Grand Park City Hall

helenalex

hi weixiang, thank you for your response..
do u haf other recommendations for 20 tables ballroom that is less than $900 per table?

weixiang_06

HelenAlex: you can try Holiday Inn Orchard.... its cheaper than GPCH and should fit your budget... They can cater to small functions of 20 tables.

Orchid Room is some $200-$300 cheaper per table compared to its Grand Ballroom.. Most importantly, the food are the same for the mentioned venues.

sleepy47

To all pretty brides-to-be
Don't have to worry about the spaces or number of tables (30). Nowaday peoples are getting slimmer, so not so much space is needed anymore... Hahaha...

As i mentioned earlier, i had mine 28 tables (+2 reserved)... No problem of walking at all

weixiang_06

sleepy47: i think there is a need to be realistic about the small ballroom which GPCH has... Many guests have highlighted to me that the food is good. However, the space is small and cramped. My brother-in-law has highlighted this before my wedding dinner after attended one dinner there... On my AD, i also felt the same thing. For 25 tables, it was just OK.... I wished the space is much bigger.. When people need to go to washroom, they need to excuse me here and there... Else you can't walk through... This was chorused by some of my closer friends... All praises about the food and etc but the space left a bit to be desired....

weixiang_06

HelenAlex: my AD is already over with GPCH, Grand Ballroom at Level 2... Actually, 25 tables imho is already stretching the limit for this ballroom... 20 would be ideal! but GPCH minimum is at least 25.

those who had theirs with 30 table must be really very squeezy.... some brides and grooms might not agree but many guest would agree (at least this was what my close friends and relatives conveyed to me).... Both me and my wife also agree the ballroom is small and a squeeze.. What makes up for it, however is the top notch quality of the food, serving portions and accessibility.

for a 4 star hotel, its the best and can surpass many 5 stars.. EXCEPT for the size of the ballroom.

bedazzle_me

weixiang, can i have a copy of your floorplan for 25 tables? How will the tables arrangement be if its 22 or 27 tables?

I am planning to have instant prints + live projection, did any GPCH bride try it before? Any feedback? Any creative ideas to enhance this feature?

w3ngal

i am considering 25-26 tables excluding extra tables. wei xiang, if you dont mind hope u can share the plan with me too thanks!

vilopup

Hi all, I also had wedding after the new chairs came in for 2010 with the old ballroom prior to reno. Had 28+2 as well. No problems with walking at all.

Just that there has to be march in done coming fr different side doors...

If want L shape march in, prob can only do about 20 tables...

bedazzle_me

Hi Blur_btb, I don't quite understand what u mean by L shape march-in. U mean the stage position will be moved to the red wall area? Or simply less tables on one side of the ballroom to have bigger aisle? Please advise. Thks!

weixiang_06

sleepy47: only the closest relatives and friends would convey such info... but trust me, the ballroom is not that big... if one is intending to host 28-30 tables.. be surprised for a big squeeze...

at 25 tables, i find it already not very comfortable.

weixiang_06

julia: i will look for it and upload at a later date... but seriously, as i tot it looked spacious on the floor plan. its not as its not drawn to scale

w3ngal

when we are going to T dragon to select the invite, all we need to do is to have in mind how many tables we have, and bring along the contract and go down to T dragon directly? need to call them to schedule appt first? thanks!

rongsher

Hi btbs I had my wedding last Dec but mine din go as smoothly. Food stds dropped since food tasting but not just that, got an extract of the letter I sent to Chris as attached. I think I should have went with Concorde, it would have been a better choice. The only consolation is that we managed to break even.

Hi Chris

Appreciate your assistance on the service issue.

I believe there are further crucial details aside the drop in the food quality from the food tasting that I had earlier communicated to you over the phone that were not addressed in your service report. To us, nothing else really matters as the damage has already been done:

1. My childhood montage disc got replayed and disrupted before my 1st march in, despite 2 rehersals being done with your AV guys. This greatly affected us as we were both witnessed this disruption just before our 1st march in.

2. Most of my guests arrived by 7.10pm but based on feedback from my bridal entourage, your waiters/coordinator refused to open the doors due to standard protocol that the ballroom can only be opened at 7.30pm. This caused massive overcrowding of hundreds of people in the reception area. Furthermore your waiters did not move around much to serve guests the canapes/ drinks, instead my guests had to find their way to the canapes/ drinks.

3. Despite my contract stating chocolates, flowers, champagne to be served in the bridal suite, they were not. Even for the next day breakfast, we had to call room service who initially refused to serve us in-suite which resulted in at least 4 phonecalls just to order our breakfast. As for the other perks including the spa voucher, we only got them upon checkout, on day 3.

4. On the wedding day when my hubby brought the groomsman to the club lounge to have refreshments - which was only coffee and tea, before the rehersal, your wait staff at the lounge says that this privilege is already reserved for all suites except bridal suite.

I believe the hotel staff should make a concerted effort to facilitate and help the wedding couple run the show smoothly and seamlessly, stress free and hassle free as possible. But somehow, during the course of our stay and the banquet, we felt that the initiativeness of the staff, timeliness in response and service standards very much lacking and not in line with the expectations of a 4 to 5 star hotel.

rongsher

The above post is intended to btb that have yet to sign up with gpch to make a more informed choice. For the others who have signed up, a pc of advice to offer is that you need a reliable bridal party to manage your wedding day. Mine helped a lot which alleviated the stress. They helped overcome the hiccup of the childhood montage, ease the congestion of the guests in the reception area by diverting them outside the function room. As for whether we felt pampered, I think my hubby and I agreed we did not. But we were really thankful for our brothers and sisters who helped effortlessly during the wedding.

weixiang_06

dear all BTBs, the food standard for mine is the same as during food tasting..

my only concern is small ballroom, that's all.

Sherly: i have been to Concorde for wedding dinner. If you think GPCH is no good, then i can tell you the food standard for Concorde is atrocious.

I need to come on to defend GPCH. Most btbs would know i can be extremely critical. I give due praise where its due. Come on, if you think Concorde is good, no one was stopping you.

I only have this to say, I ate at the VIP table for Concorde on a Sat night in Oct 2010. The food served had no quality and quantity. Enough said. Period. It was one of the forgettable wedding dinner in terms of food. But Concorde's ballroom is NICE.

To sum it up all:

If one wants

Quality & Quantity of food : GPCH
Ballroom : Concorde

Given the chance again, i would still have stucked with GPCH. A lot of guests complained about the food not being fresh for Concorde. The manager simply brushed it aside.

weixiang_06

my AD was on 3rd Jan 2011.

Dun worry, fellow GPCH btbs. The only complaint I had was the ballroom being smaller with 25 tables set up. That's all.

For Sheryl's case, it was a one-off thing. or simply she was too critical, even more than me.

weixiang_06

Sheryl: curious, why did it take you so long to post it here? Coz you are not satisfied with what Chris had offered you as compensation?

I believe if you had chosen Concorde, there would be alot of complaints regarding food. I know, coz I peronsally ate some of the worst tasting "roast duck" and "shark's fins" soup at Concorde despite being in the VIP table.

Come on lah, let live and move on. Even if you are not satisfied with the "compensation" which GPCH offered. For the Concorde's case, they did not even address the issue at all.

w3ngal

thanks for sharing n sorry to hear that sheryl, but we all BTB hope is a one off thingy ba cause everyone wants their big big day to be smooth and happy. till now i am still satisfy with their service etc.

vilopup

bedazzle: hope i m in time to post here stil... i seldom check back here after the wedding...

Hmm, the L shape setup means that the bride and the groom can both come in from the same door but this would mean a bigger aisle space needed. Which in turn means that this can be done only with setup of smaller tables. If i din rem wrongly, the max is only between 22 to 25 table if you want a L shape setup.

Hmmm, to the rest, I would think maybe there are some service lapse bah... Had the most impressive service for a hotel of this cost per table for our wedding.

For the other BTBs and GTBs, perhaps what you can do is to highlight concerns to yr coordinator before the event. For instance, I was concerned about the ratio of full time experienced staff for our wedding and brought this up to Chris upfront. Another concern was also the standard of food as well as the time the servers start packing up the place at the end of the dinner.

Hope everyone is able to have a smooth and happy wedding

weixiang_06

one thing to add on, I am happy that the waiters actually placed the uneaten portions of the food onto smaller plates. This is so unlike some 5 star hotels where the staff were so eager to put away your dishes.

i for one, worked in Meritus Mandrian before. The staff there do not have the habit of putting uneaten portionsof food onto smaller plates. Mine being on a Sunday, I am happy with how the waiters actually waited till everyone left the ballroom prior to packing up. There was some minor hicups but its unavoidable.

for example, on the AD, it slipped my mind to prepare something. I conveyed my wishes to the banquet supervisor without expecting much. To my surprise, he managed to get it done for me in the shortest period of time. The best of all, i was not charged for it. Had I gotten it ready before hand, I would cost me at least another $50 or more outside.

jo_chua

I juz had my wedding yesterday.. Below is my review (subjected to individuals) :-

1) Food was great. All the guests who came were very happy with the food.

2) Ballroom is ok with 28 tables. I m fat but yet I can manuvere happily around.. haha! Guests play a part. Gown too. Not to worry, when guests see that u r moving, they will move accordingly.

3) No problem with AV/montage etc cos we got it tested 2 - 3 days beforehand and test again on AD.

4) Complain is on the banquet manager that day itself. Went missing n we do not have his number. Did not cue us for dessert and did not cue us for BYE BYE session.. We told the hotel not to serve anything outside the menu that include raw eggs but that was served. Pretty upset over it as we have repeated upteen times not to serve anything outside the menu.

5) Good thing is bill was not presented till all the guests were gone and we only sign off checking that the billing is correct. Payment was only made during check out time.

6) We had a great wedding with our nice co-ordinator Janice. She has been a great help and thumbs up absolutely no complains. Very diligent, very helpful and very responsible. She was there till 1st march in and she has been always ahead of us reminding us what needs to be done and what we still need to provide her (details of car plate, table arrangements - special diet etc) in order to make things go smoothly that day. We are really thankful that we have her as our co-ordinator.

We had a nice time with GPCH and hope the rest of the BTBs will too. =))

w3ngal

Congrats Joanne, share ur pics when ready?!

Good to hear another positive comment about food n Janice!
By the way, u mentioned don't serve anything outside menu that includes egg means? I thought the dishes are all confirmed le...

weixiang_06

Joanne: the banquet sup would have called your husband to have a meet up with him and the brothers at around 530pm... They are contactable thru the designated office mobile no...

strange that this happened to you.

priseunice

We would like to let go our Grandpark Cityhall banquet dinner of 25 confirmed tables on 5 Nov 2011 (Sat). S$868++ per table. We have paid 3k deposit. Willing to let go at S$2500. Interested pls email [email protected]

priseunice

We would like to let go our GrandPark Cityhall banquet dinner of 25 confirmed tables on 5 Nov 2011 (Sat). S$868++ per table. We have paid 3k deposit. Willing to let go at S$2500. Interested pls email [email protected]

jo_chua

Julia : Thanks!

W3n : Pics ready only in another month's time. Well u know guest like to play with raw eggs which we do not understand why. When we ask the manager, he says : if we do not serve then the guests will be wondering why such a big hotel does not have eggs.. -__-" Too tired to debate and just feedback to Janice that's all.

Wei Xiang : We were too busy the very night to realise till my PG got angry and say where is the banquet manager then i look around and nowhere seen. They did meet at 5:30pm but it is during the banquet itself the manager is gone... haha!

julia85

joanne> tats v weird..
y would guests wanna play with raw eggs? haha..
if there's stout den i understand la..
ppl like to add raw eggs into stout and drink..

jo_chua

Julia - I think thats what the guest wants to play and good thing is we managed to siam. haha!

Have a nice time planning.. I enjoyed the day but not the planning process.. quite a pain to me... But everybody's experience is difference and so far for GPCH, review has been good from my guests so not to worry!

w3ngal

joanne, how come the process is painful? till now i find the researching and preparations fun...maybe i have not reach the busy busy stage...

by the way what time did u start the banquet ah joanne? i am also wondering if the reception area is squeezy for so many people...

jo_chua

I feel its painful cos I feel the stress to get everything done by myself. Guest list is a problem.. The biggest problem in fact.

We started late because we got instant photography.. I wanna make my dollars worth. I did not let the crowd in till 8pm.. then started to march in at 8:30 sharp. Cos the carpark is a problem hence a lot of guests are late so we started at 8:30pm. Moreover if we let the crowd in to sit at 8pm.. they wont get to take photos for the instant photography liao.. haha

w3ngal

joanne, carpark is too small for the guests ah? i went before and i find the carpark abit small leh....but from the reviews here no one mentioned about this issue so i thought is just me only....

yah i am not into the guest list stage yet but i can understand how u feel when u need to settle everything urself. me too, did everything myself for all the researching etc thus i do understand it can be stressful at times....anyway ur big day is over le...dun be stress le =)

actually i attended alot of banqeuet whereby the guests only enter the ballroom around 8.10 to 8.15pm leh....even some for weekdays also....

jo_chua

dun worry w3n.. U r not alone.. End of the day u wont b able to b worried too much. Let ur JM do the rest.

Carpark is indeed small especially if 80% of ur guests are driving and fighting for slots if there is a banquet at Park Palace..

w3ngal

Tks gal

anyone else experience this carpark problem ah?

N I realise last time I saw prawn salad for cold dish, is this taken off the 2011 menu?

winter_bluey

Just in case anyone is interested in having the wedding at Grand Park City Hall on 2 July 2011.

I am giving up that day for an earlier date in April. So give them a call if you are interested.

I just went to T dragon and it was really crowded, we spent $300 plus on printing cause we needed the wedding cards in hurry and paid $80 extra for express service (they still need a week, we can only get the card, earliest 28 Feb)

If it is the same design, they allowed you to choose 2 different card. We paid $1 for each extra card.

vilopup

Hi all, for the car park, what we did is that we found a list of alternatives around the area and printed it on the map insert given by T-Dragon together with the pricing.

So all our guests managed to come on time and then we started very promptly at around 8.30pm.

w3ngal

i need help....base on experience...1 table of 8 chinese 2 vegetarians....food wise sure enough cause vegetarian is another seperate serving....but the table is it very cramp if all 11 are adults? need advise thanks....

magdal

Hi. i'm looking at 28 tables without any extra, anyone have the floorplan?

over heard from some friend theres a suite that has a jazzcuzi. any ideal of that?