Grand Park City Hall

vilopup

Jiening: I also having 30 tables. I saw one setup with 30 tables and it was still okie for the guests. just that the march in seems a bit tight for big gowns and big girls like me... and the table to table pic, prob you try to choose a slimmer evening gown for the pic...

elise_hoe

My wedding is going to be in November this year...just went to sign up with an AD photographer and he mentioned that the lightings at GPCH is not very good for shooting of banquet dinners..haiz, a bit demoralising..

went home and take a look at some photos and realise indeed the lightings may not be the most impressive. Any BTBs know whether the upcoming renovations will change the 'Dome-shaped' lightings to lightings like chandeliers or at least brighter/classier lightings?

weixiang_06

Elise, i would say its UTTER RUBBISH!

For me, i signed up with

http://www.envisagephotography.com.sg/

the reason why i took it up.. I am very impressed with his service, his portfolio and his creativity along with an eye for detail.

The main reason is i happened to see his portfolio, it included GPCH photos... they were very nicely taken...

Remember, its the man behind the camera that matters...

My AD PG uses 2x 5D MII along with many L lens and etc...

weixiang_06

Elise, btw not all of my AD PG's portfolio are listed on his website... =)

If you see the latest selection from envisagephotography, you would know why i selected them.

weixiang_06

its true that the lighting of the ballroom does affect the photos.. however ultimately it boils down to the PG skills and expertise.. there are ways to turn around... like get fast prime lens, slave flash and etc...

poohbear2008

Actually my pro photographer friend refute what u said, it is how u control the settings, if u use the correct settings, no lighting will affect the photo that much unless the place blackout. No matter how gd the equipment the photographer has, if he or she dont know how to use the correct settings, it is pointless and in the end have to waste alot of time of photoshopping which makes the photos look fake and ugly

jigglez

Jiening: Yes the guests can sit comfortably but its just that the gap between tables is really small...tough for me when i had a can can for evening gown...

weixiang_06

Elise, imho.. its very IMPORTANT you get a good AD PG.. dun skimp on this.. the PG can either make or ruin ur BIG DAY!

i agree with Pooh Bear... to your PG who said the lighting in GPCH, i seriously think he is not very competent...

i meddle with dSLR, lens and flash photography.. and i know what i am talking..

went from 1000D, 450D, D90 and now 500D to mention the bodies i have owned before..

weixiang_06

Elise, imho.. its very IMPORTANT you get a good AD PG.. dun skimp on this.. the PG can either make or ruin ur BIG DAY!

i agree with Pooh Bear... to your PG who said the lighting in GPCH, i seriously think he is not very competent...

i meddle with dSLR, lens and flash photography.. and i know what i am talking.. no doubt i am an amatuer, but i have owned and handled 450D, D90 and now 500D before

weixiang_06

Elise, ask your PG.... most photography will use bounce / diffuse flash in some situations... but the control and the proper use is important...

came across a PG who handled his camera poorly, ended up all the photos looked way worse than those i have self taken using my F200EXR PnS camera... zzz...

inspectorgadget

Weixiang, I agree with you on the points, but hope you can ease off. I doubt your comments are making Elise better about her decisions.

Elise, if you don't feel confident about the photographer, see if you can cancel the booking with him/her and look for another one. Alternatively, find a second photographer who is confident of covering the banquet at the venue.

weixiang_06

Hi, i am sorry if i sounded too zealous... seriously in the world of photography, nothing is really impossible... its whether or not the PG is competent and equipped with the necessary tools.

Elise, do check out with your PG with his/her arsenal of tools... Seriously, if a PG just brushes it off due to poor lightning... i dun think its really professional...

For me, i have personally encountered an incident when an amateur PG really ruined a happy occasion for the couple... the colours, tone, exposure, composition were way off... and using direct flash photography to capture couple in broad daylight? I tot it was supposed to be fill flash. however when i saw the photos, i nearly fainted... i won't name the PG, i believe he is trying to improve. On hindsight, even i could do a better job... though i am really an amateur to begin with as well. I brought along a PnS camera F200EXR and they commented that my photos were way better...

this is my two cents in all... All the best.

poohbear2008

Elsie, yup I agree with inspector gadget. Most importantly you are comfortable with the photographer and likes his style of shooting. Also communicatiion with the photographer is impt too. Afterall marriage is a one life time occasion and you sure want to capture the moments nice so that you will keep seeing it after ur marriage and show to ur future generations. Enjoy ur marriage preparation

vilopup

Elsie: Dont feel too kancheong cos the amount of pic for the ballroom is limited to the march in and toasting. Table to table cannot go very wrong with everyone posing for it and the PG has time to capture. Dont think he need to keep changing settings for each table.

Did you see his pic for other parts of the day? The morning ones shd have no lighting issue right? the gatecrashing and tea ceremony.

Prioritise how impt the PG is to you and your budget and see how.... dont stress... if not, ask for some other btbs whose wedding is over to share their pic so that you can show your PG... let me find some via blogs for you ... i believe my PG took at the ballroom before as well. Shd have samples....

Ojh: mine is this sat, will post some after that.

joanne: have fun and enjoy!!

elise_hoe

Hi all BTBs, thanks for the encouragement and advice! I really appreciate it!

Hi Blur BTB, maybe you could show me some of the pictures taken at the ballroom as reference...thanks again! and do keep me informed how your AD wedding went! So excited for you! hoho.....must share with me the photos after that yah?

Joanne, you have fun and have a really memorable wedding too!!

lowpyng

Best wishes to Joanne and blur btb too
Have Fun!!

Gene> my wedding is on November, i also wana know the answer. I'm planning to get my wedding invitation card for printing soon, do i have to confirm the no. of tables at the time of collection too? Cuz it state 70% of cfm tables. =/

vilopup

Gene and MemorableChocolate: For the purpose of the cards, i give a rough estimate first but the coordinator is quite flexible he say can get up to 80% of the cards that I need. So after first count, i have 30 tables, I only told them i have 28 (so worked out 70% X 280)... and somehow i think i got enough cos more family than friends.

As for the final confirmed no. of tables, we are supposed to meet the coordinator 3 weeks before the wedding to confirm that as well as the favors, theme etc...

Thanks Elsie, w3n and lowpyng for the well wishes... i m gg bonkers. a zillion undone things. tmw will go for food tasting and gown choosing le... finally...

geniecatcher

Blur btb > thanks..so what is the next step of liaison with GPCH? would they contact me for the card selection & qty? and how long will it be before my AD? then the 2nd step is the selection of favours and confirmation of the no. of tables?

jiening

joanne > congrats and best wishes too!! :D

Blur > hey, my food tasting is this sat (tomorrow) too! what time will you be there? maybe we'll meet. hahaha

Gene > ur coordinator will email you 3 months prior to ur AD to tell you that you can go to Tdragon to make the card and also schedule your food tasting,
i took about 3 weeks to finalise everything and get back to him on the confirm no. of tables (so as to have an estimation on the no. of cards req.) and also to settle the date of food tasting cuz some of the dates are not available.

when receive the email, can just go down to tdragon anytime, tell the person which hotel, which coordinator, number of tables and % of cards given by hotel. ^_^

vilopup

Gene: not too sure leh.. cos i was being kiasu and wanted to print inserts at JB, so i got the cards about 4 months before the wedding le... i just told GPCH i want to get and they say i can just go to T&T to choose and then they will send the invoice back to GPCH.

Elsie, din have time to find yet... i come back after gown choosing and food tasting today to search what i saw befor

phycyj

i am a 2011 btb and im having my dinner at GPCH too.
i think after the renovations, the package change quite a bit. looking forward to see the new place!

weixiang may i know if you have any recommendations for AD PG? thanks!

weixiang_06

hi phyllis chew...

my AD PG is
http://www.envisagephotography.com.sg/

He is a very sincere and humble person.... of course this is backed up with quality photos... his recent portfolios can be seen on facebook along with his online blog

he is also a member of WPJA & AG|WPJA. One of his recent entry for WPJA global competition was awarded 11th position. ^^

i came across him after some nasty and unpleasant experience with another PG... thank goodness, it turned out to be a blessing in disguise!

w3ngal

ermmm we get the cards from t dragon and do the printing of inserts there? or we can go JB to print (for cheaper rates)?

after reno, the package got what changes?

jiening

w3n, you can print the cards at tdragon, or get the cards from tdragon then go JB print. it depends on your budget, time and accessibility to jb.

i've completed my food tasting. the food was really really nice!!! except for the sharksfin replacement soup. kinda disappointing.. now my dad's nagging me to change back to sharksfin soup which i hope i wont have to. :S emailed christopher already, will see what else can be arranged..

pics are here: http://jie-ning.com/2010/06/food-tasting/ (mine's a sapphire package)

weixiang_06

hi jie ning,

from what i see from your wasabi prawns, they were deshelled upon request? it seems like there is enough for everyone to have at least 2 prawns each?

for your starter, what was it hiding in the background all wrapped up in cabbage? was it jelly fish?

for your dessert, its rock melon with sago? it looks good :D

weixiang_06

Ojh... this is precisely why i mentioned about confirming your date earlier.. for mine, the food is 80% similar with jiening, except for about 2 dishes where i have a choice. :D

this was done earlier with William Chan... however he has since left GPCH, taking over will be the new Senior Banquet Sales Manager Christopher Lee.. who is good too. :D

w3ngal

wahhh the food looks good leh! hee
okie i am taking gowns from JB so may go JB tp print the inserts thanks jiening.

my mum wanna take the drunken prawns. anyone tried it before?

msdomestic

hi! jus had my food tasting last nite.. my menu is the same as jiening.. from the photos.. but all voted the herbal chicken out.. think gona change to roast chicken..

jgenesis

renee: how was the food tasting..nice?

btw, does anyone has any comments about roast chicken with crackers which is supposedly their signature dish?

jiening

weixiang, i didnt request anything for the prawns, they were served as per original -- no shells, a good thing! :D . lol~ yup, it's 2 to a person.

yes, it's jelly fish who's hiding. hahaha..
and yes, the rock melon is yummy!!! :D

w3n, you are welcome!! :D

renee, why? nobody like herbal chicken? i was happily eating the ginseng. haha..

weixiang_06

Jiening, thanks alot!

Indeed, it has confirmed my doubts..

I remembered someone posting butter prawn earlier.. It was in full shell, in bigger size.. However its only limited 1 prawn to 1 pax.. =(

About the gold coin, does it taste good? My wife seems to be very insistent about getting it...

i think i might give up the herbal chicken too.. think their roasted chicken is nicer? :D

jiening

hey no prob!

gold coin is actually chicken bakua. although it's a cold dish, the gold coin is actually hot. kinda special especially when the rest are cold. lol~

is the roasted chicken really nice? u all really make me having second thought leh. lol~~!!

weixiang_06

actually, it depends... but i believe the herbal chicken when it arrives on the table..

it will be cold on arrival.. not sure about the roasted chicken.. would it be hard and stiff cos its out in the open for too long?

to me, i never really liked gold coin.. to me, it pretty ..... i can easily eat that anytime.. but then my wife is like .... =x

msdomestic

hi!

Ojh (jgenesis) : yes overall nice! except for the ginseng chicken.. =.= heez when's urs?

Jiening (jiening) : my opinion is the last i think hahaha.. one by one they say no.. no way.. but i tink i can understand why.. cos for me i find it salty and also the gravy taste abit off.. tats for me la.. cos the ginseng chicken have the most left over.. =.= but overall they like it.. =) i agree the asaparagus is nice and i lurve the macadamia nuts!! yummy

w3ngal

yah true the herbal chicken will turn abit cold when it arrives, i think i will choose the roasted chicken ba. the chicken prepared in two ways dunno is what and what method.

i think the gold coin is common one, cause the wedding i went, mostly got this dish. heehehee.

i like wasabi prawns but i dont really like the presentation (the strawberry and fruits looks a bit messy judging from the pics).

thanks for sharing the pics and comments! i am sure it helps the future brides and groom alot.

weixiang_06

i think especially when the gravy is out in the open for some time, it will taste even worse?

think i will strike the ginseng chicken out too...

weixiang_06

w3n, all the more i will want to strike out gold coin.. for me, i am getting salad prawn.

curious like to do a mini poll...

between gold coin and salad prawn for cold dish, which would u all choose..

for me, i always see salad prawn being wiped out one...

jiening

weixiang, are we allowed to change gold coin to salad prawn?? if can i also want cuz i like salad prawn too. hahahahaahah!!

w3ngal

aaaaaa i was told the cold dish hor, can change the dish at no additional cost wor, like salad prawn if dont like can change to gold coin or dun like gold coin can change to jelly fish etc. but cannot change to suckling pig or lobster. is this true? dont scare me! cause i asked afew times and this is the answer given. haha

between salad prawn and gold coin, i will choose salad prawn hee.