Grand Shanghai Restaurant

colynnpoh

hi witty_monkey,

My AD is on 19th Oct... So excited.. haha
Now busy with house reno.. sourcing for contractors and getting quotes from them... busy busy.. hee

witty_monkey

Colynn, ohhh, u have reno to complete ah, must b damn busy ah... i have done my reno 1 year ago.. so now juz busy wif my wedding preparation. btw, i have printed the wedding insert in JB, damn cheap... =)

yippiedoo

hi flowergal...

hope you enjoyed your wedding banquet!! CONGRATS!!!!! haha.. yup i am still busy preparing.. hopefully it'll all go well!

rest well and take a short little break! wedding prep is so tiring (but funnnnn ^_^)

flowerygal

hi yippie, dteng, cecilia,
tks 4 ur blessings!

hi evry1,
My wedding banquet finali ovr!! i muz said it is considered quite successful beco almost all seats were filled up including 2 reserved tables. God had blessed me by holding the rain so tat it wun cause inconvenience & i cld take outdoor pics b4 proceeding to e reception ard 7.30pm. 1 thing tat future GS brides muz take note is e changing rm. Muz try 2 hide at a corner so tat ppl wun see u changing beco e curtains nt well-covered n the door is transparent.

evlee

flowergal,

I agreed with u. I was there on sunday.. standing outside the changing room and I can see pple inside the room even the curtains were drawn.

Yippie and lizzy,
its your turn soon so take note k

colynnpoh

witty_monkey, ya lor.. very busy now leh.. stress ah.. keke.. the inserts ah.. cheaper to print in JB ah.. okie okie.. i'll keep that in mind.. thank u!

flowerygal,
thanks for ur advice.. maybe we shld feedback to GS so that they can take note of the 'loopholes' haha..

yippiedoo

hi flowergal... congrats again
table filling is one of the stressful part, good that yours was pretty filled up! i can only fill up to 19 plus, but will be paying for 20 tables, because we r keen to book the whole place... sigh! shall stop thinking/stressing about it and move on!

Thanks for your tip for the changing room... i have feedbacked to Shirley about the opacity of their curtains too, but accordingly to her, guests cannot see inside the room when the room lights r dimmed. I will def take note!

feeling quite stressed up lately!! mood swings r a big rollercoaster.... must calm down.. all will go well hopefully...

stefanie20

the changing room cannot be seen. They will dim the lights so u can change inside. But i stand behind the pillar and change very fast coz the door has glass panel. hehee..

ice_cosy

yap, when i went there to recee, shirley also told me it can't be seen. But think we will feel insecure lah cos alot of windows and glass panel around haha.

maybe hide behind the pillar like wat stefanie did lor and ask jie mei to lookout.

btw, wanna ask...i intend to pay the deposit by cheque and the payee name i was given is not GS...something like ....elite thingy... anyone can double confirm?

THanks!

sunrays

dun worry abt the changing room. stand near the big pillar then it's ok. anyway, u'll have friends to help u so just get them to 'block' abit will do. anyway it takes less than 5mins to change(with help)..hehe.

just word of advice for brides to be...i thnk it's a better idea to have one big plate in the middle than individual servings. cos i chose to have individual servings and some of the food served were not hot enough. Also, if ur tbl happened to be half occupied then they serve u half only...they don't even put all plates so that guests may have extra helpings. I didn't highlight to them cos i only realised it after my wedding.

ice_cosy

Hi sunrays

I did highlight this to shirley cos been to 2 weddings and realise that too.

she mentioned that we could request earlier if we want all the servings to be placed. She also mentioned that individual servings have advantage when some of the tables have more ppl, 11 or 12 and some tables have less. Shirley say they could see which tables need more serving then they give.

so do remember to mention abt it for the rest of BTB. Me going to place deposit soon this week.

evlee

ice cosy,

yah... Sally also suggested individual serving, I prefer big plate serving though...esp some of the guests might be picky on food.

I hv just made my deposit last week but dun remember the name but not worries, u can write the payee's name when u meet up with Shirley/ Sally. That's what I did

yippiedoo

i suggested to shirley to have her staff present the whole dish to the table and tell the guests it would be portioned out accordingly...

thought it would be nice to show guests the whole dish, and subsequent individual serving could help the dinner get on more smoothly and faster... guesss some tables with less than 10 could distribute to those with 11, 12 guests

just a suggestion...

flowerygal

My gowns were both backstring types so took quite long to change. My bridesmaid n i saw tat the ppl can peek in thru the outside window along the corridor coz e curtains nt covered well. I panicked while changing although tried 2 hide at a corner...haa

As for food, actuali if u place ur guests well in 10pax table, then big plate serving is ok. Guests r afraid tat individual serving will be little. Aiya, tat nite i suddenly dun hv much appetite n din manage 2 eat all e dishes displayed in front of mi! i even gotta force myself 2 swallow a mouthful only. So sad. Even though they packed e remaining food for us, we dun hv time 2 eat coz after tat we went ktv till 4am w sme frens. My laogong was dead drunk.

Another advice, pls remember to place ur order for breakfast and hang e ordersheet outside e rm b4 3am so tat they will deliver to ur rm. Otherwise it be impossible to get up early to go for breakfast. We forgot abt tis.

lizzybunny

Any suggestions whether individual or big plate serving is better?sally highlight to me that individual is better. but I'm just worried that some of the guests might be fussy.

stefanie20

yippie,
actually they brg the food out the side service station then portion out to individual servings for the guests.

lizzy,
personally i like individual serving and I thk the portion is ok. at least everyone can eat 2gether, no nd wait for the dish to your turn..

cherishy,
u can chk their website www.grandshanghai.com

lizzybunny

Hi flowergal,
you mean we can actually order our breakfast if we happen to miss the buffet ?Cos my hubby will be coming to fetch me from the hotel instead from my home in the morning.and don't think I will have the time to go down for breakfast.

flowerygal

hi lizzy,
Ya, theres an order-sheet in e drawer for b/fast and u hv to hang it outside ur door b4 3am. I tink u can double-chk w e hotel again upon checking in rgdin tis.

So hws ur preparations so far?

lizzybunny

Hi flowergal,
If we order our breakfast through the order sheet, do we need to pay extra, or it's alredi in the buffet breakfast?
So far ok lor,I just pass the script to the emcees. So far, no rehearsal yet. I'm getting tensed up alredi.But will Sally remind or prompt us what to do next or not ?

flowerygal

Hi lizzy,
Hv u meet up w Sally 2 rehearsal and pass her e cd for playing the music? On e AD, Sally will inform u when n wat u shd do..dun worie too much! Rest ur mind n try 2 relax, n surprisingly i reali did so..On ur AD, best is to remember 2 take a short nap in e noon no matter wat. Otherwise u will nt hv gd mood 2 endure throughout e whole nite.

lizzybunny

Hi flowergal,
We have met Sally for the rehearsal. However , that time we were still not very prepared so will rehearsd another time one day before my AD.We just pass her the disc to played the music but she returned to us after that.

happi_bride

Shirley is the catering sales manager is it? Who is Sally?

BTW, I only have about 13 tables - do u think GS will cater for me? Anyone aware?

Does the singing comes at any additional costs?

Anyone has wedding fotos / video of GS to show me? Pls email at [email protected]

happi_bride

If anyone has a copy of the floor plan, and the dinner fotos of GS, please email to me at [email protected]

From the previous comments, and it seems that Shirley and Sally are both coordinators there. So who is more approachable and frenly? Shirley sounds a bit 'unfrenly' over the phone.

Understand we can still have the front part and the function room, but other parts of the place will be opened to public. Will they be using anyting to block, and differentiate us from the public? Anyone less than the min. requirement of 20 tables but still uses the GS for wedding. Pls share your experience.

Can I have a mixture of round tables, as well as those cushion semi circle seats?

Btw, anyone managed to negotiate for a wavier of wine corkage? Or to reduce their corkage to like $10++ per wine bottle?

Any comments/ pics will be appreciated.

stefanie20

fanny,
- Shirley is the manager there. I thk Sally is her assistant. Shirley is abit more stern, Sally more friendly. But both as helpful and professional.
- the live band n singing is free. No extra charges.
- if 13 tables, other parts will be opened to public. But so far, dunno any1 who did less than 20 tables so not sure abt the arrangement n any blocking or not. You shd chk with Shirley/Sally.
- wine corkage can be waived. Nego for it.
- i will email u my fotos from grand shanghai

flowerygal

hi fanny,
the cushion semi circle tables are a must! everyone loves to sit there. Actuali its up to u whom u wan to liaise with but since shirley is the restn manager, it may be better 2 approach her unless she appeared to be too stern to u.

lizzy,
u be goin dwn 2 GS again 1 day b4 AD? wun tat be too rush 4 u? Congrats 2 u as your big day is approaching soon!

snowball05

Hi Stephanie,

I am also looking at GS for my wedding banquet. Appreciate if you can share with me the photos as well.

lizzybunny

Hi flowergal,
Thks..
I do not have to go down to GS tmr already cos Sally told me that it's not necessary. I'm quite worried leh.Cos my two emcees haven't even meet up yet.I'm also worried that Sally dun know will play the wrong march in song or not.I've called Sally today. She asked me not to worry as she will handle everything doing the coordination. so , did you do a full rehearsal before that as well?

stefanie20

lizzy,
dun worry.. the rehearsel is a very simple walk-thru of the AD activities. Take abt 10mins only so u can still go thru it with Sally on ur AD after u chk-in hotel. Just pass CD to them n tell them properly which song which march-in. enjoy ur special day!

ingsq

hihi....
just came back from my honeymood.... hehee... congrats to flowerygal. glad u have enjoyed ur big day like we do...

hi lizzy,
congrats for ur coming wedding. must be excited rite now... dun worry and try to relax. just leave everything to ur jie mei and sally. you cn rest assure they will do a gd job for u. as for me, i did not do the rehearsel at all. my hubby just told me where to walk for our 1st march in after i went down after my evening makeup. so u really need not worry so much.... just enjoy ur big day.

ingsq

hi Stefanie,
have gotten back the softcopy but need to resize 1st b4 i can upload to my webpage. will let ur know once done.

flowerygal

hi ingsq,
wow, did u enjoy ur honeymoon trip? Cold there? Miss spore food or nt? Will u excited 2 see ur AD pics too! Did ur PG upload ur pics at a temp website to share w frens?

hi lizzy,
It helps when u try 2 cast ur fears aside. i din reali do any rehearsal at all except to pass shirley e cd. Trust GS to do a gd job 2 make ur wedding banquet a success beco they did so for us. Ask ur hubby 2 liaise w emcees & find out where 2 march-in since he will hv mre free time than u. Jiemeis will help alot too. Give em tasks 2 do. Initially we had only 1 emcee bt sme1 else volunteered too.

evlee

lizzy,

Congrats! Have a great time

ingsq,

welcome back! how's your honeymoon? remember to share your AD photo k...

ingsq

here r the link to my AD photos. Enjoy!!! ^_^
http://ingsq.multiply.com/photos/album/20

Hi Flowerygal,
it was freezy cold over there. but we really enjoy ourself... prefer tokyo over hokkaido. now we miss tokyo weather. haha... both hubby n me missed spore food while we were there. esp chicken rice... hehee...

evlee

ingsq,

thanks for sharing your nice AD photos. How's hokkaido? beautiful scenic plc rite? I hv only been to Tokyo a few yrs back.

Hi missycandyprincess

Grand Shanghai is located at King's Centre. you visit their website for the details of their packages and pics.

www.grandshanghai.com

flowerygal

ingsq,
U looked so sweet on ur AD..especially e WG durin dinner.

I heard most ppl prefer hokkaido than tokyo? Bt of coz cant beat shopping in tokyo, hee. U muz hv bought alot of unique stuffs there although exp. Hw much u spent in total?

ice_cosy

hi gals..
finally place deposits and confirm the place liao...so happy...

jojo, GS will look much nicer and glam..during nite time...if afternoon...nothing special and dun think got live band in daytime?

u can go visit there during the day and night to feel the difference.

so wats the next step after deposit? wait nearer to date and food tasting?

ingsq

hi stefanie,
Thanks. u r welcome!!!

Hi flowerygal,
thanks for ur comment.
i prefer tokyo than hokkaido is bcos, tokyo is not that cold. but hokkaido scenery is really nice... in total i spent S$7k including tour fee. pockets burnt... haha

ingsq

hi jojo,
initially i wan a luncheon at GS but change my mind after seeing the night ambience of GS. is totally 2 different feel. I agreed with ice cosy that u shld go down n take a look and compare urself.
for lunch, the package will onli be slightly cheaper but onli 8 dishes instead of 9. no band but if u wan, u can pay for them is around $500 to $600. forgot the exact pricing already.

ice_cosy

Hi candyprincess

They dun have soft copy for the package so cannot mail to u....

the package is about the same (the basic) as others hotel/res.

1)duty paid hard liquor and wine (has to request for wine to be waive)corkage waiver.
2)beer 20L (30L for more than 23 tables)
3)live band
4)3 menus to choose from ($500 plus, $600 plus &$799 with triple +)
5)wedding favours, 70%wedding cards, 20%carpark tickets, deco for VIP, guests signature book
6)No dry ice effect for march in
7)no projector /screen
8)min 20 tables
9)can provide vege and halah food for additional costs
10)1 VIP carpark for bridal car
11)food tasting at 50% costs for 6
12)one night stay in hotel with breakfast

I hope i din miss out anything. Its more or less a standard one.