Grand Park City Hall

weixiang_06

antz: i have chilled mango sago with pomelo... frankly speaking, the dessert wasn't that nice as the mango was a little sour.. however, my mum thought its very refreshing and aids in digestion. basically after the food tasting, i was so bloated.. haha.. the portions are really big!

anyone else has any other recommendations for dessert?

shannat

jingyi: icic, maybe u try emailing her again to remind her? sometimes, they didnt receive the email. cos i was emailing janice the other time and then she didnt reply my email upon cfming to meet her for viewing, then i emailed her again and she told me she didnt rcv my reply the previous round.. no harm calling her up also.

Antz C, i believe it will be OK to place a bb chair at one of tables. shldnt be too cramp.

luvyvel

I am already a GPCH's BTB. For this saturday wedding show, can I pop by to see the new ballroom? DUn thk nid to register rite?

julia85

LuvyveL> i think u jus let the recept know can le ba?
afterall u alrdy sign...
cant be tat they dun allow u to go n see ba..

weixiang_06

Julia, Luvyvel: if i am not mistaken, you still need to register before hand... coz this time round got hi-tea which obviously they can't simply admit every tom,dick and harry.. not referring to any BTBs here who have registered or booked GPCH.. but simply freeloaders who gatecrash such wedding shows just for the food...

that's why this time round, there is a payment of $28 per couple... unless you are with UOB promotion which requires pre-registration before hand and only limited to a certain number of couples...

weixiang_06

Jingyi: btw, i also received Chris's reply after my 2nd email to him.. perhaps, at times when you are so busy, things will just slip your mind.. we can't really blame them..

weixiang_06

i ever come across in my wedding banquet hunting in 2009... there happened to be a free wedding show which included free hi-tea.. i saw a family of 6 coming in... and the uncles and aunties rushed for the free food.. omg :x

weixiang_06

that's precisely why. i believe there will be some form of crowd control for this sat's event.. needs to verify your registration and etc...

i attended Megu wedding show before. Our details were verified and were attached wristbands to indicate that we are genuine customers. gatecrashers and freeloaders were barred from coming in.

to me, that's good.

you could imagine my disgust back then when i saw the aunties and uncles grabbing for free food... its not a good sight leh..

imagine genuine customers being pushed and denied by the aunties and uncles who came in for free food.

antzc

Weixiang, I'm planning to try the mango sago for my food tasting too. How's the yam paste? Anyone tried?
Anyone tried the fried egg noodles? I'll be having a wedding lunch, thinking of changing some of the items. Will definitely try the highly recommended wasabi prawn.

ThAnks!

rx1852

Dear all BTB, any advices on what extra perks i can ask for be4 signing on the dot...... or anything i shld highlight to them 1st ? pls advise... thanks so much...

weixiang_06

RX1852: these days, they are pretty strict about the extra perks.. no harm asking.. but i tried that with William, most of them were turned down

if you looking at extra perks, can try Concorde.. but warning, their food quality and standard really not as good.

vilopup

Yoz I be at GPCH on 2 Oct too but to eat the buffet at Indulge!

Will be getting my video from VG tonite and photos next week. Will post up and send through the link....

Hopefully the ballroom size wont show up in the items!

Everyone have fun at wedding show!

jgenesis

julia: yup, that is most likely..cos i just received Chris sms yesterday about it that once the new themes are finalized, he will let me know.

weixiang_06

blur btb: can see the excitement. :D me and my wife will be there as well.. tomorrow late evening will be going down to Bridal Concept to look at my amended layout

bedazzle_me

I've received my invite. Any idea if there will be any goodie bag?
I am so excited because it will be my first time seeing the ballroom when it is done up.

julia85

yay!! i rcv my invite too!!

i was surprised to rcv a card from them!!
i tot they would send by email.. ahahah...

i'm wow-ed by this! LOL

julia85

haha!!!

wat time will u all reach?
actually i dun plan to reach so early..
but i see the first item there's viewing of bridal suite...
i think it's their tactics to make us arrive early? LOL

weixiang_06

sort of, where you can then sign up and ask for consultations...

i am reaching ard 130pm? :D
btw, too many weixiangs around.. its a very common name.

vilopup

Hi all, have fun at the wedding show today!

Duno tonite got wedding or not.. i hope to catch a glimpse of the ballroom when i go for dinner!

meiz

I just attend the wedding show today at GPCH. The new ball room is nice!!!

I have signed up Janice Ee. Another coordinator's room is Christopher Lee.

meiz

I've came back from the wedding show. I've reserved my wedding banquet with them!!!

I like the pillarless ballroom and the corridor area, thou I think their bridal suite should be refurnished soon!!!

How about you guys?

weixiang_06

After viewing their "biggest" bridal suite, it has confirmed my reservations.

For couples who like big suites, the natural choice is Governor Suite. However, you will compromise on the furnishing and finishing. It is really extremely dated and sort of "run down". If u enter the suite at night, it might look like a scene in a horror flick. Creepy. Not nice at all. Though it comes with an outdoor jacuzzi, chances are there won't be time to enjoy it at all. And even if you do get to use it, there will be people overlooking GPCH (peninsula plaza) at every move of you and your husband.

For couples who like modern, contemporary compact design. Oriental suite is the one to go for. However, you will have to make a lot of compromise on the space. Its a very small suite judging by bridal suite standards. Hence, please be mentally prepared that the two suites available have their pros and cons.

If you are looking for a fantastic all in one suite, GPCH might not be suitable for you,

julia85

me & bf like GPCH!!! it's our first choice now!!! =D

we cant book yet cos dec 2012...

but we will definitely KIV GPCH...

they are so generous with the buffet! i'm impressed!!!
there's sharks fin for us to try somemore.. *thumbs up*
i like the fact that the buffet consist of food from the banquet menu...
at least we can get to try...
they keep replenishing it somemore! haha...

weixiang> i saw 1 ugly uncle yst...
no idea y he is there...
but he looks like he's there for the buffet only lor...
stack so much food!!!
took the sharks fin.. den stack the plate on top with alot of food!
den the dessert he put ard the plate of the sharks fin bowl somemore! *faint*
tat's ugly s'poreans.. haha...

he's so kiasu la...
eat finish den take 2nd round la..
stack till like tat.. OMG..

weixiang_06

Julia: was there shark's fins? i did not see it.. maybe i need a change of glasses... talking about people rushing for food.. haha..

in fact the main reason why i chose GPCH is they are generous with their portions of food and quality. Accessibility is one major factor as well.

btw, i did not manage to take photographs as i was late for the event..

glad that you like GPCH! but true enough, my wife also dislike the red walls.. its too "LOUD" for our liking. I like the new lightnings, carpet, decor though..

vilopup

I popped by at 5+ pm yest when they are clearing up.. spoke to chris for a while and viewed the ballroom.... its quite similar to the before except for the lights and walls....

Wexiang: the walls are nice mah... very classy also ah.. i dont think will keep taking the 2 walls by the side.. it will be covered by the guests who are sitting nearby and the stage pic also lah...

I havent got pic yet.. next week will meet my PG. Just got my videos back yest... havet have time to view yet...

Now planning for my honeymoon... thinking of gg Japan / Sri Lanka / Silk Road...

Weddings are like so exciting!!!

bedazzle_me

I have booked for my 2011 wedding with GPCH 3 month back. I took a gamble then. Why gamble? I only saw the empty pre-renovated ballroom. And with all the information provided on the forum, I went ahead to book my date hopping that my bet on the renovated ballroom will be good. Hee hee...

It was a huge relief for me to see the renovated ballroom at wedding show. It was lovely! It was quite a transformation. Were there any new wedding themes presented? Because what I saw presented there are the current themes. Will there be new themes for 2011? There was a beautiful tiered red and white wedding cake though. Is that going to be the new wedding cake? No more neon-lighted spiral cake? Will there be any back-drop for the stage? I have so many questions, but there was no one there to assist.

The food served at the wedding show was a disappointment for me. The sharkfin was blend, fried udon was overcooked and the yakitori chicken was undercooked. The rest was so-so. I pray that I do not get this at my banquet.

I've finally checked out the bridal suites too. Both Governor and Oriental are too retro for my liking. But I doubt I will have much time to spend in the room anyway or maybe we will just go home after the banquet :p

Did you guys gather any new information after the wedding show? Please share if u do. Thanks!

jgenesis

bedazzle_me: Yupz, there will be new themes for 2011 according to Chris. But not confirmed now. I also asked the same qn about the stage back-drop. Once confirm, he will let us know. =) think by the end of the year should be able to know ba..

julia85

weixiang> i pretty like the red wall leh.. haha..
i prefer the red wall den last time tat chinese calligraphy wall.. =P

rx1852

hi,just wana check whether you guys are entitle to the free flow of beer if yr wedding falls on sunday? Whn i ask janice , she mentioned that it is only for wedding held in 2010 though the date is choose next yr is a sunday....

bling55

hi, i tried req for free flow too .. but was unsuccessful, mine will be on sat 2011 =)

i went to the wedding show to peek at the ballrooms and suites , went thru the dinner packages .. realized the prices has gone up quite a fair bit *.* maybe the promotions and discounts will be given to those who sat down and sign ..not through the "goodie bags" ..

can anyone share wats with the promos that day of signing dinner packages?

rx1852

same here, i tried to ask for free flow also but failed..but i did ask her why the perks stated on the web is free flow... zzzzzz..cuz mine is a sun in 2011

priseunice

I'm btb next yr Nov. Have signed up with Janice in Aug 10. But I did not received any invitation like u all for viewing of ballroom leh..