Guo Da Li, relatives need to be around meh?

My mom keep asking me when is the Guo Da Li, so that she could inform my relatives to come?

Guo da Li is the day when we give invites and cakes to relatives rite? Which is like 2 weeks before AD rite?

jhoo

cheezz, my GDL is fixed on 23Dec
My MIL and Mother will keep it simple. No An chuan too, hehe

cheetah

<font color="0000ff"><font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahomahi Jo">
for mine GDL no relatives..but we send the cakes to them ..hehe..

hi Jhoo,
good for you keep it simple..i thk mine is more complicated..cos got ti qin, guo da li, an chuang :p</font></font>

jhoo

yup cheezz, mine will be the same. No relative but my side will send the invites and cakes to the relative

keijyo

Hello All

I'm new to the post.

I would like to know the places that sell stuff for GDL and things such as tea set.

There is one address on Jurong West from Rainn. Is that where we can get the stuff? And whereabout in Chinatown?

berry_tay

Hi keijyo,

You still can find the GDL stuff at chinatown, her unit is SS16, just next to the FO YA SHI Temple, the temple is not done up yet, they are still building.

Her stall got no signboard and u can easily find her stall

berry_tay

Hi matsu

Its at chinatown market whereby their stall are like pasar malam type. very very near to the food street. Its just next to FO YA ShI temple, buddha tooth to be translated.

keijyo

Hi Rainn and taybh

Thanks for the info.

taybh: so you mean it's Smith Street 16? I think I know where. I'll ask again if unsure. Thanks!

hots

I'm new in this thread... I jus bought my GDL stuffs last Sunday. But seems alot of BTB would like to know more abt " An chuan" items n locations. Hope this website helps...

http://www.chinese-wedding-guide.com/index.html

U can know more abt chinese customery, and things to buy for An Chuan &amp; GDL. And of cos locations for shops tt sell GDL stuffs.

Jus to inform gals here that the Chinatown market where used to sell GDL stuffs is under renovation. They have moved to outram park. Beside Outram MRT. But i'm not sure whether the GDL shops also moved there cos i didnt go there.There's another shop which i found located in Chinatown too. From the those shops like pasar malam (sell food), walk across the chinatown atrium (alot of old ppl playing chess). U can see 1st shop is the chinese medical hall, if i rem correctly. The GDL shop is the 2nd or the 3rd unit. I bought my stuffs there.

email me if u wan the contact no. @ [email protected]

matsu

Juz went to the TEMP chinatown market beside Outram MRT. There is a store selling all sorts of wedding stuff, @ No.132

apuppy

just wana check. Do anyone knows if after the GDL, the groom must bring to his parents and show it to them before returning back new home?

Now my mum is making a fuss cause of a GDL shop auntie told my mil that the groom need to bring to them and show them to repect the female side the things they bought.But now my mum say malu cause i don wan to buy gold and only old gold to show my PIL.

She make such a big fuss out of it that there is no such tradition! So I Wana make sure if who is right and if anyone does that.

cactus_79

traditionally, the bride will need to show her in-laws the gifts that her parents give her/the couple. Cos in olden days, once marry into guys' family, all the things given to the bride by her parents will become the guy's family's property.

cheetah

<font color="0000ff">hi apuppy,
i thot is the groom brg all the gdl stuff to show the bride's mum? this incl sdl, 2 bottle of wine </font>

cheetah

<font color="0000ff">hi apuppy
i am confused leh..gal got bot what item ? those item gal's side bot are cheapo stuff mah..to be plc in the bridal bedrm lor.u wanna pm or yahoo messenger to me ?</font>

apuppy

Hey cheezz,

luckily...just finish my GDL yesterday. Everything went well and the gold i told my mum no need GDl show..Actual Day also can so she didnt make any noise.

Yar most of the things gal buy are those basin, potty and orange syrup but actually my mum do still spent around 200 plus on the GDL shop.. Dono consider ex a not but we do feel so....

I actually update the photos in my website..if u are curious can go in my profile and see my wedding website URL. My GDL stuffs are more, still got pillows,booster,bedsheets for an chuang,luggage(dowry furniture) so depends if ur mother wana buy cause now not necessary to follow but my mum last time she get married have so she wana continue give.

The preparations for me is stressful but I had a wonderful experience when the day came.So much fun

cactus_79

The bride's parents will also give the bride jewelry (jia zhuang) and in some cases, even cash in Ang Pao. The bride will show the jia zhuang to her in-laws at the tea ceremony. In the olden times, the bride woudl be accompanied by at least 1 maid, who would then follow the bride and be her maid after she is married.

tyingknot2007

a modern and cute nuptial lamp

417895.jpg

There is a shop on 3rd floor (if i remember correctly) also selling GDL items at the market near OG (Chinatown). I just went there last month. Got most of my items there. Think chinese is call 'zhen zhu ba sha'. Think is pearl market or something like that.

soontobe

Anyone has any idea where the shop in the Zhen Zhu Ba Sha shifted to? I was there last Wed, and found the market is under reno, so can't find the shop.....

foreverhappy

hi soon to be are u refering to the market behind CK?
It has temp set up behind otrum MRT station.

But i think there is only one stall selling the GDL stuff. as i only see 1. but behind CK there is another one.

sherrie

Hi guys I am new to this forum. My AD is on 29th Dec 2006. Since you guys are on this topic, I thought I might as well share what I have done for GDL.

I was at the shop selling GDL items on 22 Oct 2006 Sunday. My mum found the shop very easily. So did I. It's behind Outram MRT station. Temporary hawker centre.

The shop owner wasn't that friendly (maybe cos it was too packed. They have a photo album showing you the seemingly standard items.)

Anyway my mum paid for everything. Cost us about 170 dollars which my mum and grandma said was quite reasonable. We got most of the items.

- embroidered pink satin slippers
- tooth brushes with mugs
- tea pot set
- spitton and bowl for washing face
- towels with "Xi" or happiness printed on them
- pair of bowls with nice chopsticks (symbolises that the bride will have "enough to eat" when she gets married)
- "Xi" stickers so that we can stick them onto the oranges and other decorative items for the wedding
- sewing basket with scissors, threads, measuring tape, pins and pin-holder
- red packets with meaningful wordings
- packet (with red dates and other items) for us to put around four corners of the bed)
- a pair of nice lamps...we bought the electric ones..
- a pair of flasks (which the person said was for hainanese only)- one to be filled with rock sugar and the other to be filled with white wine
- comb

...perhaps I missed out some items but generally those are the standard items...different dialects have different practices..i.e. generally hakkas will buy umbrellas for their daughters when they get married

On a separate note, we also went shopping for lingerie (bought panties, bras and 2 sets of pyjamas), 10 sets of new clothes, jewellery, towels, bedsheets and comforters, 2 new pillows, new suitcase so that I can use that to put all the new items.

I think my mum is a bit over the top but I think if I have a daughter next time, I will do the same things too

For GDL day, my husband's aunt will visit my house. My MIL said that it is optional for me or my husband to be around.

chickenlittle

I juz bought my GDL stuff from this shop near the CK at chinatown.The shop is quite big and the shop owner quite friendly.The things dowwn there are cheaper...

Blk 4 Sago Lane #01-127
Tel: 62208442

They open til 8pm daily and til 5pm on Sunday.

pebble_furball

I am trying to settle my GDL.

Can I know whether there is a one-stop shop that sells all the traditional items plus cakes? Or do I have to go separately to cake shop and GDL shop?

kenjoc

Just need to check, does it mean that we have get ready all these stuff during GDL and have to pack them in a suitcase ar? Can we place them ready at our new house?

I'm quite confused about the procedures.. I more or less know what need to buy, but I don't know when I have to get them ready, or place them at where? Mom's house or new house? Get those bedsets/lamp ready by GDL or 'an chuan'.

Can anyone help me?

falling_star

hi hi...

must my FH go to my house when guo da li? or he can bring all the things to my house earlier (ard 1 wk before actual day), then dun need to show himself on actual day for guo da li?

pls advise. thaks.

kenjoc

Me having GDL tmr...

But what is the procedure?

FH come to my house to bring the stuff, then he bring back my stuff to his house, then back to new house? Do I follow him back to new house?

Pls advised. Thanks

darren__eve

Hubby &amp; Mummy have bought all the necessary stuffs for GDL over the weekend...
We went to the one in Jurong and we are happy with their service.
Thanks for the recomm by u gals : )

leng78

I am really at a lost and don't know what to do. Hope your can advise me. Normally for guo da li, do your follow your husband's dialect group custom or my own dialect group custom?

cactus_79

Hi, I think we follow both dialect groups. In my case, I let my husband's parents say how they want to do it and what things they want and what things they will give me. My parents "added" on to the list - the things they want and the things they will give me and my husband. For events happenning on the wedding day, things which happen at my husband's house will be decided by my in-laws. Things which happen at my house, will be decided by us.

wendy33

girls.... i'm really sad... just did my guodali on the 26/11/06 last sunday... guess how much my mother in law give the pin jin???? $188 ok!!!!!!

YA!!! u nv see wrong $188.00 .... i was like wth!!!! tats too much.... argh...... we did everything they nv help... at 1st me and my hubby dont 1 2 have wedding dinner... they are the one that insisted to have 1.... u know wat.... my father in law ask me to tell my parent tat the wedding dinner table money for the female side he want it back... wat u girls think... is this too way much??? i really cannot take it... my wedding is in 1 week time and i'm so stress!!!!! please kill me or kill them.... and my hubby is so angry with them.... cold war in the house now.... omg.... how come this earth got this kind of ppl as parent.... *sobsob*

cactus_79

Hi wendy33, so sorry to hear about the amount of pin jin. THat's really much too little.
Try not to let it spoil your wedding though. You still want to be the most beautiful on your wedding day right? Maybe just have less contact with your in-laws in the future and keep the relationship a neutral one.

wendy33

i dont even bother to talk to them now.... see them also dont 1... need to move out asap after my wedding dinner... so now we looking for house lor.. =(

novbride2006

Wendy dont let them dampen your mood - as for the banquet if you n hubby paid for everything i dont see the need for u to return the $$ - u keep the $$ for both sides

be happy ok

cactus_79

yup... don't let your in-laws make you upset. It's natural to want to avoid them cos of the way they've treated you, but try to stay neutral.. cos after all, in-laws do form a part of your extended family in the future.. your kids will be their grandkids.. try not to be too negative, outwardly. You won't want to put your husband in a difficult spot too. Although your husband may not be happy with the way his parents do things, he is after all their son. Have blood ties.

wendy33

no wor... my busband 1 2 change to my surname... and with his temper i dont think he is joking lor... now finding place to move... after that he dont 1 2 have any relationship with them.. he is more angry then me...

pinpong

Hi Wendy,

Dun let d issue dampen ur rights to enjoy ur big day. Focus on being ur best best, &amp; have lot of rest as much as possible.

wendy33

i try lah... now also alot of thing to be done... not enuff sleep cannot eat... seaiouly i look like zombie now -.-||