Grand Park City Hall

caymans

Jean, welcome to the GPCH club!! =) Did u ask for the option of converting the 1N helper room for your own usage instead? I asked for that and in the contract drafted, it appears that the helper room can either be used on (1) My actual date OR (2) the next day. meaning to say i wont get the helper room usage on my AD if i choose option 2. Anyway, when's ur big day?? =)

Jaaycee: so how? have u decided which hotel to go for? or still having a headache trying to decide =)

jaaycee

Yoyo everyone =) Jean, congrats in making your decision! we are still deciding, have put forth some questions to Janice and awaiting her replies and also the contract to be drafted, but we have yet to hear from her/receive it after 2 days...called GPCH and realised she is on leave =S she said she could give me by today...sigh.

but will decide but end of this week definitely =))

withualways

Who is going to their Wedding Fair on 19th Sept 09(Sat)? Do share with us on what you got on that day. My ROM on 20th Sep 09. 16 days more.

geniecatcher

Liquidsnake > you booked already le still got for what? can get more perks? what can we expect from the wedding show if we had booked already?

jigglez

CaymenS> Yea I am officially part of the club. haha my AD is on 23 May. Anyway, i read my contract again, it says "1 N stay for helpers", but my coordinator very casual lei, he says can be changed for our own use. The day helper room - I read it in the brochure he gave me, but opps!! its not written in the contract. Hopefully, its the same ha...

Jaaycee> Hmm..what is stopping you? My main concern is that its not very well known, but well...budget is impt as well..so here I am, part of the club..haha..

drizzles54

Dear GPCH brides!

U gals have a new member. I have jus signed up too... coordinator is William. He is friendly n easy on the swaps, my helper rm is converted to our own use as well
Btw I will be having a wedding lunch! I will be going to the wedding show too, to see the set-ups n themes... as William says they are cuming up wif new themes.

Hapi prep ladies!

caymans

congratulations jaaycee, u finally made the decision =) so u be gg to their wedding workshop?

drizzles54, thats what my coord told me also, there will be new themes during the show,looking fwd to it.

Jean, i think u are one of the earlier 2010AD among the few of us here, hope u dun mind sharing ur experience on GPCH on that day =)

fionie

HI to all GPCH brides... =)
i have signed up with Janice during the may wedding show.. having 2nites oriental suite + 6 bottles of wine and some cocktails stuffs...

I would strongly encourage to take during the show.. else they are v.difficult to get any perks... =I

my AD will be on 6dec... luncheon.. probably going to meet my coordinator this mth to settled with the theme , wedding favours, cards....

anyone gt any theme to recommend or pic to share?? and heard from Janice the wedding card she asked us to go T-dragon for printing... anyone use their service?nice??

withualways

My contract is here, going to sign it and send it over, they provide return mail postage with envelope too. Nice.

liquidsnake> we share the same ROM date n same AD hotel. Nice. Hehe. 20092009 is such a hot date, i'm sure chnl 8 news will say it again, maybe record breaking on the number of couples getting married on that day, some more is a weekend and Public Holiday. Haha.

drizzles54

Hi CaymenS, yea mi looking forward too! Good to view the actual set-up, at least we will have a feel of how is it like on the actual dae!

Fionie, u r having a luncheon too? R u doing tea ceremonmy there? Do share wif us yr experience ya, since yr AD is in Dec!

I tink T-dragon is quite a popular vendor for alot of hotels, so shld not be a problem. If I r'ber correctly, its nearby GPCH. Y not u go down this cuming wedding show to decide yr theme, then otw can drop by T-dragon?

jigglez

Hi CaymenS, sure I will share with all. haha...but guess its still a long way more.

Fionie: I heard many hotels in SG uses T dragon. But, my coordinator did say that they have an arrangement with T dragon to print the hotel logo and map on the card.

fionie

Ooo nice nice.. i will b going down to meet Janice this month.. so i will try to find out more from her. -> Drizzles54 .. ya i think i shd go down and see what are their printing is like.. =)
3 more mths to AD... kinda anxious... haha

jaaycee

Think I will also go for their wedding showcase to take a look at the themes and take some pictures bah =))....

yup, we can use this forum to share our thoughts on preparation and experience with preparing for our wedding and banquet at GPCH!

jaaycee

I am now an official GPCH bride!!!! hohoho.....feel so happy to be with this big family =)) Feel very much settled also...and I think we made a much considered decision =))

Glad to have Janice as my coordinator. She is really really patient and accomodating to our many requests. Thumbs up for her service! Dunno why... but the feeling she gives us everytime we met up with her, is that she is very down-to-earth and sincere compared to many other hotels' sales coordinators. Both me and my hubby felt very comfortable with her, and that is one of the main reason why we decided on GPCH finally. Hope her service continues since our wedding is still more than a year away...hehe...

liquidsnake

MemorableChocolate (withualways) > yeah, it might be a record on that day, just now news got report on 090909 363 couples going for ROM, hope our dates can be more than them!

jaaycee

ipc> no leh. I got 1 night at Bridal Suite and 1 night at Superior Room (which is originally 1 night stay for helpers). I converted it for our own use on the 2nd night...a pity they cant offer a 2nd night stay at the bridal suite (much as we tried) but they will give us the superior room at the same level as the bridal suite to facilitate couples...2nd night at bridal suite used to be the previous wedding show/workshop promotion, but not for this time round...they are pretty strict with it

withualways

Liquidsnake> i also feel there will be more on 20/09/2009. Haha atleast is not Ghost Festival n is on the 2nd day of the lunar 8th month. Even more auspicious.

Was too busy recently, hvn't mail out my GPCH contract. oh ya. Bliss Concept has a workwhop during the GPCH wedding fair. Find out on this link.
http://www.styleweddings.sg/happenings/EventDetailPage.aspx?SubCatId=21&Editorial_Id=645
Topic on
-Proposal, Wedding...House?
-Budget vs. Desires
-Insurance...a Need?
-How much is enough?
-The precious gift of LOVE!
Is free but register required. For those couples going for Banquet can go for this too.

i'm new to this forum. =)

do you think that GPCH can host up to 35 tables?

I went to meet william some time ago and only manage to view half of the ballroom without much setting.

I do agreed that they offer really good perks but I'm worried about the max. capacity and how many people actually know about grand park...

Ladies, please share with me what problems/concerns you came across when you selecting grand park and what actually make you decided to go ahead with grand park... =)

withualways

Chocostrawberries> The max they can go is 35 tables (stated in my contract) but then therer won't be any extral reserve tables.

I choosen GPCH because of its location, and my hubby's sis took this place last year, really like the place alot. Consider its location in City area, the price is very reasonable.

memorablechocolate> yeah, i agree that the location and the price is really reasonable.

I just afraid with more than 30tables, the entire ballroom will look cramp..

hey, yr ROM is coming yah? congrats...

Btw, i did not manage to switch the F&B voucher to additional red wine..

withualways

chocostrawberries> ya u have to guage your guest list b4 u choose a hotel. Every other things can change but the capacity is fix. Ya my ROM same date as Liquidsnake. Thanks. =) So excited, kept thinking of what have i missed out. Getting abit nervous now. Haha

jaaycee

Hi chocostrawberries,

Welcome here! Me and my husband have been visiting various wedding shows and hotels for the ideal place to hold our banquet. Different couples have different ideas and prority how they want their banquet to be. There is no right or wrong i would say. For us, we came to a conclusion that the few things that we prioritise are the location, the decency of the ballroom (meaning how presentable the ballroom is, how tall the ceiling is, do the pillars obstruct my guests), the adequacy of the reception area and whether we would run a risk of having to share a reception area with another wedding couple, and lastly budget.

We wanted to find 1 that has all of the above but at a reasonable pricing, hoping to at least break even. Honestly, I have been to another few hotels that has a very attractive package (cheap that is..) but I went to research for few couples' photos that were taken during the banquet dinner and found them to be not the ideal effect that I wanted. Somehow the reason why they are relatively cheap is probably becos of the ceiling height or existence of pillars..in the end, the whole photo looks very cramp and ungrand-looking, despite the couple and the guests are so well dressed and groomed. That immediately turns me off and I pulled them out from my list immediately.

I have had many of my courses and seminars at Grand Park City Hall, and I sort of had this affinity with the hotel. My sister in law's brother also held his banquet in GPCH last yr and there were very good feedbacks! The hotel's service never fail me and the combination of all the factors that fulfil our criteria made us decided to choose this place. Excellent coordinator (mine is Janice), good reviews of food and quality, exclusive floor and reception area for ballroom, pillarless ballroom, attractive package, not exactly very high ceiling but at least presentable. But we gotta agree that we finally made up our mind with the recent promotion which we didnt want to miss...cos it is too attractive. Think I have been following the hotel promotion for the past 1 plus year or so...this is the best promotion (in terms of discounts) so far.

I guess for us, we are looking at about 30 or 31 max, so it is an ideal place for us. 35 seems kinda too squeezy, so that may be the main concern for you. If there is no way you think you can reduce your guest list, then you probably have to assess whether you can tahan the disadvantages of having a very cramp venue. If you can reduce your guest list, then I would say you can definitely consider GPCH. :D

Hi Jaaycee,

Thanks for your advice. appreciate it ! =)

So far, grand park offer the best deal out the three hotels that we have seen.

I feel abit difficult to ask my in-laws to reduce the tables and the only way is cut from my frens and colleagues.

I like the exclusive area and there will only be one wedding going on in the hotel that day.

Time is running out.. and I got to decide real soon. Grand park only hold the tentatively booking till their wedding show that day.

jaaycee

chocostrawberries, no worries =D I certainly understand the dilemna since it also took us quite some time to finally decide on our banquet venue. But once we booked it, surprisingly, both my hubby and me felt soooo relieved..haha..like finally a burden's off...Is yours a weekend or weekday in 2010? I know 2010 weekends are pretty hot in terms of booking..Problem is also that frens and colleagues' angbaos are usually, usually the higher ones..can use to cover relatives' side ones..so have to reassess carefully wor should you want to reduce no. of friends/colleagues.

So it again boils down to budget..haha...think some couples are willing to splurge for a once in a lifetime affair (got one friend ever had 100 tables at Swissotel and a abalone for every single guest!!), some are like us, wanting to strike a balance..seeking value for money and yet presentable enough, and some are very budget conscious. Actually this all is in the process..actually I was the one who decided on GPCH. Becos of that, my hubby was very worried that I may be comprising my dream of a 'ideal dream wedding' for budget, he told me, he wants me to look forward to that important day of ours, the banquet, that is the most important of all...so he is willing to pay for that 'dream'. haha...I think think think...research research research and stilll decided on GPCH. And yes, I definitely do look forward to my banquet! and I would proudly tell my friends and colleagues that I am holding mine at GPCH! I think its the confidence level (my own experience and all positive feedbacks)...Even for those guests who never heard of the hotel, I am confident that they would be very impressed when they come to the hotel and attend our banquet :D

Maybe I give u some reviews of my past research..hehe...

Orch*rd Hotel > very high ceiling, pillarless..our very immediate choice other than GPCH. However, shared reception area and bad reviews of its coordinators' service. No allowance for after sales service. I dont want my already stressed up preparation to be even more aggravated through potential arguments with them.

Hilt*n> Low ceiling, pillars in ballroom. Package price not too attractive for weekdays. (weekends not so sure) But excellent location and reputation.

M Hotel> They have 2 types of packages, anson suite and banquet suite. Banquet suite pricing not exactly cheap. Finds the ballroom not as polished and grand as I would want it to be. Most importantly, a lot of elderlys and relatives think M hotel is a restaurant or some budget budget hotel -___-

Novot*l Clarke Quay> Nice ballroom, high ceiling, pillarless. Not too bad reception area. Lobby is a ultra simple concierge, like a budget hotel when we first enter the hotel. Lobby didnt give us a grand feeling. Went for the wedding show. The 3 coordinators were absolutely strict and totally nonchalant with negotiation. To some extent, we were like begging them...urgh. They didnt even seem too interested in getting business, cant imagine the after sales service after we sign up. Location so so. But weekend package pretty attractive in terms of pricing.

Park R*yal Beach Road> Very attractive pricing. Coordinator pretty good. Location so so...long walk from MRT though in Bugis. However, it has a shared reception area and low ceilings. Saw some photos of some couples..dont exactly look like a hotel, the effect seems like a restuarant, kinda cheap-skate looking... quite a pity.

Haha....got so much things to write...maybe becos today weekend feel relax relax..haha..too talkative le. But all the above are our experiences and reviews lah..different people may have and encounter different types of service and also different priorities..so just share share only :DD

withualways

Hi Brides and Groom,
Time to upload some picture, so sorry, totally forgotten about it.
1192612.jpg

This is the Stage at the ballroom, this set up is for a seminar, wedding banquet stage will be two blocks, now showing three block in depth.
1192613.jpg

View of the ballroom from a corner.
1192614.jpg

Wedding favours by GPCH, they will be bringing in more westen desgin instead of the oriental. William told me that they are planning to give the tea pot set for couples in future. I lk this idea. =)
1192615.jpg

VIP table, sash will be on every chair instead of alternate shown here.
1192616.jpg

Color and material for VIP n other banquet table.

withualways

conti...
Sorry, i only been to Governor suite that day.
1192625.jpg

Living Hall of Governor suite.
1192626.jpg

Dinning area of Governor suite, living hall toilet is at the back.
1192627.jpg

Small toilet at the living hall (no shower area) - Governor suite.
1192628.jpg

Bedroom of Governor suite.
1192629.jpg

Bigger toilet in bedroom - Governor suite.
1192630.jpg

Bigger toilet in bedroom (view of bath & shower) - Governor suite.
1192631.jpg

Beside living hall there is a door to this outdoor Jacuzzis.

dzxz

wow the photos are really nice.....hee the teapot set?? ke ke will we get cos william mention future right....the teapot set is really nice and cute

Hi Jaaycee,

I really appreciate your advice about grand park.

It was really very informative for me. I went H*lton and N*Q also.. =)

I went back to Grand park today to view the place again, and get to see the entire ballroom.
Personally i think the space is good up to 30 tables bah..

But once again, appreciate your advice.. =)

drizzles54

My setiments exactly... wif Jaaycee!!!
This was exactly wat mi n hubby had in mind... Presentable, yet within budget... chocostrawberries, GPCH is a venue reali worth considering! Weigh the pros n cons of the various hotels u visited, aniwae it's still a wk more to the wedding show!

jaaycee

chocostrawberries> no worries =)

hmm...the jacuzzi hor..I have seen before leh that time I went, got quite some algae inside, and surrounding buildings can actually see...no privacy wor -___-