Grand Park City Hall

bride2bee

Hi Shirley,

I've gone for my food tasting after they change the restaurant name. According to my coordinator, the chefs are still there. So the quality of food should be as good. As for my food tasting, most of the people said its nice. And the portion is big as well.

ppbbxhz

hi shirley,

i had my wedding in may there. the food taste great. All my guest give compliments on the food. So rest assured.

hdbanger

shirley:

i'm one of the earlier couples to have their food after they changed to park palace (from sichuan douhua). did my wedding in early july. like what wasabi said, chef's still around. only change is towards canto cuisine from sichuan cuisine.

top marks for their roasted stuff. seems like we had a good fish dish as well.

cheys28:

i only had a muslim guest. so not sure how his food turned out. but i think shld be no issue. he didn't have any complaints.

hmm, now that the lunar 7th month is over, maybe the rest of the wedding couples who's had/havin their events in GPPH can give their input.

max0924

anyone never go for food trial and ask for waiver? or anyone who never had food trial and had their dinner served already? how was the food?

sunny_bear

Hi Tortoisezzz,

The hotel has a website, check out this link. (www.parkhotelgroup.com)

Great to see that this thread is somehow revived.

Are there any BTB or GTB who have signed up with the hotel?

I went to see the ballroom during an actual setup and have some concern on the march in even though the couple only have 26 tables (way below its capacity). Don't really know how to walk as the tables were placed quite near the doors, so space between the guests and the couple can be rather narrow.

Hi XHZ/HdBanger,

Any advise on the march in? Btw, do they lay a red carpet for the march in? Didn't really see one that day......?

hdbanger

sunny bear:

red carpet, request fr coord to prepare for you. they shld be able to do so.

as for march-in, i did the default route. straight in. time fr door to stage is about 1.5-2 mins.

there's 2 versions. groom and bride each come in fr each door, and then merge in middle to walk down together. the other one, is both walk thru one door together and down the middle.

leslie's my banquet guy (if i still got his name right), and he suggested me and wife each take one side for each entrance (ie 2nd walkdown, we switch doors).

the walkdown is to me one of the minus points of the whole deal at GPPH (on top of things like the facade of hotel). but i'm ok with it.

sathpaul

just to check for the walk in...

anyone change the stage to the end and walk in from one door all the way to the end. so that the walk in is slightly longer

any comments or experience?

cheys28

anyway for those who are having solemnisation on the same day, you can hold it either at their waterfall, courtyard or small function room...tat's the good thing abt being the "only" couple for that day since they are quite accomodating. So far, my encounter with Henry, the senior banquet manager, has been a pleasant one...think that has "compensated" me versus my bridal shop, which is giving me nightmares

aiyaya

For those who are having their banquet at Grand Plaza Park at city hall.. Who wanna upgrade they bridal suite to Presendital Suite for their night stay.

It is a 2 storey suite, the 1st floor is a living room with kitchen and a lounge the 2 story is a bed room.

I am letting go at $300, if your are interested
The usual price is 1k plus

maple_leaves

I am a bit confused here... some of u here mentioned that the setting can max to 22 but some say 28 ... but my co-ordinator say max 35.. but of coz tats reali chair to chair already... so reali confused abt it... n he mentioned that 31-33 max would be preferred...

Hmm... confused... so which is which.. hahaha

cheys28

it really depends on the arrangement cox ultimately u won't want your guest to feel so "compact"...based on last visit, 28 tables seems just nice...my friend had 32 tables and he said that it seems quite packed liao... whenever the hotel says max 35 tables, dun go for the maximum... cox from their view, of course would be best to squeeze as many tables as possible mah...

hdbanger

maple:

there are 2 ways to lay the aisle.

the standard way, is to walk down the aisle via the middle up the stage. short walkdown, but more tables. max at 35. like what the rest said, it's packed. 30 tables and under is comfortable for guests, and the bride when they go around takin pictures (bearin in mind some gowns which are the pom pom kind, or those with long trails behind).

the other way, is shift the stage to one side of the banquet hall. then the walk in will be longer (down the entire length instead of its breadth). but tables will be down to 22-24 max.

most of us took the 30 tables approach. enough for everyone to sit in, and also givin in to the short walkdown during entry.

hope it helps.

janbenaly

Dear Maple,

Wanted to sign up Grand Plaza Park at city hall also as most of the hotels are fully taken up.
Any comments. When is your AD ?

maple_leaves

Hi Sonia,

My AD is on the 11 Nov 08. Tuesday... Actuali overall Grand plaza is ok for me...

The main reason for me to choose Grand Plaza is becoz of the few pointers:

1)I like the ballroom, quite high ceiling(althought nt reali tat high), no pillar. Actuali I also like the chinese calligraphy in the ballrm, they give a veri cina feel..

2) the receiption area. you can hv the whole area to ur own coz they only hv 1 big ballroom,hence only 1 wedding.

3)the selection of wedding cards. They hv more than 60 selections where most hotels only hv 2.

4) the $$ per table.. well afforable for us.. => & 1 bottle of wine for every confirm table...

5)the whole hotel ambience is quite ok.. No doubt nt reali veri high class but ok lah..

6)Food wise no comments yet, but one of my friend who is picky w food finds tat its ok when she attended her friend's wedding..

7) the wedding co-ordinator also quite ok, veri prompt in his reply unlike some hotels where till nw i didnt even rec any quote fm them...

Of coz, the only thing we are worried of is the parking. As they hv only 100+ parking lot, if u hv only 1 wedding, the 100+ lot is still ok, but if they hv another wedding is the restuarant, mayb will hv a prob... (which hopfully not...heheh)

Hence overall, quite ok for us.. so when is ur AD?

pheebee

Hi All!

I have just booked my wedding banquet with Grand Plaza Park Hotel. *cross finger that it's not a bad choice* My AD is in dec 08.

When you guys say you had 30 tables, was it 30 tables plus 2 reserve or 28 tables with 2 reserve?

I think I will need 30 tables for all my guest and hope i can do away with the 2 reserve tables cause i dun wan the space to be too cramp. I saw a setting for 29 tables and it looks comfy.

But I scared if I dun wan the reserve tables then suddenly i need more table then things will get complicated or messy.

Any one has taken any pics of the decor etc? Can send me? Btw, the bridal suite is which suite ah? Sure got the jacuzzi one or do I have to request?

chocolatesoh

I went to view the setup of 35 tables last evening. It's really very cramped. Before the guests were seated, the chairs were already very close to each other. Can't imagine how the guests are going to sit and move about!
The chairs at the back were also placed very near the entrances.

Have to try to cut down the no. of guests to fit lesser tables. Even our coordinator, Veralyn, would advise that the no. of guests be cut down, if possible.

Anyone had Veralyn as the coordinator? How u find her? Actually found her quite attitude problem. We emailed her and asked her to inform us if there's a wedding dinner of 35 tables. She informed us there's one last evening but was so reluctant to bring us to the ballroom(since there's a wedding and it's not so nice to go up ourselves). We had to call her twice before she finally decided to meet us at the ballroom. Not sure if it's becos we are the 'handover case' from Michelle.

maple_leaves

Hi Chocolate,

Oh no... i guess 35 table is a real No no for us then... For me my co-ordinator is Zack, I find him quite ok...

As my HTB didnt see the actual setup before, Zack keep telling us tat there is a wedding the follow day or the day after, asking if he wants to take a look he dnt mind bringing him to see again.. which is something i reali appreciate lor...

But from my point, bringing u to see the ballroom its ok one mah... jus see only mah.. Sigh... Some co-ordinator r like tat one lor.. no choice...

chocolatesoh

Hi Maple,

When's ur AD? U n ur htb are lucky to hv Zack as ur coordinator. He seems gd from wat u described.

Veralyn seems to give me the feeling that we are troubling her a lot on the wedding setup way in advance cos our AD is in Jun 08. But we need to plan the guest list mah, which is why we asked her to let us view the ballroom setup.

I guess since we have signed the contract, we got to make do with this kind of coordinator.

maple_leaves

Hi Chocolate,

My AD is in Nov 08... Understand ur point in planning for the guest list.. i too hv this problem too.. Coz we actuali hvnt come out w a finalise list too...

I guess if u reali hv a lot of prob with your current coordintaor,perhaps u can drop a email to their Manager, I tink his name is Henry or someting..
But come to tink of it, we r customer leh, hw come must see their face, somemore its the most impt moment of our life lor...
Hope things will be better for u...

hdbanger

ladies,

for those who's havin vera as coord... i was also a leftover case fr michele. and vera only had a month or so to settle my wedding.

it was tougher for us that time, cos zack and the other male coord (henry i think) weren't in yet. she ran the whole show alone.

while i don't know what to expect from her, we warmed up to each other eventually. there were glitches during the suite reservations (cos i requested to stay an extra nite, payin for it). but in the end, she sorted it out for me. after i 'tolong' her to do me a favour.

as for viewing the ballroom, not necessarily need the coord to bring us up. you can pop in around 6.30pm to take a look at the place yourself. and then see the plan outside the ballroom to know how many tables are involved. if not sure, then ask the people there.

only thing to do, is to confirm that evening got an event. so long as you have sign up with them, you've got some right to take a look at the place, even my PG also went up to see what lighting etc to expect. and i didn't inform the coord.

as for vera's attitude.. i don't know how bad it is for you all. for my experience, she has her stress days, and half the time i gotta tell her to cool down, and then we get down to havin my weddin arrangements sorted out. a smile, a joke, can relax things a bit. there were times when response didn't come immediate, but i played it down to her 3-in-1 workload. and tried to adjust around to both our sides' requirements.

by the time my dinner etc all over... on the afternoon we checked out, she chatted with me for about an hour at the lobby, heh. wife had to pull me away, and hotel came chasin after her about some appointment. then we wave goodbye. that's the last time i caught up with her.

all things said, most impt thing... is to finalise the number of people attending the dinner. have a ballpark figure when you sign, and stick to it. can add, but cannot minus. ie, i signed at 24, confirmed at 28+2 about 2 wks before dinner.

also, many things will be changing, so the most important decisions will only be finalised in the one final month. you can be layin down your requirements half a year ahead, but in the final months, things can still change, just like bridal studio/gowns etc. so don't worry too much about it in advance.

chocolatesoh

Hi Maple,

Thanks for your advice.

We will see how she's like when we meet again nearer to our AD. If she continues to give attitude problem, we will then see if we can chg coordinator.

Just want to be fair to her cos it's not as if she has made a grave mistake.

chocolatesoh

Hi HdBanger,

I do empathise with Veralyn when she had to take over Michele's cases sometime in June. I remember she took very long to settle our contract signing matters. We gave ample understanding to her on that.

But now that Zack and Henry are onboard, she shouldn't be giving that kind of attitude. Of cos I do not rule out the possibility that she might be very busy on that day when we went to see the ballroom, which was why she was reluctant to show her there.

In fact, I wanted to go to the ballroom myself. When I reached there at about 6.40p.m, the 'sisters', bride and groom were alrd there, which explained why we felt that it would be better for Veralyn to show us to the ballroom.

Anyway, not showing us to the ballroom wasn't a big issue. It's just that the first impression given to both parties were rather bad. I'll just keep my fingers crossed and hope for the better.

hdbanger

choc-soh:

understand your point. in fact, it was about the same feelin my wife and i had, which caused us to strike orchard hotel off our shortlist (tho it's our first choice).

the coord who attended to us were late, and we had to wait get the staff to hail her, since we can't get her via our mobile.

and the presentation wasn't impressive either. there was a strong 'take it or leave it' feel about it.

michele was professional. but lack a little human touch. she was the one who encouraged me to just go down and view the ballroom at my own convenience.

first time i saw vera, she didn't give me good impression either. that same 'quick get it over and done with' impression. took a few more meetings (esp during off peak hours), and the ice was slowly broken. maybe she helped me a bit more, since i'm one of the rare few grooms who handles his own weddings. and i'm decisive about what i have in mind.

as for the wedding people who're in the ballroom, maybe outta courtesy, you can intro yourself to them, congratulate them, and explain a little about your presence there. that's what i'd do. i'm sure they'd be glad to let you look around (since they went thru your current process). there's not much people around at that time anyway, and you're not gonna be there for long, just to get a feel.

no matter what, if there's any issue, talk it through with vera. or bring it up with henry to resolve the misunderstandings. you need their support, and they need your business. find a win-win situation for both parties. 8) and enjoy the whole wedding process.

aiyaya

For those who are having their banquet at Grand Plaza Park at city hall.. Who wanna upgrade they bridal suite to Presendital Suite for their night stay.

It is a 2 storey suite, the 1st floor is a living room with kitchen and a lounge the 2 story is a bed room.

Usual price is around $1200, am letting go at $300, if your are interested..

shermane

hi lim,

i had rcv and thank you.
i had sent reply to you as well.

will be meeting my co-ordinator this coming sat, will request for views of the suite if possible.

thank you.

jna

Just went down to view the ballroom last Sat,
i feel comfortable with the ballroom setup although is a short march in. May considering to sigh up with them, have to ask for more perks...hehe...
According to Vera, next year will have new theme, but she can't comfirm now...

swappies

My wedding was just 2 days ago (21/11/07) and we are very satisfied with GPPH.

1) Wedding coordinator:- Veralyn was very patient with us throughout the whole preparation. We had a very short time in preparing our wedding (from Apr - Nov), and she gave us a lot of advice and suggestion, which calm us down quite a bit. She tried her best to adhere to all our requests. We were very happy with her service. It's obvious that she's overloaded, so the best way to reach her is through email. She usually replied within the day of the email.

2) Banquet team:- The banquet team was very professional and experienced on the AD. They controlled the flow very well. Despite starting at 815pm (later than planned), we managed to end on time. Some minor hiccups; we didn't get the ang bao box and the confetti bowls on time, but they responded immediately when prompted. In all, they made the job of our program manager friend much simpler.

3) Food:- Even our picky friends commented that the food was good. Our first dish was a whole lobster, so the first dish impact was good! Must also compliment on their kitchen flexibility - we forgot abt a vegetarian friend, but they were flexible enough to cook an extra set and even give our friend the 1st 2 dishes she missed.

4) Ballroom setup:- We had 27+2 tables and it was comfortable for the guests. But it was quite hard to maneuver around for me in the evening gown during photo taking. Agreed with some of the above comments that it will be very packed for 30 tables. March-in was short (~2mins), but that suited us. Our 2 march-in were done through different doors, which allowed more guests to see us up-close.

5) Location:- GPPH is a stone throw away from City Hall MRT station. Even though our wedding coincides with the ASEAN summit road closure, our guests managed to arrive on time. This is a really plus point for our guests who don't drive.

In conclusion, we received positive feedbacks from our guests on food and service, which (to us) are the 2 most impt factors. To couples who are planning a small affair (<30 tables), we would definitely recommend GPPH.

maple_leaves

Hi Swappies,

Congrats to u as well...!!! Hope they will remain the same standard even for next yr... heheh..

Thanks for the update.. Just wondering if u mangaed to take any pic of their bridal suite? can email to me : [email protected] ...

swappies

Hi popeye gal,
My package is signed before the 7% GST took effect so I don't know what's the package for 2008. Sorry about that.

popeye_gal

abit confuse, "Grand Plaza Park Hotel" &amp; "Park Hotel(Orchard rd)" Is it the same hotel? Any coordinator to Commend?