Grand Park City Hall

jiening

hiiii all!! had my wedding last sun at gpch!

it's good!
had 30+2 tables, so the aisle was really narrow.

for the themes, there are quite a number to select from.. they'll give u a folder with pics so u can choose from there. can mix and match too. i love the bird cages at the aisle and the chandelier at the stage ceiling.

i have some photos and vids here http://jie-ning.com not very clear la, but maybe can give u a feel of it. will update u all once i get my photos from PGs.. maybe will have a better view of the deco. hope this helps!

w3ita

Hi Jiening,

congrats!! Have u checked ur red packets? Is it enough to pay the dinner?! if yours being Sunday should be okay, but I will be holding it on Weekday. So am concern if later my guest give too little. Huehehe... Hope not!!!

Anyways, somehow I hate the Cake.. Why can't GPCH make it an ever popular classic 5 tier. Cake instead of this kind..

Haiz

vilopup

Congrats Jiening! I asked for the bird cage aisle stand theme but they forgot and gave me crystal theme instead... a bit sad but too late by the time i march in and the husband didnt see it either when he went for briefing....

havent got any pic yet, so nothing much to share....

w3ita: i think the cake look quite nice when photographed. GPCH gave us bubble effect... on the bright side, a cascading cake will never block bride and groom for photographers

w3ngal

ya i think grand park purposely changed to this kind of tier cake but sadly i also prefer those straight up de cake, looks nicer to me. hee.

jiening

w3n, i didnt really go round asking (cuz i wasnt feeling well that day, didnt go thank the guest and bid goodbye to them too.. damn sad about this..
), but my parents in law said the food is really good. and my friend also sms me saying the food is good.

however, my husband tried the dessert and said it tasted better during food tasting.. at the food tasting, the rock melon was grind very finely, but during the AD, the rock melon was cut into small cube.

but we ate our tabao-ed food at 5am and they still taste good.

w3ita, yup the red packet was able to cover the dinner.

haha i like the traditional tiered cake too. or maybe its the gpch cake stand and lighting that i have issue with.. the acrylic stand and color changing led makes it a little weird. maybe a golden or silver stand will make it look more classy. haha..

Blur_btb, thanks!! congrats to you too!! oh dear, how can they make such a mistake? did u feedback to them and did they say anything?

actually they made a little mistake to my deco too.. the 'backdrop' on the stage should be golden fabric instead of red.. and the pattern i requested to not have the horizontal one. had a shock when i first saw it but, ya.. it's too late to change so i din bother to tell them.

there are some info which didnt get across to the coordinator that day also.. like we requested 2 extra tables at the foyer prior to our AD (actually we mentioned a couple of times to ensure they noted it), and was already acknowledged liao, but it seem like the coordinator didnt know our request until the briefing.. :S

for all the BTBs, it's better if you join in the briefing for groom and helpers (which is at 5.15pm) if you are the one planning, so u can make sure everything is done correctly. but it's quite stressful and lack of time too cuz the makeup should start around 5.30pm.

weixiang_06

Jiening: hope you are feeling better... one the positive note, the food on the AD is good =) thanks for being so helpful and pointing out on the arising issues... guess i will be more proactive as well in ensuring that things are correctly done.. not really professional imho, that the instructions were not properly passed down.. hope GPCH are reading this...

for the briefing itself, i guess i will be involved as well... most of the stuff, i am directly involved as well. Jiening, say before the briefing, would we know who is the actual coordinator for that day itself? think it might be good for future couples to have a brief mini session to ensure that things do get properly done... quite disturbing to know that there are hicups in the recent 2 wedding dinners...

did you highlight the issues to christopher afterwards?

for my rom, william handled it really well... in fact, some additional stuff were thrown in FOC, which really helped to bring out the ambience...

hope christopher will do a good job for mine as well..

oct_baby

If having the candy table do you think we are able to check with the coordinator for the bowls or we have to buy our own? Any one have done the candy table

jiening

weixiang, im feeling better already. thanks! gastric attacked on that day and that few days after AD.. guess it's the stress that caused it.

im not sure if the instruction was passed down or not.. actually there were 2 extra tables at the foyer but we dont know if that's what had been arranged for us, and when we told the coordinator we requested 2 extra tables, his reply made us feel like it is a new request to him and he's going to arrange that. haha.. but i think in the end we used the 2 tables that are already at the foyer. maybe the instruction was passed to the staff but not the coordinator? or what.. i dont know la. haha..
but the table for the photographer was kinda weird... cuz the table was quite tall and impossible to use if seated. :S

we didnt meet the coordinator and didnt know who he was until the briefing.

actually christopher told us he'll be there that day but im not sure why we didnt see him at all leh..

and for the feedback, i din bother to feedback already since nothing major and it had past liao..

oh ya for the favours, they have quite a few new stuff (as compared to when we signed up with william last time when he showed us), we chose the p0ker cards which are very cute! there's a different love quote on each card. very sweet and special! (and useful! lol)

and oh!! i really love the governor suite leh! it's not really that worn out la. a very clean and beautiful room. except the outdoor jacuzzi which... well, it's outdoor so the water naturally collect some unwanted stuff. so i din bother to touch it. but i love the room!! pretty chandeliers at the living room, and the toilet is in pretty white and gold. the glass door leading to outdoor jacuzzi allows more sunlight to enter the room and make it very bright and fresh.
been to oriental suite last time but i prefer this more.

but there was some hiccups too. we were given an 'executive suite' when we checked in.. was very puzzled then, cuz we specially requested for governor suite, and christopher said shouldnt be a problem when we had the meetup a week prior. so when we got into the room, we were kinda 'surprised'. nobody told us anything when we were checking in. my husband called the recep and only then they told us the governor suite is not ready as the prev occupier just left and they'll let us know when it's ready. :S when the room was ready, the makeup on my face was half removed, and i switched room with a 'half-colored' face. hahaha.. :S

oct_baby, blur_btb will be the right person to answer u :D

w3ngal

rest well jiening!

yah i also dont think small things such as tables and all that (especially before that already informed them de) they should make any mistake lo!

jgenesis

Yes, i agree with weixiang that it's impt to be proactive. i think best is to call them up again to make sure that all requests are taken note of.

Human error is inevitable at times, regardless how big or small. But if we've given reminders and the error is still made , then it's really not very good la. Esp for our Big Day =)

I also don't really like the cake stand. Anyone has any idea if they are gg to change it after the reno?

w3ngal

i recall i did ask before, they just changed the cake stand lo so not going to change again soon ba. previously that one is much nicer but she says no more in use le.

jiening

thanks Ojh and w3n!

perhaps they din make any mistake after all cuz the tables were there. hahaha.. just that the reaction of the coordinator abit weird. lol..

chantell, haha actually i went with a blank mind. ur coordinator will go through the contract with you, and all the requests you have made via emails or other means, go through the schedule of the day with you, and choose the table cloth, chair cover, sash, the theme deco, and wedding favour.

guess it's better if u go through ur contract again, highlight anything that seems ambiguous to you so u can clarify that day.

write down all the stuff u have requested before (just in case they didnt note down and u forgot to ask during the meetup)

get ready pen and paper to note down the schedule of the day, what info u need to provide the hotel prior to the AD (guests confirmation, bridal car plate number, contact number of emcee / main helper, etc - he/she will tell u)

remember to get the handphone number of ur coordinator if u havent have it.

christopher told me they have a selection of angbao boxes. ask ur coord to email u the pics and u make the selection. i emailed christopher but he went to reservist.. i forgot to email his backup again regarding angbao boxes, end up i got a very normal looking one.. :S i remember christopher telling me their angbao boxes are not the normal type but expensive ones.. but they provided me normal boxes.. haiz. blame me.

if you are particular with the themes, as you are selecting the colors (of ribbons, flowers, etc), write down on ur paper too.. on the actual day, go to the ballroom earlier to take a look to make sure everything is according to what you want. dont be like us.. hahaha..

p/s: managed to get some more (although still not very clear) photos of the recep, foyer and ballroom, can go take a lookie http://jie-ning.com

Jiening> Looks like you are a relax bride on that day, thats good. Congrats to you too. My food tasting is 1.5months in advance, when should I meet up and talk abt the details? Theme, favours, arrangement, schedule etc?

chantell

Thanks Jiening for so much info..

Oh.. din know they have selection of angbao boxes.. shall email her later.. hopefully can get her reply b4 meeting her tmrw..

By the way they are undergoing a major renovation to the ballroom this month so right now she is unable to share with me the artist impression..

I'm quite particular about the themes, any idea if the flowers and ribbons have wide range of choices? only left less then 2 mths to wedding.. pretty anxious now..

w3ita

It's a bit weird though.. They are undergoing renovation to the ballroom, however why can't they share with us the artist impression?

I thought that they are suppose to have that impression to follow to??

vilopup

Jiening: Actually ya, I wish i was there at the briefing also cos the groom dun usually remember small details de.

By the time i saw the mistake in the decor, its march in already, so din bother to feedback also lah. But was a lil disappointed as my husband knew all the way that I wanted bird cages to be part of the decor.... suan le.

Yup, if btbs cannot get to join in, make a list of all the items that those who join briefing shd note. The groom also quite overwhelmed, so probably another coordinator or one of the jiemeis bah.

Oct baby: I have done the candy table for mine but no pic fr the PG yet. I ask Chris to help me prepare a glass table beside the album table and a table runner. So pls, dont buy yr own table.

chantell: if there are certain areas that you are more particular with, highlight to the coordinator so that it will not go wrong. Otherwise, the coordinator will tell you what to prepare.

All the btbs, prepare spares of everything you can, with the most impt being the music cds.

If you can, bring a laptop and install a few types of players bah and then save copies of songs, montages as well.

Check with your VG what format the express is in and double confirm with the hotel taht they can play it.

During the groom briefing, bring down all the music and montages to test.

weixiang_06

Jiening & blur btb: its extremely helpful to see brides coming in to share their experiences.. i have certainly learnt a lot from your sharings... Thank you so much!

Blur btb: you are really into the details... I will make a list of the details and double confirm with my VG and also with the coordinator..

Usually for food tasting, how far in advance should it be done? Pertaining to the invitation cards, what would be a suitable timeline to get all these done? For my AD, it will be in early Jan.. Hence, I am looking at the following draft timeline for wedding banquet preparation. Please kindly advise

Sep
- Getting of raw cards from T Dragon
- Draft copies of wedding print outs
- Printing of wedding cards

Oct
- Food Tasting
- Collection of wedding cards
- RSVP through phone, sms, emails
- Preparation of wedding cards

Nov
- Sending of formal invitation cards
- Confirmation of wedding theme
- Confirmation of wedding favours
- ??????

If my wedding is in early Jan, will sending of formal invitation cards in early Nov be too late / early? Not sure what's the norm. But for my very best friends and close colleagues, I have already RSVP them in advance...

By the way, when will we know who is the coordinator assigned to us during the actual day itself?

weixiang> I think Nov is too early to send out formal invitation. Is 3months... So for what I did inorder to make people remember the date, i send out a "SAVE THE DATE" sms to my guests. At this point, i don't need any RSVP, just to inform them to make themself avaliable on my wedding day (also give them my wedding website to get more information). Then 2months b4 my wedding, I sms again, this time, ask for RSVP then i send out my formal invite about 1 month +/- pior to my wedding day.

Hope this is helpful. If send formal invitation out too early, ppl might forget it.

vilopup

Weixiang: Cos I heard fr colleague that he din get to play his express due to a mis match in the format, i tot tt it is a waste mah... :p

Hmm, I also send out invites very late but I rsvp through Facebook and sms first le. So I think late Nov should still be okay.

Cos I myself always worry when I get invites too early that I will forget about the event.

One week before the big day, another round of sms will be good.

My wedding theme, favors and all, I only confirm 3 weeks in advance cos they can all be confirmed within 45 mins of meeting with coordinator, so not to worry about that.

So my method is very similar to memorablechocolate.

jiening

MemorableChocolate, thanks! haha... actually im not really a relax bride. i think im the most stressful one who end up with gastric attack and went MIA a few times during second half of the dinner.. end up nearly couldnt finish the table photo taking..
lol!

i met up with christopher like 1 week before the AD.

chantell, not really a wide range i guess, i think almost all themes are roses (iirc) and roses colors should be quite standard. i briefly asked for weird colors of roses like blue and christopher was abit *?!?!* haha.. he said need to check if have, if not need to spray (?!) i dont know if he was joking. haha..

Blur_btb, think oct baby asking about the bowls to store the candies. u brought the bowls urself?

yup, agree with blur, bring everything extra! bring laptop too. christopher asked me to request PG and VG to provide the montage/vids in "player" format which can be played on the normal dvd player. if you can give them dvd/vcd, they can play for u.. else u have to arrange one of ur friend to control the laptop for u.

due to the copyright issue, if you are having music-less montage and can provide dvd/vcd to them, they can sync background music for you.

if u bring up this topic, they'll advise u to check with ur PG / VG what will the format they will be passing to u, and/or arrange with PG/VG the required format.

weixiang, 3 mths prior ur wedding, christopher will email u the pricelist of t-dragon, and ask u to arrange food tasting with him. so since urs is early Jan, he should be emailing u early Oct. then u can arrange ur food tasting, and head down to t-dragon for card printing.

confirming wedding theme/favour need not be so early, u can do it in dec.. i did it 1 week prior my AD nia..

u'll only know who ur coordinator is on ur AD during the briefing.

for the invitation card, like MemorableChocolate and Blur mentioned, dont send out too early.. just rsvp via sms/facebook will do the job. if not quite dangerous.. haha. i sent my card out less than 1 mth in advance but still got ppl forgot to come.. XP

shannat

Ojh: thanks!! glad im on the right track.
i actually saw the pictures n virtual tour on the ballroom n i think its quite nice.

foodwise, shld be gd? from the way u ladies mentioned. so excited! but have yet to view the place.

chantell

Shanna: the ballroom will change after the renovation this month.. so wonder wad will the new ballroom look like.. I'll see if I can get any artist impression from the co-ord later..

Jiening: I also tot of replacing the red roses with blue! haha.. cos my morning theme is tiffany blue and I tot of having a garden theme for the banquet.. will see wad choices of flowers they have..

Blur btb: thanks for the advice! I have jot down a list of items to discuss later..

Weixiang: my food tasting was done 2 months in advance due to 7th month, but usually shld be one month in advance.. then for wedding invites, I have send "save the date" thru FB & sms 3 mths in advance and rsvp them 2 mths in advance. The wedding cards will be collected next week and sent out after the 7th month which is within 1 month b4 my wedding..

w3ngal

shanna, u saw the pictures and virtual tour of new ballroom from where? cause i was told there is no artist impression to provide us to see. only can go down see when reno completes.

blur btb, table runner means you requested a server or something like this? are they able to provide those plates and table clothe etc? or we need to buy ourselves?

sorry, what does RSVP means? cause when i told my mum that i will ask my friends etc whether they will attend or not, my mum says usually people dont ask, once give out the invite means count the person in le, cannot go find another guest.

i was thinking 3 months in advace go take invites, go JB print then give out maybe 1 month plus in advance.

can we confirm the favour, theme etc during food tasting (about 1 month in advance), do all together since making a trip to the hotel le.

shannat

chantell: thanks~ if u manage to get the artist impression, let me know too ok?
i hope the new ballroom will be even prettier than the current one. :D

wen-- hmm then i think the one i saw is the old one. i saw it from sgbride website in fact.

yeah, my mum also mention that once u send the invites to tt person, even if they cant make it, they will also hv to give AP cos its like respect to the couple. and most ppl will turn up unless something urgent cropped up or they alr hv plans.it is not very nice to reject ppl's wedding invites n usually no one does tt.

w3n> virtual tour can be seen here:
http://www.singaporebrides.com/hotels/grand-park-city-hall/index.htm
click on 'virtual tour' but is the old ballroom.

RSVP meaning to get for a reply whether he/she is attending or not.

What your mum did is a olden way of sending invitation. And at that time, even if ppl is not coming, once they rcv the invitation, they will still give Ang-Bao (red packet) even they are not coming. Thats why it was call a "BOMB".

As banquet is getting more n more expensive, we try not to waste any seats if anyone is not attending and we also doesn't wana stress anyone with a so call "bomb", once get card must see >$100 fly off from pocket. So the polite way nowadays ppl adopt is to sms or call ur guests and ask one-by-one if they are coming, if yes, how many of them are coming. At the same time, get their address then snail mail them your invitation card. This way, you can better arrange and manage your guests list and seating arrangment.

win-win situation.

This way, u won't waste any empty seats during your wedding and people who wants to come is more willingly to fork out a ang-bao. And a good one too.

This also can save u ur wedding cards. We only get 70% card of the numbers of guests. If you did what your mum suggested, likely 70% is not enough. Have to print more.

Hope I answer your question.

w3ngal

okie thanks dear, i have a clearer picture now.

ermmmm oh yah i thought she has the vitual tour of the new ballroom which i was finding it strange, how come there is hee...thanks anyway!

weixiang_06

Thanks Jiening, Chantell, Memorablechocolate and blurbtb...

heehee... all your sharings and contributions are very helpful... actually, for me there are some major events happening at home.. hence, i would like to get things done asap so as to get this off my chest and focus on other matters...

in the meanwhile, i will take a short break from wedding preparations... looking forward to the photos from BC..

vilopup

Octbaby: Hahaha.. sorry , reading on the sneak in office, i for a min tot you want to buy table.

For the containers, I got some fr daiso n some fr ikea. they have really cheap and usable ones, so dont spend too much buying expensive ones okie...

with some decor on the table like a mini signage (easel can buy fr daiso), the names of each candy and the candy colours itself shd be quite sufficient

weixiang_06

hello, any brides / grooms here actually sang live in GPCH during their 1st / 2nd march in???

can share your experience? i mean live singing on your own just prior / during marching in?

poison_pot

hi all, we will be holding our wedding celebrations at Grand Park on 17 Jul 2011. will be doing a candy bar.. no planning yet, shall start the work when it's nearer..

w3ita

Hi all, those who had your food tasting and/or done ur wedding, can please please recommend the most popular choice of how the prawn & chicken BEST to choose?

Is it better to have the noodle or rice? As for dessert, we thought of having the rice balls. Ok?

w3ngal

I checked with some elderly and parents, all prefer noodles to rice. you may check with your parents too! rice balls is the glutinous rice ball? Personally prefer something cold like chilled sago cream etc. Just own preference!

vilopup

w3ita: hmmm, we picked the butter prawns as we tot that no shell is easier... and wasabi might not go down too well with some of the elderly folks...

For chicken, we had the roast chicken cos less messy in terms of the parts.

I had the rice for a change from the usual noodles.

As for dessert, we had the cold chilled manago pomelo cos everyone would be very full by then!

own preference as well.

weixiang_06

blur btb: if i am not mistaken.. i had seen it somewhere that GPCH serves only 10 prawns for butter prawns... is that true? when i looked at the photos, i nearly fainted.. the butter prawns came with shells and with a portion of only 1 prawn per person

shannat

weita, for me, i would personally prefer noodles (if both taste yummy to me) cos i find it less fulling then rice.
for dessert, i think glutinous is quite fulling also, so maybe something chilled like mango sago will be better cos more refreshing n less fulling since by the end of the dinner everyone would be pretty full alr.
JMHO.

carolinn

Hi, has anyone tried their Sliced Octopus with Broccoli and Scallops? Does it taste fine? Didnt know that this was included in our banquet menu till we recently went to review it since we booked sometime back le. Anyone changed the dish to some other dishes? Thanks for your advice!!!!

w3ita

Thanks everyone for the inputs!! Really helps..

I guess the tricky one is the prawns.. Hehehe, cos it seems like some only caters to one per guest. Really pathetic.. Haiz..

weixiang_06

w3ita, not true...

some have opted for wasabi prawns which were deshelled. Each guest will have 2 prawns each..

for drunken prawns, i think each guest will have 3 prawns each...

vilopup

weixiang: ya, but the prawn is very big... so i rather my guests get 1 big prawn each than many smaller shrimp size ones.

din pick drunken prawn cos of the liquour.. not sure if everyone can consume

Carol: mine was brocolli with macademia nuts n scallops.... i love this dish... very good...

weixiang_06

blur btb: well, i know its big.. but how big can it be? i went for one at marina mandrian... similar to GPCH, butter prawns...

1 each but to me, the size was pathetic..... i ate one, feeling..... coz there's no more i could lay my hands on le...

at least this was my take for marina mandrian.

vilopup

weixiang: ah, I tot the prawn is quite big le leh... took me 3 mouths to finish that 1 prawn lah... hahahaha.. but if that is the case, wasabi maybe good also. Drunken one, if got shell, sure got very little pple will want to start peeling... been to a few where a lot of prawns were wasted cos the gals at the table dun want to start peeling....