Grand Plaza ParkRoyal Hotel

rynryn

hi bluegal, me no regrets .. Food is good , no worries.. oli e short march in .. Hav u seen e actual wedding deco b4 ? might want to pop by if there is any wedding goin on tis few wks..

bluegal

Hi RynRyn,
We had sign the contract already, so relieve. At least one item less to worry about. We are not sure about the food but we have confident with grand plaza. Ya I was thinking it would be weird on the music with such a short march in. We are also interested to view the actual wedding deco.

rynryn

hi bluegal, tin shd hav weddings cumin up coz aft "7th month " liao.. we shd be using new theme nx yr since our AD quite near to each other.. quite relieved & can relax a bit.. me haven bk my BS yet..another h'ache. ;p

bluegal

Hi RynRyn,
Yes i remember they told me we might be using new theme next year. Since your wedding will be dec 05 still have time to search for your BS, take your time to look for a good one.

rynryn

hi bluegal,tin their new theme either a change of seat covers or flower stands... ya, me can njoy hari raya holidsays in nov ist.. hehe..
this thread veri quiet leh, oli we two chatting .. hehe

bluegal

Hi RynRyn,
Ya lor sems like only the two of us chatting. Wonder where have all the Grand Plaza bride gone to? By the way, RynRyn, do you have friendster?

bluegal

Hi RynRyn,
Oops I have been years never ICQ liao, let me know once you register for friendster. Wanna be your friend. How's your wedding preparartion? Thought we can share more than just the banquet itself?
Where are all the grand plaza bride gone to?

rynryn

hi bluegal, ive regard u as 1 of my friend nw .. ;)

mm.. me oli bk e banquet, stil sourcing ard 4 BS, stil gt sum time .. hehe.. interested to view wedding night pics of ex-brides.. but seems quiet over here .. btw, ur BS include jewellery, earrings, bridal car etc .. care to share w me details of ur BS .. U can mail to me at [email protected]

fresh

Hi Bluegal & Ryn

Nice to hear that you girls are keeping the track engaged. As for me, my AD is on 1st Oct and right now busy with all the arrangement . Rather stressed with all the cusoms and etc.... Tired and wish that the whole thing will goes off very soon. As at to date , I find that service from this hotel is still good and tried the food tasting and good comments as well. Hope that quality will be the same on AD. I find tha t Eric is a very accomodating person , he is in charge of my wedding and he does help to fulfill our request even a last minute one.

rynryn

hi angela, so nice to hear frm u ... this thread is lively agn... ur AD is approaching.. mine is oso Eric.. do u manage to get another nite's stay at e governor's suite ?

hi cinderella, will 4ward e package to you lata.. tin there's a price revision, u nd to chk w dem agn..

bluegal

Hi Angela,
Glad to hear that the comment for Grand Plaza is good. By the way which package are you taking? Thank god, our co-ordinator is also Eric, he seems not bad lar. Ya i also wanna know if you got an extra night for the governor suite. What else did you ask from the hotel?

Ryn,
Have i told you that we can try ask for the extra night stay at governor suite on our AD itself? I am going to ask again on my AD, just try our luck. Is their buffet menu same as those dishes in our package? If it's the same then we intend to go and try the food first lei.

rynryn

hi bluegal, k, will try to ask for additional nite's stay on AD, izit Eric's suggestion ?

tin their food nt bad, nt sure if itz e same as buffet.. price for e ala-carte buffet quite ex lor..

bluegal

Hi Ryn,
I can't post out who's suggestion. But this person ask me to try again during the AD. Think your AD earlier than mine hor, by then you let me know lor. Not sure if Eric or Isabel read the forum over here or not?
Ya i agreed that the buffet quite ex lei, but very much wanted to try the buffet lei. Maybe will wait for any occasion then we go and try lor.

rynryn

hi bluegal, Isabel is e sales manager ? anyway, juz try our luck on AD, tin nobody managed to get additional nite.. signnnzzz

bluegal

Hi RynRyn,
Yes, Isabel is the banquet manager. Ya we will definitely try our luck on the AD itself. No harm trying lor.

nuvola

I'm also with GPP. My AD will be next year May. I'm juz wondering if any of u managed to negotiate for the LCD projector?

bluegal

Hi Lydia,
I did try to negotiate for that but they told me they too have to rent so can't FOC for us. But maybe i will try again when the date is near.

nuvola

Hi bluegal,

I was told tt they have only one LCD projector. But i think we need 2 as there are 2 screens. And the 1 they have, they say cannot confirm with me yet if it'll be FOC.
When's your AD? Keep me updated if yours is b4 mine. See whether they let you have it FOC or not.

rynryn

hi Lydia, yes, we need 2 projectors ... wens ur AD ? U took up e package during e wedding show ??

hi bluegal, u've got mail !! ;)

nuvola

yupyup....march wedding show in fact...not the recent one. my AD next May....a bit kiasu hor?? booked more than 1 yr in advance....hahahahah

rynryn

hi Lydia, me & bluegal bk e banquet more den a yr in adv too.. tin everybody practised tis way..
btw, u r wif which BS??

hi bluegal, eric mention there is oli one projector in GP leh.. therefore, we nd to source it elsewhere..

nuvola

i'm with whitelink. so far so good. i'm still quite happy with them. but i heard some bad comments abt them too....well, shall wait and see how loh...

bluegal

Hi Lydia,
I'm with French Studio, have not went for any gown fitting yet. But heard a lot of negative feedback from the forum. I am so worry now.
Lucky for Ryn, have not choosen any BS yet so still can read around before deciding.

nuvola

hi bluegal,

sorry for the late late reply!! not to worry, i think all bridal shops will have negative comments abt them. I guess it depends whether the designer/photographer/sales consultant who entertain u are nice. anyway, dun let a bridal shop spoil your mood for your big day!!

hey, by the way, anyone of u having solemnisation in the hotel b4 the banquet?

janice79

is there any co-ordinator that you would recommend at GP? I'm thinking of signing up with GP but not sure who i should approach.

Can anyone share what are the additional perks we can bargain for?
thks!

coolman

Hear that GP also offer a suite with jacuzzi. Isst true? I also planning to sign with GP as i hear the food there is good n price quite reasonable. I also wanna to know what additional perks we can bargain..keke... tks

Hi angela, congradulation to u. i m also BZ bride.. will be selecting my gown on Dec. Care to share your experience wif BZ? and your indoor, outdoor n AD diner photo? You can email me @[email protected]
tks in advance

rynryn

hi Lydia, ME lor... solemnisation b4 dinner..
u too ??

hi Janice79, mm.. u can discuss more details wif Eric.. hes a nice guy .. ;p

hi Serene, yes, tatz e governor's suite .. wif outdoor jacuzzi wan.. ;)

hi my dearest bluegal, enjoy ur trip yeah ...

gentasg

Just want to share my experience.

I had booked with Hua Yuan 2 tables for my ROM dinner on 2 dec. I booked that in early Sept or late Aug.

Only till Nov 2, a staff from Hua Yuan called and said sorry that Hua Yuan will be having renvo then and i had to find another venue.

Only left me with a month to source for another venue. Very pissed off as i hate last minute thing.

Very unprofessional act.

nuvola

linda, sorry to hear that u have an unhappy experience with Hua Yuan. Hope that you've found a place for you ROM dinner

janice, my co-ordinator is karen. She's quite nice and helpful. As for Eric, I've got friends who say that he's very helpful as well.

serene, i dunno abt the newest package, but i think their package is quite comprehensive already. I also dunno wat else to bargain for. Try bargaining for the projector if u will be having multimedia slideshow.

ryn, so u r having solemnisation b4 dinner. wat time will u be having your solemnisation? Do you have to pay extra in order to use their ballroom for solemnisation?

blactornia

Hi linda,

the restaurant team is separate from the banquet sales team (this is by far the practice of most hotels). eric is from the banquet team and his service is really commendable. just like to share my experence with the hotel staff: i popped by the hotel w/o any prior appointments and wanted to view the suite. the duty mgr was v nice, even knowing that i did not have prior appts, he showed me to the suite. it was really late also. (thou he gently reminded me not to do so w/o fixing an appt first :p) i think overall, GPP service level is still good. maybe not all GPP staff but i certainly feel the majority is good. but i can emphatise with u regardin that. did u ask for an explanation from the mgr as to y customers who made advanced reservations r not kept informed of the upcoming hotel reno plans? are their staff well-informed of the hotel plans? i think a lot of other couples could be affected too. I feel u should ask them to help u to source for suitable alternatives and if possible arrange for the booking for u too.

gentasg

Hi blactornia,

Actually, GPP is one of my choice for my banquet. I even went to the wedding show in Sept. Eric was the one who called me and checked whether i needed any help in their banquet. Left a good impression abt Eric.

But after the Hua Yuan incident, I was just disappointed with GPP.

Thanks for your adviCe.

rynryn

hi lydia, most prob cocktail @ 7pm, solemnisation @ 7.30pm, dinner @ 8pm sharp... those late comers will be kept outside e ballroom till e end of ceremony..

hi linda, sad to hear abt ur unpleasant encounter.. did they bother to explain to u in detail ???

hi blactornia, are u wif GPP too ?? stil sourcing for hotels ??

groom2b

i'm considering GPP as my banquet venue, glad to see good comments on the hotel in general. Was considering M Hotel instead of GPP initially, but am now giving GPP a serious thought cos visited the ballroom yesterday and both my b2b & myself were impressed by the settings and recept area.

Like to seek valuable comments from all the b2b out there, as i do not have any friends who has attended wedding in GPP: hows the services and food? how many tables max? comments on the sound/lighting systems???

Thanks for your comments in advance!!

Hi RynRyn,

we are also thinking to hold our solemnisation together with dinner, similar arrangement and timing just like what you have mentioned. we are thinking to emphasise on the punctuality by word of mouth and also highlight in the invitation card. Any exclusive method that you can share??
thks!!

mayng

groom2b: the lighting at GPP are not very exciting.. warm n cosy kind... where M hotel is more on the colour setting to create the mood.

the food serving at M hotel not too bad... nice serving of sharkfin.. cos i was tehre in oct for a wedding dinner.

blactornia

hi linda,

no mention. if u r lkg for nice food, go to tunglok @ liang court. i went there for buffet lunch/dim sum. we enjoyed the food very much. in fact i nearly wanted to hold my wedding at some plc tat serve tunglok food only. sure whet my appetite talking abt it!

hi rynryn,

yes, i m wif GPP. actually M hotel was our 1st choice but the date we wanted were taken.

hi groom2b,

the max capacity is 32 tables. i cant offer much insights as i hv never been to a GPP wedding, but after their wedding show, the sound system is ok to me (dun really know how to differentiate betw a good and better one). lighting ok lor,they got the colored pallete with patterns. guess the whole setup more chinese looking rather than ang moh setting

nuvola

hi ryn, thanks for sharing with me your timing etc etc.... appreciate it v. much!!

groom2b, as for the part on stressing on punctuality, i've read in the papers there's a couple who sent sms to friends & relatives to remind them. I think this sms thingy was sponsored by some service provider in collaboration with dunno which government agency to promote punctuality. Not sure though. But think I've read something like this in ST one or 2 weeks ago.

rynryn

hi Lydia, u r welcum ! it juz a rough guide..
wens ur AD ??

hi groom2b, sum quote frm papers " in a bid to promote graciousness & compassion in our society, S'pore Kindness Movement is working with S'pore Hotel Association to encourage guests to be punctual for wedding dinner.. "

guess we have to "stress" on punctuality on our wedding cards, btw, ive attended a frd's wedding dinner @ GPP, nt too bad, everything goes on smoothly.. hope ours turns out well too.. ;)

hi blactornia, my ist choice was Crown Prince Hotel initially.. but coz of e receivership.. gt to choose another venue...

groom2b

thks for sharing the info... really appreciated your help!

anybody knows what's the contact for the service provider for the SMS reminder? it sounds like a great idea to me, anyway no harm having more ways to remind about punctuality
think to do solemnization on the same nite, those late-comers may just spoil the whole show.

rgds

rynryn

hi groom2b, nt too sure abt e contacts for e service provider, ive came across the article tat Lydia mentioned.. let me flip thru' those papers agn & let u noe...

yes, solemnization supposed to be a private function, hope nobody gg to spoil tis spectacular event !

btw, anybody gt any recommendations for BS??
im still sourcing for one ..... ;(

nuvola

hi rynryn, my AD on 28/05/05. Heard abt the crown prince taboo. It was one of the hotels I shortlisted. Luckily didn't go for it.

As for BS, actually I am a bit chin chai. So far so good with whitelink. Keeping my fingers crossed!

fresh

Was very busy with the honeymoon and office work lately , get to read this thread only today. Well I've got a grand and memorable wedding day. As for the hotel service , I think I have nothing more to say except "Excellent" I like the romantic & cosy ambience created. You know the disco-ball like lightings, wow that is cool. Even till now , me and my husband are still recalling the events. We've also got ourselves a very good videographer who captures well that night ambience. So perhaps , I could try to download from my DVD to show it to you girls . But of course nevertherless , we did a lot of homework to make it such a success.

Angela

a2002

Hi angela,
Congratulations on the success of your wedding
224387.gif

Mine will be at Grand Plaza in Jan 05. Can share with me how you did the march in? I find the aisle very short... How did you decorate the ballroom? Can share with us some photos?

rynryn

hi Lydia, heard gd comments frm my frd, shes wif Whitelink too...

hi angela, congrats too.. blif all of us here look forward to ur lovely pics..

hi a2002, Eric did suggest sumtin like me came in frm right, hubby frm left, both mit at centre, walk up the stage 2gether.. more or less can enhance e march in lor...