Grand Plaza ParkRoyal Hotel

bluegal

Hi Laura,
So you intend to sign up with Grand Plaza? The resturant stated in the package is Hua Yuen or SzeChuan DouHua? Both Ryn and I had already sign up with Grand Plaza? Btw when is your AD and how's your preparation?

bright

Hi I intend to sign with Grand plaza. The restaurant is szechuan dou hua but I was told that the chef will be the same as Hua Yuen. Pardon me but what is AD? My preparation is more or less done as I want to concentrate on the renovation of my flat.

bluegal

Hi bright,
My Ad on the 1st Jan 06. Had only book the banquet and bridal package. Now still looking for our dream house. What about you? Where is your new flat?

bluegal

Hi Cool,
wow saw your posting at the preparation 2006, and at French studio and bridal photography.
I am a 2006 bride same as you and also sign up with french bridal and Grand Plaza Parkroyal, so coincident........
their package for weekend is about $728-828 depending on the package you choose, note this is the rate for 2006 which is +$30/per table from 2005.
As GPP has a rectangle ballroom and the stage is at the center of the longest length therefore 2 projector is needed for both side. When we sign up during the bridal show, one projector is complimentary but the other one, you either have to rent from them or source from outside.

kkjc0517

hi blue gal,

congrats to u!1st of jan is a sunday,then monday is a holiday,very good :)
u signed up wif french bridal's which package?got digital art?
u mind sharing wif me the details of ur french bridal's package?
email: [email protected] :)
thanks a zillion

desertrosie

Hi to all GPP bride, I am new here. I have sign up with eric oso at GPP. I am wondering what is the respond like from yr guest who attended yr weddding dinner? Could you share experience like does yr guest loss their way to the hotel, did they bao very little hong bao bcos of the hotel and so on....
Pls advise.

bright

Hi Bluegal
I've not purchase my new flat. Intending to buy a flat ard jurong. As for wedding packages, I've signed up with Golden horse.
Jus attended a friend's wedding at Regent. It was beautiful, the flowers, the wedding favours, her evening gowning, the setting n etc.

N both the bride and bridegroom were nice enough to play along with our requests. It makes both the guests and the newly wed happy.

bright

I jus got to know a guy who rent out projector at abt $100 but i forgot his contact details.
Have to get it from my husband to be.

a2002

Hi bright,
Can share the details to rent a projector with me?

No more Hua Yuen already. It is now Szechuan Dou Hua. However, I was assured that the chefs and team for banquet remain the same. It is just a change in management. I have friends who have attended wedding dinners at GPP last time, and they gave thumbs up for their food.

bluegal

Hi Bright,
I am staying in jurong, looking for a flat ard central area. You working in jurong or your parent stay in jurong? when is your wedding date?
Can share the details of the projector rental with me too?

bright

Hi,sure.
Once I dig the information out, I will definetely post the details here. I hope that I still have the name card coz i could not find it in my boyfriend's wallet. Nonetheless, my boyfriend was saying that I can easily find such information on renting of projector online if I am unable to locate the namecard. Will let u know again.

My parents are staying ard. jurong and I feel that it's better for us to stay near them.

bluegal

Hi bright,
thanks, look forward to your info.
my mum staying in jurong too, but i gonna move out of jurong area due to my work location. Every morning i have been struggling to wake up early to go to work

bright

Mine is the gold package. Can we change the menu?
Have anyone gone for food tasting? How is it? Is the food nice? How about the portion?
How is the service on the actual day itself? I have about 24 tables. How many bottles of wine should I prepare.
Pardon me but there are so many question marks in my mind.

bluegal

Hi Bright,
we also sign for the gold pacakge think that package quite worth the price.
Heard that the food not bad, have not try yet but we intend to go and try the buffet.
Though min 25 tables? my hubby wanna prepare 3 carton of wine.

rynryn

hi Bright, do share wif us e contacts of e projector rental ... ;)

hi bluegal, tin 3 cartons of wine is sufficient for 25tables.. dun forget we gt a carton of wine free... Cheers...

bright

I am so sorry. I have been looking for high and low for the name card but I could not find it. As the other person has my boyfriend's mobile number, I will post his contact here once he give him a call.
Once again, I am so sorry. Will definetely post any contacts here if I got any good deals.

bluegal

hi ryn,
Yeap think that is more than enough but we do not want to supply too much as well cos both of us don't know how to drink.
BTW heard that buy wine from certain departmental store, for those unopen wine you may return back to them after the wedding. Not so sure about this, will find it out again.

nuvola

Hi bright,

I'll be holding the solemnization right b4 dinner.

maah~

am considering GPP as the venue for our AD! nice place, and i must say their perks are quite comprehensive! though am still hoping to negotiate a bit more, such as complimentary wine and no extra chg for our vegetarian guests.. so far, what are the xtras that GPP have been willing to top up? anyone care to share your experience?

also, really like their courtyard and we intend to hold our solemnisation there in feb'05! can't wait to meet up with their staff to discuss further!

btw, out of curiosity, noticed that a few of you are holding the solemnisation on your wedding day.. juz wondering how's that possible when we need to present the marriage cert to purchase a new flat, and thereafter renovate the house, and still make it in time to move in right after our AD? *confused* can some kind soul explain? thx!

bluegal

hi maah,
so far i did not manage to negotiate for other perks. We tried to ask for the complimentary projector but not successful. I had compare their package with quite a few hotels, on the whole, i think what GPP had offer is quite comprehensive. Please share with us what are the perks you wanna negotiate with?

As for the ROM thingy, i already ROM but still have not apply for any flat. Understand your concern, guess you are right, for couples who ROM and wedding on the same date might be staying with in-law first.

nuvola

Couples can purchase HDB flat under this 'Fiance-Fiancee Scheme' whereby u can go ahead and book your flat and you need to submit your cert 3 months after the collection of keys. Well, the 3-month period is pretty much negotiable, meaning to say that I have friends who had it deferred to more than 6 months. Just need to write in to HDB to request. For me, I'll be collecting my keys in Feb and getting married in May. So no need to defer also.

bright

Yup. My situation is the same as Lydia.
Will be applying for walk in flat ard Jan or Feb. Should be able to get the flat by March. From March to Oct, we will try to appeal to HDB to hold on for the wed cert.

Hi Lydia
I m thinking whether to hold my solemnization in the small garden with the water fall or the ball room.

fresh

Hi a2002

We chose to be together when march in as we just want to assure that all the guest will focus at one area . Yap ,the aisle is short so you have to walk real slow so that you can enjoy the graceful moments. (Tell you its real "shiok") As for decoration , I chose the new theme which cames in only few weeks before my actual. Very luck .I no longer have the traditional red for VIP tables and you can get advice from Eric . Overall, its very golden bright on my AD. Very satisfied with it. Make early arrangement and relax few days before AD.

nuvola

Hi bright,
I'm holding it in a function room. I was thinking of using the garden with the waterfall but then dunno whether it will be weird where others can just walk past. Anyway, I'm not sure how the small garden looks like coz never pay much attention to it when i was there. maybe i'll go down one of these days to check it out and reconsider.

angela, like u, i also dun like red red vip table. hope that it'll not change back to red when my time comes. hehe...

maah~

Hi! Bluegal,

thx for the info! in our initial discussion with GPP, their package is quite non-negotiable. however, as they are having a bridal fair on 29 Jan, the sales person explained we can still sign up now, but she'll post date the contract till jan so we can enjoy the bridal fair perks too. but exactly what we'll get out of it still awaits further discussion.

we have a few vegetarian guests, and unfortunately, GPP said we need to pay for each additional vege pax.. we were hoping that this can be waived. was also hoping to request for LCD projector, complimentary wine.. !?

we will be booking the courtyard for our solemnisation in feb though.. followed by a buffet lunch at the restaurant facing it. the bufett cost 29+++ and uob cardholders get 20% discount.. great deal huh? =)

kkjc0517

hi maah,

any idea how to register for the bridal show?the bridal show is for grand plaza parkroyal and plaza parkroyal?what is the max no of tables at grand plaza parkroyal ?in case the guest list keeps on growing

bright

Hi Maah, try to bargain for the LCD projector. I am sure that they will give it to you. Try pointing out to them that most hotels have complimentaty LCD projector.

Ya Lydia. The gardne is pretty small... thus I am still deciding on whether to hold my solemnization over there especially I hope to have the music playing while I walked out with my dad.

nuvola

hmmm, is the courtyard maah mentioned the same as the small garden bright mentioned? Paiseh, I'm a bit confused...

maah~

hi! cool,

i met their sales last week, so they gave me a copy of the registration form. but i believe you can try to call their banquet sales exec Brenda Lim for the form: 6432 5649. the bridal show is at GPP, admission fee $15... though not sure if it applies to PP also.

the ballroom can take max 35 tables, 25 tables is the min for weekend dinner.

hi! Bright,

think we're referring to the same thing... it's the little place with the blue 'waterfall'.

bright

yes maah. I believe that we are referring to the same place.

Does anyone knows that whether can we have 11 ppl on the table where there are vegetarian?

nuvola

yup, you can have 11 guests if you have one who is a vegetarian. tat's wat karen said. you only need to top up the cost for the vegetarian set.

by the way, bright, can u share wif me ur plan for the AD events? do u hold ur tea ceremony after the solemnisation just b4 dinner? i was planning to have the tea ceremony in the morning but according to someone, cannot hold tea ceremony b4 solemnisation. so, all my earlier plans going down the drain.

bright

Hi Lydia
I will be having my tea ceremony b4 solemnisation. As my AD will be only in oct, thus we have not consult anyone on the program but a few of my friends had tea ceremony b4 solemnisation.
It will be the norm in the morning, like fetching the bride, followed by going to the groom's house in the morning for the tea ceremony and then back to my house for the tea ceremony.
Will proceed to the hotel thereafter to rest. Am thinking of holding the solemnization ceremony ard 6. So i hope that by 6.45pm, the ceremony will end and we can proceed to the cocktail party and dinner after that.

nuvola

bright,
thanks for sharing. I guess i'll have to convince those who insist to have the tea ceremony after solemnisation.

rynryn

hi bright & Lydia, me will be holding tea ceremony b4 solemnisation too... my solemnisation will be juz b4 the dinner starts, hope everything will run smoothly ...

bright

ya. i hope that mine will be alright too.

jus found out that a friend of mine (who went back to indo) is getting married next yr too.

dapimon

Im thinking of signing up with GPP too. Do any1 of U have any idea when do they release their new pricelist? Am thinking of signing up with them at the forthcuming wedding show. Will be holding my dinner in 2006 but am afraid they may have raise their price by then....thanz

bluegal

Hi Dapimon,
My wedding is in 2006 as well. Had already sign up with GPP. They charge me +30/per table from 2005 pricelist. So i guess the price you request now or later will be the same.

gentasg

Hi Bluegal,

Can kindly share how much is per table and what u have bargain for? My wedding in 2006 yet but i cant confirm the date. can i make a tentative booking w/o telling them the date? do i need to pay any deposits?

bluegal

Hi Linda&Lawrence,
You have mail. I have send you the pricelist for the year 2006. We did try to bargain for projector and extra night stay but was not succesful. So overall, we did not get anything other than the package given. Heard that there's GPP wedding show coming, their perks quite attractive maybe you can attend lor. We also sign up during their last wedding show.

Think you need to give them a date so that they can block the date for you lei, not so sure, maybe you can call them to check.

Yeap we pay 3K for the deposit.

maah~

hey gals!

have one burning question! i'll be having my solemnisation on a weekday during lunctime and will be inviting a few colleagues over. however, am concern that if sthg crops up at work last min, they might not be able to rush over on time..!? do you think it is possible to request the JP and everyone else to wait awhile for all invitees to arrive before we start the ceremony? if so, what's the max waiting time u think it should be??

bright

Hi Maah

I guess everyone else should have no problem with the waiting time. However, it is a form of respect to let the JP knows. Usually, they are kind enough to wait. At one of my friend's solemnization ceremony, the JP was kind enough to wait for the bride's mother to arrive. She was late for about 30 mins due to unforseen situation.
May I know where are u having the ceremony?

Hi Bluegal, I think u can try to bargain for another night of stay at a normal room. Shouldn't be a problem- I hope.

bluegal

hi bright,
have you successfully bargain for the extra night at deluxe or superior room? If so i'll try to bargain for that.
Thanks.....