Grand Plaza ParkRoyal Hotel

berszewai

hi HdBanger,

no worries. glad to be of help.

dec_belle

Hi All, my AD is at Grand Plaza Hotel Dec 07. The ballroom looks good.. Only regret is the aisle too short. I hope they have more new themes and wedding favours to choose from.

max0924

actually i remembered that my coordinator told me that there will be no theme for the ballroom, but they play with colors, which is cool, u get to decide wat u wan!

zenusorion

Hi all... I am considering signing up with GPP... Like the ballroom and the reception area...
Will like to find out from all BTB with GPP, any of u managed to get any extra perks? can share with me??
Do they offer pre and post dinner for the wedding couples?
Lastly, how's the wedding coordinators? friendly? Helpful?

Thankx gals... appreciate this...

lavis

Hi, zenusorion
Just wonder whether you want to wait for the GPPH's wedding show in coming April. I believe hotel will offer a lot more perks during that period. We didn't catch last year's wedding show promotion, but I got a copy of the wedding package for the wedding show. There were a lot of perks offered, e.g. free flow of beer, 1 bottle of wine per table & live band performance..... Too bad, the time was not right when we sign up. Nevertheless, really like the ambience, location & good service (comments from this thread)....

My coordinator is ok, need to warm her up a bit... Negotiated with her a few times, to be honest, not much perks were given, but we managed to ask her to reduce the min. table no. requirement for the ballroom (a lot of hotels were not willing to reduce it, for me, I may only have ard 20 tables); used the restaurant voucher to trade in for a few bottle of wines, etc. Try to ask her for some perks, if really can not, then use some items which you think is not necessary to trade in for things you need.

Don't worry; try to negotiate a few more times. But if you can wait, guess it'll be better to wait for the wedding show loh..^_^

kopio

Is any of your AD coming up? Wonder if they will renovate the ballroom or change the themes, etc now that GPPH is under the new management. Any of you has any idea?

doraemon78

Hi i will like to know has anyone collected the wedding cards from the T-dragon as i was told that the wedding card is prepare by T-dragon instead of hotel itself . Is the wedding cards free or must pay ? Pls do assist , email add

sunni_sunni

Hi zenusorion,
i think is best that you go for GPP wedding show on the 28th Apr. As far as i know, they do have a few fantastic perks. As for the AD, pre OR post dinner for the wedding couples will be provided. You may negotiate with yr coordinator for the rest of the perks. My coordinator happens to be a nice lady thus, i will be signing the contract with them on 28Apr

hdbanger

mrsyap,

pics of the ballroom are displayed further above this page.

SCDH prepares the dinner for dinners @ ballroom.

as for quotation, think you can pop down to the apr28 roadshow they havin, to have the latest prices.

sathpaul

Anyone with anyone ideas for the march-in for Grand Plaza Park Hotel?

Any ex GPP brides with any ideas to share with the rest of us?

mabeleve

Hi all, i'm considering GPP as well.

(sat & eve of PH, PH) 847nett / 877 nett
(fri & sun) 816 nett
(mon-thurs) 695 nett

any of you going for the wedding show?? I'll be going =)

mabeleve

by the way, it is no long SCDH..it is now Park Palace Restaurant.

Going to try the food there next/next next week before confirming my booking...hee..will update u all if the food is still as good!

berszewai

hi mabeleve,

thanks for the update. after running a search then I realised that SCDH is actually owned by the parkroyal group. hope they retain the same standard as SCDH.

strongyetweak

Hi all!!

Has anyone held their weddings/attended weddings at the chinese restaurant?

Just called the hotel and was told that with my capacity (15 - 20 tables), the chinese restaurant will be allocated for the wedding dinner.

ssybaby

Hi strongyetweak

thank alot for the email

Btw hv you sign up for their package?

Erm i'm still sourcing & my AD is this yr dec 07
hahaha

strongyetweak

no problem....

no, don't think i will sign up with them... went to view swissotel the stamford few days back and love it!

still sourcing?? wah, you so brave... hee... weekday or weekend? weekday maybe ok, but weekend a bit tight you know...

my AD is Dec 08 and I am already looking.. so kiasu hor.. hahahaha......

ssybaby

hahahah yes th's what my friends told me.

When they asked where i book, i told the, i hvnt book, they were like "wow dec this yr & u hvnt book"

Mine is weekday so is still ok.

So you actually prefer swissotel?

hdbanger

dolphin:

you're not alone.

i only saw michele in dec 06, and booked the wedding for jul 07. saw about 4-5 places, none clashed with my wkday date.

these few months have to rush like mad to get the things ready.

but seriously, if you have a nice place in mind, it's better to shortlist it and confirm asap. one thing less to ponder down the road.

strongyetweak

hi dolphin,

yes, i prefer swissotel the stamford because location better compared to grand plaza park hotel. also, i love the bridal suite....

and since swissotel within my budget, i most probably will take lor...

lavis

Hi, strongyetweak,
Just wonder how much difference between Swissotel & GPPR in terms of pricing? Got friend hold the wedding there, it is indeed a nice venue for wedding. ^_^

stargaze

Hi Bernard and Sze Wai,

I read in an earlier thread that you had 5 MTVs to choose for your first dish presentation - I thought this was really unique.
I hv signed up with GPPR for my dinner in nov this year but Michelle never mentioned this to me.

Can I ask if yours was a special arrangement (like a special perk given during wedding show) or is this a standard item that I can ask for?
Can I ask what song you used?

Thanks for yr advice!

berszewai

Hi Stargaze,

They never really market this. My coordinator, Vera, never mentioned to us too. Its only during the pre-dinner briefing and rehearsal then the banquet manager, Lewis, for that day inform us. There's 5 MTVs to choose from. One is Bond, another one is new age...The one that we chose is from the Blue Man group. I have already selected my songs and burnt to a cd and then during the rehearsal at 6pm then we were told of this new arrangement.

didy

i have just confirmed with michele my dinner for march 08. going to sign up during their bridal show, which includes many many perks.

this hotel's package is the most comprehensive that i have came across. so much so that i dont know what else i can negotiate for!

stargaze

Hi Bernard and Sze Wai, thanks for sharing

Its so strange for them to keep silent on this.. was the effect good? Sorry I dont know the songs as I dun listen to English songs, are these the typical love songs?

berszewai

Hi Stargaze,

yah.. apparantly this can be an extra perk over other hotels. Bond is a popular first dish song. Another new age one I forgot... the others I can't recall is love song or not. For us we chose the blue man group cos the video is showing something about science and both of us r in science fields.

stargaze

Hi Bernard and Sze Wai,

This is most helpful

Mayb I'll try to find out abt the songs & ask Michelle about it the next time I speak to her.. Many thanks!

ber80

Hi all, is GPPH really that good? How i wish i can attend the wedding show too but i will be going overseas for the weekend

hdbanger

ber80:

every location has their plus and minus points.

depends on what you're looking for. the first thing will be the number of guests. cos that will mean the size of the place. i had to forego the rest, as i was lookin only at about 30 tables. and only a few ballrooms in sg will cater to this amount. even though they look great, and their staff are even better.

the rest are either about 35 and above, or 25 and below (smaller ballrooms).

next will be the food. the standard of cooking. and what type you have in mind.

further down, will be things like accessibility, and ambience. seriously my wife and i don't factor 'brand names' as part of the whole thing. so long as it's nice and cosy, sit all the people, and they're served great food and drinks, at a reasonable price, which will not break both us and the guests' pockets, that's about it.

that's how i ended up taking GPPH.

maybe you can ask your other half to attend the wedding show instead, and pick up some info. then wait for you to come back and make a decision. ask the coord see if they can hold the offer for you.

ber80

Hi HdBanger,

Thank you for sharing with me!

I agree with you totally! Wat really matters is the whole feeling and of course the bridal suite hehe. I'm going down this sat for a site inspection as my finace will be flying together with me. Maybe i should snap some pictures so tat i can compare with the other hotels

tinkybell

I hae make a tentative booking for my AD in Oct next yr. the perks for the upcoming wedding show is too hard to resist. Veralyn service is also very good and have being attending to all my email and answering my questions on this and that...

Hubby jus checked out Le Meriden last evening & we were offered a similar package, with similar perks.

Had obtained some feedback abt the pros & Cons of both places and I really cant make up my mind..

LM requires me to make up my mind n throw in the $3K by tml afternoon, while GPPH will wan me to make the payment by then sat during the wedding show...

The plus here is, if i sign up w LM, i will get the wedding show package w no discount (which is abt $830/table), while GPPH package $847nett (i may still get some discount by sending up during the wedding show)

HELP!! and i appreciate your feedback...

fey_fey

just a thought, but maybe we can start posting to the forum thread started by tinkybell? under the changed name of the hotel

doraemon78

So disappointed with the hotel , i went for my food tasting . The shark fin too salty , the cold dish for lobster not fresh very fishy smell & the vermicell very sticky .... Hope during the AD will not turn out to be like this