Greece honeymoon********

necrosis

i also took qatar, the flight is good.
service and food good.

if you transit more than 5 hrs in the airport (which was for me case to athens), go to 2nd floor,
the food court area (not the one with fast food, but the more canteen or cafeteria one)
it's at the end of the 2nd floor,
show your boarding pass and get a free meal.

we had free b'fast there, muffins were good, the rest was ok.
tea/coffee/soft drink also free, which saves the hassle of paying in their currency.

even if you use USD, the change will be in Doha currency.

guinguin

wow! 20 oct!! next mth neh! exciting or not???

wah! volcano view! i saw the website the view and room fabulous! very nice leh, bt quite exp rite?

qatar airway tink shud b alright bah, my gf is the stewardess ter..hehehe... she said ok leh... cheaper than SQ rite?

me ah, searching details lor, nt so soon mah.. next yr sept mah... bt wish to go ter soon!!!

remember share ur photo hor once back!

lynnnnyl

Hi Nec,

Thanks for the reassurance on Qatar flight, ease my worries....
Oh really, great! i can have free meal. But my transit is less than 2 hours, not sure whether i can still enjoy it hahaha. I heard from my friend that the DFS and shopping area is pretty small in Doha, thus it will be quite boring to transit for too long. Is that true?

Hi guin,

Wa! Ur GF is stewardess...Any special rate for tickets for her and you? I hope the room at Volcano view is as great as the pic in the web. hahaha. This is the only exp which i intend to spend on. Around 200plus euro per night. So you intend to go F&E or follow tour guide? Plenty of time to research for you....
so good! I'll sure share the photos when back....

lynnnnyl

Hi Nec, i tried to write to Pan hotel previously too, but they have no reply. The problem is they don't have a website where i can do booking. How did you book yours?

I'm pinning my hope on tempi hotel which the previous thread had recommended. Hopefully it's a good place and there is reply from them.....

guinguin

eel, hmm.. thkz for reminding me, i will ask her next time for my special rate of tic! haha...bt as for greece, my hb plan to go by SQ. he dun trust any airline..LOL~

1 of the forum bride went greece b4 and stayed in volcano view, and 1 of my GF backed ter too, said the view was amazing! hehe, so... rest in mind, dun worry so much ya! remember bring more memory card! hhaha...

we intend to go by F&E, not use to tour group, hate tat. yeah yeah! wait for u to come back!! yea yea...

guinguin

eel, why nt try Adonis Hotel, Hera Hotel or Metropolis Hotel?- those hotel u mentioned in Athens is it? Saw from asiatravel.. comment quite alright and gd location too.

lynnnnyl

okay, i shall try writing to these hotels.....Thks.

Sometimes guys are quite particular about the hotels and the flights...haha. Wonder why....

I'm the type that preferred backpack. So Guin, you have identify your itinerary or still thinking where to go?

guinguin

ya, those hotels rate as mid range. shud b ok bah.. bt dun expect those 4-5* hotel hor.

me too! we use to either backpack or F&E our own tours. feel more relax by going sumwer we want to and no need to pack into 1 fix schedule by sum1. dun like restricted.

had confirmed where to go, athens-mykonos-naxos-santorini-athens, about 12-13 days. will stay more days in santorini, our dream place! hehe..

hotel wise, still looking around since got time, maybe can seek more adv frm the brides here who going to Greece soon... 1 of them is u! :p

lynnnnyl

sure. no problem....

I wonder whether i can squeezed in naxos as well. But i've already booked the hotels. Quite unlikely now......

What do you recommend the amount of Euro to bring over? Wondering whether they accept visa and cards everywhere. Not comfortable to bring Cash everywhere....

lynnnnyl

Wondering whether we should pack in lugguages or backpack. Would it be easier to move around in buses and train and ferry with backpack? NEC, any advise?

guinguin

eel, i saw few books.. naxos quite worth to visit.. their beach, little venice and windmill quite romantic and nice.. u cannot slot in meh?

heard of, greece most of the place only accept cash, even for hotel. so u hav to make sure the hotel u book accept credit card, if nt then u headache.

for us, tink will bring 1 luggage-roll, then each of us bring 1 backpack each lor... as those small 1 lah.. think shud b ok bah, their ferry quite huge!

necrosis

hi eel,
i booked pan hotel from booking.com

actually, hotels and such do accept credit cards, even restaurants.
but some places, like markets and small cafes, only accept cash.
oh yes, their ferry is huge.
esp those long distance ones...
we carried the luggage that can roll kind, quite big, and left at the hotel in athens cos after all the island hopping, still go back to athens for 1 more night before our flight back.
so during the island hopping time, we were just carrying backpacks.
that too cos we went without booking any hotels in advance, basically seeing what caught our fancy when we reached.

personally, i prefer naxos to santorini, i still find santorino more touristy and i dont like that kind of feel.
but it IS simply beautiful.
i think all their islands are beautiful ;)

from a greek prof who met my FH in a conf, mykonos is the best place for clubbing.
also super touristy.

lynnnnyl

Would it be convenient if i move around for island hopping with 2 small rolling luggages? I'm thinking if i were to carry 10days of clothings in backpack, could be quite heavy. haha...:p

maybe i've chosen the wrong island. i'm not into clubbing. I thought i saw from previously that Mykonos have beautiful beaches, white sand and clear water.......just pray that this period is not peak for tourist.....

therat

i've been to greece for honeymoon but cannot share much information like price etc..
as it was on Oct 1999

I only remember I went to Turkey , Greece and Egypt for 23 days. Total tour damage (exclude meal in Greece) is $3.5k++ est..

Oct, is not their summer season.. so.. less ppl, less crowded. Not that expensive.

As for Greece, we only pay for hotel at athens.
We stay 5 night @ Rodhs Island (I think I misspell the name) for free as my husband's bro has timeshare. We use his timeshare

guinguin

hi royal, wow! 23 days! cool...

Oct.. shud b lesser ppl rite? urs was earli of oct or mid? wow, really can save up by staying using timeshare, if not i dun think the expenses only up to 3.5k++..

therat

should be mid of Oct

b'coz their summer tourist peak period has over.
The sea is cool

yes, timeshare itself is not a bad item. Just that the selling method spolit its name in singapore.
And of course, u need to use it.

Yes.. if not the saving of timeshare, the damage will be more then that.
Greece expenses standard is almost can pair with singapore expense.
So.. don't expect you can buy cheap thing.

guinguin

hmm.. ok. im going end of sept-early of oct... hopefully nt so pack..

ya, those timeshare stuffs is sickening in sg.. too much gimmicks till every1 piss off and scare to sign. i shall ask my bro, he has tat.. :p

heard greece no matter food/stay/transport.. everything is exp.. but worth to go rite!

do u have any photo to show?

therat

u can check with ur bro.
That time.. if i remember correctly. My husband pay USD 50 for his brother to transfer the timeshare usage to his name.
USD50 for 5 day resort stay .. that's cheap liao..

yes.. greece everything all expensive.
Take a bus from resort to the town... like 10+ min.. cost like est SGD2 per person 1 way..

If you plan to go to restaurant for dinner.
1. must be in normal dress.
2. prepare 4-5 hrs eating
3. their dinner start late.. i think start @ 9-10pm

that time.. don't have DC.
all firm photo.

guinguin

huh... normal dress??? i thought greece can be casual place? zzz....

i know their dinner start quite late, my fiance cousin told us, look for dinner only after 8pm.. if not hardly can find a place to eat.. those ppl stay late and enjoy the nite party life..

therat

oops..
sorry.. AIA issue has occupy my mind. don't think properly..

shall be format dressing.

their dinner is a very BIG thing for them. It's like family gathering/outing.

So.. they normally dress up.
No jean, t-shirt
all l/s shirt for man, ladies will be in dress.
all like going for wedding dinner.
dress nice nice type.

guinguin

huh.. bu shi bah... jialat. i tot of only bring casual wear leh.. such a relax place wear so 'long zong'... wa lao..

therat

haha ya lor..
at first, we thought got wedding.
then ask our resort ppl, then realize... their dinner is like that..

see their dressing, i and my husband also don't dare to go in. we thought must be very expensive resturant. haha. scare go in.. pocket 1 big hole.

but not all dinner place is like that.. just avoid those resturant lor..
cafe, fast food, still ok.. casual casual..

is very nice place to go.
u willn't regret one

guinguin

hehehe... our dream place, confirm will go 1.. but tink of the expenses quite worry also.. juz after our wedding leh...

hey, u worry for the AIA case? do u have any idea ING same or not ah?

therat

that time.. greece still using their own currency.
not that bad.
now. EU$.. expense shot up

what u mean by any idea ING same or not?

BTW, do ur husband like Casino?
My deep impaction , they had a Casino, just buy a day-pass member.. like 2 day. U got unlimited entre and unlimited drink include soft and hard.. all kind of drink are FREE. Free flow..
My husband enjoy that alot.. hahhaha

guinguin

realli? last time used diff currency? tis is new to me.. hmmm...

AIG, ING and AIA... all insurance co mah... juz knw from my agent, only AIG have problem...

nop.. we both dun like casino neh.. hahaha..

therat

that was before Greece join EU, use Euro.

The Greek currency until 2002 was the Drachma which was then replaced by the Euro that is now the valid currency in Greece

AIG is investment not insurance
AIA is insurance
ING.. i don't know.

my husband like to visit every country Casino to see how is inside and play awhile.

guinguin

AIG is doing insurance as well..tats why a lot of ppl worry their policy got pro thats why surrender..

casino, wow.. so he like to see the environment ter is it?

therat

AIG is not doing insurance.
Everyone go and Q AIA b'coz AIA is under AIG.

AIG is a GROUP. They had alot of business. Insurance is handle by AIA.
AIG mainly for investment.

like.
AIG is the mother
Mother got alot of children
1 children overspent.
debt come to mother
and happen 1 of the childrens is AIA who is earning $.
And ppl scare that mother will take the $$ from child AIA.

ya.. he like to play few round.
before we got marry, I only play 21 point. then he teach me how to play table. Now.. i only play table b'coz realize 21 point is boring.. lol

lynnnnyl

hi royal,

AIG has insurance too. A lot of car insurances are under AIG.....

Other than Rodhes island, any other islands did you go? Where is the casino by the way, hahaha... I'm interested to explore........

therat

car insurance is under general insurance which fall under AIG umbrella

life insurance, endownment, etc, is life insurance fall under AIA.

Only went to Rhodes but already like the island.

Casino.. I can't remember the actual place. It's in Athens. Found it by accident while we are searching high and low for a money changer to exchange our balance Turkey currency to Greece currency.
Another lesson learn for Turkey.. hahaha

guinguin

oic.. hehe, royal pika.. r u in this line? so familiar leh u. hehe.. thanks for the explaining though

Ehmm, think i shud go Athens and explore the casino also.. haha..

therat

No lah..
not in this line..
just that has AIA policy.. so.. go and read up more. before decide anything.

Oop.. BTW, the casino lor..
the waitress is dress up like rabbit..
rabbit ear. rabbit tail..
very funny.. lol
at least I don't see it in Genting.. lol

guinguin

hehehe, no wonder.. tot u r in tis line/agent leh..

rabbit? ehh.. like those LA casino we seen from TV before leh.. hhaa..

happi_bride

AIG does general insurance - which includes car insuance, liability insurance, professional liability insurance, terrorism insurance, property insurance etc etc. power plants, big companies need to buy all such types of insurance and all thesze are insured by AIG.

ginginmeow

i just saw SQ air tix at $1653 per pax all in (direct) for next year's end sept to early oct.

is this considered cheap?

guinguin

hi ginger, $1653? means couple $3306, think consider cheap, bcoz last few weeks i check 2 pax for $3899.

is it still available now?

ginginmeow

hi guinguin,

yes it is still available when i checked before lunch. the dates are from 23 sept 09 to 7 oct 09.

go check it out!

ginginmeow

hey guin (yr name and mine looks alike
),

i also dunno leh. discussing with my bf now.
cos we initially plan for 12 days trip and a 15days trip now will cost more.

my travel date is from 22/23 sept to 5/6 oct.

btw, are u taking the land package from easy traveller/Dolphine Hellas etc or are you booking the hotels/ferries on yr own?

guinguin

hey hey!! ahahah... guess wat, we may travel same date leh! :p

i tink e price nt tat cheap, coz i saw tis price few weeks back, still e same. my htb say mayb can wait awhile, till the fuel drop a bit, believe will b cheaper than now.

we plan our trip from 25 sept - 09 oct.. haha.. mayb we may bunk each other ter? which part u plan to cover. we will go Athens->Mykonos->Naxos->Santorini->Athens...prob will spend more days in Santorini..

i did chk Dophin Hellas web, bt found their package provided kinda exp, i try to search from diff webbie like tripadvisor and
http://www.gnto.gr/

i tink nt urgent la, our trip sept 09, will start to book by latest march 09...

ginginmeow

wow izzit? when is yr AD? mine is on 20 sept.
we can share ideas and tips since our dates are so close!

oggie.. then i prolly hold on first and see if the fuel price drops any further. my colleague also ask me not to be impulsive

i am planning athens/mykonos/paros/santorini. still considering if i shud take land package or DIY. need to keep within budget.

guinguin

hehe, even our AD also same! :p

i have 2 wedd, 1 in SG 1 in Msia... 10.09.09 is my SG solemnization + dinner, 20.09.09 is my AD in KL.

yeah sure! haha, which hotel u sign for? done wif ur preparation like BS, PG and VG?

yup.. dun b so rush, we still have plenty of times to tink & plan. i will let go Paros bcoz i heard Paros comment not tat good, kinda boring. so we choose to go Naxos instead. those land package provided by agent like Dolphin Hella, very exp leh! We plan to DIY ourself, ever tink of rent a mini car and drive in santorini.

ginginmeow

hehe.. similar names and same AD! what a coincidence!

wow.. 2 weddings~ that is nice! how is yr planning so far?

i am with sheraton towers cos like li bai's food
but it will be a simple dinner with only 10tables. BS confirmed liao, i am taking silhouette. and taking PG only. i am very kiasu, realized it's a hot date so quickly book the essentials first. What about you?

honestly i haven read much on greece yet. so not sure on the final destinations we will go. but firm on santorini and mykonos. Yeah i also think it's very exp... big sigh...

guinguin

yeah, wat a coincidence!! 2 wedd causing me alot of headache.. many things need to prepare & plan. sigh.

my dinner at GCW, same here!! 10 tables! OMG~~ why so many similar points we have here!! lolz...

my BS is My Dream Wedding..PG and AD gowns.. PG & VG in KL confirmed liao while SG so far onli confirm PG, VG still hunting. u leh? never engage PG/VG?

ya lor, greece is nice! super nice!! bt exp lor, estimate we need to spend min 10k per couple.. including air tic, accommodation, xport, eat... siong hor...but it's our dream place! must must go!!

ginginmeow

yeah can understand. take yr time and dun stress too much over it ok.

GCW is grand copthorne waterfront near Zouk? i like the italian restaurant pontini very much! fantastic food! hehe indeed.. sooo many similar stuff :D

'my dream wedding' is from hkg right? my bestie is also considering this BS, heard their gowns are very pretty.
i got PG but not VG.. cos bf specially request no gatecrashing games then i feel nothing much to capture on AD that's why din get VG.

yeah super exp.. we also budgetted 10k minimum but haven include shopping yet.
but i kept telling myself it's THE honeymoon so must go to somewhere we like and really romantic one.
eh i wonder got things to buy in greece or not.. i lurve shopping!!

guinguin

no choice lor, still have 2 plan rite? once in a lifetime, take it as memories lor :p

yup, GCW - grand corp waterfront. yeah, u lov italian food also? hav u ever try Garibaldi? YUM YUM!! yeah, MDW is originally from HKG, and i will have ps in hkg coming march. wen is ur PS date?

huh? no gate crashing! haiyo, y? it's so fun mah.. once in ur lifetime leh, muz go ahead have fun mah.. if not so boring leh.. dun let him get u so easi mah, hahaha.. dun let him knw, if nt scold me! haha..

honeymoon muz go sumwer where both of u dream of.. is a good and unforgettable experience know.. hehe, so romantic leh, imagine sitting at the balcony, enjoying the caldera view, gosh! i wish can fly ter now! hahah!!

greece, heard the stuffs ter quite exp leh..

zephyrine

I just returned from my Greece Trip & Island Hopping in early Oct... bought a few postcards of the islands and they are now are plastered over my workstation cube wall

Greece is indeed a beautiful place... actually not that crazily expensive...

love their fashion there, but found their prices too costly.. miss their food... especially the slouvaki and kebabs... but realised that the the cheapest, freshest and nicest food can be found in those little cafes within the Central Market in Athens... cos once you have ordered your food, the stall owner will hop into the Central Market to buy fresh meat / fish / seafood and grill them immediately for you... we had grilled mutton / steak for 6 Euros each.. and it's quite a huge portion...

and.. there's this little street that has about 4-5 chocolate shops... it's filled with bowls and bowls of chocolates for you to choose from... But that's all in Athens...

would love to have visit Naxos, but our trip package brought us to Mykonos, Paros and Santorini...

Mykonos has really really nice beaches and pubs, Paros is laid back, abit like Pulau Ubin and Santorini is dreamy...

I miss Greece, if I have a chance, would love to go back..