Grand Park City Hall

cheys28

They are both under the same Group hotel, if i'm not wrong. Btw, for more accurate pricing of the banquet, u need to call up the hotels and ask for the banquet info. Bcox some of the info we have may not be updated already esp for those who have already booked their banquet.

1) Grand Plaza Park Hotel (Cityhall)
Henry Chiok 64325529
Saphhire package (1) $848 nett (Fri & Sun) (2) $888 nett (Sat)

2) Parkroyal Hotel (Beach Rd) Beach Road
Elsie / Mey Goh 6290 8080 / 8128 9768
Stamford Ballroom ($788 nett)

3) Park Hotel Orchard (Previous Crown Prince Hotel) Orchard Road
Aileen Ng / William Chan6730 1517 / 1599 / 1513
Empress Ballroom (1) $798 nett (Harmony) (2) $888 nett

rara11

Swappies, congratulation! Thanks for your wonderful feedback.
I believe you must be very happy with their arrangement and made an effort to share with us.
Do u have any pic to share on the layout?

swappies

I do have some photos of the ballroom, which I have sent to popeye_gal. Maybe you can post your email address, so that i can send it to you directly? (will only be back 2 weeks later, so pls wait =P)

rara11

Hi Swappers,
Thanks for your reply.
You will be away for honeymoon? Enjoy your hoilday.
When you are back you may email me at [email protected].

Hi Popeye_gal,
Do you mind sharing swappies's pic with me?

benbenfish

we are new here, thinking of hold our wedding dinner in 2009, is the wedding package for this hotel starts already? How much deposit to put when we want to reserve the wedding dinner with them?

Hi swappies,
Can i check with you, how many nite u rego with the Wedding coordinator? usually hotel will give 1 nite stay, but we wish to nego till two nites stay, do u think is possible? then u mind share with me some of ur wedding ballroom setup? my email is [email protected]

cheys28

Hi Fish,

Met u at the other chatline too. Wat a coincidence =)

Dun tink so the wedding package for 2nd quarter of 2009 onwards is out. Deposit is $3000.

I was given a night stay but due to UOB promo during wedding fair, we are given an anniversary night stay too. Hence the coordinator said we can use that to stay for the 2nd night except to "downgrade" to superior room.

Suggestion: To book your package during the hotel's wedding show. Perks can be up to a few thousands off.

benbenfish

Hi cheys 28,

haha..U see me at which chatline?
Hmm...book the package during hotel wedding show, it's a good idea...haha...usually hotel should be giving some good offer to attract the wedding couple. but one more things would like to check, if we havent confirm which hotel to choose, but go to one of the hotel's wedding show, after discussing with the coordinator about the package, are they reserve the same package for us for sometime even after the wedding show's period? we wish to see a few hotel wedding show b4 we confirm, worry they dont organise their wedding show in the same timing. Any solution regarding this?
Usually which period most of the hotel perfer to organise their wedding show?

cheys28

- the chatline for 2009 brides.
- Usually wedding package during wedding show will not be reserved cox u need to sign on the spot. But there are some hotels who are willing to hold on to the perks for abt 1 week.
- My personal advise. Start going round & shortlisted a few hotels & check with them on their wedding fair. dun b greedy that you will want the dates to fall nicely side by side...you got to priortise which is your hotel u wanted most cox there is bound to be opportunity cost. What i meant is that there is bound to be some "risk-taking" in terms of the perks but usually hotels will release their wedding fair package abt 1 mth earlier so as least u can make a comparison. There is no solution to this but to emphasize again that does cost & perks matters most or the hotel u like matters most? There is bound to be trade-off in terms of the perks.
- Amara going to have their wedding show in Dec 08..u can find out...it's usually in the 1st quarter of 2009 that hotels will have their wedding show...some of them will have twice a year. But anyway i have to say that GPPH wedding show perks is indeed worth waiting & their services are good, especially Henry who is the senior banquet Manager. So far very happy with them =)

xun_yi_cao11

For your information, Grand Plaza Park Hotel (City Hall) and Park Hotel Orchard both are under the same Group hotel, but not Parkroyal Hotel (Beach Rd). Park Hotel Orchard will be having a major renovation for the whole yr of 2009 thus not available for AD.

twinkyangel

Hi Gals..

I have just forsaken my booking for GCW and sign with GPPH instead. Wedding co-ordinator is Zack. The ballroom is really nice - pillarless and high ceiling! Only thing is that it is wide and not long.. hence March-in will be short. But I don't really mind cuz I managed to book the date that I want and im keeping it to 28 tables only.

Their package is one of the most comprehensive one, & I really can't think of anymore perks I can ask for. Heard from Zack that they have not start accepting bookings for 09 yet, as they are still coming up with the new prices.. info is that they will "up" the current prices by ard $50-100 per table.

poorthing

hey does anyone know when will be their show so that i can take note? wanted to book 2009 package during show. Btw Any extra perks if we sign during show? btw is there any them or flowers we can choose for the ballroom?

benbenfish

Dear Bess Lee,
sorry, I dont understand wat is GCW? Which hotel is that?
Does anyone know when they are having their wedding show?

benbenfish

Hi cheys28,

Can u let mi know when was their last wedding show, on which mth? I juz called Veralyn, will meet up wif her on nx Monday. She told me that her hotel will having 2 wedding show on every year. So i would like to seek ur help that usually their two times wedding show will fall on which mth?
Any good offer you could get usually (either sign up on e wedding show or without the wedding show). Are they giving cash discount on every table and giving one nite extra? Really need u guys assist on this hotel.

cheys28

GCW = Grand Copthorne Waterfront

GPPH's last wedding show is on 22 Sept. But i'm not sure when is the 1st one though....they have good perks suring wedding show. Just like the Sept one which i signed up, they have $1588 discount off if u sign up 25 tables (which is about 2 tables off). No extra night but got UOB promo which gives 1 night stay on your anniversary stay... Free flow beer + free cockages + free canapes & mocktail before the dinner starts...

but their table at $848 nett is also not cheap, 8 dishes....so after cash discount..still ok lah...less than $800 per table

poorthing

Happy new year to all!!
so if we sign on wedding show, there will be discounts? hmm... im uob card holder too. hopefully as what u mention has more perks. intend to take the fri/sun package for 2009(sat too ex). if slightly less than 800 after discount, then of course better. i intend to sign for abt 25 tables...
cheys28, can share more of ur package? ur wedding is in 2008 or 2009? what abt their themes or flowers and wedding favourites? so i have to look out for their wedding show somewhere sep this yr

cheys28

if based on what you said that they have 2 wedding shows in a year, then there should be an earlier one before Sept 08. you can check with them verbally via phone.

my wedding is in Jan 09 but using 2008 package cox mine is early Jan 09.

my package is more or less as indicated. Just to highlight to you that the perks will change every year. As for UOB promo, it also depends on how the hotel negotiate with them.

What i can say is that, for sure that it's definately more worth-while to sign during wedding show. Their perks can be up to almost $2000 off (including all the mock drinks etc..) My advice is that go round the hotels and shortlist your hotels. then find out their prices. Some hotels will release their wedding show perks a few weeks before the show and tat helps you to firm up your decision whether to take up the hotel.

2nd advice, to check out the bridal shop which is having their bridal promo on the wedding show. I actually made an "impulse buy" as they have a promo that if you place deposit with the bridal shop on that day (only that day), you will be entitled to 1 table off (if you sign up a min of 26 tables). Which means i pay for 26 tables but will get 27 tables. Then with the $1588 off total bill, to be frank per table will be abt $760...which is reasonable given that the food + hotel location is very ideal.

GPPH do not have themes. Theirs is mainly just to choose types of flowers you wan for deco...but frankly speaking, you can't have too "westernise" theme for their ballroom also due to the Chinese calligraphy painting on the wall. They will display some flower set-up during the wedding show and you can have a look...but again, design will change every year. So best to have an idea on what type of flowers you wan and the hotel florist should be able to assist you.

So far, my coordinator (Henry), who is also the Senior Banquet Manager, is a very nice chap and very professional. Till now, very satisfied with his promopt service.

floralim

i jus notice them, so if i sign up now with them for Jun 08, i will not have the perks?

cheys28

i doubt so...maybe u can still bargain for free cockages and free flow beer etc...not so sure abt the cash discount. Cox afterall, they have to be fair to those customers who signed up during the wedding show. Unless you wan to take the "risk" of waiting for their wedding show...but i would advise you not to. One of my friends also planning her wedding in June 08 and most of the saturdays for hotels are taken! she has no choice but to take Hilton as that is the only one available.

And for GPPH, once the date is taken, you'll be the only couple having wedding in the hotel...given that their hotel not exactly big and they have only 1 ballroom...so it's quite an exclusive wedding.

floralim

i went to see their vitual tour to view on their ballroom, the stage seems small.
also 2mins match

its pillar free not exactly leh, i tink the side seated guests will be block by the pillar in btweeen the stage?

cheys28

i would say their ballroom should be nicely fitted if it's oni between 26 - 28 tables (including 2 reservce tables). It's those compact and cosy feeling type...not exactly grand. Was told that you can choose to just walk in straight of L-shape March-in.

For me, i'm ok with short march-in cox u need to march in 2 times also...walk too far also abit sianz cox the guest will start to clap slowly..haha..As for the blocking, i tink not exactly an issue cox it's not as if those pillar are right in the middle. To me, most importantly is that GPPH is conveniently located, quite good service and food =)

floralim

will all the guests will be able to see us if we are on stage?

L - shape match in? cant really figure it out , cuz from the vitual tour, seems like straight match , distance only 3 round tables. :p hahaa

i guess is like restaurant layout ya

i like their luxurious suite though, with outdoor jazcuzzi

poorthing

hey me also interested in their outdoor jacuzzi. hee, can request one right?
hmm.. i thought the ballroom is rectangular shaped, so is L-shape?? will it be weird?

kikibear

The ballroom is rectangular shaped. I suppose the march in depends on how you arrange the tables? I do heard of couples who march in from each side of the door (1 on each side) then meet in the middle at the back of the hall and walk down together.

kikibear

As for the outdoor jacuzzi, it's one of the bridal suite. Cant remember the name though. You can request for it.

kikibear

Cheys28
have you had your wedding banquet already? How many tables did you fit in? Do you have a photo of the entire setup?

hdbanger

flora:

all guests will see you, due to pillarless room.

based on kiki's rectangle description, the stage is in the middle of the length. you can walk in from one of the 2 side doors together, then towards the middle of the length, then down the entire breadth up the stage, or like what kiki mentioned, one person enter each side door, then meet in middle, and down the aisle of ballroom. path taken, will be somethin like T shape.

the other one, is where the stage is on the center of the breadth, on the inner breadth, instead of the breadth nearer to reception desk. for that, you can walk down the entire length of room. the path taken is L shaped, like what elyn82 described. less tables able to squeeze in tho, think it's about 22-24 tables. check back old posts, someone wrote that.

march-in time, is roughly 1.5 mins, if you stroll in relaxed (aka wedding march). if you wanna walk in brisk, prepare for 1 min timing. timed it myself during one of those surprise visits to the ballroom 2 mths before the dinner.

kiki,

if nothin goes wrong, typically they'd give the governor suite (the one with the outdoor jacuzzi). unless it's already booked by someone else etc. the other one, is called the oriental suite.

quick sidestep for the rest...

anyone still in liason with vera and need an ice breaker, send her my warm regards. she knows me as lawrence. the july groom who almost didn't get his suites for 2 nites, heh.

floralim

hi Hdbanger, thanks for clarification, understand now.

so now i can have long match if L shape pathing, and move the stage to the other end

location,pillar free & high ceiling & outdoor jacuzzi really very attractive!!

downside ballroom too small and the Hotel Entrance.

today i go thru about number of table again with my parents, its inrease another 2 tables.gosh..

afraid by end of the day i might need 28 tables

anybody ever request for Red Carpet?

cheys28

Hi HdBanger, you are back!
To all those who are not familiar with him, he is a "guru" here...keke

Flora, if you have 28 tables, my recommendation is to book 26 tables (if you dare), if not then 27 tables. This is what my fren taught me...cox if you book 26 tables, they will still set up 28 tables (2 reserve tables). Not forgetting there will be people not attending last minute.

Anyway we have more option for walk in than other hotel! So u can choose to have the 1st walk in as "L" walk in followed by the 2nd walk-in, which is the normal one...

Did check abt the ref carpet before. They say that can be done but they advised against to prevent the bridal from tripping...not sure what they meant but maybe if you are careful, then should not be an issue.

poorthing

ya, i also dun mind the L walk in. hee
so must limit to 26-28 tables. cannot invite too many ppl.
hmm just that from the pic, the ballroom look abit plain.

hdbanger

cheys:

nah, ex-guru, applicable for mid-07 period. you ladies will have to take over the baton for this year. i'm just sittin around seein the changes happenin over @ GPPH.

flora:

try and figure out how many tables you'd have CONFIRMED. the arrangement can be sorted out later. you can ask your recept party to help with the changes on the night (eg pack 2 half tables together). then from there, you'd add 1 or 2 as reserve. in case you have some bringing a bunch of kids along that nite.

also, the prelim list you have, up til the point you send out the invit cards, are not confirm full attendance. if you can send out the invites early, and know who can't make it, you have enough spare time to haul replacements in. also get the relatives' figures tied down asap. cos that end harder to predict changes.

ideal picture if both hubby and bride have buddies, who'd confirm, and die die will shift work/overseas schedule to attend. for those situations, less likely to have fluctuating figures. remember, you can add tables up til the last wk or so, but you can't subtract down.

tt's how i tied down 28+2 in the end, and i used 28+1. due to a mixup with one of my relatives' table.

floralim

hi cheys,

that to say , if i get 26+2 i will need to have L shape match in :0
i would love to have red carpet

Hi HdBanger ,
tats great at the very last week i still able to make changes, i feel less stress now.

anymore more tips to share :p.. realy very blur now . cuz SO not intown, i m the only one who do the shortlist & co ordinating

jna

I just comfirmed my booking with Vera, will do the food tasting somewhere July this year.
Will keep your update the food standard...

cheys28

I'm counting down wef today! 1 year exact from today! Anyway Guru HdBanger, your precious experience is required here for all brides-to-be....Free consultation...hehe

Jas, i remembered during my last wedding show, which they also allow sampling of food, their shark's fin (although hardly see any fins) is very nice...many couples had more than 1 servings!

As for the red carpet, u can check it out with them again...dun tink should be a problem. My advice for the table arrangemet is to have 1 or 2 helpers to help you roam round the tables abt 20 min before the dinner starts. This will give them ample time to move the guest around if required.

ayukie

their next wedding show won't be so soon right?
They nt offering the perks for the wedding show alredy right ?
anyway Lim is the upgrade still available?

cheys28

i tink the season for wedding show is usually ard late April to May. u can try to probe them again.
As far as we know, wedding show perks are usually for bookings on that day only. If not, no point attracting pple to the wedding show. It's really those extra perks such as $ discount etc.

jna

Hi cheys28,

Oic i never attend their wedding show..
so don't knw the food standard yet..
I changed 2 dishes from the menu without topping up the $$

cheys28

heard from reviews that the food is not bad.
their wasabi prawns also not bad...something special but not many pple may like though.

rara11

I gonna go for my food tasting this sat. Give you gals update on the quality of food. =)

Rara

floralim

Hi Jasmine,

may i noe wat dishes did you change and from wat dish to which kind of dishes?

sho good dun ned to top up $$

Hihi Ling, Keep us update, when is your AD?

jna

I changed the dessert to cream of mango sago with pomelo and the 7th dish to fried rice vermicelli with honey pork and prawn. We found the noodle very boring so may be can try something diff

We also negotiate with them not to top up $$ so change to the same value dish

Ling, what package u signed up? I signed up Jade package.

rara11

My actual day is on the 15 Mar 2008. Mine is Ruby package.
During food tasting they allow me to try both for dessert. I have chosen Sweetened Walnut Cream with Glutinous Rice balls and fresh mango & pomelo with saga cream. I change my fried prawn with oats to soft shell crabs.

floralim

hi jasmine,

i see, im thinking of their lobster salad heard its need to top up S$20

or forgo free wine/table + free beer to exchnage for lobster salad :p

bifi

Hi all, just had our banquet (fibi and me) last week 5th Jan 08. We wanna echo swappies' earlier post that we really had a smooth and great time for our banquet!

Veralyn, though always very busy, is a very efficient and thoughtful lady, and without her the whole event would not have gone so well.

The banquet manager and his team were so smooth and ran things like clockwork. All the little details were taken care of.

And the food met with approval from everyone (we had vegetarians and muslims as well). I had a 'bro' in charge of compiling complaints, and basically he had nothing to do for the night!

So all kudos and praise to GPPH, it really was our dream wedding banquet.

I guess the only picky thing we can say is that it was a little hard to move around the tables for photo-taking (ours was 30+2), but if your helpers are efficient, this won't really be a problem. We completed our photo-taking within 20 minutes (also thanks to our super-speedy photographer Alex!)

So we highly recommend GPPH to any couples with the appropriate number of tables (i.e. <35). But do sign up during their wedding show to have the best deals.

floralim

congrats fibi &amp; bifi hehee...

i guess i quickly go down make deposit...

do you have to top up for wine/beer eventually or none? if so how much $?

i saw their package its include free wine per confirmed table

do u find the hotel entrance is a downside sad though inside look so grand &amp; nice &amp; cosy..

oh ya , did u manage to use their outdoor jazcuzi hehe

any pix to share :p

fibi

Hi flora,

We had a barrel of beer thrown in as our min no of table for Ruby package (booked in early 07) was 25 and we upped it to 28, wine was included in the package so no top up for wine/beer. Yeap march in is short so we took our own sweet time to walk. Actually with all the clapping and smiling at each other and the guests, it felt quite long though. Heh.

I especially liked the big screens on 2 sides and that it is pillarless with quite high ceiling. I feel that the screens are imp esp if you are playing animation and videos. The effect is so much better and grander than places with those small, movable screens esp if you've spent quite an amt of money doing up the animations and stuff.

Will PM you the AD pix once we received it.

floralim

hi fibi,

great to hear tat. seems wonderful to you
... matching felt quite long ? really.. im still hesitate whether to move the stage inorder to have long Match :p. i guess my table too will increase when its near.

i do hope my too will end up like urs.. how much u spend on Animations?