Grand Shanghai Restaurant

evlee

Hi Joanna,

I hv taken a few shots at GS but its not ready yet and my AD is on 5 Aug hence no photos to share with u. However, you can see the photos taken by other brides in previous thread.

Btw, I would suggest u give GS a call at 68366866 or email them at www.grandshanghai.com to get the latest pricing coz mine is outdated liao. I was told by Sally that they have just changed their menus and pricing in July 07.

Alternatively,you can call them to make an appointment to look at their wedding setting and speak to Sally. No worries, the people there are quite nice.

jinglebel

Hi Evon

How much did you pay for the wine? The one GS offers is abt $22 rite? By the way, I have seen my photos and we love the photos very much! It is really a perfect place for photoshoot!

By the way, I will be going for my food tasting soon in mid July. Have you gone for yours? What dishes did u change?

evlee

Hi jinglebel,

I got the wine at $19.50 nett. Well, actually wanted to get from GS but after tax it will cost ard $26+ so I got it from outside since I got corkage waiver from GS. It depends on the consumption...most of my guests drink wine hence its more economical to get from outside.

Can share with me your photos? I din take much at GS coz I was late
shall share with u once I got mine from my photographer.Hee

I hv gone for my food tasting... yah, should be changing a few dishes but not confirm yet still waiting for my FILs' decision. Most probably
1)shanghai noodles to Ee fu noodles
2)sauteed fresh scallops... to yam with scallop
3) pearl abalone to sliced abalone

Sally will speak to u after or during the food tasting and she will give u suggestions as to what to change and advise on any extra cost involved.

elm23

Does anyone have a softcopy of map to Grand Shanghai? Thinking of including that in my invitation cards because a lot of my friends don't know where it is.
Please PM me if you have!

dancewei

Does anyone know about the dressing room that is designated for the bride to change? Is the room big and conducive enough?

stefanie20

elis,
I did my invites at T-dargon. They had the map to Grand Shanghai.

Joanna,
There is no actual dressing room. The room that I used for changing is their private function room. It's very big but gotta dim the lights when you change.

dkaren

Hi Stefanie,

How much did u pay for the print at T-dragon ?
Is Grand Shanghai going to provide us the papers for the internal-print ?

stefanie20

dkaren,
I cant rem how much I paid for the printing at T-dragons already. Price will dependent on the paper and kind of printing you choose. T-dragons price is quite competitive and they very experienced and have maps/info to most of the hotels so it's very easy working with them.

Grand shanghai only provide the external hard card. Internal paper n printing by printer on your own.

elm23

Thanks Stefanie. But do you noe if GS itself has a softcopy? Because we intend to use another printer.

I think 1 thing I find inconvenient about GS is that they don't have email correspondance. Everything must call and Sally is not always available. Most of the time she can't even remember us because there are so many couples.

Joanna: Yup...only the private room behind for changing. But can see the silhouette through the curtains even with the dimmed light so I think you will have to change in one of corner of that room...in case any of your guests happen to look that direction.

stefanie20

elis,
I not sure if GS got the soft copy or not. You can check with them. Or check with ur printer if they have?

Usually I call Shirley. But actually also dun have much things to discuss. Quite straight forward.

You dun have much time to change. It's a mad rush so you won't get to think too much.. ;)

dancewei

Hi Stefanie and elis,

Thanks for ur info. Actually, i'm stil in the midst of deciding between holding a wedding lunch on Sunday at Pan Pac or a wedding dinner on Sat at GS.
very troubled!!!
care to give any opinions?

elm23

Pros of GS:
unique ambiance
better and consistent standard of fd
experienced service staff (not temps)
"free" entertainment (singer and band)
nice photoshoot venue

Cons of GS:
small (only 270 max)
odd table seating arrangements (sm 4, sm 5)
pillars definitely block quite a few tables
hv to arrange own logistics for slideshow
march-in short or roundabt (no long aisle)

We went through the above before we decided...We were most concerned abt the small area but in the end still chose GS because of the gd fd and because it's 'different' from the run-of-the-mill hotel wedding.

But you have to assess for yourself what is most important to you.

stefanie20

I agree with elis. Both is totally different. Pan pac is normal hotel setup and arrangement. I like GS coz it's so different. But of coz have to bear in mind the pillars and seating arrangement. So choose 1 that suits your needs better

dancewei

All of you are so wonderful, provided me with such detailed info. Will think thru and go down to GS to hav dinner one of these days to see how the arrangement is like.
I'm alright with the space cos i only intend to have 20 tables.
But comparing the perks given by the 2, PP offers better ones. Free cockage etc.

elm23

GS is quite easy to negotiate so don't judge the perks based on the package. I managed to get free corkage and extra beer. She also gave me 100% parking. I also changed quite a lot of dishes.

Hmm...20 tables. I think you have to check - If I'm not wrong, less than 23 tables, GS will not 'bao' the restaurant for you. They will open up the sides for walk-in customers. Have to confirm with GS.

nici

I've a question regarding GS. As we know, they provide "free entertainment" (Singers & band). Do we still need to arrange for our own Mcee? So means we must co-ordinate with the Singers when to "stop singing" for the 2nd march in and wine-toasting?

joyz

hi Nici,
you don't have to arrange for your emcee if everything is simple. you can ask the person you liaised with at the restuarnt to help with that.

chng

Hi, anyone can share their pricing range like and seating capacity as in how many tables can they accomdate?

midori

their private room can only accomodate 4 tables max. Just wondering, will we still get to see their live band/singing performance if we are in the private room?

And if it is held in the restuarant itself, and not in the room, does anyone know how the partition will be like? will there be no privacy?

Pls advise, thanks!

joyz

hi Midori,
if they leave the doors to the private area open, you will get to view the live band's performances...
i am not sure bout the partitions if you were to hold it in the restaurant itself. =)

ice_cosy

anyone know how many singers do they have? only one?
just like to know if which singer is better?
btw, can't remember but GS provide the Guest Book right?

hi gals, considering GS for my wedding banquet.

Been reading abt the threads, but now, wondering do you gals opt for projector if not, how to play video express or photo montage?

ice_cosy

hi blessings

think there's no suitable place to place a projector in GS. u been there before? there's quite a number of pillars at the res.

i did not show the montage cos not possible to have all guests to see it. GS do not provide it as well. 2 of my friends who held there also do not have montage.

Hi ice,

Yap, I've been there before. It's one of my preferred venue for my banquet. Do you think the evening gonna be bland if there's no express highlight or montage? Sigh...guess can't have the best of both world. Ballroom no view and pretty bland. GS is good with old worldly charm but can't have projector

ice_cosy

hi blessings

ya, at first i also worried that there's no other things to entertain the guests.
but do rest assure that the singer and ambience are more than enough to awe the guests. That's what i felt when i attend my friends wedding there.

maybe you could add in a few stage programmes like some "sabo time' for the couples. hee hee.

or u could have print a billboard montage and place it at the entrance? or to prepare a scrapbook for every table? i tot of preparing scrapbook but give up half way cos lazy
hee hee

Hi ice, went to GS today again with my FILs.

Does the singers and band entertain throughout the dinner or they only entertain for certain time? This, forget to ask Sally just now.

Billboard montage? Haha...you very creative leh. But then, I can't visualise leh...now pretty overwhelm with my preferred 3 venues.

1) Grand Shanghai
2) Hilton Hotel
3) Grand Copthorne Waterfront hotel

princess_wong

Dear Brides to be,

GS is the best choice to have a unforgetable wedding venue. I had our AD on Dec 2005 and Shirley is my wedding coordinator. She still remebers me after 2 yrs. We are extremely happy and enjoy every single moment from the day I step my foot in till now.
Yesterday, I went to Grand shanghai to dine with my hubby and we invite my sweet photographer, Tuck along.

It sure a good choice n you wont regret of having it there. So have a blissful wedding and happy preparing for your wedding. ;)

ice_cosy

hi blessings

the singer start to sing abt 7 plus if i remembered correctly. during the cocktail session.
All the way to almost to the end. stop in between for the usual ceremony.

I had to agree GS is really different becos of its oriental setting and live band. Not to mention their food is shanghainese, slightly different from the usual chinese food.

midori

I went to Grand Shanghai for the 1st time on saturday.. i must say i like the ambience better than peony jade.. but i have a problem.. my tables required is abt 6 tables. too big a crowd for the private room. so they can only put us at the corner..

i will really prefer it to be in the centre.. do you think they will allow?

mawby84

Hi All, planning to have my wedding banquet at Grand Shanghai, going to place the deposit sometime mid next month unless I find somewhere which i prefer over GS. A few things i noted about them:
1) They are quite sticky on their 'provided items'
2) Wedding co-ordinator / Banquet Manager not very helpful (My AD is in early 09, and she keeps saying its waaaayyyy too early to book)

I am caught in a dilemma whether to take it up cox i really like the place, despite the management attitude, or should I feedback on their service and hope they will serve me better.

Hope to have some advice from you gals. Thanks

joyz

hi Midori,
why don't you check with the manager/asst manager at Grand Shanghai? they might be able to work something out for you. =)

joyz

hi mawie,
i am not very sure either... have you called the manager? if you can wait, then perhaps i can give you an answer after my AD. =)

jere

Hi GS brides,

Anyone planning to have 2EG for the wedding banquet. May I know how do you arrange the time schedule. Another thing would be anyone having a red EG? I have a red laced with silver trimming EG. Do you think it would blend with the colour scheme. Please help. Thks.

ice_cosy

hi jere

mine's is a red EG with bright blue linnings...very oriental and blend well with the theme...totally a shanghai feel....I'm sure yours will be stunning esp during the nighttime when the lighting hits on u...

stefanie20

mawie,
the wedding cake is not real.

jere,
the 2nd march-in with ur EG will be after the 3rd dish. GS will advise u on the timing and they will cue you when to go change and stuff. Very professional n helpful.

personally, i will avoid red EG coz the table cloth and booth seats all red so u might blend into the backgrd..

necrosis

wondering if any of you knows if in a banquet seting in GS, whether they arrange 10-seater tables like normal hotels or do they have the different numbers like 4-6 interspered?

can just pm me.

ice_cosy

hi nec

GS has both 10 seater tables as well as 5 seaters of sofa seats...they also have 4 seaters seats too...

u could check with shirley and they would advise u more on the seating arrangments

hi jere

pls feel free to visit my wedding blog..so could see if u think red EG will clash with the theme or not
i had my photoshoots in GS..of course, my pic din manage to show the whole res. heehee

mywedding.com/danielcacy

better still, if u could take a picture of ur EG and try to visualise it in GS...or u could take ur photoshoots in that red EG and have another EG for actual day...so u could have the best of both worlds...